QUOTE(Thrust @ Sep 1 2010, 08:09 PM)
oh shine n shield ka... some fellas in FnF forte is bulking/applying it..
not sure how lasting it is..
but i "hear" ppl say its to preserve the paint's colour brightness meaning it won't so fast become dull
Car Detailing, How I did mine....
Sep 1 2010, 11:31 PM
2,516 posts Joined: Feb 2007 From: Uarla Umpur |
QUOTE(Thrust @ Sep 1 2010, 08:09 PM) oh shine n shield ka... some fellas in FnF forte is bulking/applying it.. not sure how lasting it is.. but i "hear" ppl say its to preserve the paint's colour brightness meaning it won't so fast become dull |
Sep 1 2010, 11:42 PM
239 posts Joined: Dec 2008 From: Bandar Baru Bangi, Cyberjaya, United Kingdom |
sounds expensive...
Sep 2 2010, 12:05 AM
7 posts Joined: Dec 2009 |
QUOTE(carpathia @ Sep 1 2010, 01:56 AM) dumb question ; dun flame me few things for you to consideri dont have time to do detailing. my car is almost 6 yrs old, lots of scratches and some min rust. where is the best place to get all this fixed up? i asked 1u car wash centers and they quoted me rm288 for wash,polish,wax and detailing...is it worth it ? Added on September 1, 2010, 12:56 amdumb question ; dun flame me i dont have time to do detailing. my car is almost 6 yrs old, lots of scratches and some min rust. where is the best place to get all this fixed up? i asked 1u car wash centers and they quoted me rm288 for wash,polish,wax and detailing...is it worth it ? nothing worth or not?...but wiuth that money you can keep your car weekly wash & monthly wax if u give a fish...it will feed for a day & if u teach him to fish you will feed him for life now the million $ question who will maintained it for you???? at the edn of the day no bidy cares as mush as the owner does does they do it out of love or $$$$ unlike u the owner u would care as she belong to u... car detailing is not just one day thing is the regiment of weekly wash & monthly wax to keep yr car going for years +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++ I had this wonderful opportunity to be able to help my buddy to beautify his interior....but there is TIME & COST effective ...limitation issue... he needed the ride in less than an hour..... most commonly problem for any germans ride.....my bud thought Malaysia is too hot...so hot till the knobs in his ride melted....as you dont find in any other ...as they are not rubberished common know issue in other German Marque Machine too....esp in E60s intervention plan as following:- 1. wash & dry within 15 minutes - ONR No rinse wash 2, wax within 10 minutes - Optimum Car wax (spray, wipe & walk away) 3. interior detailing - *door panels - clean within 10 minutes ( Optimum power clean - & brush off) *dash & seats quick wipe down with a damp Microfibers 10 minutes (highly recommended weekly) *leather & interior protected by Leather protectant plus (another spray, wipe & walk away) is good for all interior plastic, vinyl & rubber - 10 minutes total time spent 55 minutes ta da to here By cleaning with Power clean & microfibers moving on ..........interior Leather cleaning.... recommended soft hair bristle brushes ta da now the dressing time (a spray on , wipe off & walk away) is good for all interior plastic, vinyl & rubber many door jams rubber faces the dull looking & whitish powdered finish a dull looking interior....unattractive vinyl picture before ta da just a soft touch another breakthrough invention...leather, vinyl , plastic spray on , wipe off & walk away now this is the most optimised looking vinyl & protected against UV & the heat of the tropics thanks for taking your precious time in view another detailing tale again |
Sep 2 2010, 01:52 AM
2,619 posts Joined: Apr 2005 From: KL |
thanks for the reply guys
i guesss i have to rely on pros to help me do it cos i really dont have the luxury of time to maintain my car : ( has anyone heard of shinenshield.com ? should i send my car there or just to any normal centres to do it... |
Sep 6 2010, 02:07 PM
21 years of oxidized paint that was doomed for repainting even professional body shop says is beyond detailing correction
then (12 months ago) pic after after 1st correctional detail wet sanded To removed paint imperfection before coating my single stage paint M#105 with Wool by rotary Followed by M# 105 with Lake country CCS Optimum Polish with LC polishing pad rotary Apparently, this coating was design to with stand all harshness of weather & environmental threat. Counted my blessing to be able to attained this & having this extra ordinary water beaded results Pay attention to the blue tape mark area tape prior coating, it is an area that I coat without any corrections Pics after coated applied prefect water beading pics…that I personally have not seen in my entire life…..look at the semi circle shaped water that’s beads up because of the surface tensioned 8 days later Another morning midst & after over night rain pics 2 months later…another prefect moments again…rain drop on 2face another unbelieving water beading picture, that I never seen on any single stage paint the protected side has better water beading & the neglected side water splattered…horizontally 2 months later stay tuned for more conclusion....a coating that with hold the single stage paint like a clear coated paint...durable & lasting This post has been edited by KC's: Sep 6 2010, 05:12 PM |
Sep 7 2010, 04:32 PM
1,362 posts Joined: Nov 2005 From: k.terengganu.. alone.. with my bass...play.. alone |
hi.... i got few question...
i never know bout car detailing, i only know how to normal wash using old tshirt,... after reading thus post i knew that was a mistake, should use proper cloth... now where can i get the micro fiber cloth, and clay bar, and wax... hope u can recommend the brand also... tq |
Sep 8 2010, 03:09 PM
9,333 posts Joined: May 2009 |
Just came across this thread and realise this is where the expert offer 'informed' advice.
My car's ok... recently compound + polish + wax. 1. The problem is the glass, windows, windscreen etc. All have heavy swirl marks, any particular product recommended to cut/polish back the glass? My glass is JDM and comes with 15% natural tint. 2. Water marks all over my side mirrors. A detailing shop told me that it's dangerous to use off-the-shelves product on side mirror as some might 'darkened' as a result? |
Sep 8 2010, 05:11 PM
QUOTE(PVCpipe @ Sep 7 2010, 05:32 PM) hi.... i got few question... there are many avail in jusco or some reputable hard ware shopi never know bout car detailing, i only know how to normal wash using old tshirt,... after reading thus post i knew that was a mistake, should use proper cloth... now where can i get the micro fiber cloth, and clay bar, and wax... hope u can recommend the brand also... tq I strongly recommending you to try onr & i heard they are giving off 3 plushy microfibers....quick effective wash QUOTE(MeToo @ Sep 8 2010, 04:09 PM) Just came across this thread and realise this is where the expert offer 'informed' advice. plain business talk.....shooot some pics & see from thereMy car's ok... recently compound + polish + wax. 1. The problem is the glass, windows, windscreen etc. All have heavy swirl marks, any particular product recommended to cut/polish back the glass? My glass is JDM and comes with 15% natural tint. 2. Water marks all over my side mirrors. A detailing shop told me that it's dangerous to use off-the-shelves product on side mirror as some might 'darkened' as a result? Added on September 8, 2010, 5:25 pm BEFORE _STRESS the owner was shocked - furious & worried AFTER - COMFORT he smiles We are very fortunate to be received this new Optimum Hyper Polish Spray & tested on a couple of cars... Thanks Doc G for making this possible Now is the time to review :- a post mortem Scenario 1 - soft repainted surface (1 year old paint) after proper wash & clay...the slightest microfibers wipes marred & scratches the paint being one who is spoilt with SMAT technology compound & polish....comfortable compare to Abrasive diminish compound...crossing over to a SMAT & AD compound....is a hard transition old dogs kick in I reckon it would be good to use a least aggressive product such as M205 & Meguiars polishing pad the paint condition as such trying to get ride of this with m205 resulting.....my my my &^%$#@@ my my the amount of hologram inflicted on it & as though i am hacking the car so i panic & relax & swapping over new Optimum Hyper Polish Spray...& Lake country cutting pad later follow up with hyper polish & megs polish pad ta da pro easy to use, long working time, no residue, aggressive a SMAT & AD technology my conclusion.... thumbs up its a superb product ....i crossed over, my conservation is brought over with this innovation of this product Money for value, good for anybody from beginners or professional alike the best of it, from the eye of a non detailer , my wife said among all the hundreds of car i shoot she has not seen, anything as wet & depth like this thanks Doc G This post has been edited by KC's: Sep 8 2010, 05:25 PM |
Sep 9 2010, 12:49 PM
233 posts Joined: Dec 2009 |
hye guys really interested in learning about detailing car.. where can i lean about detailing car??
Sep 9 2010, 10:05 PM
6 posts Joined: Jan 2010 |
This guide is pretty comprenhensive. Hope it helps give you a good starting point.
http://home.comcast.net/~michael.cohen1/De...g_Hand_Book.pdf |
Sep 10 2010, 12:49 PM
233 posts Joined: Dec 2009 |
QUOTE(luffy4688 @ Sep 9 2010, 10:05 PM) This guide is pretty comprenhensive. Hope it helps give you a good starting point. thanks bro http://home.comcast.net/~michael.cohen1/De...g_Hand_Book.pdf |
Sep 11 2010, 11:40 PM
head lamp oxidized...close up pic
oxidized & blurred....sorry BOSS ..you mesti tukar(AKA have to replace it) wow...this trigger my passion & once again...it takes an alien to do such a thing There is no way, Must change a new one restoration begins ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++ begin with sanding down Tools required:- ONR optimum no rinse wash as lube... sand paper 1200, 1500 & 2000 sanding block...& special size sanding block \ Optimum hyper polish start with the lowest 1200 sand paper...corse sand paper...wet the surface with onr as lube.....inspect...resand then wipe dry & inspect cont with 1500 sand paper onr as lube.....inspect...resand....use the smaller block for lower area & hard to reach area then finish off 2000 grit sand paper onr as lube....inspect...resand close up pics my magic pportion phenomenal - out of the world Optimum hyper polish compound with wool optimum spray hyper polish & start to spread with speed one then gradual to speed 3 the finish off with optimum hyper polish & LC 3" polish pad look at the young looking guy now with restore head lamp extreme close up p you make me feel brand new This post has been edited by KC's: Sep 11 2010, 11:44 PM |
Sep 12 2010, 01:11 AM
4,539 posts Joined: Feb 2006 From: LocOmoT|oN.L0co|oti0N |
KC how you remove the scratches? the paint looks so perfect, like never have scratch before.
Sep 13 2010, 10:31 AM
Sep 13 2010, 02:35 PM
4,539 posts Joined: Feb 2006 From: LocOmoT|oN.L0co|oti0N |
QUOTE(KC's @ Sep 13 2010, 10:31 AM) yupp Bro KC, if after a month did not wash the car, then there will be a thick dust layer and sand cover on the paint surface.. thats the car detailer...paint correction & restorations....you too can do it...pls visit my blog for more tutorial It will looks like very easy to swirl or scratch the paint. How can we wash the car in this situation? This post has been edited by yehlai: Sep 13 2010, 02:36 PM |
Sep 15 2010, 02:33 PM
6 posts Joined: Feb 2010 |
Hello detailing kakis. Some premium car detailing products for your cars from US unavailable locally. Branded Meguiars, Cobra Microfibers to pamper your cars. New thread below with details. PM me if interested.
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1562657 Besides good car products like Optimum, Duragloss, Meguiars, Collinite, don't forget the importance of wash mediums like quality microfibers to ensure no scratch/swirls instill when using 2 bucket wash system. This post has been edited by msk: Sep 15 2010, 02:35 PM |
Sep 15 2010, 02:58 PM
QUOTE(yehlai @ Sep 13 2010, 03:35 PM) Bro KC, if after a month did not wash the car, then there will be a thick dust layer and sand cover on the paint surface.. yupp...it would be more than just dust.....layer of caked stains & water marks & etc...watch out for birds dropping....It will looks like very easy to swirl or scratch the paint. How can we wash the car in this situation? the very reason ..i say that i presume u r still driving yr car, park outside continuous of exposing to the environmental threats... imagine, yesterday rain dried by this morning drive & afternoon sun ...baked it in again & continuous for 30 days.... ...better do once a week & wax once a month ....it would be tip top... just like spring cleaning yr house once a year & rest of the 364 days...u leave it |
Sep 17 2010, 11:16 PM
3,910 posts Joined: Jun 2005 From: Andy @ London.com Status: N/A |
Is it possible to sand the front windscreen and polish it ?
Sep 17 2010, 11:23 PM
3,760 posts Joined: Oct 2005 |
Any idea how to clean those stubborn dirt stains on windows & windscreen?
Sep 18 2010, 08:58 AM
6 posts Joined: Feb 2010 |
QUOTE(Thrust @ Sep 17 2010, 11:23 PM) Stains on windscreen/window is like dirt in car paint. If left long it will etch in making harder to remove. Advice is wipe off immediately with quick detailers(QD like ONR 1:16) and quality microfibers when you see it especially tree/bird droppings. You can try using any existing polish you have to try first if it comes out.I use Meguiars Glass Cleaner for maintenance but any OTC ones will do. If you're talking about it already etch in, you may try to rub with some glass polish (Eg. Carplan has) to try. Usually will compound with rotary may help. If still don't work, you're talking in dangerous territory using acid like Tomcat to remove but people discourage in windscreen as may cause hazing. One advice is not to use any household glass cleaner inside the car as ammonia can loosen tint. Sanding on oxidized plastic headlamps I know can but unsure about windscreen.. However, don't do that for new car's headlamps as usually have protective coating that will be removed causing constant upkeep needed else will yellow. Old cars oklah as already yellow anyway WTS: Cobra/Meguiars http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1562657 This post has been edited by msk: Sep 18 2010, 01:01 PM |
| Change to: | 0.0367sec
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 03:44 AM |