Car Detailing, How I did mine....

jedi_dc
post Nov 26 2012, 10:08 PM

2,273 posts

QUOTE(Dkck @ Nov 23 2012, 07:00 PM)
anyone tried to useĀ  vinegar to clean windshield?
have tried vinegar to remove watermarks on screen , didnt work at all . maybe need a higher concentration than supermarket brands tongue.gif

instead, i used Waxcos watermark remover, works like a charm. Just do not get any on ur paintwork or you'll see bare metal in minutes shocking.gif shocking.gif

Any recommendations for good wax on dark coloured cars?

Am still using my Turtle Wax 'hard shell' spray on wax

This post has been edited by jedi_dc: Nov 26 2012, 10:09 PM
jedi_dc
post Nov 27 2012, 08:13 PM

2,273 posts

might get the meg's liquid wax soon .

Though im pretty happy with my turtle wax express shine tongue.gif

Hoping to extend the durability with meg's
jedi_dc
post Nov 29 2012, 10:34 PM

2,273 posts

Guys, any tips on what product to use to remove some light swirling?

light as in , when shine under sunlight, only some swirls can be seen, not the whole hood - spiderweb

I do not own or have access to a DA polisher , so i've been doing everything by hand

What i did was ,

Car wash , 2 bucket system - ArmorAll car wash ( on budget, and it smells nice tongue.gif)

Clay - Meguiars

Compound - Meguiars Ultimate Compound by hand

Wax - Turtle wax Express shine .

Would appreciate some tips or inputs on better products or methods?

Do not have a budget for a DA polisher, so i'm breaking my arms just to polish the hood alone LOL.
jedi_dc
post Dec 15 2012, 12:10 AM

2,273 posts

Anyone here using grit guard ? or is it not necessary?

I'm just using a normal bucket with tap water + ArmorAll soap ( Bought it cause it smells nice and there is no meguairs wash & wax or Optimum products here in miri )

1 bucket , but i work by section and clean my sponge after every section under the hose before dipping into the soap bucket again - Am i doing it wrong?
jedi_dc
post Dec 25 2012, 08:58 PM

2,273 posts

ULW lasts 3 weeks only? sad.gif

Was going to get it, luckily no stocks here so i got the Turtle Wax Platinum Ultra Gloss instead
jedi_dc
post Dec 25 2012, 10:22 PM

2,273 posts

After some quick research,

I think I will pop by local stores to get a paint sealant .

I read that Paint Sealant + Wax = Maximum protection.

And i'm from East Malaysia too ( Miri ) , raining very frequently.

Anyone doing Paint Sealant + Wax here?
jedi_dc
post Dec 26 2012, 06:00 PM

2,273 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Dec 26 2012, 01:05 PM)
isn't that a QD and not a spray on/liquid wax?
it's a liquid wax, just finished waxing the car. it does cover the light swirls. But for protection I will have to keep an eye on it . rclxms.gif

I think my Turtle Wax Express shine brings out more shine than this, but it may just be me hmm.gif
jedi_dc
post Dec 26 2012, 11:06 PM

2,273 posts

QUOTE(anep @ Dec 26 2012, 09:59 PM)
express shine oso liquid based n spray type aite?
express shine is a quick wax i think ( booster wax ) ,

to be honest, i'm not even sure if this turtle wax platinum liquid wax is gonna last even a month sweat.gif
jedi_dc
post Jan 8 2013, 07:37 PM

2,273 posts

u can always opt for chemicals that break down the watermarks, I've personally used Waxco's Watermark remover in a small black bottle with yellow wordings. got it for < 20 ringgit .

Works like a charm! Just do NOT let it SIT to dry on plastic/painted surfaces as it is acidic and will eat through it given time.

It looks like water and has no smell, applied it with a soft sponge and gloves, rub until you can see the difference ( since it's liquid, it will stop forming water droplets and instead start sheeting ) .

But also note that if your glass has been treated with any coatings, this will most likely remove that coating .
jedi_dc
post Jan 12 2013, 08:35 PM

2,273 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Jan 12 2013, 05:30 PM)
use kura kura la. rm 20, and can bead prettier  rolleyes.gif
agreed! very satisfied with kura kura already. Wondering how much more can Meg's provide.

What car wash shampoos u all using that wont strip wax?

my ArmorAll blue shampoo strips all wax even with recommended dilution rclxub.gif

0.0230sec    0.39    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 06:07 PM