Sony-Ericsson § Sony Ericsson P1i § V4 The Ultimate™, The P-Series Revolution! King of the P's

howiseveryone
post Sep 27 2008, 02:58 AM

165 posts

hi all,
me just got my p1i few days back. was told by SE insider tat tis model obsolete oredi. so, i quickly go grab an ori b4 it runs out. m hapi to own it.... will take a while to get used to d keyboard. still exploring d features.

have been hapily modding & installing new apps but i can't seem to get the sis hack installed. i followed d instructions in copying d installserver.exe to d stated folder but still unable to install Torch. any1 have any idea?

btw, i oso hav tat issue of being unable to copy contacts into my sim. it just error out after 30. and i was surprised to see that my sim was actually empty(no contacts) when i 1st inserted my sim and tried to view sim contacts. anyone has any solution to tis?

thanks.
howiseveryone
post Sep 27 2008, 02:27 PM

165 posts

hehe... done oredi. torch is lighting my path :-p i think i didn't manage to copy d installserver.exe initially. thx for d responses
howiseveryone
post Sep 29 2008, 12:39 AM

165 posts

QUOTE(adrive @ Sep 27 2008, 02:43 PM)
hi, can you tell me what mobile operator you're using and whether you're using 3G SIM card? i'm the one facing this prblem too. I tried mailing SE support, and they told me to test other phone operators' 3G SIM card.
me using celcom and yes, it's a 3g card. very strange - i have hundreds of contacts in my sim card and can be viewed by 2 other phones (just tested) but yet, unable to see anything in my p1i. it's definitely a phone OS issue - not sim card. dono how to solve this. any1 can help?? icon_question.gif

Added on September 29, 2008, 12:46 ami installed powermovie n wen i tried to play an avi file, it gives me "Not Supported" and then unable to play. i've tried re-installing a few times but still the same. anyone knows why like tat 1?

i tried coreplayer - no problem but itz more complicated than powermovie.

thx.

This post has been edited by howiseveryone: Sep 29 2008, 12:46 AM
howiseveryone
post Oct 1 2008, 08:02 PM

165 posts

has any1 installed the MIDlet permissions changer mod by swmail? I tried it but the instructions in Readme.htm and also the Leftup cert readme.txt doesn't tell me what to do with the remaining 2 files - gensign.cer & gensign.key.

any1 can tell me what to do with these 2 files?
also, with this installed, how make those irritating question which appear everytime i try to go online with my opera mini disappear ?

i tried launcing the MIDlet program and select opera mini but don't know what to do after that. What to select and what to change to make the question disappear?

thx.
howiseveryone
post Oct 4 2008, 03:59 PM

165 posts

QUOTE(howiseveryone @ Sep 29 2008, 12:39 AM)
me using celcom and yes, it's a 3g card. very strange - i have hundreds of contacts in my sim card and can be viewed by 2 other phones (just tested) but yet, unable to see anything in my p1i. it's definitely a phone OS issue - not sim card. dono how to solve this. any1 can help??  icon_question.gif

adrive,
i think i've found a workaround for this (for now) - i put my SIM back onto my old SE phone and cable connect it to my laptop. using Floats mobile agent, I deleted all my SIM contacts - SIM empty now. Then, i put SIM back onto my P1i - it reads my SIM pretty quickly and show as empty. I, then, copy from my phone Contacts to SIM in small batches of 8-10 contacts - occasionally, it'll give me errors but just continue where it droppped off - meaning you'll have to constantly check (View SIM conatcts folder) to see where it stopped and then go back to phoone contact to continue copying. You will be able to see your sim contacts even from the 1st copy without delays. After finish copy everything, you can check your sim again - all there and loads very fast.

BUT if you restart your phone and view your sim contact folder again, it'll say "reading from SIM" again and take about 2-3 minutes to load and display all your sim contacts. it's a long wait but at least, now, it will display your sim contacts. after the 1st time long wait, the subsequent view of your sim contacts would be fast - normal. everytime you off/on your phone - the same few min delay to display sim contacts for the 1st time. I have off/on my phone 2x oredi and it continues to display my contacts :-) i'll live with this.

OR you can try the advise from this link - http://www.esato.com/board/viewtopic.php?topic=159919
i tried but didn't work for me. only the delete and re-copy of contacts worked. :-)

hope this helps.
howiseveryone
post Oct 6 2008, 02:57 PM

165 posts

QUOTE(powerwoot @ Oct 6 2008, 12:28 PM)
The contacts are still there but not readable by using the device, I need to use other phone to view, copy manually on the piece of paper, deleted the contacts put back the sim into my P1 and re-enter all the contacts again. I believe there are some incompatabilities by P1 the read the sim contacts that been saved previously by other models instead of P1.
yup.... i did quite d same. i bluetooth all contacts from my old phone to P1i 1st. Then, i deleted all sim contacts and then put sim card into P1i & copy all contacts back into my sim in batches. Odd thing is that after every reboot, accessing sim contacts will take 2-3 minutes during the 1st time after the reboot. after that, it's ok.

howiseveryone
post Oct 11 2008, 03:02 AM

165 posts

QUOTE(kent75 @ Oct 10 2008, 09:34 PM)
Hey guys, wanna ask P1i can use 4GB M2 memory or not? Will it hang? Coz planning to upgrade larger space.
check previous page. answer all there ;-)
howiseveryone
post Nov 17 2008, 05:58 PM

165 posts

hi guys, i'm was trying to check if there is any new firmware for P1i just now. I understand from SE website that when i connect my phone to the computer and then run SEUS, it will tell me if there is any new firmware. I did that but it didn't tell me anything. It was initially downloading something and then I went through the steps of selecting the phone model and after that, it gave me the instructions to update firmware by switching the phone off, take out battery ,bla, bla blaa...... BUT it just never tell me if there is any new firmware or what I'm having is the latest. my current firmware is R9K009.

I know most of you might tell me what i'm having is the latest but any idea on how to get the SEUS to tell me if what I'm having is the latest?
thanks!!!....

0.0432sec    0.37    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 02:22 AM