I am not sure if anyone here still post or read this posting since it stop since 2009! But at least contributing some experience here might help.
My experience is totally in F&B, it have been 14 years since I start work until now. I have help to open countless shop front for my employer and even oversea. But my experience is more to Singapore and Malaysia is mostly observe. The regulation is more or less the same.
Actually it is not hard to open a shop but most important is the passion. If you are financially short, well think of something within the budget. But plan ahead of 2 budget, your renovation and working capital. Renovation if possible keep it small like what the rest of the bro's advise. You will need your working capital as big as possible as this will be use for your day to day operation.
F&B is a cash business! what you earn is all by cash exchange for the service and food serve (credit card is the same but well... interest will be charge!) As you will be new in this line and no backing, unlikely supplier will extend credit term for you! So ... all your daily purchase will be by cash as well! So plan carefully and watch your cost! everything count ... even water and electicity.
If no exprience, why dont start small? simple as long the food and service is there ... people will be back with more business and slowly from there you expand! then again, every n3, 6 and 1 years try look into your menu, whichever not popular, erase it! Switch to a new one ... excite and suprise your customer!
Color wise for the shop front, perhaps all bro here should consider something bright and strong ...
well this is some of the simple experience in choosing your shop and business. If anyone need to discuss , well drop me email or PM me ... if possible will be glad to assist!
Cheers ...
Added on November 18, 2010, 1:19 am
QUOTE(jackygan @ Nov 15 2010, 11:37 AM)
Well I come across this posting just today. Was searching around for some people who have experience in opening a kopitiam style shop.
I am not sure if anyone here still post or read this posting since it stop since 2009! But at least contributing some experience here might help.
My experience is totally in F&B, it have been 14 years since I start work until now. I have help to open countless shop front for my employer and even oversea. But my experience is more to Singapore and Malaysia is mostly observe. The regulation is more or less the same.
Actually it is not hard to open a shop but most important is the passion. If you are financially short, well think of something within the budget. But plan ahead of 2 budget, your renovation and working capital. Renovation if possible keep it small like what the rest of the bro's advise. You will need your working capital as big as possible as this will be use for your day to day operation.
F&B is a cash business! what you earn is all by cash exchange for the service and food serve (credit card is the same but well... interest will be charge!) As you will be new in this line and no backing, unlikely supplier will extend credit term for you! So ... all your daily purchase will be by cash as well! So plan carefully and watch your cost! everything count ... even water and electicity.
If no exprience, why dont start small? simple as long the food and service is there ... people will be back with more business and slowly from there you expand! then again, every n3, 6 and 1 years try look into your menu, whichever not popular, erase it! Switch to a new one ... excite and suprise your customer!
Color wise for the shop front, perhaps all bro here should consider something bright and strong ...
well this is some of the simple experience in choosing your shop and business. If anyone need to discuss , well drop me email or PM me ... if possible will be glad to assist!
Cheers ...
This post has been edited by jackygan: Nov 18 2010, 01:19 AMI am not sure if anyone here still post or read this posting since it stop since 2009! But at least contributing some experience here might help.
Cheers ...
Nov 15 2010, 11:37 AM

0.0167sec