Games Street Fighter IV, new focus attack = awesome!!

zweimmk
post Feb 13 2009, 08:19 AM

512 posts

The online element in this game is so good, it's so smooth and clean. Even when I got challenged, it was never jumpy. I really had fun with the game and even the combos were a lot easier to pull compared to SSFT2THD.

Highly recommended.
zweimmk
post Feb 13 2009, 01:46 PM

512 posts

QUOTE(wintzen @ Feb 13 2009, 08:43 AM)
@zweimmk

but yesterday when i started playing arcade mode, when i configure it to accept online play, everytime i accept the request, the person will just dc. could be internet problem yesterday.....
I had a really good gaming experience - the last time I was so excited about Street Fighter was way back when the original SF2 first came out (coin sinker).

Suggest you check your IP

zweimmk
post Feb 17 2009, 01:16 PM

512 posts

Having a hard time getting the focused attack combo correct for Ryu :/

FC -> H+FP -> C+HP -> Shoryuken -> Shinkuuhadouken

Especially connectiing the 2nd and 3rd part of the combo - can't get the timing.
zweimmk
post Feb 18 2009, 10:30 AM

512 posts

QUOTE(zhiyung @ Feb 17 2009, 04:34 PM)
Is this the focus -> forward-h.punch -> etc etc etc?
I can't even conenct 1st and 2nd! Do you need to dash or wat? And is it focus level 3 or lvl1/lvl2? Not sure if i'm doing the right thing... rclxub.gif
After focus, u must dash - as you dash - you can actually store a move if you know how (hence called saving system), it's connecting the solar plexus strike + crouch heavy punch that I always mess up on the timing.

Focus attack no need to use level 3, just level 2 or enough to stun can already.
zweimmk
post Mar 6 2009, 03:40 PM

512 posts

Any of you guys want to play some games of SFIV can always add me, I'm almost always available to play at night. Just send an invite and I'm game biggrin.gif

id: zweimmk
zweimmk
post Mar 11 2009, 11:48 PM

512 posts

Had a good game with lluminar earlier. Totally got owned by his Ryu.

Notes on llumina wink.gif

Very accurate chain link combo, especially the cross overs - beautiful to watch
Almost perfect timing on focus ex-cancel or combo
Annoying throws to catch you off guard
Lots of medium kick jabs and fireball

Let's play again lluminar, definitely got more things to absorb from you heh heh smile.gif
zweimmk
post Mar 12 2009, 10:48 AM

512 posts

QUOTE(hasukyo @ Mar 12 2009, 12:29 AM)
post the video of his match vs u all, so we can learn...lol... i also kena tapau with his ryu kao2...
You don't necessarily need to have flashy combos to win - that much is certain. I know from our matches, there were quite a few close calls but at the same time there were matches where I could not do anything because he could read my moves. Hence, his ability to adapt to new opponent strategies is very good as well.

Having 2 or 3 consistent chain combos is a must
Very good reflexes to react and adapt is required
Keeping a cool head is a must - I have a habit of losing my cool when I get thrown, I think it's something which I have inherited way back in SF2 days.

.... and the rest is pretty much experience. Against good players, you cannot expect to do the same thing over and expect to get away with it. I definitely learnt that smile.gif

The only way to gain experience is to play against good players more to learn.

This post has been edited by zweimmk: Mar 12 2009, 10:51 AM
zweimmk
post Mar 13 2009, 01:02 PM

512 posts

Had a long long match with slowestpat yesterday. Result was fairly although I think towards the last 5 or 6 matches, we were just bored. Ryu playing against Blanka always presents a lot of difficult challenges.

And I can't help but think we're still playing way too old school style. Definitely have to work on a different way of attacking. Definitely going to experiment with more contemporary attack and aggressive methods inline with the way SFIV was designed if we play again tonight smile.gif
zweimmk
post Mar 16 2009, 09:24 PM

512 posts

QUOTE(leepast @ Mar 16 2009, 08:35 PM)
zweimmk is damn good .... he beat me with his chun li  cry.gif not only chun li...his gouken is so scary with those combos i have never imagine b4....haih need more practice...practice ...practice.....
No la, lucky only with gouken. There are 2 people with good chunli - one is Yoshiki9034 and the other is llumina. The way I play chun-li is absorbed by sparring with them - there's still a lot of tricks that I still haven't mastered yet hehe.

There's one flaw you must correct in your game - don't simply come out UC unless you know it's going to hit like for eg. if you know I'm going to throw a kick or fireball and the chances of UC can hit is high then use it. Otherwise sure get countered.

As always, don't be afraid to challenge and play against people - the only way to absorb new tricks and skills smile.gif
zweimmk
post Mar 19 2009, 12:09 PM

512 posts

Man, playing against llumina - all I can say is, our standards totally just 2 different levels apart. Want to beat him, you really need to have lightning fast reflexes and nerves of steel to keep calm.

Some combos that I've eaten from him so far are:

Crossover, light punch, light kick, shoryuken
Variation - ex-cancel, metsu hadoken (UC)

Heavy punch/kick, lp, mp, shoryuken (cornered)
Variation - ex-cyclone kick, ex-shoryuken cancel UC

Heavy punch/kick, m.punch, m.punch, fireball ex-cancel to shinku hadouken (SC)
Variation - instead of fireball, ex-cyclone kick to UC or ex-fireball to UC
zweimmk
post Mar 19 2009, 12:36 PM

512 posts

QUOTE(bem69 @ Mar 19 2009, 12:16 PM)
Cool, I read also pening. Ilumina is a combo hero.
Lol, the best part about it is those are not just any combos - those are combos with just 1/2 a sec frame window which must be inputted accurately at the right time or you only get 2 hit or 3 hit combo msg and liable to get countered.

Right off the bat - this combo of his is almost 100% accurate:

Jump HK/HP, Crouch LK, Crouch LP then Shoryuken cancel into UC
or varied with C+MP, C+MP into ex-cyclone kick into UC

I can do them in training mode but to use it against players and to execute it flawlessly almost every single match? That's another story entirely. I'm definitely 110% impressed with how consistent he is with the combo, it's like 2nd nature to him I guess.

This post has been edited by zweimmk: Mar 19 2009, 12:38 PM
zweimmk
post Mar 20 2009, 08:17 AM

512 posts

QUOTE(leepast @ Mar 19 2009, 09:56 PM)
@jiro - sorry just now i have a match with zweimmk

@zweimmk - i know u hate my blanka ..... but i hate ur balrog more laugh.gif  doh.gif tired to think how to beat ur balrog...maybe tomorrow will fight again...nice match though leepasts 11 - zweimmk 13 thumbup.gif
I had my key set to a different configuration the night before so I was still trying to get used to the new key setup hehe.

Easier to focus cancel but always mix up m.kick and h.kick now, same with m.punch and h.punch coz of the new key settings.
It's also a lot harder to use Chun-Li now coz of the new settings
I hope my friend can get me the Hori Real Pro Arcade Ex from Japan sometime this week coz it just difficult to play on the controlller.

Anyway, for Balrog, it's a no brainer though, don't really need to think playing him - it's just timing and since he has good reach and power as well, it makes it all the more easier.

For Ryu players, I suggest practicing the following combo - J+HP/HK, crouch+LK, crouch+LP, Uppercut.

This is a very forgiving combo, even if you are slow in your timing by a bit - chances are it will probably still connect. Sorry Leepasts, I've been practicing this combo on you biggrin.gif Actually even had consistency for awhile until I started to miss the timing again tongue.gif

Once you nail down this combo with consistency everytime against human players, then next step is to FADC the shoryuken into UC then move on from there biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by zweimmk: Mar 20 2009, 08:29 AM
zweimmk
post Apr 13 2009, 12:54 PM

512 posts

Man, I came back from Guangzhou last week and had a chance to see their SFIV players in action.

All I can say is, our skill levels against theirs are too far apart cry.gif

Comparing Illumina's Ryu with the Ryu player I've seen there. I would say Illumina would put up a good fight but I don't think he is as consistent with difficult chain combos as the players there.

These are some difficult Ryu link combos that they pull off very consistently:

J+HP/HK, c+lp, c+mp, c+mk, ex-fireball / ex-cyclone kick -> UC
16 hit combo

On approach attack after FADC or used to jab and prod their opponents:

c+mp, c+mp, c+hp -> cyclone kick
c+mp, c+mp, c+mk -> ex-fireball / cyclone kick
if cornered ->usually ex-cyclone kick -> UC

They also have very creative use of FA, usually to break the rhythm of an attack. Dhalsim players there also literally teleport in circles around their opponents which is quite interesting to watch.
zweimmk
post Apr 17 2009, 12:39 PM

512 posts

QUOTE(Mr. Alby @ Apr 17 2009, 10:50 AM)
Pull his hairy chest.... ph34r.gif
shocking.gif
zweimmk
post Apr 28 2009, 01:00 PM

512 posts

QUOTE(bernardyong @ Apr 27 2009, 05:48 PM)
Pls share, I just got my ass handed to me by a Zangief using player. The 360 degree pile-driver is darn annoying!!  vmad.gif

Added on April 27, 2009, 5:50 pm

Oops, let me rephrase myself. It is less embarrassing to get trashed by a human player compared to the AI, plus I can always retaliate by...ermm..trash talking, lol.
The idea is simple against Zangief.

- KEEP YOUR DISTANCE -

Executing this idea is another story though as expert players will know how to get close.
zweimmk
post May 4 2009, 12:39 AM

512 posts

Just bought the Mad Catz TE stick from GH and the transition from pad to fight stick is kind of painful - I'm like sandbag at the moment biggrin.gif

It's really nice because the moves come out very easily and the buttons respond immediately if you just tap it a little. But it's too sensitive sometimes, you might accidently execute a move at the wrong time or if you accidently tap the button early, then the chain link breaks :/

Definitely need to hit the training room to get used to the new layout and stick controls smile.gif
zweimmk
post May 4 2009, 12:45 AM

512 posts

RM790. It's pricey but worth it if you're the serious SFIV gamer smile.gif
zweimmk
post May 4 2009, 11:10 AM

512 posts

QUOTE(Mr. Alby @ May 4 2009, 08:38 AM)
Nice buy man.....
Tried it last weekend at GH....Its nice....I love it especially you can hide the cable when not in use........The buttons I think a bit too sensitive because its not deep enough if compare to Arcade Ex/Ex2...
The buttons are sensitive because in the arcades it's also the same way. It uses the same 8-way sanwa square gate stick and the same sanwa buttons for maximum precision. Combo execution is a lot easier but because of the sensitivity, linking combos are not as forgiving. I'm missing my timing on chain links very badly right now. Another issue which was highlighted by David Sirlin on his blog is the awkwardness of the command input, for example -

Ryu's B&B combo to cancel to UC:
J+HP/HK, C+HP, Shoryuken FADC UC

Because of the stick and 8 button layout, it feels a little awkward to go from shoryuken (light/heavy) to suddenly pressing MP+MK then UC

However, having said that - typical 3 or 4 hit combos that end with SRK are MUCH easier to execute as compared to the gamepad. Even for charge characters like guile, chunli, M.bison benefit with the smoothness of the controls, it seriously is a lot easier to execute charge combos, SC or UC right now.

It's a new set of learning curve to scale right now, hopefully with some practice my game will improve smile.gif

The TE stick is 110% recommended to the serious SFIV gamer.
zweimmk
post May 6 2009, 12:23 PM

512 posts

QUOTE(Friction @ May 5 2009, 05:06 PM)
Really thinking of going for the TE one. Wonder if its worth the RM800... hmmm....
My question to you is this:

How often do you play this game?

If you play this game religiously at least for a good 2 to 3 hours (I easily spend at least 3 to 5 hours) every or every other day then it's worth it. But if you only play this game like once or twice a week, I will tell you to save your money because the time you spend on the game does not justify the money spent.

Alternatively, you could buy a SFIV SE stick and mod it with Sanwa parts and buttons yourself to replicate the arcade feel.
zweimmk
post May 6 2009, 03:27 PM

512 posts

QUOTE(Friction @ May 6 2009, 01:43 PM)
Yeah, I am a hardcore SF fan and cant stand playing it on the controller. But never had the experience of paying RM800 for a stick. I did however have a Hori stick which was around RM150 (which I bought in Japan) for my PS2.

Modding I suspect, will be still involve a lot of $$$.... Hmm... How is the stick so far zweimmk?

PS: I see you play often with my bro 'Jiro'.
Modding can be a fairly inexpensive affair if you keep it simple - you should check out the PS3 SFIV forums, there a user who made his own arcade stick with sanwa parts. I think total price for 8 sanwa buttons is about RM160 excluding shipping and the stick. I know an online store in China that sells arcade quality sticks as I've seen people actually use them when I was in Guangzhou - it supposedly uses Sanwa parts but since I haven't tried it - I can't give my comments on how good they are. If you are interested then check out: http://www.dianwanjie.com

Anyways, the TE stick is VERY GOOD, but after years of playing on the controller pad, it takes some getting used to again. Particularly when I play Ryu, it just feels strange. However, with Dhalsim, it's very easy to play him now because of the improved controls. M.Bison is another character that really benefit from playing with the fight stick.

0.0323sec    0.72    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 03:46 PM