Car Detailing, How I did mine....

d@id
post Oct 10 2004, 11:55 PM

Kleemann V6 Kompressor
3,270 posts

don't get the nxt wax.

get the polymer sealant.

as for your stains , cleaning it with quik detailer+clay and polishing it with something like speedglaze would help , finally , carefully apply a layer of polymer sealant

This post has been edited by d@id: Oct 10 2004, 11:56 PM
NiCkY
post Oct 10 2004, 11:59 PM

The POWER Of Dream(tm)
2,383 posts

QUOTE(d@id @ Oct 10 2004, 11:55 PM)
don't get the nxt wax.

get the polymer sealant.

as for your stains , cleaning it with quik detailer+clay and polishing it with something like speedglaze would help , finally , carefully apply a layer of polymer sealant
blink.gif ...

the NXT wax not good ar? alamak, dunno my sister bought liow or not... sweat.gif

the polymer sealant u mention is No.20 is it? quite expensine also... sad.gif

wow, speed glaze also expensive... sweat.gif

tongue.gif

This post has been edited by NiCkY: Oct 11 2004, 12:00 AM
d@id
post Oct 11 2004, 12:02 AM

Kleemann V6 Kompressor
3,270 posts

polymer sealant is either 20 or 26 , can't remember.

well nxt wax is not bad as well :>

nxt wax is the nxt tech series. i prefer the professional series which is numbered like the polymer sealant. i got new steps of polshing as well.

nxt car wash the whole car
then use bug and tar remover to remove all the bug and tar that is sticking on the vehicle , wash again and this time with clay . bosch blower is then used to blow the car dry.

preparation job is done now .

step 1 : diamond cut is used to prepare the surface " always make sure that you don't polish the surface until it becomes to hot " if yes wait a while then continue , after done , water is rinsed to remove all the dust. then blower is used to dry it again, next step is dual action . same thing rinse with water and blow after done, then speed glaze, same as well.

okay this is next. meguair show car glaze no 7 is used . "this is extremely hard to buff off so don't leave it to dry too long" . one layer "do it panel by panel" applied then buff off immediately and when your done, use quik detailer to wipe again.

apply 7 layers of no 7 at least, will take 3 hours.

after your done and your stastify with the wet look aka shine. , apply meguairs yellow wax , a moderate layer "not too thin not too thick for protection.

now here you go , washing once a week with nxt car wash would last you 1 month , after one month , apply a layer of no 7 again then a layer of yellow wax

This post has been edited by d@id: Oct 11 2004, 12:07 AM
NiCkY
post Oct 11 2004, 12:04 AM

The POWER Of Dream(tm)
2,383 posts

QUOTE(d@id @ Oct 11 2004, 12:02 AM)
polymer sealant is either 20 or 26 , can't remember.
k check liow, is 20...

hmmh, maybe i get the quik detailer pack 1st la...

then if cant baru go for the speed glaze instead of normal polish... sweat.gif

thanks 4 the help~~~ biggrin.gif
d@id
post Oct 11 2004, 12:12 AM

Kleemann V6 Kompressor
3,270 posts

to nicky : read my edited post , just incase you missed it.
NiCkY
post Oct 11 2004, 05:11 PM

The POWER Of Dream(tm)
2,383 posts

QUOTE(d@id @ Oct 11 2004, 12:12 AM)
to nicky : read my edited post , just incase you missed it.
wow, hihihi, nice info there~~~

if i do that, my car will become more shining than new car... biggrin.gif

but i still student, no so much budget go for professional detailing, next year finish study liow then mostly will change car when working... that time baru i go harry bright there for start my detailing journey~~~ laugh.gif

now no need to invest so much for my current car, mostly will sell later... tongue.gif
just need some basic detail and protection to keep the paint in good condition... smile.gif

thanks for the info... biggrin.gif
Pennywise
post Oct 19 2004, 05:37 PM

5,796 posts

Just realized... stolen car - no number plate
TSRedBox
post Oct 22 2004, 09:56 PM

Folding@Malaysia Team
3,043 posts

Hmm.... if you spend some time learning and doing your own detailing I think you can save on having someone else do it. It is not really hard, just time consuming. smile.gif

RedBox
popiah_mmu
post Oct 29 2004, 02:53 PM

46 posts

hi guys, have been browsing through this forum for the past few weeks browsing through the HP information. din realise that you all have a detailing forum here. cool~~.

NXT wax is a polymer sealant. and d@id, diamond cut is a very aggresive compound. you wouldn't want to use it even twice a year. you would want to use it the first time for a really bad finish, then use something milder like DACP for minor touch ups the following time. Did you know that you can layer NXT wax with No 26? You should try it. Gives better depth. Would love to try GC wax on top of NXT but that will have to wait until I finish my 26. I find that just NXT on my car is sufficient to provide protection for some time. In fact I have 2 layers of NXT and it has been 2 months since. Seems to still be there.

However, that could be due to the fact that I use final inspection after every car wash (which is done about once every two weeks).

Hi Nicky, got your clay bar liao? How about the rest of the items?
popiah_mmu
post Oct 29 2004, 02:53 PM

46 posts

heyyyy, that was my first post. cool~~~ tongue.gif
NiCkY
post Oct 29 2004, 07:23 PM

The POWER Of Dream(tm)
2,383 posts

QUOTE(popiah_mmu @ Oct 29 2004, 02:53 PM)
hi guys, have been browsing through this forum for the past few weeks browsing through the HP information. din realise that you all have a detailing forum here. cool~~.

NXT wax is a polymer sealant.  and d@id, diamond cut is a very aggresive compound. you wouldn't want to use it even twice a year. you would want to use it the first time for a really bad finish, then use something milder like DACP for minor touch ups the following time. Did you know that you can layer NXT wax with No 26? You should try it. Gives better depth. Would love to try GC wax on top of NXT but that will have to wait until I finish my 26. I find that just NXT on my car is sufficient to provide protection for some time. In fact I have 2 layers of NXT and it has been 2 months since. Seems to still be there.

However, that could be due to the fact that I use final inspection after every car wash (which is done about once every two weeks).

hihi popiah, u also register lowyat.net liow ar? welcome welcome...

hihi, got my quik clay detailing system liow, the claybar wrap with meguairs plastic paper, is this the new batch 1?

maybe sunday baru detailing my car, these days busy like hell cry.gif ...
maybe i just wash, clay and wax, cause my amway polish is not advice to use it to new car paint... they suggest use after 2 months... sweat.gif

blush.gif
popiah_mmu
post Nov 2 2004, 11:32 AM

46 posts

thats the new one.... thumbup.gif easier to handle than the old clay. tongue.gif
d@id
post Nov 2 2004, 02:24 PM

Kleemann V6 Kompressor
3,270 posts

QUOTE(popiah_mmu @ Oct 29 2004, 02:53 PM)

NXT wax is a polymer sealant.  and d@id, diamond cut is a very aggresive compound. you wouldn't want to use it even twice a year. you would want to use it the first time for a really bad finish, then use something milder like DACP for minor touch ups the following time. Did you know that you can layer NXT wax with No 26? You should try it. Gives better depth. Would love to try GC wax on top of NXT but that will have to wait until I finish my 26. I find that just NXT on my car is sufficient to provide protection for some time. In fact I have 2 layers of NXT and it has been 2 months since. Seems to still be there.

popiah , diamond cut is a preparation step. its done before dual action
NiCkY
post Nov 2 2004, 07:43 PM

The POWER Of Dream(tm)
2,383 posts

QUOTE(popiah_mmu @ Nov 2 2004, 11:32 AM)
thats the new one.... thumbup.gif  easier to handle than the old clay. tongue.gif
hihihi, already "half detail" my car.... wash, clay and wax...

the clay cun ar, i use half bottle of quick detailer for the 1st time, almost clay anything, car paint, windscreen, lights... some more the class fall under the floor 2 time, need to remove some stone... cry.gif but i still use back, is ok like that? just some very tiny i cant remove, so i fold it over and use again,,, tongue.gif

btw today raining liow... mad.gif
hardwork gone by 1 day... laugh.gif

blush.gif
zackertashia
post Nov 2 2004, 10:45 PM

265 posts

post some pic la o ur work..
d@id
post Nov 2 2004, 11:22 PM

Kleemann V6 Kompressor
3,270 posts

if stone trap inside the clay ur paint is gone case .

anyway you should not use the quik detailer, take a dispenser, put some meguair shampoo and water . use that to lubricate instead of clay
NiCkY
post Nov 3 2004, 01:00 AM

The POWER Of Dream(tm)
2,383 posts

QUOTE(zackertashia @ Nov 2 2004, 10:45 PM)
post some pic la o ur work..
tak ada digi cam le...

cant post... cry.gif
NiCkY
post Nov 3 2004, 01:02 AM

The POWER Of Dream(tm)
2,383 posts

QUOTE(d@id @ Nov 2 2004, 11:22 PM)
if stone trap inside the clay ur paint is gone case .

anyway you should not use the quik detailer, take a dispenser, put some meguair shampoo and water . use that to lubricate instead of clay
is a very very very tiny stone, like those when u clay also will get 1... ok, i try to use another piece of clay, lucky i cut them into 2 pieces...

shampoo + water to be lubricant? then need to wash the car again,,, wah, really tired kao kao... cry.gif

sweat.gif
popiah_mmu
post Nov 3 2004, 11:39 AM

46 posts

nicky, it is safe to reuse the clay, if you are sure that all the things that get stuck on the clay when you dropped it, is removed. some people dun reuse, but I do. But I also make sure that I remove all the contaminants from the clay, so much so to the extent that I remove up to 1/5 of the clay that I dropped. Haha, all the tiredness will be gone when you run your fingers on your car body and feast your eyes on the finish you achieved.

d@id, diamond cut is aggresive. It is in fact, a compound to be used with a rotary only. Usually used if the paint is in real bad condition. If you use it the first time you detailed your car, it should be ok, but not everytime. tongue.gif

d@id
post Nov 6 2004, 08:14 PM

Kleemann V6 Kompressor
3,270 posts

yeah popiah thats why i say its a first step ler .

if your paint ain't got many defects you don't need diamond cut. just start with dual action .

but then up to date everyone asked here is doing their polishing the first time .

and for diamond cut, diff type of paint should use diff type of polishing pad

153 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0168sec    0.40    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 07:20 AM