9 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Bottom

Serious Talk Inspirational Stories, Pictures, Quotes...

TSMayAnne
post Oct 20 2008, 01:08 AM

Faith Hope Love
3,170 posts

Looking Up...

If you put a buzzard in a pen six or eight feet square and entirely open at the top, the bird, in spite of his ability to fly, will be an absolute prisoner. The reason is that a buzzard always begins a flight from the ground with a run of ten or twelve feet. Without space to run, as is his habit, he will not even attempt to fly, but will remain a prisoner for life in a small jail with no top.

The ordinary bat that flies around at night, a remarkable nimble creature in the air, cannot take off from a level place. If it is placed on the floor or flat ground, all it can do is shuffle about helplessly and, no doubt, painfully, until it reaches some slight elevation from which it can throw itself into the air. Then, at once, it takes off like a flash.

A Bumblebee if dropped into an open tumbler will be there until it dies, unless it is taken out. It never sees the means of escape at the top, but persists in trying to find some way out through the sides near the bottom. It will seek a way where none exists, until it completely destroys itself.

In many ways, there are lots of people like the buzzard, the bat and the bee. They are struggling about with all their problems and frustrations, not realizing that the answer is right there above them.

This is to remind us to step back, look at our situation as though we were in a helicopter looking down. If we feel like we are in the trees, step back and look at the forest – then we will realize that our problems have solutions.

TSMayAnne
post Oct 21 2008, 12:26 AM

Faith Hope Love
3,170 posts

The Power of ENCOURAGEMENT

A group of frogs were traveling through the woods, and two of them fell into a deep pit. When the other frogs saw how deep the pit was, they yelled to the two frogs that they were as good as dead. The two frogs ignored the comments and tried to jump up out of the pit with all their might. The other frogs kept telling to them to stop, that there was no hope.

Finally, one of the frogs took heed to what the other frogs were saying and gave up. He fell down and died.

The other frog continued jumping as hard as he could. Once again, the crowd of frogs yelled at him to stop his jumping and just die. He jumped even harder and finally made it out. When he got out, (after taking a needed rest) the other frogs clammered, "Didn’t you hear us?" The frog explained to them that he was deaf. He thought they were encouraging him the entire time.

From this we learn two lessons. There is power of life and death in the tongue.

a) An encouraging word to someone who is down can lift him up and help him make it through the day.
b) A destructive word to someone who is down can be what it takes to kill him.

Words have the power of life and death. We should be careful of what we say. Speak words of encouragement to those who cross your path. It is often difficult to understand that an encouraging word can go such a long way. Anyone can speak words that tend to rob another of the spirit to continue in difficult times. Special is the individual who will take the time to encourage another. Be that special person. smile.gif

TSMayAnne
post Oct 22 2008, 12:51 AM

Faith Hope Love
3,170 posts

~ HUMILITY ~

...a strange thing.
The minute you think you've got it,
you've lost it!

TSMayAnne
post Oct 22 2008, 01:35 PM

Faith Hope Love
3,170 posts

Ashes of Vengeance

Dun was a hard little city, proud and harsh; but impregnable because it was built upon a high rock. The host of the Visigoths had besieged it for months in vain. Then came a fugitive from the city, at midnight, to the tent of Alaric, the Chief of the besiegers.

The man was haggard and torn. His eyes were wild, his hands trembling. The Chief held and steadied him with a look.

"Who are you?" he asked. "Your name, the purpose that brings you here?"

"My name," said the man, "is the Avenger. For thirty years I have lived in Dun, and the people have been unjust and cruel to me. They persecuted my family, because they hated me. My wife died of a broken heart, my children of starvation. I have just escaped from the prison of Dun, and come to tell you how the city may be taken. There is a secret pathway, a hidden entrance. I know it and can reveal it to you."

"Good," said the Chief, measuring the man with tranquil eyes, "but what is your price?"

"Vengeance," said the man, "I ask only the right to revenge my sufferings upon those who have inflicted them, when you have taken the city."

Alaric bent his head and was silent for a moment. "It is a fair price," he said, "and I will pay it. Tell me the way to take the city, and I will leave at your command a troop of soldiers sufficient to work your will on it afterward."

The trumpet sounded the capture of the city in the morning. The Avenger, waking late from his troubled sleep, led his soldiers through the open gate.

It was like a city of the dead, and the bodies of those who had been killed in the last defense, lay where they had fallen. Empty and silent were the streets where lie had so often walked in humiliation. Gone were the familiar faces that had frowned on him and mocked him. The houses at whose doors he had often knocked were vacant. His wrath sank within him, and the arrow of solitude pierced him to the heart.

Then he came to the belfry, and there was the bell-ringer, one of the worst of his ancient persecutors, standing at the entrance of the tower.

"Why are you here?" said the Avenger.

"By the orders of King Alaric," answered the bell-ringer, "to ring the bells when peace comes to the city."

"Ring now," said the Avenger, "ring now!"

Then, at the sound of the bells, the people who had concealed themselves at Alaric's command came trooping forth from the cellars and caves where they had been hiding,--old men and women and children, a motley throng of sufferers.

The Avenger looked at them and the tears ran down his cheeks, because he remembered.

"Listen," he said, "don't be afraid. These soldiers are going on to join their army. You have done me great wrong. But the fire of hatred is burnt out, and in the ashes of vengeance we are going to plant the seeds of peace."

December, 1918.

~ THE END ~

Henry Van Dyke's short story: Ashes of Vengeance

TSMayAnne
post Oct 26 2008, 06:21 AM

Faith Hope Love
3,170 posts

TSMayAnne
post Oct 27 2008, 04:46 PM

Faith Hope Love
3,170 posts

TSMayAnne
post Oct 29 2008, 08:26 AM

Faith Hope Love
3,170 posts

TSMayAnne
post Nov 1 2008, 04:31 PM

Faith Hope Love
3,170 posts

TSMayAnne
post Nov 3 2008, 09:25 AM

Faith Hope Love
3,170 posts

THE TOUCHSTONE

When the great library of Alexandria burned, the story goes, one book was saved. But it was not a valuable book; and so a poor man, who could read a little, bought it for a few copper coins.

The book wasn't very interesting, but between its pages there was something very interesting indeed. It was a thin strip of vellum on which was written the secret of the "Touchstone".

The touchstone was a small pebble that could turn any common metal into pure gold. The writing explained that it was lying among thousands and thousands of other pebbles that looked exactly like it. But the secret was this: The real stone would feel warm, while ordinary pebbles are cold.

So the man sold his few belongings, bought some simple supplies, camped on the seashore, and began testing pebbles.

He knew that if he picked up ordinary pebbles and threw them down again because they were cold, he might pick up the same pebble hundreds of times. So, when he felt one that was cold, he threw it into the sea. He spent a whole day doing this but none of them was the touchstone. Yet he went on and on this way. Pick up a pebble. Cold - throw it into the sea. Pick up another. Throw it into the sea.

The days stretched into weeks and the weeks into months. One day, however, about midafternoon, he picked up a pebble and it was warm. He threw it into the sea before he realized what he had done. He had formed such a strong habit of throwing each pebble into the sea that when the one he wanted came along, he still threw it away.

So it is with opportunity.

This is to remind us that "unless we are vigilant, it's easy to fail to recognize an opportunity when it is in hand and it's just as easy to throw it away." So we must be extra careful, and try not to dismiss things so easily. Just because something similar in the past failed, or someone else who seems similar didn’t turn out well, try not to be instinctively negative – or we may miss a God given opportunity that was sent to us.

HAVE A GREAT DAY AHEAD! smile.gif

TSMayAnne
post Nov 5 2008, 10:03 AM

Faith Hope Love
3,170 posts

"Always do right. This will gratify some people and astonish the rest."

~ Mark Twain ~

TSMayAnne
post Nov 5 2008, 10:22 PM

Faith Hope Love
3,170 posts

HOPE...

Whether you are happy or disappointed with the results of this hotly fought election, it is now a time of hope for the country. Hope that regardless of who is running the country, our lot as a people improves.

Hope that the economy turns around and people are earning healthy livings. Hope that our borders – will be protected against terrorist threats – both internal and external. Hope that our education and healthcare improve. And hope that freedom and growth around the world rebound.

We judge of man's wisdom by his hope.
- Ralph Waldo Emerson

The very least you can do in your life is to figure out what you hope for. And the most you can do is live inside that hope. Not admire it from a distance but live right in it, under its roof.
- Barbara Kingsolver

Hope is the last thing that dies in man; and though it be exceedingly deceitful, yet it is of this good use to us, that while we are traveling through life it conducts us in an easier and more pleasant way to our journey’s end.
- François de la Rochefoucauld

Practice hope. As hopefulness becomes a habit, you can achieve a permanently happy spirit.
- Norman Vincent Peale

He who does not hope to win has already lost.
- Jose Joaquin Olmedo

TSMayAnne
post Nov 6 2008, 11:35 PM

Faith Hope Love
3,170 posts

"You can know the name of a bird in all the languages of the world, but when you're finished, you'll know absolutely nothing whatever about the bird... So let's look at the bird and see what it's doing -- that's what counts. I learned very early the difference between knowing the name of something and knowing something."

~ Richard Feynman ~

TSMayAnne
post Nov 12 2008, 11:09 PM

Faith Hope Love
3,170 posts

Everything I Need To Know I Learned From Noah’s Ark

1. Don't miss the boat.

2. Remember that we are all in the same boat.

3. Plan ahead. It wasn't raining when Noah built the Ark.

4. Stay fit. When you're 600 years old, someone may ask you to do something really big.

5. Don't listen to critics; just get on with the job that needs to be done.

6. Build your future on high ground.

7. For safety's sake, travel in pairs.

8. Speed isn't always an advantage. The snails were on board with the cheetahs.

9. When you're stressed, float a while.

10. Remember, the Ark was built by amateurs; the Titanic by professionals.

11. No matter the storm, when you are with God, there's always a rainbow waiting.

TSMayAnne
post Nov 16 2008, 05:49 PM

Faith Hope Love
3,170 posts

TSMayAnne
post Nov 19 2008, 11:28 PM

Faith Hope Love
3,170 posts

TSMayAnne
post Nov 21 2008, 03:16 PM

Faith Hope Love
3,170 posts

Leona Lewis - Footprints in the Sand
TSMayAnne
post Nov 25 2008, 12:26 PM

Faith Hope Love
3,170 posts

It's How You Say It...

A man and his wife had been arguing all night, and as bedtime approached neither was speaking to the other. It was not unusual for the pair to continue this war of silence for two or three days, however, on this occasion the man was concerned; he needed to be awake at 4:30am the next morning to catch an important flight, and being a very heavy sleeper he normally relied on his wife to wake him. Cleverly, so he thought, while his wife was in the bathroom, he wrote on a piece of paper: "Please wake me at 4:30am - I have an important flight to catch". He put the note on his wife's pillow, then turned over and went to sleep.

The man awoke the next morning and looked at the clock. It was 8:00am. Enraged that he'd missed his flight, he was about to go in search of his errant wife to give her a piece of his mind, when he spotted a hand-written note on his bedside cabinet.

The note said: "It's 4:30am - get up."

This is to remind us that in life it is not always what you say, but how you say. Learn not just to speak, but to be heard.

TSMayAnne
post Nov 26 2008, 09:31 AM

Faith Hope Love
3,170 posts

The Hand : A Thanksgiving Story

Thanksgiving Day was near. The first grade teacher gave her class a fun assignment -- to draw a picture of something for which they were thankful.

Most of the class might be considered economically disadvantaged, but still many would celebrate the holiday with turkey and other traditional goodies of the season. These, the teacher thought, would be the subjects of most of her student's art. And they were.

But Douglas made a different kind of picture. Douglas was a different kind of boy. He was the teacher's true child of misery, frail and unhappy. As other children played at recess, Douglas was likely to stand close by her side. One could only guess at the pain Douglas felt behind those sad eyes.

Yes, his picture was different. When asked to draw a picture of something for which he was thankful, he drew a hand. Nothing else. Just an empty hand.

His abstract image captured the imagination of his peers. Whose hand could it be? One child guessed it was the hand of a farmer, because farmers raise turkeys. Another suggested a police officer, because the police protect and care for people. Still others guessed it was the hand of God, for God feeds us. And so the discussion went -- until the teacher almost forgot the young artist himself.

When the children had gone on to other assignments, she paused at Douglas' desk, bent down, and asked him whose hand it was. The little boy looked away and murmured, "It's yours, teacher."

She recalled the times she had taken his hand and walked with him here or there, as she had the other students. How often had she said, "Take my hand, Douglas, we'll go outside." Or, "Let me show you how to hold your pencil." Or, "Let's do this together." Douglas was most thankful for his teacher's hand.

Brushing aside a tear, she went on with her work.

The story speaks of more than thankfulness. It says something about teachers teaching and parents parenting and friends showing friendship, and how much it means to the Douglases of the world. They might not always say thanks. But they'll remember the hand that reaches out.

TSMayAnne
post Nov 27 2008, 12:42 PM

Faith Hope Love
3,170 posts

TSMayAnne
post Dec 1 2008, 09:34 AM

Faith Hope Love
3,170 posts

Our Scars

Some years ago on a hot summer day in South Florida, a little boy decided to go for a swim in the old swimming hole behind his house. In a hurry to dive into the cool water, he ran out the back door, leaving behind shoes, socks, and shirt as he went. He flew into the water, not realizing that as he swam toward the middle of the lake, an alligator was swimming toward the shore.

His mother, in the house, was looking out the window-saw the two as they got closer and closer together. In utter fear, she ran toward the water, yelling to her son as loudly as she could. Hearing her voice, the little boy became alarmed and made a U-turn to swim to his mother. It was too late. Just as he reached her, the alligator reached him.

From the dock, the mother grabbed her little boy by the arms just as the alligator snatched his legs. That began an incredible tug-of-war between the two. The alligator was much stronger than the mother, but the mother was much too passionate to let go.

A farmer happened to drive by, heard her screams, raced from his truck, took aim and shot the alligator. Remarkably, after weeks and weeks in the hospital, the little boy survived.

His legs were extremely scarred by the vicious attack of the animal. And, on his arms, were deep scratches where his mother's fingernails dug into his flesh in her effort to hang on to the son she loved.

The newspaper reporter, who interviewed the boy after the trauma, asked if he would show him his scars. The boy lifted his pant legs. And then, with obvious pride, he said to the reporter, "But look at my arms. I have great scars on my arms, too. I have them because my Mom wouldn't let go."

We can identify with that little boy. We have scars, too. Maybe not from an alligator or anything quite so dramatic. But maybe the scars of a painful past. Some of those scars are unsightly and have caused us deep regret. But I strongly believe that some wounds are because God has refused to let go. In the midst of our struggle, He's been there holding on to us.

I hope the above story acts as a reminder that we should all view our scars as growth as we move along our path. And that we should be thankful for them as they are helpful in our growth to achieve what we are here for in this world.

HAVE A GREAT DAY AHEAD. smile.gif

9 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.0582sec    0.44    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 07:16 PM