Looks like we have to add another blacklist shop..
http://newpaper.asia1.com.sg/news/story/0,...,172505,00.html
woman kena con buying psp for SGD $2600
Aug 7 2008, 11:44 AM, updated 18y ago
Show posts by this member only | Post
29 posts Joined: Jan 2007 From: Penang |
Looks like we have to add another blacklist shop..
http://newpaper.asia1.com.sg/news/story/0,...,172505,00.html |
Aug 7 2008, 11:51 AM
389 posts Joined: Jun 2006 From: Damansara Perdana,Petaling Jaya,Selangor. |
QUOTE(Zero-G @ Aug 7 2008, 11:44 AM) Looks like we have to add another blacklist shop.. A fool and her money are soon parted. http://newpaper.asia1.com.sg/news/story/0,...,172505,00.html A fool is born every minute. Hidup the Saleman. |
Aug 7 2008, 12:04 PM
410 posts Joined: May 2006 From: Lowyat.net @ Kopitiam |
'All the while, the sales assistant had an innocent face, and was helpful and appeared sincere,' she said.
Pro con face. Singaporean is so easy to pursue. |
Aug 7 2008, 12:14 PM
580 posts Joined: May 2008 From: Anfield |
this is when education to the public is not adequate. and i thought PSP is launched in sg officially? meaning they surely have advertisement stating the price of the unit?
haih.. |
Aug 7 2008, 12:17 PM
177 posts Joined: Nov 2007 From: Johor Bahru |
Lucky Plaza: A sub standard shopping mall in Orchard Road full of conmens, conmens and more conmens. Oh, and also, lots of pinoys loitering about during the weekends. LOL
Aug 7 2008, 12:18 PM
439 posts Joined: May 2007 |
auntie go buy hardware, sure kena con lah.
Aug 7 2008, 12:20 PM
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]()
21,963 posts Joined: Dec 2004 From: KL |
she is a sales assistant herself, and she dont know salesman tactic?
pfftt |
Aug 7 2008, 12:39 PM
2,652 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
QUOTE(TheUndead @ Aug 7 2008, 12:17 PM) Lucky Plaza: A sub standard shopping mall in Orchard Road full of conmens, conmens and more conmens. Oh, and also, lots of pinoys loitering about during the weekends. LOL The pinoy there not nice Anyways thats a Singaporean for you folks. Aint so smart afterall right |
Aug 7 2008, 12:50 PM
1,838 posts Joined: Jan 2007 From: Cheras saja deyh! |
I hate the fact that her friend said she was stupid. Not everyone really knows the partakings of this world wholly.
Aug 7 2008, 01:22 PM
8,194 posts Joined: Jun 2008 From: Atas Pokok Jati |
how come the software more expensive than PSP
her friend shouldn't call her "stupid".. they should help her solve this problem and smash that conman seller... |
Aug 7 2008, 01:25 PM
864 posts Joined: Mar 2005 From: Unknown |
Aug 7 2008, 01:47 PM
209 posts Joined: Feb 2006 From: Petaling Jaya, Selangor |
Looks like this news also reach Kotaku:-
http://kotaku.com/5034052/woman-pays-a-tho...d-bucks-for-psp |
Aug 7 2008, 02:22 PM
91 posts Joined: Sep 2007 From: People Republic Of Malaysia |
Businessman point of view:
Wow ..can i hired the salesman..damn man..he's good he can make me rich... Customers point of view: sorry to say but ...yah i agree with other the woman is stupid...just walk away lah..still stand there and wait.. customer always right even though u r stupid one. |
Aug 7 2008, 02:28 PM
1,937 posts Joined: Jun 2006 From: Petaling Jaya |
To me, the funny thing about this news is that customers hav to pay for licensing fees.... What's it gotta do with that if u play pirated games??? If pirated games are licensed, then it's not called pirated la....
Aug 7 2008, 02:31 PM
431 posts Joined: Oct 2006 From: Hierarchical City of Kagutsuchi |
luckily she din pay for SGD3553 lol.
Aug 7 2008, 02:44 PM
1,838 posts Joined: Jan 2007 From: Cheras saja deyh! |
Like i said, nobody noes everything in this world. Don't blame the lady, she might be afraid of her life since u don't know what others can do to u.
Honestly, there are lots of cases where people get beat up because the deal is not finalized and stuff. I almost got mine when my cousin brother wanted to buy the phone, but luckily we slipped away. |
Aug 7 2008, 02:45 PM
1,937 posts Joined: Jun 2006 From: Petaling Jaya |
QUOTE(Kyoyagami @ Aug 7 2008, 02:44 PM) Like i said, nobody noes everything in this world. Don't blame the lady, she might be afraid of her life since u don't know what others can do to u. This statement is so true.... Sad to say, the world is a cruel place....Honestly, there are lots of cases where people get beat up because the deal is not finalized and stuff. I almost got mine when my cousin brother wanted to buy the phone, but luckily we slipped away. |
Aug 7 2008, 02:58 PM
8,194 posts Joined: Jun 2008 From: Atas Pokok Jati |
and THANKS to the salesman..
maybe she'll hate the gaming industries... by fearing to buy another consoles.. but why her daughter friend didn't came along to help survey a PSP... well might help also being con by a salesman..? |
Aug 7 2008, 03:11 PM
508 posts Joined: Nov 2005 |
Yeah I was in Singapore browsing the games shops in Lucky Plaza or what other plaza, the stuff they sell there are generally more expensive than what can be found at general retail stores like HMV and Best Denki, even after bargaining.Totally opposite from the situation in Malaysia, except that they both have a lot of conmen running the shops
Aug 7 2008, 03:21 PM
4,889 posts Joined: Jan 2005 From: Kelana Jaya |
It is sad that her friends called her stupid. Thats kinda like the last thing a friend should do.
Anyway, she should have insisted not to pay and that the shop can bring it up to the authorities. When other shops are selling at SG$300-600, unless he put a nuclear reactor in there, it won't jack up the bill so much. She is not stupid but she could have used common sense a lil bit more here. |
Aug 7 2008, 03:38 PM
5,114 posts Joined: May 2007 |
he is not putting a nuclear reactor inside the psp but a anti virus for psp that cost her a bomb!! a very expert conmen... if i was the auntie i think i already argue with that conmen....
This post has been edited by cwl_ykh: Aug 7 2008, 03:39 PM |
Aug 7 2008, 08:51 PM
2,222 posts Joined: Jun 2007 |
Common sense are logic will tell you that a PSP isn't worth that much =.=
That amount of money can buy around 3 PS3 dy wei ! |
Aug 7 2008, 08:54 PM
26 posts Joined: Apr 2005 From: KL, jln ipoh |
pity her...
but i think next time what things she gonna buy, she will be extreme careful. this time just only an experience for her.. lucky not 26000 |
Aug 7 2008, 09:12 PM
572 posts Joined: Nov 2004 |
her sacrifice of money, benefit us. at least me know that the shop is a conmen shop.
Aug 7 2008, 11:03 PM
1,409 posts Joined: Jan 2005 |
QUOTE 'My friends all say I'm so stupid,' Nicole said. They weren't kidding. |
Aug 7 2008, 11:18 PM
Lucky Plaza, and the Orchard Road electronic gadgets shops are well known for their coness I am actually suprised this lady is a Singaporean, usually its tourists who are slaughtered on the altar there To be fair, her friends shouldn't call her stupid, thats a given. But guys, I am confident, at least a majority of us would investigate or study first, before buying something. I agree with her friends tho ' Added on August 7, 2008, 11:19 pm QUOTE(pirateguy @ Aug 7 2008, 11:03 PM) Yes, true friends bring out the best in each other This post has been edited by snipersnake: Aug 7 2008, 11:19 PM |
Aug 7 2008, 11:57 PM
26 posts Joined: Apr 2005 From: KL, jln ipoh |
chinese got 1 phrase..
" 无奸不成商"...this phrase very suitable for the singapore shop haha... dont know how to express in english. some one help me to translate.. for my business strategy, i wont do this kind of stupid things to always make profit a lot in 1 times only.. is better to make customer satisfy and with a best price to maintain long term in any business |
Aug 8 2008, 09:07 AM
QUOTE(allen96713 @ Aug 7 2008, 11:57 PM) chinese got 1 phrase.. thats right." 无奸不成商"...this phrase very suitable for the singapore shop haha... dont know how to express in english. some one help me to translate.. for my business strategy, i wont do this kind of stupid things to always make profit a lot in 1 times only.. is better to make customer satisfy and with a best price to maintain long term in any business Its better to have a small margin of profit, but it keeps on coming, rather having a big margin, but once only. |
Aug 8 2008, 01:40 PM
1,648 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: PJ, Malaysia |
HA!
Singaporeans are stupid and cheaters |
Aug 8 2008, 02:59 PM
679 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: In The Middle Of Miri City Fan |
lol... licensing.. lol... as if the psp got window vista in it.. hahaha.. thats y when we dont know anything about something it is better to ask ppl who know that we can trust.. fren or family ... like this lady she unlucky ... btw that shop owner should be ashamed of him self since he already give gaming world a bad name..
Aug 8 2008, 03:28 PM
128 posts Joined: Oct 2006 From: Kuala Lumpur |
i also want the psp anti virus
Aug 8 2008, 03:28 PM
QUOTE(Gurdian @ Aug 8 2008, 01:40 PM) » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « Added on August 8, 2008, 3:30 pm QUOTE(mambo @ Aug 8 2008, 02:59 PM) lol... licensing.. lol... the dark side of ori This post has been edited by snipersnake: Aug 8 2008, 03:30 PM |
Aug 8 2008, 09:06 PM
14,258 posts Joined: Mar 2005 |
QUOTE 'My friends all say I'm so stupid,' Nicole said. with friends like that,who needs the general public's opinion? |
Aug 8 2008, 11:38 PM
160 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Where can I get this anti-virus software for the PSP? My PSP fell on the dirty floor the other day and now I'm worried it might have caught some virus. LOL
You can't say someone is stupid if he/she gets conned paying more than they should on something but overpaying also has it's limits- you can't say someone is NOT stupid if he/she pays RM100k for a Proton Saga can't you? Same case here. SGD3550 and she didnt just walked away? wtf? SUCKAHHH!! |
Aug 9 2008, 12:16 AM
1,682 posts Joined: Oct 2004 From: let there be rain |
filthy rich i suppose
Aug 9 2008, 03:06 AM
308 posts Joined: May 2008 From: Dun ya |
QUOTE(ticke @ Aug 9 2008, 12:16 AM) one thing about singaporeans IMHO is that they're supposedly to be "Kiasu" when buying things that they have knowledge about but somehow the lady should at least do the basic rule when buying premium electrical goods like doing a research first and cafeully analyze the offer before finalizing the deal.She should at least practice her right when she sees the bill and refuse to pay for it. But what can we learn from this case is that given the right people in a right situation anything can happen Especially when you mix up these two people: » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « IMHO la... and lastly, her friend should not call her stupid they should at least think about her position when being conned tahap dewa.... This post has been edited by NUR_VER.3: Aug 9 2008, 03:14 AM |
Aug 9 2008, 06:28 AM
864 posts Joined: Mar 2005 From: Unknown |
according to my SG friends which after showed them the link, they told me is old news plus the woman actually bought a ps3 prior to the purchase of the psp
Aug 9 2008, 12:59 PM
6,447 posts Joined: Jan 2006 |
but at last she only paid SGD 1000
Aug 10 2008, 05:51 PM
7 posts Joined: Jul 2008 |
aiks..
where got psp so exp one~~~~ |
| Change to: | 0.0249sec