Gaming Reviews, where do you guys get your reviews from?

TStechnophile
post Jul 28 2008, 02:26 AM, updated 18y ago

@techsupremo
580 posts

hey guys, just wondering. where do you guys get your games reviews from? online i mean.

plus, how would those reviews affect your decision in buying the games? coz some reviews (like the GTA4) seems to be exaggerated and almost unreliable. (that game was good, but not a 10 like what IGN gave it IMHO)

and lastly, would a localized gaming review site entice you guys? not in malay of coz, just localized for ppl like us here in malaysia.
msn83235502
post Jul 28 2008, 05:08 AM

ผู้นิยม
2,862 posts

i just look on gamespot.

PhoenixByte
post Jul 28 2008, 06:13 AM

No school like the oldschool
798 posts

gamespot and ign. Coz sometimes they scored it high while the other scored it low happy.gif
cowboy_bebop
post Jul 28 2008, 07:43 AM

65 posts

i usually watch video reviews in gt.tv and ign and then decide if i like what im seeing (instead of relying solely on the rating)

localized stuff is good, but its redundant imho. 'real' reviewers most often got the stuff earlier. and 'local reviewers' that ive seen are usually (funny) translators

however, its definitely useful in closed network, for instance, if i know A personally, our tastes click well, thus i'd have a go with his recommendations
GamersFamilia
post Jul 28 2008, 08:55 AM

Proud to be Malaysian
17,875 posts

QUOTE(technophile @ Jul 28 2008, 02:26 AM)
hey guys, just wondering. where do you guys get your games reviews from? online i mean.

plus, how would those reviews affect your decision in buying the games? coz some reviews (like the GTA4) seems to be exaggerated and almost unreliable. (that game was good, but not a 10 like what IGN gave it IMHO)

and lastly, would a localized gaming review site entice you guys? not in malay of coz, just localized for ppl like us here in malaysia.
like me myself everymonth buy GAMEPRO & Electronic Gaming Monthly magazine...read reviews from website ign.com ; gamespot...
Kyoyagami
post Jul 28 2008, 09:19 AM

KyoYagami-myed
1,838 posts

I just started my blog, and it has some games so far based on how I do. So if you wanna check out, you can try clicking on my banner. Thanks. biggrin.gif
aiyish
post Jul 28 2008, 11:10 AM

Ryan Gosling
1,537 posts

Mostly EGM... got tons of EGM mags. If not, i just go to Gamespot, good reviews there.
Mgsrulz
post Jul 28 2008, 11:39 AM

30 years of Metal Gear
14,258 posts

i just read IGN/Gamespot's reviews and take their opinions lightly.
then wait for GT's reviews and take that more seriously.
Breaktru
post Jul 28 2008, 12:16 PM

== The World ==
1,769 posts

Gamerankings for the average review based on collected sites .
thurtin
post Jul 28 2008, 03:28 PM

277 posts

gameaxis 4evar!

This post has been edited by thurtin: Jul 28 2008, 03:28 PM
snipersnake
post Jul 28 2008, 03:31 PM

typical abah
2,652 posts

i trust only myself. On the side note, I dont trust console gamer wannabe from PC gamers review.
GamersFamilia
post Jul 28 2008, 03:35 PM

Proud to be Malaysian
17,875 posts

QUOTE(thurtin @ Jul 28 2008, 03:28 PM)
gameaxis 4evar!
well since read all imported gaming mags like gamepro , egm , 360 gamers etc....i dont know why am i not into gameaxis mag...something is lacking bout it...
TheUndead
post Jul 28 2008, 03:47 PM

177 posts

I watch youtube for gameplay videos and then judge it from there. laugh.gif
ryuuzaki
post Jul 28 2008, 03:49 PM

552 posts

http://www.giantbomb.com/
TStechnophile
post Jul 28 2008, 03:51 PM

@techsupremo
580 posts

QUOTE(snipersnake @ Jul 28 2008, 03:31 PM)
i trust only myself. On the side note, I dont trust console gamer wannabe from PC gamers review.
i agree on this. nothing beats a console reviewer who reviews his game from a PC version. blasphemy!

i always buy egm and gamepro. i'd buy psm every now and then. for news i think gamespot writes less bias than ign. but yeah, GT reviews are great.

Added on July 28, 2008, 3:54 pm
QUOTE(TheUndead @ Jul 28 2008, 03:47 PM)
I watch youtube for gameplay videos and then judge it from there. laugh.gif
i watch youtube for tips and tricks. lol

This post has been edited by technophile: Jul 28 2008, 03:54 PM
ooj
post Jul 28 2008, 04:16 PM

46 posts

QUOTE(technophile @ Jul 28 2008, 03:51 PM)
i agree on this. nothing beats a console reviewer who reviews his game from a PC version. blasphemy!

i always buy egm and gamepro. i'd buy psm every now and then. for news i think gamespot writes less bias than ign. but yeah, GT reviews are great.

Added on July 28, 2008, 3:54 pm

i watch youtube for tips and tricks. lol
Metacritic.com. It's not perfect but it averages out the scores. Meaning that whatever scores a 70% and above usually is quite good. I usually scan through the whole list of reviews because sometimes the ratings are skewed due to the inclusion of small unknown publishers. E.g. some publishers like to give bad reviews to popular games because they don't like a particular console, or just to get their minute of infamy. For example, a game with universally high scores, all 8/10 can get dragged down because someone gives it a 4/10.

A better system would be to include a breakdown of the scores.

For example - average score 8/10

Rated good - list of all the mags that list it as good and their scores.
Rated average - list of all that calls it average and their scores.
Rated poor - as above

Gurdian
post Jul 28 2008, 04:19 PM

1,648 posts

gamespot is unreliable and bias. don't bother with them anymore

goto eurogamer

and lowyat.net FTW
TStechnophile
post Jul 28 2008, 04:39 PM

@techsupremo
580 posts

well my best case scenario is still GTA4 (i'm playing it every second now). IGN gave it a 10 and i got sucked into the hype having played every GTA in the series (including 1 and 2 for the PC).

when i got the game, it surprised me how that game can manage to get that 10 score. there's a lot of screen tearing, pop ins and bug that simply makes the game crash.

it's a solid 8 to me, not 10.

i dunno how many times i threw the 360 controller in disgust thanks to the pop ins during chase mission.

another game in particular is Halo 3. thank god i didn't bought to the hype. the graphics looks like it was ported from the original xbox with a few shine here and there. the multiplayer sucks (compared to COD4) and the community is simply made up by a lot of weird ppl who take things very seriously.
acougan
post Jul 28 2008, 05:11 PM

590 posts

i seldom trust reviews done by "media" to make purchasing decision

i realize a long time ago that every "media" company out there is funded by game ads. hard for them to be objective when their sole purpose as a business entity is to collect more ads money.

i prefer to research abt the game features in game previews or look for user (real life customer) reviews.
chapree
post Jul 28 2008, 05:50 PM

I used to stuff for LYN Editorial and troll at LYN Forums
2,046 posts

Google the game's name and let's see whatever pops up. laugh.gif
aiyish
post Jul 28 2008, 10:40 PM

Ryan Gosling
1,537 posts

Just look at the cover... cover cun, game cun...haha..

*good old NES days, haha*
GamersFamilia
post Jul 28 2008, 11:02 PM

Proud to be Malaysian
17,875 posts

QUOTE(aiyish @ Jul 28 2008, 10:40 PM)
Just look at the cover... cover cun, game cun...haha..

*good old NES days, haha*
thats bahaya wooh....cover always cunn...but games lom tentu...hehehe
aiyish
post Jul 28 2008, 11:36 PM

Ryan Gosling
1,537 posts

QUOTE(GamersFamilia @ Jul 28 2008, 11:02 PM)
thats bahaya wooh....cover always cunn...but games lom tentu...hehehe
that's how i used to suruh my parents beli games in the good old days, haha..
nickvanhakim
post Jul 28 2008, 11:40 PM

59 posts

cover always menarik gilerr..to attract gamers

for me Gamespot n IGN...
TStechnophile
post Jul 28 2008, 11:59 PM

@techsupremo
580 posts

lol.. yeah in the old days most games with "nice to see" covers are good to play.
BlackKri
post Jul 29 2008, 12:53 AM

39 posts

you could check out the reviews on g4tv.com (used to be called TechTV). It's official like ign and gamespot but they like to make fun of games they find weird or they don't appreciate especially naruto games in US english. But I recommend you anyhow cause they do show you how buggy a game can be, pros and cons of each game and also it's funny.
SWATwolf
post Jul 29 2008, 01:27 AM

431 posts

they dun like JAPANESE RPGGGGGGGGGGGGGG tongue.gif

yeah, pokemon too tongue.gif

i watch xplay and EGM most of the time.
PhoenixByte
post Jul 29 2008, 09:04 AM

No school like the oldschool
798 posts

QUOTE(acougan @ Jul 28 2008, 05:11 PM)
i seldom trust reviews done by "media" to make purchasing decision

i realize a long time ago that every "media" company out there is funded by game ads. hard for them to be objective when their sole purpose as a business entity is to collect more ads money.

i prefer to research abt the game features in game previews or look for user (real life customer) reviews.
Not necessarily la...most magazines and even online reviewers although show the game ads of a particular games (some even full page ad)...when the review is out, those games got bad reviews too (but at the same time, the ad is still there).

bernardyong
post Jul 30 2008, 06:47 PM

80 posts

QUOTE(msn83235502 @ Jul 28 2008, 05:08 AM)
i just look on gamespot.
Yea same ere, Gamespot is a great one-stop resource for all gaming related news.

On the local front, do we have any local sites/publications/blogs which write original reviews for games?
TStechnophile
post Jul 31 2008, 01:25 PM

@techsupremo
580 posts

not yet. i'm thinking of starting one. biggrin.gif
neoardi
post Jul 31 2008, 02:51 PM

Membanteras Pembenci
645 posts

The most "UNBIASED" games review site is:
http://www.sonydefenseforce.com/
flex.gif tongue.gif laugh.gif
bernardyong
post Jul 31 2008, 05:22 PM

80 posts

QUOTE(technophile @ Jul 31 2008, 01:25 PM)
not yet. i'm thinking of starting one. biggrin.gif
Cool, let me know if you do lah. Maybe I can contribute some reviews of my own, lol.
TStechnophile
post Jul 31 2008, 08:23 PM

@techsupremo
580 posts

QUOTE(bernardyong @ Jul 31 2008, 05:22 PM)
Cool, let me know if you do lah. Maybe I can contribute some reviews of my own, lol.
that's cool man. we can make it as a collective effort.
anyone else interested?

ooj
post Jul 31 2008, 08:42 PM

46 posts

QUOTE(technophile @ Jul 31 2008, 08:23 PM)
that's cool man. we can make it as a collective effort.
anyone else interested?

I've started contributing a page on video games in the new men's magazine "Clive" so look out for it. My stuff appears from the 2nd issue onwards.
TStechnophile
post Jul 31 2008, 09:30 PM

@techsupremo
580 posts

can i get a free issue?
tongue.gif
ooj
post Jul 31 2008, 09:54 PM

46 posts

QUOTE(technophile @ Jul 31 2008, 09:30 PM)
can i get a free issue?
tongue.gif
I can ask. I haven't even received my copy yet! Will probably have to buy it myself!
CoLiNJvC
post Aug 1 2008, 11:18 AM

158 posts

Just saw PTOM at borders last sunday... selling at rm37.50... huh.gif shocking.gif doh.gif
bernardyong
post Aug 1 2008, 05:08 PM

80 posts

QUOTE(CoLiNJvC @ Aug 1 2008, 11:18 AM)
Just saw PTOM at borders last sunday... selling at rm37.50...  huh.gif shocking.gif  doh.gif
RM37.50? Ouch...kinda expensive.
TStechnophile
post Aug 1 2008, 08:36 PM

@techsupremo
580 posts

QUOTE(CoLiNJvC @ Aug 1 2008, 11:18 AM)
Just saw PTOM at borders last sunday... selling at rm37.50...  huh.gif shocking.gif  doh.gif
hmm.. not that i'm against foreign mags, but with that price, i'm sure about half of the content is mostly filled with ads.
bernardyong
post Aug 4 2008, 07:55 PM

80 posts

QUOTE(technophile @ Aug 1 2008, 08:36 PM)
hmm.. not that i'm against foreign mags, but with that price, i'm sure about half of the content is mostly filled with ads.
Can't be as bad as Hypertune right?...lol. That magazine is 80% advertisements, 10% content, and 10% copy-n-pasted articles.
TStechnophile
post Aug 5 2008, 12:58 AM

@techsupremo
580 posts

QUOTE(bernardyong @ Aug 4 2008, 07:55 PM)
Can't be as bad as Hypertune right?...lol. That magazine is 80% advertisements, 10% content, and 10% copy-n-pasted articles.
and ugly too skinny models!!
YUCK!!!

tongue.gif

bernardyong
post Aug 6 2008, 05:09 PM

80 posts

QUOTE(technophile @ Aug 5 2008, 12:58 AM)
and ugly too skinny models!!
YUCK!!!

tongue.gif
Tell me about it... biggrin.gif

Btw, did anyone see the latest Xtremecar magazine? I think the model on the front page is HOT! wub.gif
TStechnophile
post Aug 6 2008, 05:47 PM

@techsupremo
580 posts

QUOTE(bernardyong @ Aug 6 2008, 05:09 PM)
Tell me about it... biggrin.gif

Btw, did anyone see the latest Xtremecar magazine? I think the model on the front page is HOT!  wub.gif
not yet. i'll go and have a look at my local mamak newsstand later.

0.0280sec    0.87    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 06:48 AM