Photography Canon EOS Family, One Big EOS Family - V7!, DigitalRebelz, X0D, XD Territory!

tytons
post Aug 13 2008, 01:30 AM

2,823 posts

QUOTE(Pennywise @ Aug 12 2008, 11:43 PM)
Guys, need some serious help here.

I had a family dinner earlier with my relatives of about 30 pax in a restaurant private room. I brought my 40D + Tamron 17-50mm f2.8. Problem here is, the photos I took didnt come out as I expected. I dont care so much about the composition but I just feel the color is not vibrant enough.

I feel I am missing something. Can you guys advise? What camera settings I should have used?

Recommended settings
1. M? Tv? Av?
2. How much ISO?
3. How fast f-stop?
4. How much shutter speed?

I mean what's the recommended settings for indoor? I just played with Av and Tv. When my sister took shots, she used the auto portrait mode.

Now I know I need a 580EXII for indoor shots.

At the same time, I am going to Cameron on Merdeka so I will need a tripod even more.

Lastly, I am quite interested with macro shots, so I was considering the Canon 100mm Macro lens which will make a good portrait lens, yes? But it was discussed few pages back that a non-macro prime lens can do the job better, such as a 85mm f1.8 (but which brand were you guys talking about, gogo2 / vikingw2k)?
post bigger pics la..
u always ask ask ask ask ask ask ask ask ask ask ask ask but no action...i feel sometimes ur jus those boys who read read read read in school n dont do practical

u dun need a damn flash gun la...i can cover events with my body flash so can u.plus u got a 40D n some better lenses then me..i use my kit lens..with NO IS..it still does the job
wat u lack is taking pics n not posting it when u wan remarks.

how to recomend u a setting when we dont know wat u know...u seem to be real good in theory but honestly speaking...how would 1 know how good are u or how are u progressing..if u really dont know wat to use..turn it to auto.

photography is not fixed...how to tell u wat setting to use..takkan we set 1/50 f4 n then shoot with tat setting in every single condition tat is similar?..cannot be wat.

last but not least...show pics ...n stop reading so much n take pics ..experiment around...else we will be moving on to v8 soon with ur non stop questions..n if no 1 replies..ull repost n repost

tytons
post Aug 13 2008, 01:49 AM

2,823 posts

good...quite happy with wat i got. may not be good, but im ok with it
tytons
post Aug 13 2008, 10:40 AM

2,823 posts

QUOTE(Pennywise @ Aug 13 2008, 03:43 AM)
Taking opportunity to flame me is it?  sad.gif Dont la, please be patient... sweat.gif I'm really trying here and I dont mean to offend anybody so I'm replying as friendly as possible.

1. I already said I dont feel comfy to post my family photos here, have courtesy to respect my privacy can or not? No one else complain when I posted them in thumbnails, right?

i dun mean ur family pics alone..other pics..anything any subject dont have to be ur friends or anything..u keep posting n asking really high technical questions but u dun show anything n keep asking theoritical questions..which is something tat i dun get at all.not tat ihate u or anything but when u start posting..i phear..the threads just goes on n on n on n on endlessly

2. I can take the camera out and shoot, change modes and shoot again means it's practical and not theory, right?

yes,tats wat im implying

3. After discussing with the gang, advise given was to adjust the WB, so now I know lor - its not a matter of comparison where I use better lens and you use kit lens without IS. If you put it that way, then you're better than me and I am still learning.

not that im better..its just tat i play with my camera..yes we are both new n learning..its good to ask.but sometimes ...u gotto try it n then ask..not keep asking n asking then noting comes out

4. Recommend me a setting to shoot indoor with slightly more to yellowish like, like previous post written, 40D tend to be on the warmer side, so recommend me a setting and I shall tweak and gauge from there. I've mentioned previously, just a rough setting and I will tweak + mix and match there lor. Not take every single shot that is similar to what you set. I can roll around Av, Tv, M means some changes are being made, right?

1st off..maybe u dun understand wat uve been reading..cos, av,tv,m are just modes which controls ur iso,aperture and shutter speed. does it actually make u think that these modes or elements..or watever they are called affects the color tone?duno la..im also a newbie but if "ive been reading as much as u" (reason i say this is cos ur questions are really high technicality each time.till i dun understand) i would try out the white balance or..the picture profile thingy. or ..use my flash..n see wat happens

again im not tryin to flame u..but sometimes u just ask too much, tho this is a forum n thats how things are suppose to be..but duno la..or maybe i should just not read the eos thread anymore

-peace- icon_rolleyes.gif
tytons
post Aug 15 2008, 12:30 PM

2,823 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Aug 15 2008, 03:24 AM)
i might be selling my BG-E3. smile.gif
can apply for installment plan?haha
tytons
post Aug 15 2008, 11:30 PM

2,823 posts

QUOTE(Grajindo @ Aug 15 2008, 10:47 PM)
erm... but if only have built-in flash and a kitlens? lolz.. sweat.gif
go widest aperture..n try hard to use ur hands as a tripod
tytons
post Aug 16 2008, 12:16 AM

2,823 posts

QUOTE(vikingw2k @ Aug 16 2008, 12:11 AM)
e.g. If you are using 50mm lens, your focal length is 50, so use 1/50s or above. Bear in mind for cropped sensor bodies you need to x1.6.
e.g. If you are using 50mm lens, your focal length is 50x1.6 = 80. So it's more recommended for you to use 1/80s or above.
How about investing on a 50mm f1.8 lens? Cheap and has big aperture.
somehow ...i feel i always dun use this

like using my kit lens at 55...most of the time if there isnt much light my shutter would be below 1/50 usually 1/25
hmm so this theory/formula is just a guide or..?
tytons
post Aug 16 2008, 12:27 AM

2,823 posts

i see..thanks for clarification
maybe it works on faster lens la...
tytons
post Aug 16 2008, 09:24 AM

2,823 posts

QUOTE(CrossFirE @ Aug 16 2008, 03:00 AM)
clear shot eh? i really wonder sometimes maybe of the low shutter speed, when i zoom the picture which i took. i saw it seems like blur. so i wonder if the shutter speed and the aperture got the right 'click' then it maybe get a clearer shot whenever i zoom in see it or not, right?
if i didnt misunderstand u..tat blur effect u get can be due to ur low shutter speed..maybe u move..or maybe the person/ur object move

but as for aperture..i dun think theres a "right" aperture..depends how much of the object u wana take ..the blur u get from aperture is abit diff from motion blur..its more like bokeh kind of blur.whereas motion sometimes u get like a slight extra layer on the edges ...for me la

usually 1/60 shutter speed would be quite ok to capture slow moving objects..as i was told by some1 la..
tytons
post Aug 16 2008, 03:02 PM

2,823 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Aug 16 2008, 01:25 PM)
1. i wouldn't go anywhere beyond 24mm for landscapes
2. don't have to go until f/22 laaa. even f/4 also actually good enough for shooting landscapes.
which reminds me..i went for a talk the other day. this dude took a picture of a tree n landscape.with f16 iso400 n 1/100 shutter..

if i were to do that on my kitty ill prolly get a black pic..but his was nice ,..kinda wondering wat actually make him use such settings..why f16?not 11?or 8...and why iso 400 with 1/100 shutter?y not compensate by having a slower shutter and lower iso?

tytons
post Aug 18 2008, 12:47 AM

2,823 posts

bunvirus check price for bg-e3

This post has been edited by tytons: Aug 18 2008, 12:48 AM
tytons
post Aug 18 2008, 08:27 AM

2,823 posts

QUOTE(bunvirus @ Aug 18 2008, 01:56 AM)
woi... tarak tido ka??
did u all know that in jakarta.. u cant even bring ur camera to the shopping complex.. i got chase out from one.. dangz.. rclxub.gif
to show how protective they are.. when entering hotel or shopping complex, they check ur car for bombs (got people check under ur car and boot) and when entering the shoping mall, must enter metal detectors.. scary..
remember check bg-e3 price smile.gif
tytons
post Aug 18 2008, 04:24 PM

2,823 posts

QUOTE(kalvinkhoo @ Aug 18 2008, 12:46 PM)
Orh!! But i though kit lens images will be no sharp.
tats the misconception..it actually performs quite well..only prob is low light..but its not bad. maybe u hear too many ppl say kit lens sucks..but if i would to call it 18-55..it would sound better rite?rather then kit
tytons
post Aug 21 2008, 05:58 PM

2,823 posts

any 1 free to cover this event this weekend?ill be there on sunday

can pm me if u wan more details..helping a fren promo the event
bunvirus..come!

This post has been edited by tytons: Aug 21 2008, 05:59 PM
tytons
post Aug 21 2008, 11:31 PM

2,823 posts

QUOTE(myjunk @ Aug 21 2008, 09:43 PM)
no lah.. no selling..

this weekend cannot lah.. but if anyone is interested, got bridal fair in Mid valley. Fashion show at 3-4pm
sat or sun?

guys free to come times squre to shoot yoyo's?
tytons
post Aug 22 2008, 01:13 AM

2,823 posts

hmm..ill be there around morning la..then 2pm ill be away a while..will be back there ..

if u see a camera man..who plays yoyo..tats me smile.gif
sunday btw..sat got things to do

Added on August 22, 2008, 1:20 am
QUOTE(Joseph Hahn @ Aug 22 2008, 12:06 AM)
So cute. >_<[/spoiler]
aiyo...pervish...haha
real cute the camera

This post has been edited by tytons: Aug 22 2008, 01:20 AM
tytons
post Aug 27 2008, 09:41 AM

2,823 posts

theres quite a number of brand for 3rd part grip..but from wat i heard its ok n works fine..its just a grip only afterall...but get the ones with the same buttons as the ori grip la..some grips dun hav the ae lock thing.

also do take note there are no battery needed, it has its own battery n some claims it last longer then ur normal battery..duno la..its up to ur preferance
tytons
post Aug 27 2008, 07:05 PM

2,823 posts

QUOTE(nairud @ Aug 27 2008, 06:18 PM)
another simple way to protect gears by DCM

1. Bag it
Take off your lens hood and place the bag over the lens so that a corner covers it and makes a cone shape.

2. Cut it
Keeping the bag taut, use your fingernail to rub the edge of the bag so it cuts it perfectly to the lens shape.

3. Hood up
Refit your lens hood taking care to make sure the bag doesn’t move and cover any part of the front element.

4. Eye eye
All SLR cameras have a removeable eye-cup. Take it off and pull the bag over it so the open end faces down.

5. Manhandle
Pinch or tear a small hole using your fingernail and pull it tight so it sits snugly around the eye-cup surround.

6. Refit
Place the eye-cup back over the mount so the bag sits in between the camera body and the eye-cup. Done!

tats wat convicted knight did....during the drift event at bukit jalil..but he got wet.. rclxm9.gif
tytons
post Sep 1 2008, 09:58 PM

2,823 posts

i should say..since ive been handing my slr to ppl to take pics of me..the pictures..often come out bad..as in cannot be used

i dont know why but people dont know how to use view finders no more..either that or tehy cant focus at my face..usually my body or legs are the 1 being focused :(

tytons
post Sep 1 2008, 10:09 PM

2,823 posts

hmm y use CF.N 4-1?mind sharing ?

i doubt its foot fettish only know 1 person who is tongue.gif
tytons
post Sep 1 2008, 10:37 PM

2,823 posts

was that picture croped or...originally like tat

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top