Car Detailing, How I did mine....
Oct 24 2007, 11:11 AM
3,945 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
so..she polished her car every month...
Oct 24 2007, 10:20 PM
QUOTE(Yukaeshi @ Oct 24 2007, 06:56 PM) It worked for your friend then good for him... for me it took about 4 times (4 months) for the swirl marks to be lessened... not even gone. Yeah, it's applied like wax, except no need to let it "cure". Just apply and buff off, one panel at a time. Plan to reduce the usage of ScratchX now though, since the swirl marks are almost gone anyway. I guess the abrasiveness depends on car to car. errmm..as far as i know scratchx can't be use the WOWO method. As you need to breakdown the scratchx which gonna take a long time if use hand. If you were to apply in WOWO method, it is waste as the scratchx can't do its job. Scratchx is still not that abbrasive as there are other which are much stronger. For example. DiamondCut and DACP |
Oct 25 2007, 02:30 PM
QUOTE(Yukaeshi @ Oct 25 2007, 01:31 PM) Yeah, ScratchX is considered the "least abrasive" of DIY swirl mark remover. I use hand to do everything though scratchX..once a month, all done with hand. i Kit UV Guard is really long lasting. My interior seems to have a permanent shine now. |
Oct 25 2007, 03:52 PM
QUOTE(jassicaskylpm @ Oct 25 2007, 03:05 PM) its like a scratch but not ,i got it on my car after i send in the workshop for spraying then leave it few days> cant do anything keep rain & non stop.. u mean like spider web light scratches?now i notice my car got few area like got scratch or"HUA" already |
Oct 30 2007, 10:08 AM
QUOTE(Yukaeshi @ Oct 29 2007, 09:59 PM) Well, I don't think all waxes can be long-lasting unless really prepped properly... but even then 2 weeks does seem to be pretty long + rainy weather lately wish my fiance help me I have to do all my waxing and stuff by hand, sometimes with help from my fiance though dish washing is not necesarry NO NO...coz sometime is YES YES when u wan to strip the wax. This post has been edited by lonewolf: Oct 30 2007, 10:09 AM |
Oct 30 2007, 04:34 PM
Nov 20 2007, 09:49 AM
QUOTE(ralf @ Nov 18 2007, 05:14 PM) hey guys, never tried plastX some say good some say useless. Sandpaper comes with different number ratings, the smaller the number the rough it is. IMHO, if you use this method. Your headlamp plastic now will thinner than before and it is prone to crack.Any tried MG PlastX (Clear Plastic Cleaner and Polish) to restore the headlamps, taillights?? Where to buy sand paper? how to differentiate type/abrasiveness of sand paper? I plan to restore a 30monts old wira and 6years old kancil headlamps, tailights, signal, and speedometer plastic. Anyone done it before, restoring plastic...this is something new to me. hmm... http://www.wheelsjamaica.com/wheels_forum/...9441.msg1027470 |
Nov 29 2007, 11:25 AM
ralf...why u buy now..1st December sales starts, and usually parkson give 20% discount ler..
Dec 2 2007, 08:28 PM
QUOTE(ralf @ Dec 1 2007, 11:26 PM) Nice headlights, using machine or by hand? Nice ride too u use sponge or microfiber to rub?Had a chance to "restore" a 6years old headlamp Kancil today using PlasTX. It remove the yellowish and rough surface easily, i go over several times..hand rubbing for 6-7times in 5minutes. |
Dec 4 2007, 03:55 PM
wah...got 2.0 wan ar.
ralf...when u use cloth and rub, u need to apply alot of plastx right?..coz i notice very fast the paste dry off |
Dec 18 2007, 11:31 AM
QUOTE(ralf @ Dec 16 2007, 12:57 PM) lonewolf, where can i get the Klasse SG ?? i bought from singapore wan, there is a shop in SS2 that sells them last time. But now not sure he still sells or not, if u are interested i can check for u. drop me a pm.Ar..any Penang kia here?...i want a bottle of SG.. |
Dec 21 2007, 10:48 AM
Dec 21 2007, 12:05 PM
Jan 2 2008, 04:52 PM
QUOTE(domo_kun @ Dec 30 2007, 08:24 PM) regarding the PlastX, how do you actually polish it? rub it until it become crystal clear? hmm, never polish anything before, so... any advice? u need to keep rubbing until the compound breakdown, if u do search in google. Some ppl do sanding first then oni platicX with machine. |
Jan 2 2008, 05:09 PM
Jan 3 2008, 12:43 AM
QUOTE(ralf @ Jan 2 2008, 08:32 PM) Anyone using PPS(Polarised Paint Protection System) Teflon coating?? dun bother on those teflon, it is useless unless you can bake your car in the oven.I saw the product on their web, RM350 per bottle, abit expensive. Is it better than KlasseSG, Zaino Clear Seal..?in terms of shine and protection.. Added on January 3, 2008, 12:48 am QUOTE(singchaii @ Jan 2 2008, 09:35 PM) Guy.. I need some help here.. This is the step I done.. proper way is1) Wash car (Using a japan brand 2 in 1) 2) Rinse water 3) Dry it, apply rain X on all the window and start claying process by spraying water on car body and on the clay (courtesy to Kevin) (perma glass brand) 4) Wash the car again. 5) Wax (Waxco metallic wax) 6) Clean the wax with use micro fiber towel as well.. Is this way correct? Or any suggestion that will improve? izit I should polish it before wax? And at when the scratchX only can apply? i like my car look shining.. here is some picture of my car which clean yesterday. ![]() ![]() Done in 1 day... From noon to evening. wash -> clay(soft99 clay/ permaglass clay) -> cleaner wax(soft99 metaclean/meguairs DC1) -> polish(meguairs DC2) -> sealant(any sealant) -> wax(carbauna wax which doesn't contain cleaners) rainx supposed to be the last step scratchx is not to be use on the whole car but patches where got deep scratches only, but if you wan you can use it in polish step but u gonna brake ya hand apart. nice job anyway.. This post has been edited by lonewolf: Jan 3 2008, 12:50 AM |
Jan 3 2008, 09:25 AM
[quote=ralf,Jan 3 2008, 09:05 AM]
[quote=lonewolf,Jan 3 2008, 12:43 AM] dun bother on those teflon, it is useless unless you can bake your car in the oven. I see. No wonder seldom people go for PPS nowadays, it is marketing hype. I still prefer the old tradition method, polish and wax..Everytime i pass by the detailing center, the oily and shiny wax-ed lookalike is eye candy, especially on dark colour cars... [/quote] the klasse that you are using is already good, the only problem with klasse is the waxing feeling kinda suck. |
Jan 30 2008, 02:10 PM
Jan 31 2008, 10:05 AM
Feb 1 2008, 01:52 PM
QUOTE(kingkong81 @ Feb 1 2008, 01:26 PM) yes, coz ya car is under rain and shine when stored in the yard. However it still depends on the paint condition because certain car dealer will sent the car for polishing job before passing it to the customers.Added on February 1, 2008, 1:54 pm QUOTE(dotcom @ Jan 31 2008, 04:15 PM) what can i do to my car to make the sheeting effects? cause i use wax turtle n wax soft99 gimme the beading effects you want sheet effect you need to use sealant/acrylic kinda of wax. carbauna waxes usually gives u water beads. Anyway, don't expect the sealant to work like water sheeting when it rains. Water sheets only happens when you have a flow of water, then it will sheet. If you spray then it will bead.or any wax tat can have sheeting effects? This post has been edited by lonewolf: Feb 1 2008, 01:54 PM |
| Change to: | 0.0556sec
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 04:48 PM |