am I thinking it right...? government servant, no need to pay a single cent buyin house
Aug 5 2008, 09:35 PM, updated 18y ago
Show posts by this member only | Post
5,170 posts Joined: Jul 2006 From: /k//k/, /k/undasang |
say you are a bumi and work with the goverment, and let's say he got 200k in ASB investment account. My friend who work as a government servant told me the goverment loan interest is very low like 2.5 max 3%, so if he borrow 200k to buy a house, he just need to take money from the interest earn @ 8-9% in ASB to repay the loan...literally they are not paying any money to buy the house, still got extra money.
Aug 5 2008, 09:48 PM
322 posts Joined: Apr 2006 |
Any source regarding this matter? As I know government servant with salary as low as RM 1,500 can apply and GET up to RM 100k loan. I wonder how long they take to repay back the loan. The lowest isnt it 5% from aggro bank?
Aug 5 2008, 09:52 PM
226 posts Joined: Mar 2006 |
If i not mistaken. the lowest interest should be 4%-5% for any government loan. won't be 2.5%
Aug 5 2008, 09:53 PM
i think it's housing loan. only for house.
Aug 5 2008, 09:58 PM
4,694 posts Joined: Jan 2005 |
I wonder where you learn mathematics.
The example u raised, basically meant that the person's investment yield higher return compared to his housing loan's interest rate. READ, "INTEREST", what about the loan amount itself? No need to pay? Repay interest enough d? *Btw, the interest rate for Govt Servant housing loan is 4%. |
Aug 5 2008, 10:40 PM
ofcourse need to pay the initial loan. but how much? will it be more than the interest earned from asb, if you calculate how much need to pay a year vs amount interest earn in a year.
Aug 5 2008, 11:09 PM
4,694 posts Joined: Jan 2005 |
QUOTE(ah_suknat @ Aug 5 2008, 10:40 PM) ofcourse need to pay the initial loan. but how much? will it be more than the interest earned from asb, if you calculate how much need to pay a year vs amount interest earn in a year. That would depend on how long is the repayment period.Btw, the ASB return not that high (8-9%). Average return is 7%+. Anyhow, becos of the 'jacked up' return of ASB, ASN, ASW (the funds didn't really make that much profit actually). U get a lot of ppl (bumi especially), who put all their savings into the mentioned funds, then take loan (car, house, personal) to the max. Thinking that since the return from the Govt related funds are higher compared to loan interest rates, they are actually 'making money'. Well, I'm not commenting whether this is right or wrong. But putting all the eggs into 1 basket is never a safe bet. Moreover on some funds with unbelievable statistics. |
Aug 5 2008, 11:09 PM
1,232 posts Joined: Sep 2005 |
QUOTE(augkyos @ Aug 5 2008, 09:52 PM) Govt Servant loanBasic Salary Max Loan(RM) 1. 3500 & above 360,000 2. 3000 - 3499 300,000 3. 2500 - 2999 264,000 4. 2000 - 2499 240,000 5. 1500 - 1999 192,000 6. 1200 - 1499 156,000 7. 1000 - 1199 120,000 8. 800 - 999 96,000 9. 600 - 799 72,000 10. 599 & below 48,000 The interest rate is 4%. Dont know whether the ASN/ASB can cover the interest as the interest for house loan is different from ASN/ASB deposit (but I think ok lah with 8-9%) |
Aug 5 2008, 11:17 PM
4,720 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
agree that gov loan got low interest rate...very worth and if you're working for gov...this is the only super benefit i can see which is really worth it...
don't think...just buy! |
Aug 6 2008, 08:36 AM
2,207 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: stankonia |
not all government servants like to take government loan.. because the risk of late disbursement is very high.. end up the owner have to pay for the penalty.
Aug 6 2008, 09:32 AM
315 posts Joined: Oct 2007 |
well i would say that 4% isnt that fantastic considering that now loans are going at BLR - 2.X .... It used to be good in the days when the BLR were super high ...
Aug 6 2008, 04:50 PM
Aug 8 2008, 12:36 PM
167 posts Joined: Feb 2006 From: KL, PJ |
their interest is very low..i don;'t know how much.
but wat i know is they can use the low interest benefit once in a life only. |
Aug 9 2008, 08:26 AM
3,560 posts Joined: Sep 2005 From: Shenzhen Bahru |
My wife is a gov servant. 4% interest. Still worth it, considering BLR is rumoured to increased
Aug 9 2008, 09:16 AM
QUOTE(dragony @ Aug 8 2008, 12:36 PM) their interest is very low..i don;'t know how much. 4% lah, the interest never change like BLRbut wat i know is they can use the low interest benefit once in a life only. Not once a life, but can get govt loan twice, with condition that the first loan must be fully settled/paid before the second loan is approved |
Aug 10 2008, 07:20 AM
129 posts Joined: Apr 2005 |
QUOTE(ah_suknat @ Aug 5 2008, 09:35 PM) say you are a bumi and work with the goverment, and let's say he got 200k in ASB investment account. My friend who work as a government servant told me the goverment loan interest is very low like 2.5 max 3%, so if he borrow 200k to buy a house, he just need to take money from the interest earn @ 8-9% in ASB to repay the loan...literally they are not paying any money to buy the house, still got extra money. Why do we let a racist mofo like u participate in this forum. Why do u have to specifically target Bumis who work with goverment? Is there not any non-Bumi who could earn interest more than u mentioned above working with gov too?If you work in government and starting salary is less than 2,000 what chances do u have to save up to 200k. I am working in an MNC earning close to RM10k and still haven't reach 100k savings level. I doubt any civil servants below age of 30 will have that kind of money. Stop being a racist mofo will u. |
Aug 10 2008, 11:14 AM
309 posts Joined: Jun 2008 From: kajang |
QUOTE(kristal @ Aug 10 2008, 07:20 AM) Why do we let a racist mofo like u participate in this forum. Why do u have to specifically target Bumis who work with goverment? Is there not any non-Bumi who could earn interest more than u mentioned above working with gov too? the loan is applicable to all government servant, no matter u are a bumi or not. race is not an issue here.If you work in government and starting salary is less than 2,000 what chances do u have to save up to 200k. I am working in an MNC earning close to RM10k and still haven't reach 100k savings level. I doubt any civil servants below age of 30 will have that kind of money. Stop being a racist mofo will u. the interest rate for government loan is 4% but the max loan repayment is up to 25 years only, even if u are still at age of 20. |
Aug 10 2008, 01:10 PM
821 posts Joined: Nov 2007 |
QUOTE(kristal @ Aug 10 2008, 07:20 AM) Why do we let a racist mofo like u participate in this forum. Why do u have to specifically target Bumis who work with goverment? Is there not any non-Bumi who could earn interest more than u mentioned above working with gov too? personally i don't think she is hinting any sort of racism here, she's merely using bumiputras as example to point out and link the interest rates between the gov loan and ASB investment profit in percentage.If you work in government and starting salary is less than 2,000 what chances do u have to save up to 200k. I am working in an MNC earning close to RM10k and still haven't reach 100k savings level. I doubt any civil servants below age of 30 will have that kind of money. Stop being a racist mofo will u. i sure hope you're not offended that easily, not everytime a person utters the words bumi, malay, indian or chinese are racists. tying to be diplomatic here. |
Aug 10 2008, 05:24 PM
QUOTE(kristal @ Aug 10 2008, 07:20 AM) Why do we let a racist mofo like u participate in this forum. Why do u have to specifically target Bumis who work with goverment? Is there not any non-Bumi who could earn interest more than u mentioned above working with gov too? lol, I specifically mentioning bumi working in government because 1) only bumi can invest in ASB and 2)government servant can enjoy low interest goverment loan. why do i mention ASB, because it's one of the most stable, risk free investment. If you work in government and starting salary is less than 2,000 what chances do u have to save up to 200k. I am working in an MNC earning close to RM10k and still haven't reach 100k savings level. I doubt any civil servants below age of 30 will have that kind of money. Stop being a racist mofo will u. which in my ROUGH calculation, (If it's right) IF they have 200k in ASB which historically showing interest earning of 9-10% pa, countering their loan of 200k with 4% interest pa to buy a house, it will work out they LITERALLY don't need to fork out money to pay for the loan aka the house. your earning 10k per month, can't even save 100k savings level, judging from the way you talk and seeing things, it doesn't surprise me. say you are earning 10k, thats 120k a year, take away 100k for savings, you left with 20k to spend a year which work out 1.6k to spend every month, which is more than enough to survive, and you cant do it, what kind of a spoilt brat you are. there are lots of way to get that 200k, it's not that much of amount in today's value, it can be sponsorship from parents or join fund with husband/wife/family members. who's the mofo again? |
Aug 11 2008, 07:56 AM
QUOTE(ah_suknat @ Aug 10 2008, 05:24 PM) lol, I specifically mentioning bumi working in government because 1) only bumi can invest in ASB and 2)government servant can enjoy low interest goverment loan. why do i mention ASB, because it's one of the most stable, risk free investment. Dont forget they can get another 5-7% discount on houseswhich in my ROUGH calculation, (If it's right) IF they have 200k in ASB which historically showing interest earning of 9-10% pa, countering their loan of 200k with 4% interest pa to buy a house, it will work out they LITERALLY don't need to fork out money to pay for the loan aka the house. |
| Change to: | 0.0191sec
5 queries
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 12:37 PM |