129 Pages « < 24 25 26 27 28 > » Bottom

Hobbies BONSAI MALAYSIA, here we talk abt bonsai art

zabel8484
post Jan 27 2013, 04:51 PM

Great Buddhist Pine!! So the bending need to be like a spiral movement? A dragon's movement?

The Kyoto Moss SPore that i applied that day shows some growing...

And the Premna that i bought that day, i saved a pruning and try to propagate by cutting. A small cutting and dipped it into a rooting hormone and today after about 2 weeks, the root is starting to grow!! YAY! I repot it to a small pot today!! rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif

Yesterday some of my students are absent, give me some time to go to Ho Min Yuen after a lunch..
Bought a taiwan Juniper,

The sifu there already made some pre wiring bend. Since i almost killed my previous juniper. This time i try asking the sifu.
He said no drastic pruning for juniper, root or foliage. Can only prune about 20-30% max at one time. Then leave it to heal and rest about 3-4 months then another 20-30% pruning. The root pruning and repotting can only be done after the CNY about June-Sept. If not the juniper might just stop growing and this takes about 2 years before it start to grow and be healthy.. rclxub.gif rclxub.gif

Anyway, now i've learned abit.

I also take the time to go explore further in Ho Min Yuen Nursery.. saw some awesome juniper... forget to take photo... ask the owner..

sweat.gif sweat.gif The Japanese juniper is about 100years old and it cost RM800 for that juniper about 60cm tall, and a japan juniper about 30cm cost rm500.
brows.gif

zabel8484
post Jan 27 2013, 05:03 PM

I started the craze for Bonsai around Nov2012, and some of the first "bonsai" i thought i bought is this SHui Mei at a normal flower nursery. They sold me this for RM25.
In 21 Nov 2012

Then after a few weeks i only get to know that this is only a shui mei and a messy one. Then i try to trim some and change to bigger pot in 1 Dec 2012.

After another 2 weeks as my Bonsai knowlegde got more, i then knew that this shui mei is pre bend to be some kind of bonsai material but then the nursery just stocked it, pot it and sell it like some desk decoration plant for ppl... then i started to prune away the suckers and unwanted branches. the wiring is still there and it already cut into the shui mei. this is about 24 Dec 2012.

I saw some great budding last 3 weeks and a pot it to a small bonsai pot and the growing is great.This is today's photo.

This is what i intend to do to it, more pruning and let the ramification go and the final result of this shohin bonsai...

thumbup.gif thumbup.gif
infrasonic
post Jan 27 2013, 05:20 PM

--
648 posts

QUOTE(Bonsailelong @ Jan 27 2013, 04:07 PM)
thumbup.gif

Hi infrasonic

You got a very healthy Buddha pine.

I think this example I've done can suit your tree.

In your case, your young Buddha pine has got few branches along the stem. There's good.
Always leave the branches at the concave side of the bend and cut away any branch at the converse side.
kk..but my buddhist pine is trunk separated by 2 after the top, while urs got only 1 trunk..how should i style mine? XD oh and 1 more thing is, do you wire around the plant first then only u bend it, or you bend the plant and at the same time wire it? also the tree looks so short after you wire it, did the wiring that you did make it looks short or you cut it short?? won't the leaf go yellow on the part you've cut?? gonna repot it next week before i start with wiring stuffs XD
and what does concave/converse means?

This post has been edited by infrasonic: Jan 27 2013, 08:10 PM
Bonsailelong
post Jan 27 2013, 09:29 PM

37 posts

thumbup.gif

Hi Zebal,

You are doing very well with your Wrighthia " shui mui". Keep up the good works.
But that's one matter, did the Ho Ming Yuen's sifu told you not to cut the Juniper's needle leave
but only use hand plucking to make them shorter.
Cutting the Juniper's needle leaves will leave black marks on the leaves.

But Juniper 100 years old in Malaysia? shocking.gif in Ho Ming Yuen? shakehead.gif Unbelievable ! shakehead.gif

This post has been edited by Bonsailelong: Jan 27 2013, 09:58 PM
Bonsailelong
post Jan 27 2013, 09:53 PM

37 posts

QUOTE(infrasonic @ Jan 27 2013, 05:20 PM)
kk..but my buddhist pine is trunk separated by 2 after the top, while urs got only 1 trunk..how should i style mine? XD oh and 1 more thing is, do you wire around the plant first then only u bend it, or you bend the plant and at the same time wire it? also the tree looks so short after you wire it, did the wiring that you did make it looks short or you cut it short?? won't the leaf go yellow on the part you've cut?? gonna repot it next week before i start with wiring stuffs XD
and what does concave/converse means?
thumbup.gif

Well Bro,

1) Cut away one, the longer one.
2) Sure have to wire first ma. ohmy.gif
3) Sure the tree become shorter because it has been bend and twisted. ( Don't over do or you will kill your tree!)
4) Cut the leaves shorter wouldn't kill the tree but make it looks better.
5) You can pot your tree but don't cut any roots yet and let it grows for at least 3-4 months watch how it grows before shaping it further.

This is what I'm trying to explain.

zabel8484
post Jan 27 2013, 09:57 PM

Yes, finger pluck the greens n only use cutter for Brown foliage. This is juniper rule if thumb, always the heading down greens are taken away, so the tree have an overall up image.
infrasonic
post Jan 27 2013, 10:11 PM

--
648 posts

QUOTE(Bonsailelong @ Jan 27 2013, 09:53 PM)
thumbup.gif

Well Bro,

1) Cut away one, the longer one.
2) Sure have to wire first ma.  ohmy.gif
3) Sure the tree become shorter because it has been bend and twisted. ( Don't over do or you will kill your tree!)
4) Cut the leaves shorter wouldn't kill the tree but make it looks better.
5) You can pot your tree but don't cut any roots yet and let it grows for at least 3-4 months watch how it grows before shaping it further.

This is what I'm trying to explain.

1) but after cut ah..the tree won't be upright anymore cry.gif is it possible to style it another way without cutting one of the main trunk? coz if cut way the longer one, the short one is really short..
2) LOL! before this i tot u guys bend it a bit then wire it at the same time
3) kk..coz in the pic u posted looks at least half of the height before u wire it
4) if i pluck away the leaf instead of cutting the leaf, will the new leaf that grow out after that become smaller??
5) uhh okk, but i sked i too excited, after cny straight away shape it dy xD
Bonsailelong
post Jan 27 2013, 11:11 PM

37 posts

thumbup.gif

SUNGEI BULOH TRIP -2

After leaving the first nursery site I took the overhead bridge and turn right into Jalan Hospital.
Just after the first traffic light of the jalan, the famous Sg Buloh Nurseries begin.
Colorful Flower plants, green healthy garden landscape trees, gigantic China Ficus bonsai and the most important plant
for the Chinese New Year - the " Gold Luck Lemon Tree" full of golden orange color fruits can be seen along at both
sides of the road.
The plant nurseries stop a short distance before the junction turning to the North South Highway and the Sg Buloh Hospital.
Hardly 300m after the junction, plant nurseries appear again.
I stopped at a nursery with lot of bonsai displaced along the road hoping that can find what I'm looking for. Although no
black pine or maple available but I was allow to take photos freely.
Here's some interesting photos for sharing.

Attached Image an unknown age juniper. Attached Image Attached Image and more...

Attached Image .. at the opposite of the road.... for almost 5 km on both side of the road look like this! shocking.gif drool.gif

At about 4 km I took the left turn into a place call Kampung Orang Asli. This place was a leprosy hospital site long long time ago.
Now along the approx. 1.5 km road have become a paradise for flower plant lovers. It's simply colorful.... shocking.gif flex.gif drool.gif

Attached Image view at the entrance. Attached Image Attached Image

Just simply colorful... rclxms.gif thumbup.gif

Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image

Attached Image 6 ft tall ..cash and carry rm100.

Attached Image Attached Image and seen like no end...

Found a bonsai nursery among the flower shops

Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image But all are China ficus..

... with some very old juniper 7 footers. Excellent bonsai materials!

You know what I've end up with?

Attached Image This Chinese New year plant call " mui flower" - rm 35 only.

Attached Image ..with shoots ..and Attached Image 4 in 1. Hopefully one day I'll turn them into bonsai too.

(Although I couldn't get what I want in this trip to Sg Buloh, but I've found some gigantic old juniper with reasonable prices.
Next time I'll go with a 4 wheel drive truck to carry them home.)

This post has been edited by Bonsailelong: Jan 28 2013, 06:04 PM
Bonsailelong
post Jan 27 2013, 11:20 PM

37 posts

QUOTE(infrasonic @ Jan 27 2013, 10:11 PM)
1) but after cut ah..the tree won't be upright anymore  cry.gif is it possible to style it another way without cutting one of the main trunk? coz if cut way the longer one, the short one is really short..
2) LOL! before this i tot u guys bend it a bit then wire it at the same time
3) kk..coz in the pic u posted looks at least half of the height before u wire it
4) if i pluck away the leaf instead of cutting the leaf, will the new leaf that grow out after that become smaller??
5) uhh okk, but i sked i too excited, after cny straight away shape it dy xD
thumbup.gif

Do the way you think, try and error make perfect. Only thing you might loose is a small plant, can always buy again lah. doh.gif

infrasonic
post Jan 27 2013, 11:33 PM

--
648 posts

uhh that's kind of true. .maybe I'll just repot it next week then after cny only I'll see what can I do with it
Bonsailelong
post Jan 28 2013, 09:56 AM

37 posts

QUOTE(infrasonic @ Jan 27 2013, 11:33 PM)
uhh that's kind of true. .maybe I'll just repot it next week then after cny only I'll see what can I do with it
thumbup.gif

Can post some photos of maple fond around your area?
Bonsailelong
post Jan 28 2013, 02:02 PM

37 posts

thumbup.gif

It's still a Holiday over here ! icon_rolleyes.gif rclxm9.gif

But early in the morning a mishap happened in my garden.

Attached Image Here goes my 20 years good old bonsai pot. doh.gif But luckily no damages to my "shui mui" bonsai.

Attached Image I can buy a new one but not one like this can be found any more. cry.gif cry.gif cry.gif

Attached Image ..and this " shui mui" got to settle in this "home" until I can find a suitable pot for it. sad.gif

This post has been edited by Bonsailelong: Jan 28 2013, 02:03 PM
zabel8484
post Jan 28 2013, 03:56 PM

Omg, wat happen? U drop it?

this shui mui u grow from seed?

my cucur atap all leaves turned Brown n only few green only after I make some trimming...oh no...

It's in a small tray pot. I thought of transferring to a normal pot to save it......
infrasonic
post Jan 28 2013, 05:22 PM

--
648 posts

QUOTE(Bonsailelong @ Jan 28 2013, 09:56 AM)
thumbup.gif

Can post some photos of maple fond around your area?
i think have to do it after cny coz very busy these days xD
it looked something like this but have smaller leaf and is about as tall as me. not sure the price tho...
got 1 or 2 of the plant is already wilting so i think it's not very healthy there shocking.gif

Bonsailelong
post Jan 28 2013, 05:51 PM

37 posts

QUOTE(zabel8484 @ Jan 28 2013, 03:56 PM)
Omg, wat happen? U drop it?

this shui mui u grow from seed?

my cucur atap all leaves turned Brown n only few green only after I make some trimming...oh no...

It's in a small tray pot. I thought of transferring to a normal pot to save it......
thumbup.gif

Could be neighbor's cats playing chasing games.

I don't know much about Cucur attap. But I know that it needs full sunshine and lots of water.
It's usually planted in sand, I think you must not remove the sand at the root and just cover it with
soil mix or more sand.
Bonsailelong
post Jan 29 2013, 05:28 PM

37 posts

thumbup.gif

A Question and Answer about Bonsai and Feng Shui I incidentally came across in the internet.

"Question: Are Bonsai Tree Plants Bad Feng Shui for My Home?

Is it true that bonsai tree plants are bad feng shui? If it is true, then what is the reason for the bonsai tree bad feng shui reputation? I have a bonsai in my home & office and I like it there, so I hope what I've heard about this tree is not true. Please inform. Thank you!

Answer: The question about the feng shui use of the bonsai tree in any space, be it home or office, is one of those questions that do not have a decisive "Yes" or "No" answer.
Not only because the beneficial (or not) feng shui use of some items is best decided by the home owner. In other words, an item such as a bonsai tree can create excellent feng shui energy/associations for you personally while for someone else a bonsai tree can be bad feng shui/create bad associations.
The symbolic level of feng shui comes into play when you have to trust your own feeling about a specific item in your home, be it a bonsai tree or a colourful painting. This is not to say that there are no specific guidelines, or rules, when it comes to the use of feng shui cures.
Some of the rules in the feng shui world are very clear, and some are open to interpretation. For example, the rule about clutter being very bad feng shui is a very clear rule, as well as the rule about the importance of having a strong and powerful front door.
However, when it comes to the feng shui of bonsai trees, you are entering the territory of "I know what they say, but this is up to me feng shui". And rightfully so. It is your home and your energy, so it is up to you to decide what best nourishes you at this time."

zabel8484
post Jan 30 2013, 02:48 PM

Came across this in the web,

Potato Bonsai, the zen art without the wait...LOL rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif

Try? whistling.gif
Bonsailelong
post Jan 30 2013, 04:43 PM

37 posts

QUOTE(zabel8484 @ Jan 30 2013, 02:48 PM)

Potato Bonsai, the zen art without the wait...LOL rclxm9.gif  rclxm9.gif

Try? whistling.gif
thumbup.gif

shocking.gif laugh.gif rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif

This post has been edited by VincC454: Jan 31 2013, 09:31 AM
g400g400
post Jan 30 2013, 09:13 PM

"HiTech Gadget Lover"
1,381 posts

QUOTE(zabel8484 @ Jan 30 2013, 02:48 PM)

Potato Bonsai, the zen art without the wait...LOL rclxm9.gif  rclxm9.gif

Try? whistling.gif
wah... potato bonsai... wonder it will last long?? thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by VincC454: Jan 31 2013, 09:31 AM
Bonsailelong
post Jan 30 2013, 09:51 PM

37 posts

thumbup.gif

Hi Zabel,

How's your cucur attap doing?