Console Gaming Paradise

technophile
post Aug 2 2008, 12:31 AM

@techsupremo
580 posts

QUOTE(kev_sensei @ Aug 2 2008, 12:15 AM)
Hey there!

My partner and me are planning to open a console network shop where we would have over 40 consoles (Xbox/PS3) depending on space. ( Could be more ) We are planning to create a gamer kind of feel sort of like a cybercafe. We would also serve snacks and beverage too! I need some ideas on how our interior would be and would you actually hang out in this place if there is one ?
hmm.. sounds like that place they used to have in Sunway Pyramid. and that place tanked..

it's boring and you get to play in open spaces where sound from other game booths will interfere with your experience.

if i have a suggestion, is to have a redbox-styled rooms where ppl can come in and play. that way, i can scream "PWNED!!!!!!!" and laugh at my friend's face as loud as i want without interfering ppl from other room.

This post has been edited by technophile: Aug 2 2008, 12:38 AM
technophile
post Aug 2 2008, 12:39 AM

@techsupremo
580 posts

oh another thing, please have the place in the middle of the town where it is easily accessible by ppl travelling in lrts and monorails.

i think that's another reason why that joint in sunway tanked.
technophile
post Aug 2 2008, 01:19 AM

@techsupremo
580 posts

QUOTE(kev_sensei @ Aug 2 2008, 01:10 AM)
We have a few possible locations in mind such as SS15 in Subang Jaya, Taipan Usj, and SS2 PJ!
Thanks for the heaps of suggestions =D
NOOOOO!!!
still too farrrrrr!!!!

must take feeder busssss....

NOOOOO!!!!~

tongue.gif
technophile
post Aug 2 2008, 03:20 AM

@techsupremo
580 posts

just dropped you a PM bro..
technophile
post Aug 3 2008, 04:08 AM

@techsupremo
580 posts

QUOTE(ron4 @ Aug 2 2008, 05:17 PM)
Haiya all in PJ nowdays, boring lah, public transportation is not that good over there

Why not u rent a shop in shopping complex like Midvalley, klcc, or Sogo or other places that near to lrt station.
true, very true.

as much as KL will always jam, PJ is much more worse (if you are driving).
and yes, it's hard to reach there by public transport.
technophile
post Aug 3 2008, 11:45 PM

@techsupremo
580 posts

QUOTE(toottut89 @ Aug 3 2008, 01:44 PM)
i think ss15 will get more customer as there is so many college there. just my 2cents.
not to be judgemental but i dun think most college students will want to plop their limited cash on the playtime. unless they can keep the cost low, all i see is young adults and yuppies are going to enjoy this. and family of coz.

coz the last time they had it in sunway, i remember for one hour the charge was too high for me to play there.

i used to work around BB area, it would be fun if i can get away in my own game world after work sometime with my colleagues. have a pot shot or two at someone in winning eleven etc.

that's the market you need to tap. ppl with money and willing to spend.

and yes, please have it in a shopping mall. the rational is everywhere. accessibility, human traffic, ease to do events.

remember this shop with great potential called Settler's Cafe? it was a hit in Singapore so they brought it here and set it up in SS2 (or was it 14?). too bad none of the ppl like me (i'm staying in danau kota, which is 10 minutes from KLCC area driving and 20 minutes if i take the train) wants to go.

having it in a shoplot will undermine your acceptance as ppl will quickly see you as another cybercafe.

well.. that's my 2 cents.
technophile
post Aug 6 2008, 10:20 PM

@techsupremo
580 posts

QUOTE(ooj @ Aug 6 2008, 10:16 PM)
All in squatter area.

TS, another thing you need to consider is the different group sizes. If a group of 10 friends want to play, will you be able to accommodate all of them in 1 room? It may mean shifting your tv and consoles around, so you may want to put them on mobile stands.

I suggest you hire a market research firm to do a consumer survey on whether there is demand for this and also the price range they are willing to pay. I can recommend you a good consultant. He gives away free RM5 coupons and can accumulate points.  tongue.gif
yeah. having a marketing research consultant will always help. a small price to pay for good planning in the long run.
technophile
post Aug 14 2008, 07:12 PM

@techsupremo
580 posts

QUOTE(bernardyong @ Aug 14 2008, 05:30 PM)
I remember reading that the XBOX360 has a portable storage device (something like a USB thumb drive, similar in function to the memory sticks of the original Playstation) which you can use to store your profile info and saved games, and carry it around with you. So even if you play on another 360 console, you can still have all your stats and settings.
the Memory Module doesn't support some games. coz the saved games are signed to a specific console. thus you can only save it on the HDD. plus i dun think many ppl who would want to shell out about RM120 for 512mb of storage.

0.0362sec    0.41    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 06:43 AM