sleepwalker
post Jul 18 2006, 08:20 AM

Need sleep....
5,568 posts

QUOTE(egiewan @ Jul 17 2006, 11:21 PM)
KL more expensive ler...RM100+++ rclxub.gif
I've booked this Sat morning for full detailing job at Carnuba Autospa in Glenmarie. Most probably will be there for 4-5 hours. Anybody who wants to drop by and take a look at the process is welcomed.
sleepwalker
post Jul 18 2006, 11:58 AM

Need sleep....
5,568 posts

QUOTE(egiewan @ Jul 18 2006, 11:39 AM)
This Sat arh? See first tongue.gif 4-5 hours? Polishing and everything la? thumbup.gif In case I can't come, take some pics yeah? rclxm9.gif
Full detailing.. wash, polish, clean engine, seats, rims, dash, carpet, everything that can polish will be polished.. everything that can be cleaned will be cleaned.
sleepwalker
post Jul 18 2006, 04:32 PM

Need sleep....
5,568 posts

QUOTE(lonewolf @ Jul 18 2006, 04:24 PM)
uncle sleepwalker..prepare to rinse ya car often...those zymol and carbauna based wax will attract dust like magnet..but the good thing is, they will give you good depth shine
Call me uncle one more time and I'd ban you butt.. vmad.gif laugh.gif

The car is driven everyday and a quick run on the highway would clear most dust.. hahaha.. laugh.gif

This post has been edited by sleepwalker: Jul 18 2006, 04:33 PM
sleepwalker
post Jul 20 2006, 09:50 AM

Need sleep....
5,568 posts

QUOTE(Futura @ Jul 20 2006, 09:40 AM)
After waxed, the car is not shiny enough...Is there any add-on to improve the glossy look? tongue.gif
It's called polish. Waxing is for protecting. Polish is for shine. You can't wax damaged paint and expect it to gloss like brand new car. You'd need a good polish and maintain by monthly waxing.
sleepwalker
post Jul 20 2006, 10:52 AM

Need sleep....
5,568 posts

QUOTE(Futura @ Jul 20 2006, 10:41 AM)
I just got my car like 2 weeks ago  tongue.gif
Will send it to polish maybe half year later...prolly will DIY polish but don't have the skill and tools for it hehe...
I heard about MG #21, which is very expensive and sold in bulk??...perhaps I should stick to the NXT speed detailer for final finishing for the moment...
New car does not mean it shines. The original layer of paint needs a good polish to shine. A lot of people makes the mistake of thinking that the best shine is on a new car. That is incorrect unless the manufacturer does a good job at polishing it before delivering it to you. Do to any car paint shop and watch how they respray cars. Even after the overcoat/clearcoat is sprayed on, the car does not shine until it is polished kau kau. My car is 3.5 years old and you can see that it shine even more than some cars <see signature>.

Edit: If you plan to do polishing, send it to somewhere good. Forget DIY. You'd end up killing the paint. I'd be doing my detailing this weekend and you can drop by to visit if you want.

This post has been edited by sleepwalker: Jul 20 2006, 10:55 AM
sleepwalker
post Jul 20 2006, 11:20 AM

Need sleep....
5,568 posts

QUOTE(Futura @ Jul 20 2006, 11:16 AM)
Wow, now only I saw it as previously I turned off the siggy settings. Impressive shine and well taken care of...btw where you do your detailing?
I've posted that a few replies back, in the previous page. Going to Autospa this Saturday.
sleepwalker
post Jul 26 2006, 10:30 PM

Need sleep....
5,568 posts

QUOTE(satigue @ Jul 25 2006, 02:43 PM)
dude, how much for a session? might check out yr ride. then can tumpang test power? brows.gif tongue.gif Sub wohhh...STI?
RM1550 for a package of 3 full detailing sessions. Individual sessions would cost about RM700 without the package.

This post has been edited by sleepwalker: Jul 26 2006, 10:31 PM
sleepwalker
post Jul 27 2006, 03:33 PM

Need sleep....
5,568 posts

QUOTE(eddyann @ Jul 27 2006, 03:12 PM)
yeah. $1550 can buy alot of polish/wax stuff. can DIY and learn by urself.
It's full detailing.. not just polish and wax. I can't steam clean my seats from home. I can't do pre-polish treatment at home. I don't have running water at home.. I live in an apartment.
sleepwalker
post Nov 29 2007, 09:40 PM

Need sleep....
5,568 posts

QUOTE(ralf @ Nov 29 2007, 09:31 AM)
1-Stop AuthenticCar only give me 5%discount, sometimes no discount.

Went to CGC @ PISA..the lady boss there quite friendly, i was looking for M80 and M83 small bottle, 16 or 32oz. She told me can order from KL if i want..

End up yesterday nite went to Parkson and purchase other collection of Mg consumer products...There are 3sets of older version "QuikClay Kit" . I opened up the package and suprised...2 packages of the CLAY BAR inside MIA..went missing, being stolen. doh.gif  doh.gif
WTF, this kind people..Can't even afford to buy a rm80 quikclay and can own a car.. doh.gif  doh.gif
When i see the shelf is full or MG products, it makes me Looks like a Kid visit TOY R Us.. icon_question.gif

PlastX really workss..but no effect on almost new car..since it is new.
PlastX does work but why would you need it on a new car? The headlight covers are not scratched yet. I did a good polish on my old 2001 headlights and the results were fantastic.

sleepwalker
post Dec 2 2007, 11:24 AM

Need sleep....
5,568 posts

QUOTE(ralf @ Dec 1 2007, 11:26 PM)
Nice headlights, using machine or by hand? Nice ride too smile.gif

Had a chance to "restore" a 6years old headlamp Kancil today using PlasTX. It remove the yellowish and rough surface easily, i go over several times..hand rubbing for 6-7times in 5minutes.
I did it Karate Kid style.... wax on wax off...wax on wax off...

This post has been edited by sleepwalker: Dec 2 2007, 11:25 AM
sleepwalker
post Mar 11 2008, 04:40 PM

Need sleep....
5,568 posts

QUOTE(detomaso @ Mar 11 2008, 04:17 PM)
eh where to source plastx
The amount of work we have to do for you....

http://www.meguiars.com.my/index.php?_room=8&_subRoom=22
sleepwalker
post Apr 16 2008, 11:19 PM

Need sleep....
5,568 posts

QUOTE(lonewolf @ Apr 16 2008, 10:54 PM)
its a myth. it depends how strong is you polish that you are using,
That is no myth. Clear coats are usually about 0.5mm thick. Polishing removes a layer (otherwise how do you think they remove the swirl marks and scratches) and the most a paint job can endure in a life time is less than 10. If you go full detailing that really removes a very thick layer to return the car to showroom condition, the most you can do is about 3 times before the clearcoat becomes too thin.
sleepwalker
post Apr 17 2008, 10:17 PM

Need sleep....
5,568 posts

QUOTE(lonewolf @ Apr 17 2008, 09:56 AM)
thats is provided if you are using heavy cutter every time you send your car for detailing. IMHO, at the end of the day it still depends what polishing they use, it may be a DC, DACP, glaze and etc. A good example is scratchx(polish), it removes fine scratches, light swirls and blemishes and is clear coat safe. This is just a light polish with fillers, hence it is safe. Swirls marks can still be temporary solve with fillers/glazes(safer), you do not need to cut/remove the clear coat everytime.
That is where you are wrong. You have to step back and think a little. The clear coat is only a layer of transparent paint. I ask you one question.. what are swirl marks? Swirl marks are fine scratches that show up on transparent paint. You CANNOT repair scratches on any surface. You have to remove a layer of the surface down to the level of the scratch so that they are all on the same level and the scratch is gone.

So you are actually not repairing the scratch.. you are also not removing the scratch.. you are removing the surrounding areas around the scratch. Fillers and glazes do not work as they either leave a tell-tale signs of repair or swirl will return after a few washes. That is not repairing but rather just covering up the scratch temporary (like when you are trying to sell the car).

So, to think that scratchx removes the fine scratches is wrong.

This is the reason why there is no such thing as scratchx for windows. You can't remove a layer of glass hence you cannot make the scratch disappear. If you can actually remove a scratch, then there would be plenty of products out there that can 'remove' the scratch of the surface of glass.

To say that a product removes scratches without damaging the clearcoat is all marketing talk. Bullshit if you ask me. Hypercoat, the official distributor of Meguiars and detailing centre, will tell you the same thing.
sleepwalker
post Jul 11 2008, 09:58 AM

Need sleep....
5,568 posts

QUOTE(Yukito @ Jul 10 2008, 04:21 PM)
I operate a car detailing center at Sunway. Check my siggy, Sonax Car Spa. But we ain't open on Wednesday, maybe you can drop by this weekend smile.gif
Now you open on Sundays? Great. If I miss my usual Saturday wash at Autospa, I know where I can go to on Sundays.
sleepwalker
post Jul 14 2008, 06:21 PM

Need sleep....
5,568 posts

QUOTE(arsenal @ Jul 11 2008, 02:26 PM)
can anyone give me idea to remove stickers from rear windscreen..

http://puvand.blogspot.com/2007/05/passo-smoked-lamp.html

thanks!!!
You can use rubbing alcohol aka Spirits. Do not user THINNER. One drop of that and it'll dissolve your clear coat. SPIRITS is like rubbing alcohol and it is safe on paint (if you accidentally get some on the paint). It works great to remove stickers from glass as my Visual Merchandising Dept use them alot to remove stickers from our shop's glass windows.

This post has been edited by sleepwalker: Jul 14 2008, 06:26 PM
sleepwalker
post Sep 23 2008, 12:33 PM

Need sleep....
5,568 posts

Finally got access to my ftp server. Some migration messed up the access but not going to post the pics here. Too many pics in this page. Going to skip this post and start on new page. Easier loading times.

Pics on next page.

This post has been edited by sleepwalker: Sep 23 2008, 12:37 PM
sleepwalker
post Sep 24 2008, 03:52 PM

Need sleep....
5,568 posts

Here's some combo of Zymol and Meg products. Zymol wax 3 weeks earlier and one quick layer of quick detailing.

Age of paint: Oct 2001
Car Registered: Feb 2003
Total mileage: 120,000km

Curvy hips...

I see the sky...

...reflected of the roof

... told you it was reflected off the roof...

A pic of the butt..

A pic of me...

This post has been edited by sleepwalker: Sep 24 2008, 03:56 PM
sleepwalker
post Sep 24 2008, 05:24 PM

Need sleep....
5,568 posts

QUOTE(pillage2001 @ Sep 24 2008, 05:03 PM)
Try Meg's NXT. It'll give you a very nice wet look.
I tried that before and even done by Hypercoat themselves who should know their own products. Unfortunately, the results were far from satisfactory and it was a waste of RM250. NXT does not seem to work on dark coloured cars. Hopefully it would work on light coloured cars since Adrian is driving one.
sleepwalker
post Sep 24 2008, 10:25 PM

Need sleep....
5,568 posts

QUOTE(adriankhoo153 @ Sep 24 2008, 09:22 PM)
I really duno how to make those light colour to have those dark colour colour car. I mean, i tried google for one real wet looking white car but none. SO i guess i am out of luck. Maybe it's time for me to spray ferrari red or black colour.

Btw, Sleepwalker, u get ur WRX new or second hand? Feb 2003 until now u have using? The paint look so damn new la. It's good to drive it like normal ah? 120k km leh. Kinda rare to see a sports car that have that high mileage. Normally those sports car are mean for weekend car only. Not suitable for daily driving. May i ask, how many ltr/km?
I bought it secondhand in 2006. The first owner put in 80k km after 3.5 years and I put in another 40k km after another 2 plus years. Previous owner took real good care of it, which is why i bought it and continued his hard work. I met up with him again about 6 months later and he was happy to see that his car was well taken care of.

Almost all my subaru friends in the subaru club use the car as our daily car. Haven't you notice that you see much more subaru on the road than any other performance car? Why bother buying a performance car when you only drive it on the weekends. That defeats the purpose of having a performance car. The highest mileage in the subaru club belongs to a guy who has put in almost 180k km in 4 years. Those with the previous generation GC8s have gone over 200k km. So is it good for driving everyday? Yeap, it's made to be driven.

Consumption? 6-7km per liter in the city. 15km/l on highway speed. 8km/l if we double that.

This post has been edited by sleepwalker: Sep 24 2008, 10:27 PM
sleepwalker
post Sep 25 2008, 07:27 AM

Need sleep....
5,568 posts

QUOTE(pillage2001 @ Sep 25 2008, 01:47 AM)
You prolly should have went with the MEG gold class wax. Then layer it with a layer of reflections top coat from mothers. That will give you the wet look. smile.gif
I aleady have the wet look as you can see above. What I'm saying is that Hypercoat failed as distributors and detailers of Megs. I've always been to Autospa and I thought lets try Hypercoat. They should know better but they failed. So it is still back to Autospa for me. The only DIY I would do is to use quick detailing with Megs. There is no way i would do the paint cleaner, paint treatment, wax and top coat that Autospa does for me each time I wax. It takes 4 of them 2 hours to do it, which would mean 8 hours by myself.

This post has been edited by sleepwalker: Sep 25 2008, 07:28 AM

0.0498sec    0.32    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 06:32 AM