Car Detailing, How I did mine....

TheWandererX
post Jan 8 2013, 02:51 PM

1,862 posts

I want to clean off the water spots from my car windows & side mirrors because whenever it rains it tends to screw up my vision, making it much harder to see.

I tried using Scotch Brite with glass cleaner, slowly scrubbing in a circular motion, now the water doesn't 'clump' together on the spot where I scrubbed. Previously it was like this -

- now it thins out and forms a 'separate layer'.

Am I doing it right? The water spots can still be seen when the windows are dry but when it rains it doesn't clump up anymore. Please do advise, fellow sifus, thanks!
TheWandererX
post Jan 8 2013, 03:49 PM

1,862 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Jan 8 2013, 03:23 PM)
be very VERY careful with this especially the green side. it is abrasive and may induce scratches/swirls/hazing of your windscreen/glass.
Noted. I used a small force, so no swirls observed after I done a part of the window. Was thinking of finding those powerballs or whatever they call those to attach to a drill to polish the glass, because apparently the water stains have been there for a while. Any tips on that?
TheWandererX
post Jan 8 2013, 05:02 PM

1,862 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Jan 8 2013, 03:54 PM)
as various sifu posted before:

try soft brush/foam, and use:
- toothpaste
- natural vinegar
- glass cleaners (kura kura wax got clear vue, soft 99 got duragloss i believe? then theres a whole buncha stuff from autogeek)
- claying

if the above all failed, then consider using glass polishing/compound.
All tak jadi. Tried the kiwi kleen glass cleaner with the scouring pad but watermarks not removed.

I'm a total newbie to detailing but it certainly seems interesting - any commercially available glass compounds that can remove those stubborn water spots & also polish the glass a little? 15 year old glass very hard to see out of whenever driving during rain + headlight glare from other vehicles. Preferably something that can be bought at Tesco/Giant etc, so I can pick one up when doing weekly grocery shopping. laugh.gif

Rear windscreen

Side mirrors

This post has been edited by TheWandererX: Jan 8 2013, 05:07 PM
TheWandererX
post Jan 8 2013, 05:26 PM

1,862 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Jan 8 2013, 05:14 PM)
if its really etched deep, and really bad, and ALL the methods i mentioned doesn't work.

consider getting waterproof high grit (3k and above) fine sandpaper, and wd40 (or equivalent lube) and do VERY LIGHT polishing.

please be reminded to take this step with extreme precaution, and try it out on small/corner unnoticeable areas first
1. Where to get those types of sandpaper?

2. Polishing by hand - means I apply a little WD40 to sandpaper and lightly polish the glass with it right?

Thanks for the help yeah. notworthy.gif

TheWandererX
post Jan 8 2013, 05:31 PM

1,862 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Jan 8 2013, 05:28 PM)
1) hardware stores like ace hardware (doubt general supermaket has, but you'll never know)

2) apply on both sandpaper and a bit on the glass too (be careful not to get on to other parts other than the glass. to be safe consider masking the other areas, or use the "pen type" wd40, less messy smile.gif )
Will post back with results when I get my hands on the sandpaper. wink.gif
TheWandererX
post Jan 10 2013, 08:43 PM

1,862 posts

Managed to find a hardware shop. Sadly, I was only able to get my hands on some 1200 grit wet sandpaper. The results, however, are pretty promising. Some pics.

Comments? biggrin.gif
TheWandererX
post Jan 10 2013, 11:34 PM

1,862 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Jan 10 2013, 10:57 PM)
not bad! one thing though, no matter how "etched in" the watermarks are, sanding is guaranteed to remove it as it is abrasive (hence you need to be extra cautious)

as you sand, you will definitely sand off a thin layer of glass, and when that happens, the watermarks are pretty much gone smile.gif

don't forget to apply lube (eg: wd40) to minimize the damage
I used clean water when doing the window sills. At first I found it to scratch the glass a little but I realized it was every time my fingernail hits the sandpaper doh.gif

Going to resume sanding works next morning. Too many mosquitoes working their way towards my blood. rclxub.gif
TheWandererX
post Jan 11 2013, 12:51 AM

1,862 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Jan 10 2013, 11:40 PM)
use the claying method then, use the force from your palm instead of your fingers wink.gif
Tarak clay. I'm pretty much a n00b when it comes to detailing. Previously I was this little innocent kid knowing nothing about driving, now suddenly caring so much for a car that is now mine doh.gif I use the back of my finger to make sure things are smoothly done. laugh.gif time-consuming but aiyah what to do must start from scratch ma.

I'm curious though, is there any faster way to do this? Apart from using those rotary sander machines and stuff.
TheWandererX
post Jan 11 2013, 02:18 AM

1,862 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Jan 11 2013, 02:07 AM)
from the top of my head, nope sweat.gif
Manual labor it is then. flex.gif
TheWandererX
post Jan 11 2013, 07:12 PM

1,862 posts

Manual work is horribly troublesome. sad.gif

Aliyah malas nak buat already. Spending hours but results are quite miniscule compared to input effort. Guess I shall find a professional detailer one day to handle this for me cry.gif

0.0485sec    0.14    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 05:39 PM