Blog Management how to make my blog popular?, start here

TSgoldfries
post Jul 30 2008, 01:54 PM, updated 6y ago

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

K, I'm tired of new threads coming up asking the same thing and we're repeating the same answers again and again.

so here is THE thread. talk about it here, discuss it here.

need help on SEO and all other forms of how to move your site? come here.

I'll start (in no particular order)

1. Submit to search engine
2. Submit to directory
3. Do SEO (Search Engine Optimization) on your site whenever possible
4. Have good content

well, these are the 4 i have, which I think is good enough. In fact goldfries.com only did #4. tongue.gif #3 here and there.

biggrin.gif good enough for me!

Anyway, must suggestion to all newbies as usual - MAKE GOOD CONTENT, since most people here are BLOG owners rather than actual company / corporate websites.

This post has been edited by goldfries: Aug 27 2008, 03:13 AM
TSgoldfries
post Aug 16 2008, 08:45 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

i think this thread has to be pinned to avoid more threads like this.

btw - suddenly no one got question ah?
TSgoldfries
post Aug 20 2008, 12:14 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

For bloggers, if content is not your strength, just try blog-hopping first. smile.gif
TSgoldfries
post Aug 25 2008, 12:54 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

just to share - site submission to search engines and directories aren't as helpful as getting site popularity as having good contents.
TSgoldfries
post Sep 1 2008, 11:45 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

Those are just many ways. smile.gif SEO helps you get visitors, but doesn't exactly make the blog popular.

as for posting frequency - it really depends on the blog. For me, my articles are anywhere from 3 to 7 days apart.

and i like your point #4 - BE YOURSELF, just as long as you don't be an ass, jerk or bitch la unless you want instant fame in a bad way.
TSgoldfries
post Sep 2 2008, 12:22 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

RSS and blogging tips, I've already highlighted many on my site actually. biggrin.gif

being yourself indeed is important. our blog / website is a representation of us.
TSgoldfries
post Sep 2 2008, 04:06 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

as long as you don't end up in lokap la.
TSgoldfries
post Sep 15 2008, 02:03 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

JoelWyn's post is interesting. smile.gif if got time can do.

for me, i rely almost entirely on content and word of mouth.
TSgoldfries
post Sep 15 2008, 11:45 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(JoelWyn @ Sep 15 2008, 11:12 AM)
2. Yes posting comments at related blog and other site is known as backlinks. The stronger backlinks you have, the better page rank you got. It also will help you to increase your site traffics. But remember this, do it naturally so google won't give any penalty to your site. naturally mean, around 10-20 comments and forum post per day.

it's not just comments la. people put your site at blogroll also will add to your backlinks (also as inlink, or inbound link........ and more) http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Backlink

you can use https://siteexplorer.search.yahoo.com/

or just search for Backlink Checker to see how many you have. smile.gif

JoelWyn another thing is page rank, you should put it as pagerank (joined words) or PR. would be better or else people quite often think of it as result pages rank, which is different.

QUOTE(JoelWyn @ Sep 15 2008, 11:30 AM)
No problem dude,

And for blogger, it is very limited and they don't have any plugin for this. You have to do them manually. For my personal opinion, blogger is for beginner and once you can handle blogger, switch to wordpress.

Different between blogger and wordpress:

Blogger :
Advantage - They host for you, easy to use.
Disadvantage - very limited tools

Wordpress:
Advantage - Thousand of useful plugin, lots of feature
Disadvantage - self hosting
not entirely correct.

wordpress.org allows you to download the wp engine and host it yourself.

wordpress.com host for you, easy to use too. they have generally better features than Blogger and have nicer themes.

for wordpress.com, you can't put ad scripts. it's a disadvantage to people who wish to place ads. smile.gif

QUOTE(JoelWyn @ Sep 15 2008, 11:30 AM)
And for blogger, it is very limited and they don't have any plugin for this. You have to do them manually. For my personal opinion, blogger is for beginner and once you can handle blogger, switch to wordpress.

blogger is good for beginner but they can always continue it when they are doing well.

wordpress also fine for newbie actually. so either way is fine.

try to avoid the switching part because of the hassle involved. you build PR on blogspot.com and backlinks already, then go new domain. all lost. or at least have to rebuild.
TSgoldfries
post Sep 15 2008, 12:47 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

i'm just adding information to that reply of yours to give better understanding on what else contributes to backlinks.
TSgoldfries
post Sep 18 2008, 12:44 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(Bizmind @ Sep 17 2008, 09:38 AM)
I think submit to directories means we submit
our website info to directories at for example
google, yahoo, lycos and so on.. smile.gif

Please correct me if  I am wrong..
no, that would be search engine.

directory is different.

directory is like http://www.dmoz.org/

QUOTE(oneyian @ Sep 17 2008, 07:11 PM)
Do u guys have any idea how much a personal domain (like .com or .net) costs? smile.gif
less than RM 30. you can try places like http://www.godaddy.com
TSgoldfries
post Oct 5 2008, 04:45 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

well that would attract short term visitors. smile.gif anyway guys / gals, questions on GIF animation, can always start a thread for that.

while for page rank, please understand that PageRank and search results page number are different things.
TSgoldfries
post Oct 18 2008, 06:32 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

how fast your site get popular depends on your niche, your content and your effort.
TSgoldfries
post Oct 23 2008, 03:45 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

define AUTO-PILOT.
TSgoldfries
post Oct 23 2008, 04:03 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

if it can be AUTO-PILOT then who wouldn't want to do? tongue.gif

QUOTE(giorgene @ Oct 23 2008, 01:27 PM)
I think u have to take one at a time, after it is almost stable and become auto-pilot status, u onli start another one..
If u handle several blogs at one time, u can't really make all of them to the best.
Unless u r expert in blogging and blog for quite some time d, otherwise u dun do that.
1. there's no way to auto-pilot it. the only way i can think of a site being auto-pilot (eg, no human intervention at all) is to rely on plugin to extract content from other place and put as post. which is point less.

2. a person can have many blogs, there's no rule or recommended period before or when one can only start a new blog.

3. yes. handling many blogs at once could hurt the quality, even for the experts BUT there are ways of doing it. smile.gif see, i myself have many websites.
http://www.goldfries.com - me
http://www.goldfries.com/inperson - me
http://www.buurps.com - me + 3 other writers
http://www.htmy.org - me + er...... i can't remember how many writers. i think got 4 la. tongue.gif
http://www.mustgolah.com - someone else writes the content. i just do the site / maintenance

biggrin.gif and that's beside running my own business PLUS a few more sites not yet unveiled.
TSgoldfries
post Oct 24 2008, 04:28 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(giorgene @ Oct 24 2008, 09:46 AM)
The auto-pilot i meant is everything stable and the writer write for you periodically, what u have to do is maintenance the blog.

haha. that's not auto-pilot isn't it? that's you having co-pilot. biggrin.gif

Actually got one site can automatically submit article to your blog, you don't even have to pay for the writer to write for you, but you cannot remove the link inside the article link back to the author's blog, this is auto-posting.

sad.gif yeah this type of auto-pilot is similar to the one i mentioned lor. it auto post. meaning other people's content on your place. so end up being news repository.

For new blogger like us, we are not expert, it is really hard to handle several blogs in one time. It can be done after you done with several blogs and familar with it, should be no problem then..

For me, I handle 2 blogs in one time, I really use a lot of time to do the SEM, i think this took me quite some time. Because I'm new to blogging.

what's SEM? or SEO?

it depends on your blog types actually.

for me, my blogs are difficult to handle alone. that's why there's the casual ones, and then serious ones which i have other people working with me.

Since you are expert in blogging, can give us some advice?

oh simple

if you don't have any help - then you have to know your limit. just because the blogger who make 5 digit a month have 12 blogs that doesn't mean you have to. even he has to pay people to help his blogging and works long hours.

i'm certainly not sure whether i could be called expert blogger yet but basically it's a matter of quality vs quantity. if you're having 5 blogs and handle alone and want to post daily! wow, might as well resign.

for me, i really cannot. http://www.goldfries.com articles takes time to write. http://www.buurps.com if rely on me alone, it won't work. it'll sure fail. even though i don't write much there, my work is still more than the rest actually. as for http://www.mustgolah.com , someone else is doing the scouting and posting of details, i manage the technical / marketing / consultation.

phew......... tiring leh? and those are just blogs. let's not mention the 4 forums i moderate + business to run.

so you see, it's there's no clear rule on how many blogs you have. it depends on you, your time, your skill and what you have.

QUOTE(Bizmind @ Oct 24 2008, 02:50 PM)
Yeah.. 1 niche for 1 blog is better.
But how to make sure all blogs are
active?
QUOTE(giorgene @ Oct 24 2008, 12:00 PM)
I think 1 blog for 1 niche is better, because readers interested in "health" blog might not be interested in "technology related" blog, isn't it?
yes better that way, or at least similar topic range.

eg, finance can also have business. probably property or investment as well.

but surely not having fashion or tech.

QUOTE(Bizmind @ Oct 24 2008, 11:27 AM)
Yeah.. That's what I heard from others the other day. That's why I started different blog for different niche.

Hmm.. I am thinking of 1 thing..

"Is it possible that readers only subscribe to the specific blog label only?"

What I mean is, for example if the readers subsrcibe to my post labeled "health", they will only get notified whenever I posted about "health"..

Is there any feature or way to do that? biggrin.gif
yes possible. i think there's a wordpress plugin for this.
TSgoldfries
post Oct 24 2008, 04:44 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(Bizmind @ Oct 24 2008, 04:41 PM)
Maybe in order to create a lot of blogs, I need to recruit additional writers to the blog (same as Goldfries ^^).

sometimes you have to. but how much are you willing to pay people?

QUOTE(Bizmind @ Oct 24 2008, 04:41 PM)
"How do you find the other authors for your blog?"

"Do they blog with their own ideas or is it you who instruct them what to write?"
1. friends
2. their own ideas

TSgoldfries
post Oct 25 2008, 01:35 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(Bizmind @ Oct 25 2008, 01:30 PM)
However, if you wan to know more details, for example google
adsense have their own channel checker.

people asking TRAFFIC. Adsense isn't a TRAFFIC analytic tool. smile.gif

use Google Analytics.
TSgoldfries
post Oct 25 2008, 03:27 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

i think when asked nuffnang type, meaning as got # of views, # of visitors la. Adsense AFAIK only tells you # of impressions and # of clicks. smile.gif
TSgoldfries
post Oct 25 2008, 04:02 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

it's only a statistic for # of impressions and unique visitors.

it doesn't register page views simply because 1 page view could have more than 1 impression.

0.0449sec    0.37    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 06:05 AM