Car Detailing, How I did mine....

jakesean
post Dec 5 2012, 01:30 PM

1,361 posts

QUOTE(ZeroSP @ Dec 4 2012, 05:22 PM)
Firstly bro, you don't use a shampoo like that to remove whatever polishing oils, that's why it is interfering with the Permanon bonding. To remove polishing oils you need a proper IPA wipedown and whatever equivalent may be used.

While this is an honest experience from you, this can be misleading.
oooic.. next time i'll skip the washing after polishing.. good info for myself. never tried using IPA on clear coats before coz a few years ago i screwed up my LCD screen with IPA, so i stopped using IPA as a cleaner.. still have a 500ml bottle at home i use for cleaning processors, mobo, etc.. is OPC/Permanon's Hecta PL wipedown equivalent to IPA ? since i know OPC is a damn good cleaner...

anyways since i was free earlier this morning i did a test spot again on the bonnet, washed with soap, then did another wash with hecta pl(OPC finished), assuming that Hecta PL will remove any oils or whatsoever. then applied permanon platinum on one side, and OCW on the other for comparison purposes later in the week.

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Dec 4 2012, 11:37 PM)
to the non professionals (and even someone thats in the pro scene for so MANY years) may want to take note of this: http://www.autogeekonline.net/forum/auto-d...html#post319835
according to him, IPA may be harmful to the clear coats if not used correctly/carefully? or am i understanding him incorrectly?

This post has been edited by jakesean: Dec 5 2012, 02:11 PM
ZeroSP
post Dec 5 2012, 02:25 PM

184 posts

QUOTE(jakesean @ Dec 5 2012, 01:30 PM)
oooic.. next time i'll skip the washing after polishing.. good info for myself. never tried using IPA on clear coats before coz a few years ago i screwed up my LCD screen with IPA, so i stopped using IPA as a cleaner.. still have a 500ml bottle at home i use for cleaning processors, mobo, etc.. is OPC/Permanon's Hecta PL wipedown equivalent to IPA ? since i know OPC is a damn good cleaner...

anyways since i was free earlier this morning i did a test spot again on the bonnet, washed with soap, then did another wash with hecta pl(OPC finished), assuming that Hecta PL will remove any oils or whatsoever. then applied permanon platinum on one side, and OCW on the other for comparison purposes later in the week.
according to him, IPA may be harmful to the clear coats if not used correctly/carefully? or am i understanding him incorrectly?
OPC is a cleaner, you need to rinse off after using else if left to dry it will have stains. IPA on the other hand, just spray and wipe off, it cleans but it is not so strong to leave stains.

And what Mike Phillips says is, usually when some detailer wanted to do some test spot, you need to tape up an area (like a square or etc etc), when he wipes IPA over the area after polishing, he forgot to strip off the masking tape. When IPA (alcohol) kena onto the tape, the tape will wrinkle, and then subsequently will pass down the unwanted effect to the masking tape covered surface. On normal usage, it doesn't have any issues. Just spray and wipe off like you would do with any QD.
Quazacolt
post Dec 5 2012, 02:31 PM

Riding couple
5,367 posts

yes you're understanding it perfectly fine. hence his opinions/preference to not use IPA/wipedowns.

in other words, use with your own discretion/caution smile.gif

Added on December 5, 2012, 2:38 pm
QUOTE(junbecks @ Dec 5 2012, 11:14 AM)
Merck
Rm 174/ 10 L
thanks bro. looks like yours is much cheaper... cuz from AG: http://autogeek.commerce-search.net/search...rds=IPA&x=0&y=0

http://www.autogeek.net/carpro-eraser-ipa.html
hmm:
Eraser also has anti-static components to resist dusting after wiping. The paint will stay dust-free while you�re in the process of applying Cquartz so you don�t have to keep re-cleaning. Eraser contains no silicone and is completely safe for use in paint shops and body shops.

Plus, Eraser smells great, which is definitely not true of a homemade IPA!

lol even smell also advertised... i might be including this in my january shopping list then? since i'm thinking of applying opti coat and they recommended to do IPA wipe downs prior to applying

This post has been edited by Quazacolt: Dec 5 2012, 02:38 PM
MyWifeCar
post Dec 5 2012, 05:29 PM

★ Car Soundproofing DIY~
591 posts

QUOTE(KrisMas @ Dec 4 2012, 02:57 PM)
Their place is in Sri Hartamas. Google it and you should find their facebook page and location. Their products are from Freedom Waterless Car Wash....if you like ONR then you'd love their products.
Thanks Bro, too bad they are not selling the products. They only sell service together with their products.

I wonder since the product is so easy to use, why do we even need to call them and pay them to clean... rclxub.gif
alexng2208
post Dec 5 2012, 05:34 PM

Why my warn is 0%? i miss my high warn
4,789 posts

QUOTE(junbecks @ Dec 5 2012, 10:04 AM)
you want?
I have 2 bottles (2.5 L each)

didnt curi from my lab, i bought myself. huhuhu
meaning 1 bottle RM25 lar?

haha

don;t think i need so much
Golfmk6
post Dec 5 2012, 05:46 PM

Yes, Hecta PL can be used to remove polishing oil and existing wax but it is not recommended to be used on car body too often. Rinse with water asap to avoid hecta pl stay on the surface for too long.

Just a suggestion, what is your expectation for comparing wax vs Permanon coating in terms of durability? shine? dirt repellent? ease of maintenance? etc. FYI, water beading is not just a overall benchmark for glass coating products. If you are looking for nice water beading result, then wax is recommended but you have to apply regularly as it does not last long.
junbecks
post Dec 5 2012, 05:54 PM

140 posts

QUOTE(alexng2208 @ Dec 5 2012, 05:34 PM)
meaning 1 bottle RM25 lar?

haha

don;t think i need so much
1 bottle Rm 50 (2.5L)

If you want, can sell you smaller amount.

KrisMas
post Dec 6 2012, 09:46 AM

QUOTE(MyWifeCar @ Dec 5 2012, 05:29 PM)
Thanks Bro, too bad they are not selling the products. They only sell service together with their products.

I wonder since the product is so easy to use, why do we even need to call them and pay them to clean...  rclxub.gif
Is it? Too bad indeed. I have tried the original Freedom and it's very decent. I guess they see more profit in providing services instead of selling them....unlucky us....
mscw88
post Dec 6 2012, 11:44 AM

Absolutely Fabulous
974 posts

Do u guys know where can i buy those measuring cup huh ?? tq
alexng2208
post Dec 6 2012, 01:27 PM

Why my warn is 0%? i miss my high warn
4,789 posts

QUOTE(mscw88 @ Dec 6 2012, 11:44 AM)
shop selling cake supplies
junbecks
post Dec 6 2012, 03:19 PM

140 posts

QUOTE(mscw88 @ Dec 6 2012, 11:44 AM)
QUOTE(alexng2208 @ Dec 6 2012, 01:27 PM)
shop selling cake supplies
giant
jusco
tesco
cake shop.
tongue.gif
kidmad
post Dec 6 2012, 09:50 PM

4,482 posts

Ok spent quite some money on detailing product. tongue.gif want to make a 6 year old Vios shine again... It's paint is oxidize at certain part, and full with swirl, scratch and water mark. This is what I'm planning to do.

1 - Wash the car with Petronas durance wash and wax.. got 2 bottles doh.gif forced to take as it comes with the lube during service
2 - clay the car when it's still wet using P&G Clay Bar
3 - Polish the car using Black & Decker Polisher + Merguirs Ultimate Compound
4 - Continue on with P&G Sealant + Black & Decker Polisher
5- Finish it with Merguirs Ultimate Quick Wax

Does the step above in the correct sequence? Googling on the techniques on each of these steps atm.
MyWifeCar
post Dec 6 2012, 10:58 PM

★ Car Soundproofing DIY~
591 posts

QUOTE(KrisMas @ Dec 6 2012, 09:46 AM)
Is it? Too bad indeed. I have tried the original Freedom and it's very decent. I guess they see more profit in providing services instead of selling them....unlucky us....
Guess so. I gave them a call, all they are trying to do was to convince you that their product is good and durable. One needs to be trained to use their product, if anyone cincai use might scratch your car.

They are having promotion now for 1 month package, this is what you get and their car wash can last how long how long...etc

....bla bla bla bla for 10 minutes.

In the end, "Would you like to come over and let us demo our products to you, sir?".

Me " Nope". Hang up.
KrisMas
post Dec 7 2012, 10:03 AM

QUOTE(kidmad @ Dec 6 2012, 09:50 PM)
Ok spent quite some money on detailing product.  tongue.gif  want to make a 6 year old Vios shine again... It's paint is oxidize at certain part, and full with swirl, scratch and water mark. This is what I'm planning to do.

1 - Wash the car with Petronas durance wash and wax.. got 2 bottles  doh.gif  forced to take as it comes with the lube during service
2 - clay the car when it's still wet using P&G Clay Bar
3 - Polish the car using Black & Decker Polisher + Merguirs Ultimate Compound
4 - Continue on with P&G Sealant + Black & Decker Polisher
5- Finish it with Merguirs Ultimate Quick Wax

Does the step above in the correct sequence? Googling on the techniques on each of these steps atm.
The steps there looks ok, but the way you described your car as 'oxidize' and 'full with swirl, scratch and water marks', sounds like you're in for quite a looooong day there matey, especially when working only with a B&D. I hope you're using a compound pad with it. Good luck and don't forget to share your results/findings with us here ya.

Added on December 7, 2012, 10:39 am
QUOTE(MyWifeCar @ Dec 6 2012, 10:58 PM)
Guess so. I gave them a call, all they are trying to do was to convince you that their product is good and durable. One needs to be trained to use their product, if anyone cincai use might scratch your car.

They are having promotion now for 1 month package, this is what you get and their car wash can last how long how long...etc

....bla bla bla bla for 10 minutes.

In the end, "Would you like to come over and let us demo our products to you, sir?".

Me " Nope". Hang up.
Sounds like typical Malaysian businesses desperate to make a sale by scare tactics..... tongue.gif

This post has been edited by KrisMas: Dec 7 2012, 10:39 AM
kidmad
post Dec 7 2012, 07:21 PM

4,482 posts

QUOTE(KrisMas @ Dec 7 2012, 10:03 AM)
The steps there looks ok, but the way you described your car as 'oxidize' and 'full with swirl, scratch and water marks', sounds like you're in for quite a looooong day there matey, especially when working only with a B&D. I hope you're using a compound pad with it. Good luck and don't forget to share your results/findings with us here ya.
Ok wish me luck... i forseeee 6 - 7 hours at least. sweat.gif
I read somewhere that after i wash.. i better rinse it.. clean it up only start with claying right? haha. hope it would not cause more dmg. tongue.gif

The B&D do come with some cheap compound pad.. starting small and if I'm really into it i might upgrade to something better..
junbecks
post Dec 7 2012, 07:27 PM

140 posts

QUOTE(kidmad @ Dec 7 2012, 07:21 PM)
Ok wish me luck... i forseeee 6 - 7 hours at least.  sweat.gif 
I read somewhere that after i wash.. i better rinse it.. clean it up only start with claying right? haha. hope it would not cause more dmg.  tongue.gif

The B&D do come with some cheap compound pad.. starting small and if I'm really into it i might upgrade to something better..
just keep the surface wet with the clay lube, and dont press too hard.
also dont stay in 1 area too long.
kidmad
post Dec 7 2012, 08:42 PM

4,482 posts

QUOTE(junbecks @ Dec 7 2012, 07:27 PM)
just keep the surface wet with the clay lube, and dont press too hard.
also dont stay in 1 area too long.
noted! i tested the clay on my Forte.. nothing much to clay la actually but it's really good. Just like what's being said by everyone... silky smooth after claying.
ZeroSP
post Dec 8 2012, 02:19 AM

184 posts

I have a few extra Cobra Waffle Weave to let go... Anyone interested do take a look smile.gif Brand new from Autogeek. It works real well, can dry up 2 and a half car without the need to wring it.
KrisMas
post Dec 8 2012, 10:55 PM

errr...I think you mean 2 and a half cars WITH HEALTHY PROTECTION. No offence ya...just don't want people to be misinformed/misguided and have too much of an expectaions on the Cobra WW, then they'll be dissapointed.

The Cobra WW is a GREAT drying cloth. I personally have quite a few of them and loving them. Just that if the car's protection/wax/sealant is weak or non-existant, you won't be able to get much water to sheet of the paint, and you'd be having a whole lot of water to dry off the surface. One sedan roof full of water is all it'll take to fill the WW cloth and you'd need to wring it.

But, saying that, for those who really like to take care of their cars' aesthetics, you won't be dissapointed with it. It really SUCKS!!...(...of course I mean water la....hehehe....)
kidmad
post Dec 9 2012, 12:49 PM

4,482 posts

ok! done with the car. this is the image before it undergo, compound, sealant, and quick wax. Question! after doing all the steps mentioned the swirl mark were gone!!! most of it tongue.gif But now the problem is with the scratches as you can see in the attached image. Any idea how to remove them? Merguirs ultimate compound don't seem to work too well on them. I tried the compound one 1 area twice.. but still the deep visible scratches is there. sad.gif

This post has been edited by kidmad: Dec 9 2012, 08:04 PM

153 Pages « < 130 131 132 133 134 > » Top

0.0320sec    0.82    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 12:07 PM