Car Detailing, How I did mine....
SpikeTwo
Jan 2 2006, 02:22 PM
hi. wat's the swirl means? btw, i saw this turtlewax color back. is it good? do i have to wax after using it? and i cant find clay product in kch here. anyone knows? do i really need to clay it, if using colorback?  pls advise. what's the steps need to be taken, if i skipped clay then how? thanks! cos wanna prepare car for CNY mah.
SpikeTwo
Jan 5 2006, 11:28 PM
QUOTE(RedBox @ Jan 5 2006, 04:52 AM) Swirl means the light minor circular scratches that you see when you look at the paint on your car against the sun light. If you truly want to prepare your paint surface for the products you are using, my answer will be yes, you need to clay your car. It makes a hell of a difference and you will be able to feel the difference once you clay your car. [edit] And nycs82 is not joking. It feels even smoother than babies backside! RedBox THanks. But i cant seem to find any clay here at my place. crap. the product i shown is polish (turtlewax colorback) right? i need too wax after applying this product?
SpikeTwo
Jan 10 2006, 10:50 PM
hey, question. how does the so called applicator pad looks like? sponge?
SpikeTwo
Jan 11 2006, 11:23 PM
oh? thanks. microfibre also can ah. is it washable? sorry real noob. and cant find the thing here in kch. ask someone to bring back from KL. but gotta explain to them wat the heck is it. haha...
SpikeTwo
Jan 14 2006, 09:33 AM
wash using armorall or eagleone tyre and rim cleaner (removes brake dust + dirts), can do with the help of toothbrush. then use tyre shine or leather + tyre polish (armorall) thingy. it will make ur tyres shiny, black and with wet-looks! haha...
however, those tyre shine spray ones wont last that long. better use those wax-like ones. depends on weather condition, if no rain it can last bout 2-3weeks. rainy days ah...max one week lo. haha...
for the fade off thingy, yeah. but after washing, usually i recoat the tyres with tyre shine stuff. so it is still black and shine! hehe...
SpikeTwo
Jan 22 2006, 03:35 PM
ok...now i have most of the stuff here. meguair clay + detailing liquid, scratch X, soft99 soft wax...and i dont have a polish. hahaha...
if i do this wash > dry > clay > Scratch X >> straight away wax. no polish. is it ok? cos the car is only 1 year old, so dun think need to polish the outer layer plus i have scratch X to fix the scratches.
any suggestions?
This post has been edited by SpikeTwo: Jan 22 2006, 03:36 PM
SpikeTwo
Jan 24 2006, 12:16 AM
it is the black one. for dark color cars...black, dark blue...bla bla. mine is black + a lil blue de. fusson something. or it is the same as urs? then i need to change lo!!!  thanks for telling~~ which one i should change? the metal can one? wat's the correct wax step? i've read polish, clay...but wax? This post has been edited by SpikeTwo: Jan 24 2006, 01:02 AM
SpikeTwo
Jan 24 2006, 09:09 PM
haha...i am too far from u. yeah...shouldnt buy...but last time dunno mah.
so as long as the instruction stated pearl & metallic i can buy? my car is dark blue metallic. thanks a bunch!!! if know which one, then me can go change tomolo. know the tauke one...but he knows crap bout detailing. haha...
SpikeTwo
Jan 27 2006, 08:43 PM
wax will seal those dots!!! use clay lo...
satigue: i'll do it tomolo, new year eve. haha...will ty to post some pics here. already changed to pearl white color can stated pearl and metallic. i'll wash the wheels with armor all wheel clean, then send the car for cleaning, then come back clay, minor polish and wax. hope the result would be good from the tips of all sifus here.
btw, do i really need to control the movement during clay, polish and wash? cannot do random direction? me using hand only. no machine. thanks. =P
SpikeTwo
Jan 30 2006, 11:20 AM
hahaha...saturday i detailed the whole damn day. bout 10 hours. the wax is written pearl and metallic. so i get that one lo. the result not bad. dunno really got swirl or not (cos the car never detail before this for a year plus) might have some old scratches...
the problem is some part like parts below the screen water spray area i waxed twice. but din do smooth enough. haha...so hard to control the uniformity with hand. but it is not very apparent (only certain angles and pay extreme attention then u can see) cos i used meguairs detailer to detail the surface once more.
btw, i nearly finished the whole bottle of meguair quick detailer that comes with the clay (still left 1/5). haha...mayeb used too much.
edit: oh ya, it is really super smooth after i clay. haha..but huge tars that died in hard to remove liaw. not even polish could remove them. nvm la. hehe...
This post has been edited by SpikeTwo: Jan 30 2006, 11:22 AM
SpikeTwo
Feb 28 2006, 10:19 PM
QUOTE(ammar @ Feb 26 2006, 01:34 PM) heh,dont you think its hella waste of money ? theres people starving in other places,and here pouring money just for a besi buruk...think about it lol...who cares bout ppl starving? none of my business. there's always ways to get out from starving. just need to use ur brain. ok, back to the topic. how much is the soft99 clay bar? i bought meguires RM68 quick detailing + clay...nearly finish the whole thing when i did my first claying.
SpikeTwo
Mar 2 2006, 10:44 PM
ha? clay can only use once bo. the used one i kept to clean my tyres and rims. hahha...never use it on paint works!!!
yeah, btw, i over used the detailer. cos it was fun to see it removing my water spots and all. but need a bit of hard work with the clay...can remove paint dots from my god damn neighbour too. during cny they paint the fences and the white small paint drops on my car.
good clay. i love it...but a bit costly. hahaha... the detailer gives a gloss effect. i just cant help keep doing it...now left 7/9 after first use i think. hahaha...gonna get another one.