16 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Car Detailing, How I did mine....

KC's
post Jan 7 2010, 02:07 PM

QUOTE(xander @ Dec 30 2009, 12:08 PM)
sigh i wish i can wash my car but stayin in condo doens't rly provide the space n tap for me to wash my car.. damnnn.. always send to rm 7 wash...

anyway guys i was thinking of wat item n product should i use to clean all the dark plastic n the interior of my car, like dashboard or all the plastic beside my inside door handle, they look soo dusty

is a myvi i m driving
get hold of onr
rinse less wash

Added on January 7, 2010, 2:07 pmpics before

very visible even taken by just a handphone camera

after

some day light pics to view better

the ultimate emblem on the ultimate ride

This post has been edited by KC's: Jan 7 2010, 02:07 PM
KC's
post Jan 8 2010, 11:15 AM

before correctiong porsche 993

after corrections

for more write ups kindly read at
http://prodetailing.blogspot.com/2009/11/p...correction.html

KC's
post Jan 15 2010, 05:37 PM

QUOTE(ralf @ Jan 14 2010, 12:25 PM)
Sifu KC from AW  thumbup.gif brows.gif

Added on January 14, 2010, 1:34 pm

DuraGloss  icon_rolleyes.gif  thumbup.gif
i no sifu but crazy enough to detail any thing my next project is something huge

wanna come to see

check out my blog for the details

http://thedetailers.blogspot.com/
KC's
post Jan 21 2010, 03:08 PM

QUOTE(SweetPuff @ Jan 20 2010, 07:22 PM)
How often will you guys recommend that I apply wax on a black car?
how often can be translate as in term of commercial values - car polish will tell u 2-3 months la

what is wax or sealant for ? protection against UV harm & paint contamination cause by pollution - environment & industrial fall out - these could be unseen & hard to judge

the best way is to protect against rain water - water spots, stains
things can be seen & practically seen - the real test

a well surface protected

when your wax is worn out

to read more pls view at

http://thedetailers.blogspot.com/2009/08/w...technology.html

Added on January 21, 2010, 3:20 pm
QUOTE(SweetPuff @ Jan 20 2010, 07:22 PM)
How often will you guys recommend that I apply wax on a black car?
how often can be translate as in term of commercial values - car polish will tell u 2-3 months la

what is wax or sealant for ? protection against UV harm & paint contamination cause by pollution - environment & industrial fall out - these could be unseen & hard to judge

the best way is to protect against rain water - water spots, stains
things can be seen & practically seen - the real test

a well surface protected

when your wax is worn out

to read more pls view at

http://thedetailers.blogspot.com/2009/08/w...technology.html

when this is out
now its time to wax,

I buy a tub of meguiars NXT 2.0 wax - i think i have used on 70 cars still left 20% of it
each waxed roughly lasted 3 months -
beyond that in Malaysia is bull shit

This post has been edited by KC's: Jan 21 2010, 03:20 PM
KC's
post Jan 21 2010, 04:59 PM

QUOTE(SweetPuff @ Jan 21 2010, 04:26 PM)
So... if I just got a brand new car, I should just drive home, wash and wax it first? Sorry, all my previous car care experience is just a fortnightly wash with a regular car shampoo. That's all! tongue.gif

I think this is gonna be a whole new experience for me.
tai lo

few things here

Why the need for car care?
How often have you heard, “Oh, the rain will wash the car for me” or “Why bother washing when it will get dirty again?”
Well, we believe that caring for your car’s paintwork is as important as regular servicing. Our car’s engine oil needs to be changed periodically, did you also know that our car’s paintwork have to be waxed periodically?
New engine oil has better lubricating and protective qualities. So does a new coat of wax, periodic polishing and waxing not only helps to maintain a healthy shine on the paint, it also prevents the need for a costly respray in the future.

Five Steps of Paint Care
Step 1: Washing
Washing the car removes loose contaminants from the paint such as road grime, traffic film and bird droppings.
It is best to use a pH-Neutral car shampoo as it will not harm the paint and is also gentle on waxes.

Using a wash mitt instead of a sponge or a cloth creates a buffer zone to prevent dirt and grit from scratching the paint during the wash.
Wash at least once a week to prevent contaminants and dirt from bonding to the paint which will require paint claying and polishing to remove.
Step 2: Claying
After removing the loose contaminants on top of the paint’s surface, it is time to remove contaminants IN the paint surface. These are contaminants that have bonded to the paint and cannot be removed by washing alone.
This involves the act of claying to mechanically ‘shave’ off contaminants from the surface. An unclayed surface will feel like rough sandpaper whereas a clayed surface will feel as smooth as glass.
Step 3: Polishing
Polishing is no doubt the most important step in making the paint look good. Washing and claying still does not leave the paint clean enough. Polishing will chemically deep clean the paint to remove ingrained dirt and bring back the luster of paint’s colour. Besides cleaning to remove ingrained dirt, an abrasive polish will also mechanically abrade a very thin layer of paint away to remove swirls and scratches.

Heavily swirled paintwork will appear dull and hazy. Even when it is cleaned, it will look the same. This is because paint that is heavily swirled does not reflect light uniformly, robbing it of its true colour.
A perfectly polished paint finish will look glossy and reflective, even without wax.

Step 4: Waxing
After removing all surface contaminants and defects from the paint, it is time to protect your hard-earned result. Waxes and sealants protect the paint from environmental attacks such as UV rays, acid rain, bird droppings and industrial fallout. Washing a waxed surface is also easier as dirt will not stick as easily to the paint. The wax acts as a sacrificial barrier for the paint, when this barrier is weak, it is time to renew it with another coat of wax.
Step 5: Maintaining
It is important to remember that whatever wax or sealant you have just applied is not permanent and will be weakened by the environmental attacks. Regular washing will remove contaminants from the surface, giving them less chance of eroding the wax away. Use a spray wax or quick detailer after every wash to give your wax a protection boost.

pls read up in my blogs:
http://thedetailers.blogspot.com/

KC's
post Jan 27 2010, 01:57 PM

QUOTE(SweetPuff @ Jan 23 2010, 11:12 PM)
What do you guys think for the following brand's range of products?

Turtle Wax, PG (Perma Glass), Kit and Black Magic ?
depend what are u looking for

what do u think about enchanteur perfume ?? between CK?? Armani??

few factors for yr considerations
both is perfume....having same aesthetic value

1) where? how? this both product manufacture - R&D , proven track record, World class or local class
2) how particular r u ? r u sensitive & afraid of some cheap products? or r u looking for professional results
3) what are the Pro & the rest of the world detailers using??
why they charge at a premium where i can buy for few ringgit?

if u google a bit to sites like these..u will know what is what?

Autopia,
detailing world
meguiars on line
Detailing paradise
Auto geek

....pay a visit to my blog too

Added on February 9, 2010, 5:42 pmKIA spectra Just detail
heavily oxidized, stained by water marks
8 years ride never wax or polish before
before

under light
50/50 comparison pics
ma ma mia

Added on February 11, 2010, 4:00 pmToyota Rush Just Detail

for a 6 months old car, the paint look like 6 years old

closer look.....like 6 years old stains

look at the comparison

to this

ta ta

for the lengthy write up pls check HERE

have a fun detailing session

This post has been edited by KC's: Feb 11 2010, 05:52 PM
KC's
post Feb 12 2010, 02:38 PM

QUOTE(ahpaul82 @ Feb 11 2010, 07:28 PM)
Just came back from detailing,
share some photos that i taken:
(Click for enlarge photo)

your car rocks...now wash with care to maintain it

happy chinese new yr
KC's
post Feb 13 2010, 12:28 PM

how do u dealt with stones chips
pics before

Pics before very visible even taken by just a handphone camera

after

some day light pics to view better

the ultimate emblem on the ultimate ride
KC's
post Feb 15 2010, 03:31 PM

QUOTE(ralf @ Feb 14 2010, 08:54 PM)

Here in Penang, car wash centre suckss big time..detailing shop only a few.

Added on February 14, 2010, 7:55 pm

Nice detailing job. notworthy.gif
thanks ralf
u can do it yrself
thats how i started, now i have a blog that i have documented all my detailing
pls fell free to view it

Here

Added on February 22, 2010, 10:54 pmI just happend to detail a couple of rides, yet to find time to write up
2nd day of the lunar new yr -
detail a 2 yrs old silver city 4.5g

managed to capture a glimpse of rare silover colouyr car 50/50 under sun light....usually too glaring for our naked eyes...many shop would walk away from it...cos swirls cant be seen on silver

to this

day 3 went to ipoh for tim sum & came back dirty so I ONR-ed wash

4th day - 13 years CRV - brutally scratched & sign by zoro

to this

5th day
6 years old avanza never polish before...paint extremely oxidised

to

more to come...pictures quote is up for the day....to be continued

This post has been edited by KC's: Feb 22 2010, 10:54 PM
KC's
post Feb 23 2010, 10:50 PM

6th day(19/2)
from this
5 months ago this was extremely oxidised & revisited - results still good but found some scratches on the hood
to this

8th day (21/2) - a 2 months not wash Myvi - pearl zebra & leopard look

to

everybody think I am suffering from OCD -

I think i got wax in my blood stream...
i told all my wife no more marathon detailing in CNY...i need a break ...then came back home from home town...i .....:sleep::sleep::sleep::sleep: even at work :sleep::sleep::sleep:..

thanks for viewing again

Added on February 23, 2010, 10:59 pm
QUOTE(wahlauyeh @ Feb 23 2010, 01:24 PM)
Hi to all car detailers enthusiasts...Happy CNY...i get to know this brand AUTOGLYM..just wondering what is the quality of this product? are they same level as Meguaiar?
it depend what r u looking for ....shampoo for shampoo kind a thing......different brand only....

but in terms of detailing....Megs still have more acurate stuff fior each component.....eg
the best compound in cutting...megs M 105 every professiona; detailer in the world is using - that what i used in all my full correction details

check out sites like autopia, detailing world

As for the one of the better polish Megs 205 still a pro choice....i hardly read anywhere pro using the british brand....except the expensive wax by auto glym

QUOTE(SweetPuff @ Feb 23 2010, 01:39 PM)
Is there something I can use to clean PU covered seats? Or just wipe and vacuum is enough?
PU....wipe with dam micro fibers.....& keep themm oil free from humans hand & food

try Gold glass (Meguiars) vinyl & rubber detailer...good stuff for it...not too oily feel

This post has been edited by KC's: Feb 23 2010, 10:59 PM
KC's
post Feb 26 2010, 01:36 AM

QUOTE(SweetPuff @ Feb 24 2010, 06:30 PM)
How's NXT Tech 2.0 wax in our weather? I tried the Gold Class wax but it seems to wear out after 1 week. My car is always under the sun, by the way.
agreed.... NXT still my choice of wax....few thing for u to consider...i got a tub of patse NXT...i think i wax about 75-80 cars ...still left 20 % of it...

then after it is cure for 8 hours...i then applied my gold class...that usually will not last if it is stand alone but when it is applied on the NXT sealant wax.....ma ma mia...see my black...very glossy & shinny & durable.....dont waste it but use it in another way

QUOTE(lonewolf @ Feb 24 2010, 08:30 PM)
doh.gif  wax oso got HD now ka?
hahahahaha...u can also name it bazooka...just some definations

QUOTE(wahlauyeh @ Feb 25 2010, 03:55 PM)
i checked it out from here http://www.highdefinitionwax.com/
really got wor..haha..sound like the contact lense advertisement.. biggrin.gif
very expensive...quite boutique...my moderation still value for $$$$$

cant help it...easy to use & affordable.....when i got my Bently ...i will use paul dalton crystal case Swiss vax.....most exp tub...i think about 10K....USD or pound
hahahahah

until then

i need more $$$$ to buy more milk powder for my babies....cheers

KC's
post Mar 4 2010, 12:33 AM

bearly or barely 3 yrs old car ...be came like a working truck...whom i detail last sun....

look at the interior leather

a 50/50 pics of how dirty it was & how to detail leather
some scratched....on left side door ...who accidently scratched by a pillar

pics before
dull & rough
tatatatatat

after

close up after pics

KC's
post Mar 7 2010, 11:37 PM

QUOTE(RedBox @ Mar 7 2010, 10:44 AM)
KC,

I am interested in trying Meguiars NXT Wax 2.0. You seem to be very knowledgeable in Meguiars product. Do you usually layer another Meguiars product before applying NXT or maybe the other way around or just straight NXT? Let me know too your experience on durability. I would like something that will last 4 to 6 months preferably.

Car is just plain white and will be cleaned and clayed. Not worried about covering swirls, car is about 9 months old.

Interested to hear from you.

thanks Red box

sorri for the late reply

the thumb of the rule here is this...a wax is a WAX.....it serve only for protection....

what do u do to correct if you got swirls? hologram?...scratches? paint oxidise? water stains? tar? birds dropping?

r u using hand only? or ROB or rotary? there are far too many product on the shelf claims this and that....
let see if any that can correct the above....

yes there is one of two like tar removal or stain water mark.....but how about swirls? scrathes?

only a well prepared car....makes the paint glossy....is the foundation is not strong....can u just apply wax & cover up?

check out thishere

another look at what the world has to says

This post has been edited by KC's: Mar 7 2010, 11:38 PM
KC's
post Mar 9 2010, 12:11 AM

QUOTE(SweetPuff @ Mar 8 2010, 12:04 PM)
Hey guys, how do I remove access wax that gets trapped between panels? And is it normal for paint to look... uneven? The reflection is jaggy.

brush off after buffing
Here's how Turtle Wax Platinum Ultra Gloss look on my car:

Here's after driving and parking near my office:
thumbup.gif

very nice

This post has been edited by KC's: Mar 9 2010, 12:11 AM
KC's
post Mar 9 2010, 11:38 PM

sorry guys

I was down with fever after a full correction detailing....

simple rules is this

car shampoo is shampoo

wax is wax

quik Detailer is quik detailer

I cant wax the car , if i do not wash the car? rite

eg.....facial care....i can wash....or apply lotion ...but if it is not taken care day to day basis can ....it look the best....

the missing link here is prep work....

wash is to clean the car, wax is to protect yr paint from the envioroment.........but when a car is neglected & wash by road side....snowy...sandy ....hardy cloth guys....u will see lot of swirls under the sun...look like spide webs

put yr car to the test...under SUNLIGHT....look this like these

A rare thing on a white....HOLOGRAMing appeared..............(improper polishing method & people does for $$$ more than passion)

another great hacked job

ta ta

I cannot achieve this correction if
i do not CLAY - SANDING _ COMPOUND CUTTING - POLISHING- now i can finish off with my favourite wax or sealant & u can reinforce them, with UQD....Megs ultimate quik detailer

for rest of the process pls read at here

meguiars US

This post has been edited by KC's: Mar 9 2010, 11:41 PM
KC's
post Mar 12 2010, 12:09 AM

QUOTE(RedBox @ Mar 10 2010, 03:18 PM)
KC, how about it? Based on your experience, what is the durability of NXT? Just normal washing with mild car wash liquid and quick detail in betweens.
QUOTE(SweetPuff @ Mar 10 2010, 04:34 PM)
Thank you 'Car Detailing' bros. I've learned a lot from you guys in the past couple of months smile.gif I went from someone who don't even know what is car detailing to a beginner!

And yes, I'm interested to hear about your experiences with NXT as well.
QUOTE(RedBox @ Mar 11 2010, 12:49 AM)
KC seems to be the one with a lot of experience here. If I were to hire someone to detail, I would definitely have KC do it first. I do like washing my car and giving it some lovin' but I also have to cut down on time now due to other stuff. smile.gif
thanks guys

I am only here to share my experience with you

i learn it free thats why i a sharing it back to u guys

but its rather hard too when i started...there is no one & whom are willing to help..that is what a was piss off...never gavce u detailing

but now i just loves seeeing things transformed....

NXt basically prep well & weekly wash my neutral shampoo about 2 months....friend we r in khatulistiwa...means hot hot hot hot all day & all yr

withUQD weekly after wash 3 -4 months....depending where u park,,,open pr close parking

u had a mirror shining too

keep it up
KC's
post Mar 15 2010, 11:50 PM

QUOTE(RedBox @ Mar 13 2010, 01:26 AM)
Thanks KC, looks like between application time is fairly similar to the gold class from sleepwalker's experience. I bet I can get away with 4 months in between with proper washing and QD. I'll look at buying one or the other in the next few weeks.

Thanks all.
u r welcome

wanna know how to take care moe
QUOTE(jags @ Mar 14 2010, 12:31 AM)
hi guys,
my bro's naza ria headlight has turned to yellow. I have tried using Soft 99 polish and also tooth paste but its still yellowish (the tooth paste did help slightly). I was thinking wet sanding it, but I am a bit worried I might end up spoiling the headlight.

come over & join me for a hand om detailing session

rgds KC

Added on March 15, 2010, 11:51 pm
Detailing Session & hand on at Ampang Park automotive week
FREE!!! Hands on detailing session!!! Come and learn more about detailing.
My friend is organizing a detailing session/demo for me at Ampang Park Automotive week

Come and participate this hands on detailing session.

Some hardcore detailing gurus and other detailing professionals will also be there to help out and answer any of your detailing questions.

All sorts of detailing machines and products will be available for anyone to try out.

Want to find out how to use a rotary buffer?

Want to try out a Makita 9227C?

Want to see if a ROB is sufficient to meet your needs?

What is a rinse-less car wash?

Want to try out the many, many, many professional and consumer detailing products?

Come drop by to find out for yourself!!! how to detail yr car back to show room condition
click here for details

Details here:
http://maps.google.com.my/maps?hl=en&cd=1&...7,0.010568&z=17

Look forward to seeing you there

This post has been edited by KC's: Mar 15 2010, 11:53 PM
KC's
post Mar 16 2010, 11:47 PM

our last detailing session pls read more
http://meguiarsonline.com/forums/showthread.php?t=39901

ampang automotive week detailing session

http://thedetailers.blogspot.com/2010/03/d...-at-ampang.html

next in line...
a rare precious jewel

straight in line 6 throtter...with stock 380 bhp

this is so pure..nothing beats the raw power
hmmmm.........Fast & furious
why is it so rare....this is one of the only convertable M3 come originaly with the phone....user posted image

Mr Bond........

Thanks bro for allowing me to share with my friends...& u guys thanks for viewing again ya

the next day..i had another apoinment to view another M3 for a full correction job......hard top

UK specs...

far pics...

not bad ....
close up

Orange peel like paint surface

this most likely repainted

thanks for viewing again ya

This post has been edited by KC's: Mar 16 2010, 11:53 PM
KC's
post Mar 21 2010, 01:33 AM

some of the enthusist hand on machine yesterday,

started with
ROB

tada ...less than minutes upgraded to Rotary, although is dangerous in the hand of beginers...with the correct guidance...u too can do it

he's too 1st timer

one more thing...when i brought all the above machine...no body was there to guide me & explaine...i brought what i tot is the most value for $....buy one after another ......ended up buying the everything.....

eg

I tot..i can detail this by Rob....swirls & RIDS

nope...it doesnt have enough cutting power to correct...
see the 50/50..as the RIDs is too severe & fequently swirls up by road side car wash

ta da

for rest of the pls read at Here

This post has been edited by KC's: Mar 21 2010, 10:51 PM
KC's
post Mar 22 2010, 11:13 PM

QUOTE(xDjWanNabex @ Mar 22 2010, 03:59 PM)
FML. 3 hours of cleaning, washing, waxing my car got screwed up thanks to the 5 hours of rain yesterday :S
rain no worries

u got the protectiuon u should be smilling....rain only ma...well prepare to resist it ma

i usually enjoy the renaissance moments

my observations

2 face...one side polish & wax.....the other still neglected 21 years

real rain test

a week later...morning midst

QUOTE(SweetPuff @ Mar 22 2010, 06:30 PM)
Do you guys hose off rain water from your car? Or just leave it?
if u got wax on

clean it once a week otherwise...yes...acid rain will oxidise yr paint

QUOTE(m|ng @ Mar 22 2010, 10:45 AM)

Guys, How do you detail beige leather?

My car has beige leather seats and after a couple of uses, it turned black.
I used meguire's gold class leather cleaner. While it worked wonders, the stubborn stains still remained. Im just worried it might be "etched" into the leather.

Any method that i can "scrub" it out?

Man i hate light colored interiors.
QUOTE(RedBox @ Mar 22 2010, 10:30 PM)
Now you have me worried. I have light gray leather. Am planning to just wipe and condition it with some regular Meguiars leather cleaner and conditioner. Is that not helping at all? I remember wiping my driver seat with a damp cloth and the 'blackish' stains seem to come off easily.
I leave it until the next wash and quick detailing.
QUOTE(m|ng @ Mar 22 2010, 11:22 PM)
No mate. not for my case >.<
I even left the solution to 'soak' on the seat for a few moments. but doesn't work too.

another annoying stain is blue-jeans colour transfer.  doh.gif

bearly or barely 3 yrs old car ...be came like a working truck...whom i detail last sun....

look at the interior leather

a 50/50 pics of how dirty it was & how to detail leather
some scratched....on left side door ...who accidently scratched by a pillar

my guide to interior & leather seats detailing
read what the american say about my interior cleaning

pls feel free to use....

This post has been edited by KC's: Mar 22 2010, 11:14 PM

16 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top