Car Detailing, How I did mine....

tchtax
post Apr 27 2011, 07:43 PM

638 posts

QUOTE(arj @ Apr 27 2011, 07:04 PM)
I'm currently using Meguiar's Ultimate Quik Wax as a booster. If compared against Optimum Car Wax or Optimum Instant Detailer, which among the three gives the best gloss/shine? Don't really care about the durability. Thinking of getting a gallon of one of them biggrin.gif
for me..Optimum Car wax..btw where you're getting it from and how much?
arj
post Apr 27 2011, 07:56 PM

RED DEVIL
4,896 posts

QUOTE(tchtax @ Apr 27 2011, 07:43 PM)
for me..Optimum Car wax..btw where you're getting it from and how much?
Getting them from Amazon. Around RM330 per gallon including shipping. Might split them with a friend hehe...
capiche
post Apr 27 2011, 08:40 PM

380 posts

QUOTE(Vcys86 @ Apr 27 2011, 06:24 PM)
thanks for your reply.

Just normal pressure as washing other stuff (plates, cups) , is it correct?
normally i did clean thoroughly during rinse, and because it is weekly wash, not much dirt can be catch by MF (by rough eyes monitor)

The sponge is from Meguiar too, it is a square, white-colored, size is larger than a soap a bit. I tried to find on its homepage, seems it is no longer available there..

on monthly wax, i wax only after wash, with no clay though. For the applicator, i used the sponge (for nearly two years already). The sponge surface did become dark (or dirty?) . Does it means it no longer suitable?

Previously, although i can see the swirl, but the surface still smooth.
Just recently, the surface become very sandy/rough feel doh.gif  doh.gif
Haha/. pardon my mistake, my pressure is as in the pressure applied on the wash medium when u glide tru the paint.

if u took good care of the sponge, it could last long. Unless u r dealing in business, hence the sponge/pad/applicator/mf might get dirty much faster.. Or u r absolute OCD.. then change it every 6 months.. Hahaha..

regarding the rough, kinda abstract to describe here. biggrin.gif
Vcys86
post Apr 27 2011, 10:52 PM

524 posts

may i know what is 3 MF method for washing?
capiche
post Apr 28 2011, 08:27 AM

380 posts

QUOTE(Vcys86 @ Apr 27 2011, 10:52 PM)
u mean using 3 microbifre?
Vcys86
post Apr 28 2011, 08:29 AM

524 posts

yes..any video on how to apply this method?
capiche
post Apr 28 2011, 09:44 AM

380 posts

QUOTE(Vcys86 @ Apr 28 2011, 08:29 AM)
yes..any video on how to apply this method?
i not sure bro, cause havent heard this method before. smile.gif

but i believe is by separating different MF for different parts of the car.

2 mitts method i heard before though.. 1 for upper body panel, 1 for lower body panel.

or 3BM method, is 2 shampoo + 1 rinse bucket.. 1 shampoo for upper panel, another for lower panel.
KC's
post Apr 28 2011, 09:49 AM

QUOTE(Vcys86 @ Apr 27 2011, 03:42 PM)
hi, just realize there is one good detailing thread over here.

I have been washing my car by myself for 2years+ now...

weekly wash meguiars gold class shampoo + MF clothes + 2 bucket method (one for shampoo fluid, another to clean MF clothes)

monthly (sometimes twice a month) wax using Meguiar M16 + sponge

3months/6months - Clay (PG clay) + Meguiar colorX + M16 + sponge

recently notice that under street lamp, there is a lot of swirls on the car surface sad.gif and plenty of watermarks too (dark color car)

would like to know any suitable way to rescue the situation?
I think it is getting more and more "sandy" feel on the car surface..(last week just done the clay+colorX+M16) and it took me the whole morning sweat.gif a lot
hi buddy
you happen to have a dark colour car like black- did you wash it usually under the sun or park in an industrial near by area??

if yes these are build up over years
to avoid this - do not wash yr car while is still HOT & especially under the SUN (driving to car wash with yr engine running?????????)

wax more often - sacrifice yr wax layer

water mark is a tough one to detail
among the paint problem this is on the same list of the scratch - even swirls is easier to correct

the problem here in Malaysia is this

there is lots of rain & heat - both rain droplets will be baked into the paint with the heat of the sun - try to place a bottle of mineral water on your leather seats & lets the sun glare thru - ta da - yr leather will get burnt

now these droplets will be a magnifying glass effect on yr paint

the least ones can be polish off with polisher -

the severe ones - need compounding- etched into your clear coat

like this - so hard to even be captured by compact camera

plenty of water stains - and happen to be on the sunroof glass -

2 issue - hard water is bad - to make is worst is on the glass - the hardest surface of the car

another 50/50 % comparison on the sunroof

before

a 50/50%

what i di was compounding with rotary & wool - multipler times (over an hours to get it prefect) the same amount of time for me to finish a whole bonnet - over a sun roof

by all mean avoid, prevention is better than cure

join me whenever u r can for a hands on on rotaries session

QUOTE(arj @ Apr 27 2011, 08:56 PM)
Getting them from Amazon. Around RM330 per gallon including shipping. Might split them with a friend hehe...
try OCwax 40% cheaper & durable

QUOTE(Vcys86 @ Apr 27 2011, 11:52 PM)
yupp rinseless wash with ONR - 1 to wipe & 2 to dry without rinsing yr car wet

here

Vcys86
post Apr 28 2011, 10:25 AM

524 posts

Hi kc,

thanks for the details reply.

hi buddy
you happen to have a dark colour car like black- did you wash it usually under the sun or park in an industrial near by area??

if yes these are build up over years
to avoid this - do not wash yr car while is still HOT & especially under the SUN (driving to car wash with yr engine running?????????)
Yes, it is a black car. I only wash my car by myself and I never wash it under the sun. Erm...recently, my neighbour just did some renovation, it did make my car covered in a layer of dust doh.gif after that, i wash it, still feeling the surface is very sandy/rough. Previously it is quite smooth.

by all mean avoid, prevention is better than cure

join me whenever u r can for a hands on on rotaries session
Okay..i would like to know more of car detailing too smile.gif
And i would like to get some ONR since my washing shampoo is almost depleted. smile.gif

KC's
post Apr 28 2011, 11:31 AM

QUOTE(Vcys86 @ Apr 28 2011, 11:25 AM)
Hi kc,

thanks for the details reply.
Yes, it is a black car. I only wash my car by myself and I never wash it under the sun. Erm...recently, my neighbour just did some renovation, it did make my car covered in a layer of dust doh.gif after that, i wash it, still feeling the surface is very sandy/rough. Previously it is quite smooth.
Okay..i would like to know more of car detailing too smile.gif
And i would like to get some ONR since my washing shampoo is almost depleted. smile.gif
no worries we are all here to learn & join me whenever possible in any of my hands on session & experience yr self the joy of detailing

try to avoid parking in open air or under trees ya

capiche
post Apr 28 2011, 11:52 AM

380 posts

one can never go wrong with ONR. the best modern invention of car detailing. biggrin.gif
Vcys86
post Apr 28 2011, 11:56 AM

524 posts

QUOTE(KC's @ Apr 28 2011, 11:31 AM)
no worries we are all here to learn & join me whenever possible in any of my hands on session &  experience yr self the joy of detailing

try to avoid parking in open air or under trees ya
QUOTE(capiche @ Apr 28 2011, 11:52 AM)
one can never go wrong with ONR. the best modern invention of car detailing. biggrin.gif
Normally my car just park under house porch and wash it there

may i know is ONR available right now?

This post has been edited by Vcys86: Apr 28 2011, 12:40 PM
capiche
post Apr 28 2011, 01:47 PM

380 posts

QUOTE(Vcys86 @ Apr 28 2011, 11:56 AM)
Normally my car just park under house porch and wash it there

may i know is ONR available right now?
I believe sifu KC sells it. I have a gallon for my own usage. biggrin.gif
xngjn
post Apr 29 2011, 04:55 AM

1,239 posts

hwo can i know how many optimum product need to mix with how many water?
capiche
post Apr 29 2011, 09:28 AM

380 posts

QUOTE(xngjn @ Apr 29 2011, 04:55 AM)
U can check at their website bro. wink.gif
xngjn
post Apr 29 2011, 05:08 PM

1,239 posts

what are the replacement product for "Optimum OPTI Seal" , "Optimum Power Clean"? i want the common brand which i can get from jussco or ace hardware shop.
capiche
post Apr 29 2011, 05:53 PM

380 posts

QUOTE(xngjn @ Apr 29 2011, 05:08 PM)
what are the replacement product for "Optimum OPTI Seal" , "Optimum Power Clean"? i want the common brand which i can get from jussco or ace hardware shop.
There are no direct replacements. As every manufacturers made their product distinctively different from others.

Detailing is an art. And beauty of art lies in the eye of beholder. smile.gif
KC's
post Apr 29 2011, 07:41 PM

What Are Some Of The Threats To Your Car Paint

perhaps - like stone chips ....tailing at the wrong vehicle (esp on high speed)

dont we already have enough threats from mother-nature to our paint

such as these - is this a mother nature or Human error???
before pic

now
ta da

more chips - BEFORE

MAGICALLY YOURS

another threats - improper car wash
threats inflicted professional by car washes (or road side ones)

SWIRLS is usually inflicted by our habits & the wrong way of handling washing , also techniques (wrong way of shampooing - circulating) & material used - such as sponges, worn out mitts/microfibers, drying cloth - cotton cloth - old rags, old t-shirts, jeans la....etcs...as our clear coat is only 2/1000th part of an inch

therefore I make it a point to change my Microfibers once every 3-4 months to prevent

after compounding - with OPTIMUM Hyper Spray Compound with LC Double sided wool
ta da

to read the full detail here Meguiars on line USA - to read more how to do it yourself here

QUOTE(xngjn @ Apr 29 2011, 05:55 AM)

it has new polymers that offer greater lubricity and higher gloss, this multi-purpose product that serves as a rinseless wash, a quick detailer, and a clay lubricant, depending on how much water you add. You don’t have to be a chemist to formulate your own excellent car care products; just follow the directions on the bottle! Plus, this product does not require rinsing. conserve water and still get your vehicle beautifully clean!

Here’s how it works:

* Add 1 ounce of No Rinse Wash & Shine to 2 gallons (about 7.5 litres) of water to make an excellent no rinse car wash. its polymers encapsulate dirt and cause it to drop to the bottom of the bucket. And it leaves your vehicle super slick, like it was just waxed!

* Add 1 ounce to wash water made with your regular car wash. No Rinse Wash & Shine’s advanced polymers and lubricants offer more surface protection and slickness than ordinary car soap alone. It acts as a water softener and conditioner to improve the quality of the water that touches your vehicle to provide the ultimate safe wash.

* Add 2 ounces of No Rinse Wash & Shine to a gallon of water to make a super-slick clay bar lubricant. Wet the surface of your vehicle to provide a slippery protective layer beneath Opti-clay. After you’ve clayed each section, simply wipe it dry. This the cheapest & most effective solution for clay lubricant

* Add 8 ounces of No Rinse Wash & Shine to a gallon of water ( 1 ounce to a 500ml) to make an excellent quick detailer. Fill up a spray bottle with this mixture and use it to clean and shine your vehicle, just as you would use a traditional detailer. The proprietary polymers bond to the paint surface to protect it from abrasion and micro-marring

just one bottle will Shine & replace 4 things - such as wash, clay lube, QD & hydrophobic spray wax

there is no replacement for "Optimum OPTI Seal" , "Optimum Power Clean" & not sold OTC....

they are simple amazing invention
eg.....
A multi purpose cleaner both safe for car clear coat (exterior ) & same time for interior
so cost effective that - you can dilute to suits your need - clear coat safe -

best usage for removing stickers - bugs stains - birds dropping - wax residues - stains on plastic or vinyl

use neat or dilute 1:3 parts water for engine
dilute 1:3 or 1:5 parts water for interior - cleaning - leathers, vinyl, rubber plastic
dilute 1:5 or 1:8 parts water for exterior paint work - cleaning - best at removing bugs stains, rubber stains - wax residues on plastic, emblem cleaning

this is the only ultimate you ever need for car detailing - i never leave home without it
imagine those days when i use Megs

APC la, Super degreaser for engine la, degreaser for hard cleaning area like emblems, wheel cleaner la, Leather cleaners, interior cleaners ...bla bla bla & worst still i lfet home without one of them !!!!!! headache!!!!! so many products & so many different instructions la
caution- must use with care cos is a non clear coat safe - use with great care

opti seal is not just another sealant - but one that will protect not only yr paint but plastic, vinyl , mirror , esp front wind screen (safety + does not jagged yr silicon wiper - as it cos hundreds of $ to replace) easy to apply (again 10-15 per car ) only need 3-4 times a year + cos effective (cos this bottle last 10 years applications) - just spray on , wipe off & walk away

[cool.gif

This post has been edited by KC's: Apr 29 2011, 08:23 PM
blacksunday
post Apr 30 2011, 04:51 PM

483 posts

QUOTE(capiche @ Apr 22 2011, 01:49 PM)
oops. sorry for the shortcut..  notworthy.gif

ya.. UC is Ultimate Compound by Meguiar's.. MF is microfibre pad.

yo bro.....this UC is definitely DA bomb dude.....i finally manage to put it to test....and im definitely seeing huge changes...or at least improvement to the surface of the bonnet....it was effortless...

all i did was wash, clay and section by section UC.....i took a few pics under the sun by my camera was unable to capture the comparison...but all i can say is that this product definitely do what it said it was suppose to do....

each area i did like a few spins with a foam pad and thats it...not even a second time.....and all the holograms and swirls are gone...

well of course the results are still not as good as bro KC does with he's projects.....but it does get rid of all the annoying spider webs and holograms....to achieve dept and gloss...i still think BRO KC is the god.....cant wait for he's detailing workshop next week....
capiche
post Apr 30 2011, 11:04 PM

380 posts

QUOTE(blacksunday @ Apr 30 2011, 04:51 PM)
yo bro.....this UC is definitely DA bomb dude.....i finally manage to put it to test....and im definitely seeing huge changes...or at least improvement to the surface of the bonnet....it was effortless...

all i did was wash, clay and section by section UC.....i took a few pics under the sun by my camera was unable to capture the comparison...but all i can say is that this product definitely do what it said it was suppose to do....

each area i did like a few spins with a foam pad and thats it...not even a second time.....and all the holograms and swirls are gone...

well of course the results are still not as good as bro KC does with he's projects.....but it does get rid of all the annoying spider webs and holograms....to achieve dept and gloss...i still think BRO KC is the god.....cant wait for he's detailing workshop next week....
glad i helped then! biggrin.gif

u cant compared machine detailing with hand mah.. XD.. is like ferrari with perodua.

KC, Darren, n others all are pros.. check out their work.. U will be amazed!

This post has been edited by capiche: Apr 30 2011, 11:04 PM

153 Pages « < 90 91 92 93 94 > » Top

0.0334sec    0.44    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 12:46 AM