Car Detailing, How I did mine....

K2002
post Sep 4 2012, 02:38 AM

61 posts

QUOTE(redhatlinux @ Sep 3 2012, 11:46 AM)
hi guys!

i need help, i am using myvi S.E 1.5 (Mystic Yellow)
the problem is why my car paint easily kena watermark (water spot)
last time already kena, i went to car wash to do a polishing + waxing using (Meguiar's Product) it cost around RM168++
after 8 month, the waterspot appear again..dammit..
need tips to prevent this water spot appear again and again.

please..thanks..
usually seldom wash car it will cause that water spot. Try best practice usually after rain try not to leave it dry. wipe it with microfiber. (concentrate on the mirrors top of the car..bonnet and hud) when the sun comes these water will be like a magnifying glass. it will cause burn and thus leave water marks. or easier and faster way. use leaf blower to dry it.

my gf is very lazy to wash car person...her car full of water spot...all mirrors is like crying mark...u know how she wash car? she use water....just spray on the car....then leave it overnight without wiping it. after spray water on it. she thought drive it off the water will go away. yes it will but the access water that stick around will have a chance to make your windows and car paint severe water mark when the sun comes up...

u mention that is around 8 months... if u hardworking try wash one week once or twice. one year two times of clay. every two months once wax. even three month once wax also ok. it will prevent water mark from occurring. if my explanation wrong please correct me sifu KC.
K2002
post Oct 30 2012, 08:50 PM

61 posts

QUOTE(mav3rick @ Oct 30 2012, 08:06 PM)
hello to all detailing sifus here smile.gif

ayam a noobie wannabie in detailing. will be getting my new ride soon and now in a dilemma whether to DIY or buy seasonal detailing groupons or glass coating. on one hand i dont feel like having a cuckold relationship with my new car so soon, so i'm kind of ruling out the detailing groupons tongue.gif. My current ride, i'm not really putting in the whole 5 step car care cycle, just normal wash and wax with KIT tongue.gif i would really want to start the 5 steps car detailing cycle but my only concern is that i'm living in a condo and space is kinda limited. there is only one shared area for washing the vehicle, after that if i want to detail, i most probably will need to drive it back to my parking bay. which kind rules out any use of machinery. Would appreciate if any sifus here who are also staying in condos can share with me some tips on detailing condo style biggrin.gif

i'm not sure if it has been discuss over here yet, and i do apologize if it already has, would be very grateful if you all can share with me the pros and cons of going for glass coatings such as sierra glow. its cheap and has a 5 year warranty, but i do feel like doing more for the car then just washing. all advise is most appreciated. muchos gracias
Groupon, & dealmates coupon one ah. rm 45 ~ rm 95 usually. but the amount of effort they put in very little only. very fast one they work. 1 and half hour finish my car done seems to be nice and shinny from far. 3 person handle your car. some (bangla or vietnamese or indonesians) the one that i went no clay. just spray snow foam. rinse water. wipe dry then just one or two pass using sponge pad. that consider two layer polish already at the end put some water coating. 3 layers if u bring in car that have minor scratches they are not fully correct also. done. then vacuum wipe dashboard with dunno what chemical. everything they do so fast. "fast = more cars they can do" but at the end under sun light or even under normal white fluorescent light you can still see light scratch...if you have those deep scratches + water marks don't think they will be able to correct it for u. that is my experience using groupon & dealmates coupon for my old car. three times at different shops dont want to name them.

if u see 5 layer they will wax only put three times wax. wax on top of wax on top of wax again. there you go 5 layer. plus the two that they mention is polish. if u see 7 layer they will let you know two times is compound cut. (wool pad) two times polish then 3 times wax. (sponge pad) if u can do that for 3 - 4 times a year....dunno your clear coat can last how long.

If glass coating. last for longer time. some can 6 month some can 1 year some can be longer 2 years time or more. depend on how you take care your car. park outside more or indoor more. did you revisit back the glass coating company for inspection or for touch up every 6 month 1 year or 2 years time.

This post has been edited by K2002: Oct 30 2012, 08:55 PM
K2002
post Nov 26 2012, 04:26 AM

61 posts

Hi guys. planning to sell off my auto detailing stuffs. quit clearance sales. No time for me to do part time auto detailing. last time working shift thinking want to do this as part time. cause last time work 1 week 3 days another week one week 4 days. thats why want to try this and went to KC detailing clinic for one time. and then try my own car, my father car and my gf car only. i think my skill still bad so don't dare to do any part time. now i found a new job monday to friday 8.30 ~ 5.30 some times require on call 24 hours. network engineer job is on call and tiring. i love to continue on but i afraid i don't even have time to do it for my own car. the item i sell is cheap have a look.
K2002
post Dec 16 2012, 12:24 PM

61 posts

Thanks for support. I still left a few items if you guys interested let me know
K2002
post Jan 26 2013, 02:22 PM

61 posts

Hi all, I have some detailing stuffs to sell. Visit my sales page. Microfiber cloth and some auto detailing brush. Good day to all.

0.0474sec    0.26    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 08:25 AM