~ HUMILITY ~
...a strange thing.
The minute you think you've got it,
you've lost it!
Serious Talk Inspirational Stories, Pictures, Quotes...
Oct 22 2008, 12:51 AM
3,170 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: the World Wide Web Status: Hacked |
![]() ~ HUMILITY ~ ...a strange thing. The minute you think you've got it, you've lost it! |
Oct 22 2008, 01:42 AM
0 posts Joined: Oct 2008 |
![]() ~ ATHEISM ~ ...The fact that a believer is happier than a skeptic is no more to the point than the fact that a drunken man is happier than a so/b/er one." |
Oct 22 2008, 01:35 PM
Ashes of Vengeance
Dun was a hard little city, proud and harsh; but impregnable because it was built upon a high rock. The host of the Visigoths had besieged it for months in vain. Then came a fugitive from the city, at midnight, to the tent of Alaric, the Chief of the besiegers. The man was haggard and torn. His eyes were wild, his hands trembling. The Chief held and steadied him with a look. "Who are you?" he asked. "Your name, the purpose that brings you here?" "My name," said the man, "is the Avenger. For thirty years I have lived in Dun, and the people have been unjust and cruel to me. They persecuted my family, because they hated me. My wife died of a broken heart, my children of starvation. I have just escaped from the prison of Dun, and come to tell you how the city may be taken. There is a secret pathway, a hidden entrance. I know it and can reveal it to you." "Good," said the Chief, measuring the man with tranquil eyes, "but what is your price?" "Vengeance," said the man, "I ask only the right to revenge my sufferings upon those who have inflicted them, when you have taken the city." Alaric bent his head and was silent for a moment. "It is a fair price," he said, "and I will pay it. Tell me the way to take the city, and I will leave at your command a troop of soldiers sufficient to work your will on it afterward." The trumpet sounded the capture of the city in the morning. The Avenger, waking late from his troubled sleep, led his soldiers through the open gate. It was like a city of the dead, and the bodies of those who had been killed in the last defense, lay where they had fallen. Empty and silent were the streets where lie had so often walked in humiliation. Gone were the familiar faces that had frowned on him and mocked him. The houses at whose doors he had often knocked were vacant. His wrath sank within him, and the arrow of solitude pierced him to the heart. Then he came to the belfry, and there was the bell-ringer, one of the worst of his ancient persecutors, standing at the entrance of the tower. "Why are you here?" said the Avenger. "By the orders of King Alaric," answered the bell-ringer, "to ring the bells when peace comes to the city." "Ring now," said the Avenger, "ring now!" Then, at the sound of the bells, the people who had concealed themselves at Alaric's command came trooping forth from the cellars and caves where they had been hiding,--old men and women and children, a motley throng of sufferers. The Avenger looked at them and the tears ran down his cheeks, because he remembered. "Listen," he said, "don't be afraid. These soldiers are going on to join their army. You have done me great wrong. But the fire of hatred is burnt out, and in the ashes of vengeance we are going to plant the seeds of peace." December, 1918. ~ THE END ~ Henry Van Dyke's short story: Ashes of Vengeance |
Oct 22 2008, 06:11 PM
1,245 posts Joined: Aug 2008 From: ERROR643:GPS failed to load |
this maybe old but it really touches my heart, [ and made me weep too after watching this.....]
Yoo Ye Eun is a 5 year old prodigy (as of 2008) in piano from South Korea. She was born blind and has never had any formal piano lesson, but can play songs just by listening to it once. She has been playing piano since the age of three, after listening to her mother sing. Since then, she has been “learning” songs by listening to music on the computer. Yoo Ye Eun is also an adoptee. She has performed with Britain's Got Talent's Connie Talbot in a South Korean TV show called "Star King". god bless sweet little Ye Eun.... This post has been edited by old newspaper: Oct 22 2008, 07:05 PM |
Oct 22 2008, 06:40 PM
2,850 posts Joined: Aug 2006 From: Stellar Nursery |
Concentration Skill Through Painting
![]() http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/824004 QUOTE Teaching art is a sacred act. Every sacred act needs ‘ Concentration ‘ .Through our teaching we are developing ‘ Observation, Concentration, Memory and Imagination’ in Children. That’s why in our school even a 3 year old child sits for 2 hours and works with concentration. In reality drawing is a method about “how to use a line and a curve”. A Line and a Curve…from these two symbols you can construct any picture in this universe. To do that, you have to change your way of thinking. Then you can draw any picture beautifully.That why drawing is not just getting some pictures on paper or canvas. It is a way of thinking. If the child’s thinking improves, his drawing will also become better. Observation, concentration will come through Drawing & Painting, if taught through scientific methods. By achieving these skills, Children will get a third skill also. That third skill is ‘ Struggling to achieve some thing.’ Once children achieve these three skills that will lead to ‘ Understanding skills.’ This is the fourth skill. These skills will make children the best in their education and their future career also. http://creativepaintingschool.com/ |
Oct 24 2008, 07:21 AM
72,771 posts Joined: Sep 2005 From: KUL |
![]() Good morning, it is a brand new day! Forget yesterday, utilise today, anticipate tomorrow! |
Oct 26 2008, 06:21 AM
![]() |
Oct 27 2008, 12:03 AM
546 posts Joined: Dec 2007 |
![]() HAPPY DIVALI TO OUR INDIAN FRIENDS |
Oct 27 2008, 04:46 PM
![]() |
Oct 28 2008, 05:06 PM
5,237 posts Joined: Sep 2006 From: Stary Oskol |
Posting in MayAnne Threads
Struggle A man found a cocoon of a butterfly. One day a small opening appeared; he sat and watched the butterfly for several hours as it struggled to force its body through that little hole. Then it seemed to stop making any progress. It appeared as if it had gotten as far as it could and it could go no farther. Then the man decided to help the butterfly, so he took a pair of scissors and snipped off the remaining bit of the cocoon. The butterfly then emerged easily. But it had a swollen body and small, shriveled wings. The man continued to watch the butterfly because he expected that, at any moment, the wings would enlarge and expand to be able to support the body, which would contract in time. Neither happened! In fact, the butterfly spent the rest of its life crawling around with a swollen body and shriveled wings. It never was able to fly. What the man in his kindness and haste did not understand was that the restricting cocoon and the struggle required for the butterfly to get through the tiny opening were nature's way of forcing fluid from the body of the butterfly into its wings so that it would be ready for flight once it achieved its freedom from the cocoon. Sometimes struggles are exactly what we need in our life. If nature allowed us to go through our life without any obstacles, it would cripple us. We would not be as strong as what we could have been. And we could never fly... |
Oct 29 2008, 08:26 AM
![]() |
Oct 30 2008, 08:44 AM
505 posts Joined: Sep 2008 From: https://goo.gl/96W8ru |
~~ U see the dark because there is light. The Light will guide us, as well as those around us ... ~~ it was a quote from a TV series about a decade ago, which i couldn't recall exactly from which; but i could recall it's either from The X-files or The Millenium.. |
Oct 31 2008, 02:17 PM
One day, the father of a wealthy family took his son on a trip to the country with the express purpose of showing him how poor people live. They spent a couple of days and nights on the farm of what would be considered a very poor family. On their return from their trip, the father asked his son, “How was the trip?” It was great, Dad.” “Did you see how poor people live?” the father asked. “Oh yeah,” said the son. “So, tell me, what you learned from the trip?” asked the father. The son answered: “I saw that we have one dog and they had four. We have a pool that reaches to the middle of our garden and they have a creek that has no end. We have imported lanterns in our garden and they have the stars at night… Our patio reaches to the front yard and they have the whole horizon. We have a small piece of land to live on and they have fields that go beyond our sight. We have servants who serve us, but they serve others. We buy our food, but they grow theirs. We have walls around our property to protect us; They have friends to protect them.” The boy’s father was speechless. Then his son added, “Thanks Dad for showing me how poor we are.” * * * Isn’t perspective a wonderful thing? Makes you wonder what would happen if we all gave thanks for everything we have, instead of worrying about what we don’t have. Appreciate every single thing you have! fun_and_fun_only@yahoogroups.com |
Oct 31 2008, 04:40 PM
72 posts Joined: Oct 2008 |
I found this somewhere... Hope its not a repost.
Food For The Soul An elderly carpenter was ready to retire. He told his employer, a building contractor, of his plans to leave the house building business and live a more leisurely life with his wife enjoying his extended family. He would miss the paycheck, but he needed to retire. They could get by. His employer was sorry to see his good worker go and asked if he could build just one more house as a personal favor. The carpenter said yes, but it was easy to see that his heart was no longer in his work. He had lost his enthusiasm and had resorted to shoddy workmanship and used inferior materials. It was an unfortunate way to end his career. When the carpenter finished his work and his boss came to inspect the new house, the contractor handed the front-door key to the carpenter. "This is your house," he said, "my gift to you." What a shock! What a shame! If he had only known he was building his own house, he would have done it all so differently. Now he had to live in the home he had built none too well. So it is with us. We build our lives in a distracted way, reacting rather than acting, willing to put up less than the best. At important points we do not give the job our best effort. Then with a shock we look at the situation we have created and find that we are now living in the house we have built for ourselves. If we had realized, we would have done it differently. Think of yourself as the carpenter. Think about your house. Each day you hammer a nail, place a board, or erect a wall. Build wisely. It is the only life you will ever build. Even if you live it for only one day more, that day deserves to be lived graciously and with dignity. The plaque on the wall says, "Life is a do-it-yourself project." Who could say it more clearly? Your life today is the result of your attitudes and choices in the past. Your life tomorrow will be the result. |
Oct 31 2008, 07:48 PM
397 posts Joined: Oct 2007 From: broken heart land, single forever~ |
![]() there always got hope, don't ever forsake it |
Nov 1 2008, 02:32 AM
257 posts Joined: Jul 2008 From: Klang Valley |
"Be who you are and say what you feel, because those who mind don't matter and those who matter don't mind."
Nov 1 2008, 04:31 PM
![]() |
Nov 2 2008, 05:54 PM
59 posts Joined: Apr 2006 |
Nov 3 2008, 09:25 AM
THE TOUCHSTONE
When the great library of Alexandria burned, the story goes, one book was saved. But it was not a valuable book; and so a poor man, who could read a little, bought it for a few copper coins. The book wasn't very interesting, but between its pages there was something very interesting indeed. It was a thin strip of vellum on which was written the secret of the "Touchstone". The touchstone was a small pebble that could turn any common metal into pure gold. The writing explained that it was lying among thousands and thousands of other pebbles that looked exactly like it. But the secret was this: The real stone would feel warm, while ordinary pebbles are cold. So the man sold his few belongings, bought some simple supplies, camped on the seashore, and began testing pebbles. He knew that if he picked up ordinary pebbles and threw them down again because they were cold, he might pick up the same pebble hundreds of times. So, when he felt one that was cold, he threw it into the sea. He spent a whole day doing this but none of them was the touchstone. Yet he went on and on this way. Pick up a pebble. Cold - throw it into the sea. Pick up another. Throw it into the sea. The days stretched into weeks and the weeks into months. One day, however, about midafternoon, he picked up a pebble and it was warm. He threw it into the sea before he realized what he had done. He had formed such a strong habit of throwing each pebble into the sea that when the one he wanted came along, he still threw it away. So it is with opportunity. This is to remind us that "unless we are vigilant, it's easy to fail to recognize an opportunity when it is in hand and it's just as easy to throw it away." So we must be extra careful, and try not to dismiss things so easily. Just because something similar in the past failed, or someone else who seems similar didn’t turn out well, try not to be instinctively negative – or we may miss a God given opportunity that was sent to us. HAVE A GREAT DAY AHEAD! |
Nov 3 2008, 10:02 AM
In youth men are apt to write more wisely than they really know or feel; and the remainder of life may be not idly spent in realizing and convincing themselves of the wisdom which they uttered long ago. ~ NATHANIEL HAWTHORNE, preface, The Snow-Image Beauty is a precarious trace that eternity causes to appear to us and that it takes away from us. A manifestation of eternity, and a sign of death as well. Often it seems to me to be an evil flower of nothingness, or else the cry of the world as it dies, or a desperate, sumptuous prayer. ~EUGENE IONESCO, Present Past / Past Present At some point in life the world's beauty becomes enough. You don't need to photograph, paint or even remember it. It is enough. No record of it needs to be kept and you don't need someone to share it with or tell it to. When that happens — that letting go — you let go because you can. ~TONI MORRISON, Tar Baby It's important for all types of women to know that you don't have to fit a prototype of what one person thinks is beautiful in order to be beautiful or feel beautiful.... People think, Sexy, big breasts, curvy body, no cellulite. It's not that. Take the girl at the beach with the cellulite legs, wearing her bathing suit the way she likes it, walking with a certain air, comfortable with herself. That woman is sexy. Then you see the perfect girl who's really thin, tugging at her bathing suit, wondering how her hair looks. That's not sexy. ~JENNIFER LOPEZ, Readers Digest, Aug. 2003 |
| Change to: | 0.0292sec
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 05:02 PM |