Photography Canon EOS Family, One Big EOS Family - V7!, DigitalRebelz, X0D, XD Territory!

SkyBlue(R)
post Aug 12 2008, 05:22 PM

470 posts

QUOTE(TheVoIP @ Aug 12 2008, 05:19 PM)
Monorail can reach YL meh?  sweat.gif  hmm.gif
Lol, Sifu, I don know mar. That why i ask.

This post has been edited by SkyBlue(R): Aug 12 2008, 05:25 PM
SkyBlue(R)
post Aug 12 2008, 05:24 PM

470 posts

QUOTE(empire23 @ Aug 12 2008, 05:19 PM)
You'll have to use the Star LRT for both, Pudu for YL, just walk till you see a maybank and just follow the road next to it till you hit pudu plaza. Pertama Complex, take the Star until the station before Sultan Ismail, i think it's called pusat bandaraya or something (the station is infront of Sogo)
Dear empire23,

Many thanks for your kind information. smile.gif

Added on August 12, 2008, 5:24 pm
QUOTE(Joseph Hahn @ Aug 12 2008, 05:24 PM)
Take Star LRT to Pudu station. Then just walk to Pudu Plaza.
Thanks! smile.gif

This post has been edited by SkyBlue(R): Aug 12 2008, 05:24 PM
SkyBlue(R)
post Aug 12 2008, 05:26 PM

470 posts

QUOTE(TheVoIP @ Aug 12 2008, 05:25 PM)
I think the nearest station is TimeSquare... But there is still some distance to YL le.... Maybe 1km... Maybe walkable...  sweat.gif
sorry, typo just now. Thanks for your info. smile.gif

This post has been edited by SkyBlue(R): Aug 12 2008, 05:33 PM
SkyBlue(R)
post Aug 12 2008, 09:38 PM

470 posts

QUOTE(gogo2 @ Aug 12 2008, 08:48 PM)
nope. A must is 85mm f/1.8. Why waste RM300? Just plunk it down for 85mm f/1.8. 50mm f/1.8 is very very slow. No USM. Even 50mm f/1.4 micro USM also very slow.
i like your quote.... sweat.gif

Sound like 85mm F1.8 is the best deal huh?

This post has been edited by SkyBlue(R): Aug 12 2008, 09:40 PM
SkyBlue(R)
post Aug 12 2008, 09:43 PM

470 posts

QUOTE(gogo2 @ Aug 12 2008, 09:29 PM)
Yeah. It has not USM. I wonder if you know what is USM and what USM meant to do?
Even 50mm can open f/1.8, but in low light, the slow focus will reduce the efficiency
of focussing in low light. Please read more about USM will ya.

Wa lau... sound you are the expert huh? sweat.gif

He just want to double confirm with you, you don need to be so serious rite?

This post has been edited by SkyBlue(R): Aug 12 2008, 09:43 PM
SkyBlue(R)
post Aug 12 2008, 09:45 PM

470 posts

QUOTE(gogo2 @ Aug 12 2008, 09:41 PM)
Yes. But of course, you're just being sarcastic.
no lar, where got? I also saving money for 85mm F1.8. It is a good len where i also wish to own one. smile.gif
SkyBlue(R)
post Aug 12 2008, 10:50 PM

470 posts

QUOTE(Petre @ Aug 12 2008, 10:19 PM)

with that 2500, you can get the 450D, second hand. somebody is selling in the forum, try lookout smile.gif
But the selling price for that "somebody" is quite pricey wor...

P/S: not sure am i refering to the rite "somebody". tongue.gif
SkyBlue(R)
post Aug 13 2008, 01:08 PM

470 posts

@ pennywise,

After reading all your recent posts, I think you need to read more bout the basic of photography like shutter speeds, aperture, ISO, white balance and etc.

By the way, don't keep on thinking to buy new lens. If you don't know the basic, there is no point for you to own all the best lens but don't know how to fully utilise it. This is what i "learn" from Goldfries. tongue.gif

Mmm... if you are "L" lens collecter like Viking, than it will be another story. tongue.gif
SkyBlue(R)
post Aug 14 2008, 10:50 AM

470 posts

QUOTE(jdreamer @ Aug 14 2008, 10:46 AM)
So, on a crop body, it's pretty much not worth it, right?
last time i struggle between Canon 17-40L with Tamron 17-50mm. Most of the sifus here recommand me to go for Tamron. Mainly, Canon 17-40L is pricey, only F4 and the focal length is short.

If you planning to upgrade to FF body in the future, may be Canon 17-40L is your choice. smile.gif

This post has been edited by SkyBlue(R): Aug 14 2008, 10:50 AM
SkyBlue(R)
post Aug 14 2008, 11:43 AM

470 posts

QUOTE(dgrebel @ Aug 14 2008, 11:25 AM)
u better check YL selling thread every minute. and reserve fast2. maybe later i sell my 50mm f1.2L there who knows.  brows.gif
hehe... how much you planning to sell? tongue.gif
SkyBlue(R)
post Aug 15 2008, 11:33 AM

470 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Aug 15 2008, 03:24 AM)
i might be selling my BG-E3. smile.gif
Hey goldfries, what you planning to get after sell your canon 350D? 40D or perhap a full frame camera model? brows.gif
SkyBlue(R)
post Aug 21 2008, 12:15 PM

470 posts

Dear Viking, you can update my gear. i bought the Canon 450D and Tamron len last week. Total RM 3,850 including Kanko UV filter and Sanbdisc 4G SD card only. No Canon bag, no Ximplify. cry.gif I guess it was not a good price. sad.gif

SkyBlue® - Tamron 17-50mm F2.8

@ Dear all,

I would like to ask some noob questions here. I know Canon 450D has 9 focus points, actually what is the focus point mean? Is it to make the object that i focus to look sharp? Can i select more than 1 focus point? If yes, how can i do it?

What is AE lock actually and how to use it? Hope all the sifu here can clear my doubt. icon_question.gif

By the way, what mode you all use the most? As a noob like me, i only focusing on M mode to test the ISO, shutter speed and aperture. Do you all use P mode, Av mode and etc?

SkyBlue(R)
post Aug 21 2008, 12:21 PM

470 posts

Dear all,

Forger to ask, which shop selling the cheapest price for Canon 55-250mm IS? so far, photo selangor offer me RM 830. Is there any shop offer cheaper than RM 830?
SkyBlue(R)
post Aug 21 2008, 06:53 PM

470 posts

Dear all the sifu here,

May i know what is your sharpness, contrast, saturation and color tone setting? which setting is the best to produce vivid color? Can all the sifu here share a bit?

By the way, is Canon 450D can set more than 1 auto focus point?
SkyBlue(R)
post Aug 21 2008, 06:57 PM

470 posts

By the way, do you all think RM 3850 for Canon 450D and Tamron len including Kanko UV filter and Sanbdisc 4G SD card only was a good price? I not sure should I introduce that shop to my friend as the shop did not include canon bag and ximplify.
SkyBlue(R)
post Aug 21 2008, 07:03 PM

470 posts

QUOTE(-vip3rleon9- @ Aug 21 2008, 06:58 PM)
Depends on what you want to shoot. As per what the shooting style says. smile.gif

Read here for more info.

And for the 450D, it's either on Auto for 9AF points or any 1 manual focus point.
Thanks for the link and I have reviewed it. I just curius what shooting style setting for all the sifus here. tongue.gif I mean do you all actually use custom setting for shooting style?

Mentioned bout AF point... Is it mean that I only can select 1 manual focus point and I can't select more than 1 manual focus point?
SkyBlue(R)
post Aug 21 2008, 07:06 PM

470 posts

QUOTE(! Love Money @ Aug 21 2008, 12:28 PM)
go here http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...dpost&p=7744486
now always visit there even i havent got my camera thumbup.gif
hey love money, thanks for your link. It does clear help me to clear a lot of doubt! smile.gif Thanks again!
SkyBlue(R)
post Aug 22 2008, 10:17 AM

470 posts

QUOTE(Qool @ Aug 22 2008, 09:46 AM)
hello to all SiFus. New to photography as I have yet to own any camera yet aside from my own built-in camera in hp. Would like to ask u guys for more expert opinions. I'm doing some research for dslr and now aiming for Canon's. 2 models in my mind, 450D and the very new 1000D. My concern would be budget wise also... my question is... should I go for a better body - 450D? or get the 1000D and skip kit-lense and go for a better one. I would like to get a good all-round lense too... not sure how much is the kit-lense. If too expensive i'll most probably settle for the kit-lense for now.
Let say your budget is RM 3k, I would suggest you to go for 1000D plus a tamron len 17-50 F2.8. If the 1000D body and tamron len is RM 1,500 and RM 1,400 respectively, the total cost you going to spend is around RM 2,900 +/-. As for Canon 450D with kit len, It will cost you around RM 2,800 +/-.

However, please don't get me wrong. The Canon 18-55mmIS AKA kit len isn't a bad len. The kit len is good enough for a beginner to explore and it really value for money. If you straight go for Tamron len, I worry that you might not know how to fully utilise it. Whether you want to go for Canon 1000D plus a better len or Canon 450D with kit len, the choice is really up to you. smile.gif

For your info Tamron 17-50mm F2.8 is around 1,400 +/- and kit len is around RM 400 +/-.

My 2 cents opnion.
SkyBlue(R)
post Aug 22 2008, 10:54 AM

470 posts

hehe... spend more money sure can solve lots of problem. tongue.gif

55-250 IS around RM 800
85mm f1.8 around RM 1,200
70-200 f2.8L around RM4,550; and
70-200 F4L around RM2,800.

This post has been edited by SkyBlue(R): Aug 22 2008, 10:54 AM
SkyBlue(R)