Penang Charity, Doing charity work/volunteer

TSsching
post Aug 4 2008, 12:31 PM, updated 8y ago

188 posts

I am from penang and was wondering where I can help in doing some charity work. Is anyone from penang who is involved with any charity, could advise me on this?

how many of you from penang who are interested in doing some charity work during free time but juz do not know where to start too?
matasura
post Aug 4 2008, 01:00 PM

106 posts

what type of charity work that interest u?smile.gif
jojo~t
post Aug 4 2008, 03:55 PM

162 posts

IM INTRESTED TOO..
TSsching
post Aug 4 2008, 04:41 PM

188 posts

QUOTE(matasura @ Aug 4 2008, 01:00 PM)
what type of charity work that interest u?smile.gif
anything..i dun mind..

Added on August 4, 2008, 5:05 pmanyone else in penang is interested in doing some charity work?

This post has been edited by sching: Aug 4 2008, 05:10 PM
breatheinout
post Aug 12 2008, 05:42 PM

41 posts

Mahindarama Temple
- Librarian on Saturdays (once a month, 3-5pm)
- Volunteer to keep vigil over lamp oils
- Bulletin board on Main prayer hall list volunteers needed
matasura
post Aug 18 2008, 10:32 AM

106 posts

if ur in penang, let me give u an idea...

take rm100 from your wallet, then change it to RM1 notes x 100

u go to places where u can see beggers, such as at komtar, chowrasta...
u ask them for lunch, but usually they say that they already had lunch, if so, just give them rm3 or rm4...
then go other places do the same thing.... biggrin.gif

i used to do this activity when i was working in penang with a close friend of mine..
there was one day when we saw a mom with her little kids (beggers) having lunch, rice and a fried fish shared about 5 of them. then we went to them, and ask the kids to take what ever they like (lauk) at the stall nearby. They took fried chicken! the kids were so happy! we felt happy too, but I feel like bye.gif when i saw poor people like this...

u can make poor people happy with just little effort..
on the other side, u just make urself feel good.... rclxm9.gif

This post has been edited by matasura: Aug 18 2008, 10:33 AM
TSsching
post Aug 18 2008, 05:41 PM

188 posts

Thanks for the suggestions!
breatheinout
post Aug 18 2008, 10:53 PM

41 posts

There is a list of community service we can do at some Georgetown homes:
http://www.iwa-penang.info/community.html

TSsching
post Aug 19 2008, 05:05 PM

188 posts

QUOTE(breatheinout @ Aug 18 2008, 10:53 PM)
There is a list of community service we can do at some Georgetown homes:
http://www.iwa-penang.info/community.html
Thx! A great site with lots of info on where we can help. rclxms.gif
breatheinout
post Aug 21 2008, 12:15 AM

41 posts

Ya thanks smile.gif

Here's Silver Jubilee Home in Sg Dua:
http://www.siljubilee.org/contents/donation.html
TSsching
post Aug 22 2008, 01:26 PM

188 posts

Thx for sharing the info...they're all very useful!
Lefty
post Aug 23 2008, 02:39 AM

Designer Piece
750 posts

it will be very fun to play some nice old song (theresa theng's song normally they will like it very much) with an accoustic guitar and sing along for the old folks in old folks home.Can chit chat with them. felt pity with those old ppl where their family abandon them. also can buy them some goods when u go along . for example now u can buy mooncake for them if they are chinese. Go with a gang of friend to cheer them up and bring some warm to them,
natakaasd
post Aug 23 2008, 11:20 PM

2,188 posts

You can opt to Volunteer at Mount Miriam Hospital, a Hospital which specializes in treating Cancer. One thing for sure, it is not messy or dirty. Generally, if you can't do much walking, there are desk jobs, especially at the Outpatient Counter.

~Cheers!
TSsching
post Aug 27 2008, 08:15 PM

188 posts

It would be a great idea if we can somewhat form a group to do some charity work together from time to time...
verticalar
post Sep 12 2008, 02:56 AM

JackOfallTraders
Store Representative
1,228 posts

y not form a
LYN charity team in penang.....

any one wan stand up for it...
silverfoxes
post Sep 12 2008, 01:09 PM

271 posts

i m in...add my msn if needed =]
Josette
post Sep 22 2008, 04:05 PM

Hey there, I'm interested in becoming a volunteer too. I'm from Penang so I looked up the Penang Cares website for ideas on where to start.

http://www.penangcares.net/
RwGlmllhpSX
post Oct 8 2008, 12:53 AM

203 posts

visit children protection near masjid negeri there, most of them are chinese and some indians, i used to visit them weekly, they taught me some tamil and i tuition them for their homework and entertained them with some magic and mentalism tricks for them.

if you're a buddhist, visit Jing Si Tang, they have many charitable activities.

if you got more activities please do pm me, i'll sure help when i'm available.
silverfoxes
post Oct 10 2008, 11:24 AM

271 posts

someone lead it and call us when needed
silverfoxes_88@hotmail.com
TSsching
post Nov 5 2008, 10:20 PM

188 posts

Maybe anyone who is interested in doing some charity work in pg during their free time can pm me their names, contact num, msn/yahoo mess add, etc..so i can notify you if there's any charity events which need help...
Anyla
post Dec 15 2008, 11:34 AM

41 posts

thanks u, very usefull info
shakiraa
post Apr 16 2010, 09:29 PM

hips dont lie
785 posts

Hi all penang bros & girls,

my friends and i plan to do some donation to help out the sick and poor, maybe in qtrly basis, can u guys recommend some place? we plan to either give out donation or buy stuff that they need, can be monthly or quarterly.

thanks.
weynn
post Oct 23 2010, 01:09 AM

QUOTE(matasura @ Aug 18 2008, 10:32 AM)
if ur in penang, let me give u an idea...

take  rm100 from your wallet, then change it to RM1 notes x 100

u go to places where u can see beggers, such as at komtar, chowrasta...
u ask them for lunch, but usually they say that they already had lunch, if so, just give them rm3 or rm4...
then go other places do the same thing.... biggrin.gif

i used to do this activity when i was working in penang with a close friend of mine..
there was one day when we saw a mom with her little kids (beggers) having lunch, rice and a fried fish shared about 5 of them. then we went to them, and ask the kids to take what ever they like (lauk) at the stall nearby. They took fried chicken! the kids were so happy! we felt happy too, but I feel like  bye.gif  when i saw poor people like this...

u can make poor people happy with just little effort..
on the other side, u just make urself feel good.... rclxm9.gif
yup...doing that is very good...but there is something we can do to help them. Maybe today you buy them food...but how about tomorrow? we're not gonna have so much time everyday buying them food...if got time also, financial also a problem.....i think we can help them not just in buying food...but we can use power in all people in here to help them...we can build like a team of charity members meeting each others outside and we can donate what we dun wan like clothes,bed and something we dun wan....coz they maybe dont even have enuf clothes to wear or just sleep at the floor. and we also can donate money to cook them food...each one few ringgit also can coz nowadays things at food stall are very expensive and very high cost consuming. some of us are also not very rich...by donate few ringgit each person we can take the money to buy some materials and we can cook d and take for them to eat. the food we cook ourself is more cheaper then we buy it at stall..so preparing them food if can get help from all of you is not a problem. any one agree? i was finding a huge amount of people to do this charity wanna see if that any people here interesting????? Helping them a GROUP is always better than helping them ALONE Thank you

Added on October 23, 2010, 1:49 am
QUOTE(RwGlmllhpSX @ Oct 8 2008, 12:53 AM)
visit children protection near masjid negeri there, most of them are chinese and some indians, i used to visit them weekly, they taught me some tamil and i tuition them for their homework and entertained them with some magic and mentalism tricks for them.

if you're a buddhist, visit Jing Si Tang, they have many charitable activities.

if you got more activities please do pm me, i'll sure help when i'm available.
Life is Wonderful - Weynn

Added on October 26, 2010, 2:22 amyup...doing that is very good...but there is something we can do to help them. Maybe today you buy them food...but how about tomorrow? we're not gonna have so much time everyday buying them food...if got time also, financial also a problem.....i think we can help them not just in buying food...but we can use power in all people in here to help them...we can build like a team of charity members meeting each others outside and we can donate what we dun wan like clothes,bed and something we dun wan....coz they maybe dont even have enuf clothes to wear or just sleep at the floor. and we also can donate money to cook them food...each one few ringgit also can coz nowadays things at food stall are very expensive and very high cost consuming. some of us are also not very rich...by donate few ringgit each person we can take the money to buy some materials and we can cook d and take for them to eat. the food we cook ourself is more cheaper then we buy it at stall..so preparing them food if can get help from all of you is not a problem. any one agree? i was finding a huge amount of people to do this charity wanna see if that any people here interesting????? Helping them a GROUP is always better than helping them ALONE Thank you

This post has been edited by weynn: Oct 26 2010, 02:22 AM
blue_winter
post Dec 16 2010, 08:47 PM

121 posts

I think that is a good idea but nobody really wants to dedicate their time being the group organiser sad.gif
MrPuppy
post Dec 22 2010, 12:30 AM

33 posts

If there is any upcoming voluntary work im in. Feel free to contact me.

People this feel days hardly do these kind of things anymore... kinda sad
katopunk
post Dec 22 2010, 09:23 PM

United Pot Smugglers
2,343 posts

http://www.kechara.com/soup-kitchen/news/k...ands-in-penang/
genchan
post Aug 14 2011, 02:41 PM

54 posts

has there been a volunteer group formed?

Anyone interested in Sponsor A Child program in Penang? Would be great if can form a small group to start the program. More info about this in Facebook:

https://www.facebook.com/pages/Sponsor-A-Ch...211163378907235
joycelohmy
post Oct 17 2011, 02:01 PM

QUOTE(sching @ Nov 5 2008, 10:20 PM)
Maybe anyone who is interested in doing some charity work in pg during their free time can pm me their names, contact num, msn/yahoo mess add, etc..so i can notify you if there's any charity events which need help...
May i know you still keep on doing charity work? Can I join? my name: Joyce. Email: joycelohmy - yahoo dot com. Thank you.
pcminc
post Dec 5 2011, 12:50 AM

313 posts

i want join also, please contact me: 017-7847874/pcmhacker@yahoo.com
TSsching
post Dec 5 2011, 10:34 PM

188 posts

to those who are free on every 1st sunday of the month, can consider to help in recycling activity organised by Tzu Chi at Taman Pekaka. Helpers are needed. Usually they will start at 9am.
SUSWintersuN
post Dec 12 2011, 09:30 AM

3,173 posts

hi im interested but wat do i need to do?

as far as i know, recycle is depend on the people who want to recycle their things then take to center and throw. not much can charity help
dannyesang
post Dec 19 2011, 12:51 PM

Hi, my group is called "For Goodness Sake", based in Penang. We r made up of variety professional and semi professional entertainers like singers, musician, magician, dancers, wushu, MC, motivational speakers, etc. We perform and help in Children's and Old Folks' Homes and Shelters for free. We also perform for private concerts and functions and charge a competitive rate but proceeds will go to the above homes. We welcome any help if you can entertain but also need help for bigger projects for hosts, ushers, stage asssistants, coordinators etc. We do it primarily for the passion and for helping those in need.

If you wish more info , email me at : dannyesang@yahoo.ca or call me at 014 9087495.
penang23
post Dec 23 2011, 01:27 PM

63 posts

Hi Everyone,

I am doing a Free Add Math Tuition for those student who are not able to afford to tuition.
This free tuition has been carried on since last year and will continue as usual in year 2012.

Venue : Sathya Sai Baba Centre of Gelugor
Time : 8.00 pm to 10,30 pm. (Wednesday)
Subject : Add Math , SPM

I sincerely hope that everyone can help me to spread the words and broadcast this message to your friends smile.gif

Your support will help the students to score an A+ in Add Math ~

Those who are interested can pm me ~

This post has been edited by penang23: Dec 23 2011, 01:27 PM
SUSWintersuN
post Dec 23 2011, 02:04 PM

3,173 posts

Seem like penang charity not that active
DiapersM
post Dec 27 2011, 03:03 PM

32 posts

Our company sells very cheap baby and adult diapers. We can deliver the items to the charity homes you selected. For charity purposes, our company will top up another 5% of the purchased value to your selected homes.

Please email diapers.malaysia@gmail.com or visit our website for more information.
wensher2sammi
post Apr 7 2012, 11:52 PM

29 posts

QUOTE(penang23 @ Dec 23 2011, 01:27 PM)
Hi Everyone,

I am doing a Free Add Math Tuition for those student who are not able to afford to  tuition.
This free tuition has been carried on since last year and will continue as usual in year 2012.

Venue    : Sathya Sai Baba Centre of Gelugor
Time      : 8.00 pm to 10,30 pm. (Wednesday)
Subject  : Add Math , SPM

I sincerely hope that everyone can help me to spread the words and broadcast this message to your friends smile.gif

Hi, that is a good initiative. I am interested in helping out too. I am not a teacher, though. Are you still conducting that help class?
SUSWintersuN
post Apr 11 2012, 08:27 PM

3,173 posts

Hi fellow /k-tians,

Although u guys are always naughty and bully people but I know inside u all haf good heart. Mt miriam will be holding an event to raise funds for cancer patient this Sunday 15th April 2012 in Mt Miriam Cancer Hospital Penang.

I will be seting up a stall there. All profit goes to charity and even my modal to cook the stuff and sell is provide by me.

Please go and support.

At the same time, please click like in my facebook page to spread the word. Thanks

God bless

http://www.facebook.com/pages/CLiQ/412631528754312

This post has been edited by WintersuN: Apr 11 2012, 08:28 PM
TSsching
post Jun 26 2012, 04:32 PM

188 posts

Any charity events in Penang lately?
Bobo_99
post Jul 5 2012, 04:54 PM

QUOTE(penang23 @ Dec 23 2011, 01:27 PM)
Hi Everyone,

I am doing a Free Add Math Tuition for those student who are not able to afford to  tuition.

Venue    : Sathya Sai Baba Centre of Gelugor
Time      : 8.00 pm to 10,30 pm. (Wednesday)
Subject  : Add Math , SPM

Hi, do you still work on this ? I am interested to contribute as well. Can you guide me further about this ?
stargazer86
post May 31 2013, 04:07 PM

Hi all,

I just moved to Penang. And will be visiting rumah Seri cahaya near bayan lepas, this Sunday and possible every weekend.

if you'd like to join, pls pm me! smile.gifsmile.gif

also, if you believe in free good quality education for all, pm me too! I'm setting up a non profit organization.

pm me anytime, even if you are viewing this message 3 years later. wink.gif
Hazelle522
post Jun 28 2013, 09:37 AM

Count me in, I am from Penang. Love charity activities everywhere! smile.gif
pkwei4138
post Jul 14 2013, 06:30 PM

150 posts

seem like recently not activity??

Recently i m start to learn folding balloon as photo.

if anyone society need me, please PM or Email: pk_wei4138@hotmail.com.

thank you.

This post has been edited by pkwei4138: Jul 14 2013, 06:34 PM

Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image
busyman
post Aug 29 2013, 11:53 AM

1,465 posts

which old folks home / orphanage / oku disable house need some donation ?

kindly let me know as i have no idea.

We are currently doingsome charity sales, but instead of donate to guanghwa paper/ guangming, I prefer to directly donate to certain homes.

Kindly direct me to those who really need financial helps.

and please do support my charity sales.

100% donated to charity, no earning a single cent

view my FB page for more charity detail.

https://www.facebook.com/Genoss.AppleHouse

gigi247
post Aug 30 2013, 10:57 AM

QUOTE(sching @ Aug 4 2008, 11:31 AM)

I am from penang and was wondering where I can help in doing some charity work. Is anyone from penang who is involved with any charity, could advise me on this?

how many of you from penang who are interested in doing some charity work during free time but juz do not know where to start too?

osn1822
post Jun 3 2014, 05:26 AM

Hi, there. I wanna ask where can I do social work on weekday 9.30am to 11.30am? I am only free during that period of time. Any suggestion?
osn1822
post Jun 3 2014, 05:33 AM

QUOTE(stargazer86 @ May 31 2013, 04:07 PM)
Hi all,

I just moved to Penang. And will be visiting rumah Seri cahaya near bayan lepas, this Sunday and possible every weekend.

if you'd like to join, pls pm me! smile.gifsmile.gif

also, if you believe in free good quality education for all, pm me too! I'm setting up a non profit organization.

pm me anytime, even if you are viewing this message 3 years later. wink.gif
Hi, there. I wonder are you still doing tuition for free? I can help out on that. I am a tutor too. But the only thing is my time is not flexible. I am only available on weekday 9.30am to 11.30am. Drop me a msg if you needed help at osn1822@gmail.com. thank you.
GentleBillionaire
post Jul 16 2014, 07:30 PM

64 posts

Help the orphaned homes in Penang and KL.
For more info: https://m.facebook.com/gratitudemalaysia?re...GUyMzMifQ%3D%3D
ericlow8000
post Nov 12 2015, 01:58 PM

QUOTE(sching @ Aug 4 2008, 12:31 PM)

Hi, me and my friend has a charity team that do the charity all the time. if you are interest just add me throught wechat @ ericlow8000, and put interest in charity
ensanyglobal
post Mar 2 2018, 10:05 AM

ENSANY is a registered non-profit organization under name Persatuan Kebajikan Ensany Malaysia. We are also collaborate and support all non-profit organizations as well as individual to create campaigns, raise funds and have their web presence through our platform. Let us work together to have a better world. Wipe the Tears, Draw the Happiness. You may visit our website to create free campaign or giving donations to those who are in needs https://www.ensany.com/

contact Ensany Marketing: +601128614721

TSsching
post Mar 13 2018, 11:40 AM

188 posts

Those of you who would like to contribute your time/donation while shopping may consider WCC Value Shop. https://www.facebook.com/WCCValueShop/

The Women’s Centre for Change is a non-profit NGO that hopes to eradicate gender based violence and create a world were women can actualize their full potential. Due to the organizations non-profit status the organization frequently hosts fund raising projects so that the organization may continue on their path to eradicating gender based violence.

The WCC Value Store is an initiative created by the Women’s Center for Change to provide a steady flow of financial funds for the organization while advocating sustainable living and providing customers with good quality goods for affordable prices.

The WCC Value Store will be run by volunteers encouraging everyday people that “change is possible”.

0.0315sec    0.87    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 10:05 AM