NETWORK ATTACHED STORAGE (NAS), old thread closed. please open a new one

ikkifujiwara
post Sep 27 2012, 03:30 PM

38 posts

Hi guys...

my boss company wish to setup a nas and he ask me to research for him... purpose of using nas is to store company web system, use as local web server and local office storage... my boss intention is to set user level to access certain folder (something like user permission i guess)...

can any sifu suggest wat kind of nas is suitable for such activities. fyi, my company is using unifibiz and if possible, can i set the nas with unifi fixed IP and access via internet??? thanks in advanced
ikkifujiwara
post Sep 28 2012, 04:28 PM

38 posts

QUOTE(jchue73 @ Sep 27 2012, 07:16 PM)
How big is your company and how many PCs will be connected to the NAS? What kind of files / documents are stored? How much hardisk storage space is required?

For example, the HP Microserver is meant for less than 10 PCs connected for simple work file / print sharing. Gives you 4 or 6TB of hardisk space in RAID 1. Install something like Windows Server 2008 R2 operating system and you can do things like you described. Anything larger and you need to go for something more powerful.
my company has approx 15 - 20 pcs running from 3 different offices. definitely will do RAID 1 with around 750G - 1TB harddisk is sufficient enough. unfortunately my boss dun wan install OS coz it tends to easily corrupted... i did some research and D-Link DNS-320 looks promising to me... any idea on this device???

QUOTE(loonsave @ Sep 27 2012, 08:56 PM)
I think jchue73 answer most of your question. But how many fixed IP you have? BIZ package should only give you a fixed IP and it's not advise to place your storage server direct to the Internet.
yes just 1 fixed IP... my boss need to have full time access on our web system... that's why we need to put this storage to the Internet... and we actually have a local server and its too old to upgrade any hard disk due to motherboard limitation. so my boss decide to use nas right now.

QUOTE(ozak @ Sep 27 2012, 10:50 PM)
Synology and qnap is more suitable for your co. requirement. Check out their spec.
okay thanks will look around its products... any recommendation model?

btw, any D-Link DNS-320 user here???

ikkifujiwara
post Oct 1 2012, 10:14 AM

38 posts

thanks for every advice above... highly appreciated it...

I did some survey at lowyat last weekend... and i found Synology DS212j and QNAP TS-212 which met all my boss requirements... any pros n cons on this both and which would b highly recommended (in term for performance, package, warranty) lowyat shop recommend synology... and i viewed both demo at their home site, it seems qnap offer more functionality compared with synology... but seriously i cant understand every single setting from there...
ikkifujiwara
post Oct 1 2012, 02:31 PM

38 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Oct 1 2012, 02:04 PM)
My office, spore office and my home all using synology. It not difficult to setup. I don't have much knowledge in pc. But able to setup. Warranty is std 1yrs.

I suggest you get the higher spec as the DSxxxj is a junior spec as J indicate. Later get complain if everyone access it become slow. No idea in qnap.
oh great.... well that will depend on my boss budget... looking at J and + model already in RM400 difference with better hardware and more functionality... still depends on my office requirements as well... anyway thanks for your user experience

0.0412sec    0.78    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 12:46 PM