Car Detailing, How I did mine....

satigue
post Jan 5 2006, 07:38 PM

86 posts

QUOTE(RedBox @ Jan 5 2006, 04:52 AM)
Swirl means the light minor circular scratches that you see when you look at the paint on your car against the sun light.

If you truly want to prepare your paint surface for the products you are using, my answer will be yes, you need to clay your car. It makes a hell of a difference and you will be able to feel the difference once you clay your car.

[edit] And nycs82 is not joking. It feels even smoother than babies backside!
RedBox
i just got swirls on my car boot cos of the guys at the accessory shop recommended me a wrong product. my car is pearl white. i bought a japanese product called soft 99 wax. they hv 2 types. one in blue can & the other is the stainless steel can. both r meant for different kind of paint. i took the guy's words & bought the blue one as recommended by him. so i applied it on my car boot just to test it. after tht, i realise i got swirls all over the boot. i only realise the instructiion said to use only on solid paints & not on metallic paints. but too late liau.....
the following day, i went to check out the stainless steel can & the instructions says for metallic & pearl paints & safe for use, won't harm paint. i bought it & tried removing the swirls but can't.
really kek sim cos my car not even a mth old. now i dun even dare to wax my car. i even bought 2 soft 99 stainless steel cans.....sigh.
Any idea how to remove the swirls? it's really bad when u look at an angle under bright light.
i wana DIY car detailing but now just to afraid my hurt the paint work again.
i just realise sponge is not good for car wash after reading this thread.
hope bros here can build up my confidence again.
tq in advance for any kind advice & guidance.
satigue
post Jan 13 2006, 04:49 PM

86 posts

Just wana ask. Is the Meguiars NXT Generation Tech Wax safe on a white paint? cos i hv been reading it's only good for dark coloured paints woh.
satigue
post Jan 14 2006, 11:03 AM

86 posts

thanks for the feedback. i got another question. if u really want to let the 1st layer wax settle down for 6-12 hrs, can i use the car in between the settling down period? then only apply 2nd coat after using the car.(assume my car has not kena any rain or water) i m asking cos it's really impossible to wait for 6-12 hrs if u really need to use the car.
satigue
post Jan 14 2006, 08:48 PM

86 posts

oic. thanks nycs82. i will try to detail my ride tomorrow. c how the outcome. will post pics here. oh yeah...i just got my Meguiars NXT Generation Tech Wax yesterday only. thanks for the offer. biggrin.gif
satigue
post Jan 16 2006, 11:37 AM

86 posts

bros,
how to remove soap spot or water spot? yesterday, i was accidently soaped the car busying claying. then after rinsing the car again, the spots seem to be there even though how hard i try washing it away. even wax also can't remove it la....so sad.
satigue
post Jan 16 2006, 01:50 PM

86 posts

QUOTE(lonewolf @ Jan 16 2006, 01:15 PM)
waxing will not removed the water spot..you need something more abbrasive..try ScratchX or Step 2 ..from MG...
thanks bro. i will get it from eneos tonight. really kek sim after spending whole day detailing my ride but outcome still not impressive. can a white car really get all out from Meguiars NXT Generation Tech Wax? i m really having doubts.
step 2 u mean is the Deep Crystal System Paint Cleaner step 2 izzit?

nycs82, sorry la bro. i ngam ngam happen to go eneos tht day unplanned, so got it from there lo... biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by satigue: Jan 16 2006, 01:59 PM
satigue
post Jan 23 2006, 06:04 PM

86 posts

QUOTE(SpikeTwo @ Jan 22 2006, 03:35 PM)
ok...now i have most of the stuff here. meguair clay + detailing liquid, scratch X, soft99 soft wax...and i dont have a polish. hahaha...

if i do this wash > dry > clay > Scratch X >> straight away wax. no polish. is it ok? cos the car is only 1 year old, so dun think need to polish the outer layer plus i have scratch X to fix the scratches.

any suggestions?
Spike,
which soft 99 wax r u having? dun simply use hor...my car was swirl free until i used soft 99 wax in the blue tin one.

satigue
post Jan 24 2006, 04:22 PM

86 posts

spike,
as lonewolf said, if dun understd, then dun buy(use). i was using the blue metal can one la.....i hv 2 stainless steel cans for sale. anybody interested? it's called soft 99 meta clean.
wax is the last step....polish is after u clay yr car. u do it only when required.
satigue
post Jan 26 2006, 08:11 AM

86 posts

spike, how far is far? for dark blue METALLIC paint shud be using the SOFT 99 chrome can. yes, it's stated pearl & metallic. the wording on the can shud be META CLEAN. let us know yr waxing results. c got swirls or not.
satigue
post Jan 30 2006, 10:59 AM

86 posts

spike, no special movement la. when apply wax, use circular motion la. clay any direction also doesn't matter but make sure no sand or dirt in d clay.
eh...not stainless steel can meh? how come pearl white can?

This post has been edited by satigue: Jan 30 2006, 11:06 AM
satigue
post Mar 2 2006, 07:42 PM

86 posts

i just clayed my car 2 days ago & suddenly after awhile, my clay start to break into small small tiny pieces. how come huh? this is only my 2nd time using the clay. it's meguairs tht i bought came wif the quick detailer. sigh.
satigue
post Mar 3 2006, 08:09 AM

86 posts

QUOTE(SpikeTwo @ Mar 2 2006, 10:44 PM)
ha? clay can only use once bo. the used one i kept to clean my tyres and rims. hahha...never use it on paint works!!!

yeah, btw, i over used the detailer. cos it was fun to see it removing my water spots and all. but need a bit of hard work with the clay...can remove paint dots from my god damn neighbour too. during cny they paint the fences and the white small paint drops on my car.

good clay. i love it...but a bit costly. hahaha... the detailer gives a gloss effect. i just cant help keep doing it...now left 7/9 after first use i think. hahaha...gonna get another one.
clay can only be used once? unsure.gif any sifu here to advice?
satigue
post Mar 4 2006, 03:16 PM

86 posts

can reuse for how long until it breaks up?

anyone checked out eneos fair in 1U yet? any detailing stuff on sale?
satigue
post May 14 2006, 10:04 AM

86 posts

izit true our rainy weather here in msia not so suitable for detailing? one time rain only, all hard work gone. tht's what i experience. wife always nagging say it's waste of time spending on car instead of with wife & children. sweat.gif unlike in states or elsewhere where it's doesn't rain tht much & not humid.

This post has been edited by satigue: May 14 2006, 10:05 AM
satigue
post May 15 2006, 04:01 PM

86 posts

QUOTE(egiewan @ May 14 2006, 12:19 PM)
I dun think so. That's why we use wax. For protection ma tongue.gif Guys, I dun think I can post my car pics this week. I detailed my car yesterday and then it rained sweat.gif I'll try again next week wink.gif
tht's what i meant by the above. it rained & all hard worked gone. very tiring & heartache u know. sweat.gif
satigue
post May 25 2006, 10:12 AM

86 posts

my front hood hv stains. how to remove huh? it happened when i clayed the hood & left it to dry. shud hv flushed with water straight away but i din. so now got soap marks even clay can't be removed. what to do huh?
satigue
post May 25 2006, 01:18 PM

86 posts

polish? hv to use tht hand machine izzit?
satigue
post May 26 2006, 10:11 AM

86 posts

how often do u send for polish? any recommendation? every 6 mths?
satigue
post May 29 2006, 08:14 AM

86 posts

bird poo is really corrosive man. dun play play ar....
dat day after rain stop, i drove my car & had to go thru those kampung road where they where construting to widen the road. so of cos very dirty la with all the earth works going on. my car white somemore. after tht reach home, my car had all those water with earth work(red or brown color), so i just did a simply rinse to get rid of it. cannot wait for it to dry cos it will etched onto the clear coat. true enuf after a week, i only realise there were water marks at some spots all over the car. brown in color. normal washing also wun come off but Claying did the job.* thumbs*
satigue
post May 30 2006, 08:03 AM

86 posts

QUOTE(hamster9 @ May 29 2006, 03:20 PM)
The bird poo was there I think for one month. This car I seldom use wan as I'm always away outstation with another car. I came back got 2 spots of bird poo. So I send it for wash, the white colour can wash away but the biji cannot come out  cry.gif  cry.gif  cry.gif  i scared it corrode it until got lubang
wah, got 2 cars...... notworthy.gif
try claying.
QUOTE(yeahh @ May 29 2006, 09:42 PM)
ive got 2 grey spots on it now ....
its a light shade of gray le .... but still damn blardy ugly
try claying. u'll be amazed! i was when i 1st got it. thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by satigue: May 30 2006, 08:04 AM

0.0384sec    0.28    7 queries    GZIP Disabled