Wireless Broadband Celcom Broadband Thread V3, Wireless Connection up to 3.6Mbps

MyKy44
post Aug 17 2008, 11:41 AM

kaki bodek staff
2,821 posts

In clarifying your concern on Fair Usage Policy, we wish to share with you that Celcom takes customer experience very seriously and we have implemented the 5G Fair Usage Policy to ensure all customer enjoy the services equally.

Customers that exceed the set 5GB allocation will not be charged extra currently. They can still enjoy their connectivity however Celcom reserves the right to manage the customers speed to a lower bandwidth.

Similarly, the speed will continue at the reduced speed allocation until the end of that particular calendar month. On the first day of each month, customer's bandwidth allocation counter will be reset to 0 and their speed will be reset back to their original subscribed speed.

Based on customer's current package, if they have subscribed Celcom Broadband Advance (3.6Mbps), the speed will reduce to 128 kbps and if they have subscribed Celcom Broadband Basic (384 kbps) the speed will then reduce to 64 kbps.

Roughly 5 gigabyte is about 1200 songs in MP3 format, or 5 two-hour movies, or 10,000 content rich websites like www.yahoo.com.

Additionally, we noted your invaluable feedback regards to 'Fair Usage Policy' with utmost concern and the issue has been extended to the appropriate department for their deliberations.

It is hoped that the above could clarify the situation.

It was a pleasure serving you and we wish to extend our heart-felt thank you for your continued patronage and contribution to Celcom.

Best regards

Norsuzila Shaari
Communique Resources Centre
Customer Service

Thank you for revolnia for extra info.  icon_rolleyes.gif

Geez that explains stuffs doh.gif
Thanks for the info. Now to warn my sharing users.
MyKy44
post Aug 30 2008, 06:22 PM

kaki bodek staff
2,821 posts

For the Fair Usage Policy:
1/ How do i check if i've exceeded my 5Gb quota?
2/ This 5 Gb includes surfing and streaming as well? Online games?
3/ Is there a way to revert the speed other than waiting till next month?
MyKy44
post Sep 7 2008, 01:52 PM

kaki bodek staff
2,821 posts

QUOTE(choonkeong @ Aug 31 2008, 03:21 AM)
No need to wait until next month. I average download 60Gb per month. Normally celcom will bar my line for 30 minute to 1 hour. Then my line can download again. Maximum experience is barred 1 day or next morning can use again. Every week kena barred 2 to 3 times. Sometime 6Gb or more baru barred. Definitely no need to wait to another month. I have used it since last year November. If need to wait until next month, I early go and use DiGi Edge 234kbps already. Very good for downloading drama. But sometimes the broadband will be disconnected automatically by itself. Sometime signal 2 bar sometimes 4 bar and the speed sometime fast and sometimes slow, minimum 800kbps, maximum 1800kbps. (D98 plan)
I think the same case for me

QUOTE(Mr Cola @ Aug 31 2008, 09:48 AM)
According to official Celcom's annoucement, you wil get capped when you reach 5GB usage. But afterall, it still depend on luck. Quite a amount of customers didn't get capped. You cannot confirm that everyone going to be the same as yours and being so lucky every month, do you?

No offences, just my 2 cent. Correct me if i'm wrong.  biggrin.gif
I guess so lo.

Eh? How come ISP is tmnet wan?
For the past week my connection has been slow. Everyone experienced this?

0.0444sec    0.71    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 03:55 AM