NETWORK ATTACHED STORAGE (NAS), old thread closed. please open a new one

denhock
post Sep 10 2010, 11:24 AM

469 posts

QUOTE(yushin @ Sep 10 2010, 06:32 AM)
After solving the my unifi router problem, next step would be upgrade of the NAS.
Now I am looking at these 2 Synology models, DS410 and DS410J.

Besides the faster throughput for DS410, what else I get from DS410 comparing to DS410j for paying extra rm650?
1) faster speed
2) Max Concurrent Connections(SAMBA, FTP, AFP) : 256 vs 128 for DS410j
3) have eSATA port which can be link with DX510 to have another 5 HDD space
4) faster photo convert speed

Windows Upload/Download(1) (5GB File)

Photo Converting(6) (54MB of Photos)

yushin
post Sep 12 2010, 04:27 PM

3,327 posts

Finally got the DS410. Formating RAID5 with 4 x 1TB hard drives takes so long...
jinaun
post Sep 12 2010, 06:44 PM

where are my stars???
6,139 posts

QUOTE(lgks360 @ Aug 21 2010, 06:22 PM)
what is the cheapest price for NAS?
the cheapest one i think is the dlink 323
denhock
post Sep 13 2010, 08:50 AM

469 posts

QUOTE(yushin @ Sep 12 2010, 04:27 PM)
Finally got the DS410. Formating RAID5 with 4 x 1TB hard drives takes so long...
I believe you are using complete mode. this mean Synology DSM will check all the HDD first before it start to build the RAID.

This is slower but will be more safer as this will make sure you HDD is ok and don;t have bad sector.

after this process finish, you can check the system log to see is there all bad sector or not.

if have than u better to change to another HDD.

anyway synology will auto remap the bad sector to another location. so u still can use your HDD but normally we will more prefer to change new HDD.

Form time to time, you also can use the SMART test in this Synology DSM to test your HDD.
g-string
post Sep 15 2010, 01:16 AM

180 posts

need to ask for advice from all the sifus.

I want to build a NAS for my home, but need some advice on how to start. I currently have a PC with 2 X 1TB HDD which is almost full.

my goal is to build a home media server, that I can stream to my PC wirelessly and is able to torrent independently. and a NAS that I can daisy chain with other NASs for future expansion. Hot swap would be a nice option

2 or 4 bays is fine, but something that is easy to setup. Price wise, something affordable, under RM1000 maybe?

anyone can point me in the right direction? many thanks for the help smile.gif
denhock
post Sep 15 2010, 10:05 AM

469 posts

QUOTE(g-string @ Sep 15 2010, 01:16 AM)
need to ask for advice from all the sifus.

I want to build a NAS for my home, but need some advice on how to start. I currently have a PC with 2 X 1TB HDD which is almost full.

my goal is to build a home media server, that I can stream to my PC wirelessly and is able to torrent independently. and a NAS that I can daisy chain with other NASs for future expansion. Hot swap would be a nice option

2 or 4 bays is fine, but something that is easy to setup. Price wise, something affordable, under RM1000 maybe?

anyone can point me in the right direction? many thanks for the help smile.gif
below 1K budget .....

2 bays : Synology DS210j @ RM 850 ( but this unit cannot be link to DX510)
or QNAP TS-210 @ RM 999 or RM 1050 ( with 1TB HDD) or RM 1200 ( with 2TB HDD) ( offer valid while stock last)

fenture
post Sep 15 2010, 12:48 PM

60 posts

Any nas that can also function as a media centre? Which I can connect to tv to view directly instead of adding another device to it.

Has anyone tried to hack a notebook to hook 2 hdd to it? remove optical drive, and connect it w/ another hdd. Possible?

My need is just simple. A nas to do raid 1 mirroring, and able to watch movie.
g-string
post Sep 16 2010, 12:04 AM

180 posts

QUOTE(denhock @ Sep 15 2010, 10:05 AM)
below 1K budget .....

2 bays : Synology DS210j @ RM 850 ( but this unit cannot be link to DX510)
or QNAP TS-210 @ RM 999 or RM 1050 ( with 1TB HDD) or RM 1200 ( with 2TB HDD) ( offer valid while stock last)
thanks....i just checked the specs of the qnap ts-210. does it allow me to daisy chain to other ts-210's for future expansions??
mitodna
post Sep 16 2010, 12:17 AM

14,039 posts

QUOTE(lgks360 @ Aug 21 2010, 06:22 PM)
what is the cheapest price for NAS?
Buffalo LinkStation Duo at ThunderMatch, RM319?
denhock
post Sep 16 2010, 12:49 AM

469 posts

QUOTE(g-string @ Sep 16 2010, 12:04 AM)
thanks....i just checked the specs of the qnap ts-210. does it allow me to daisy chain to other ts-210's for future expansions??
No. this is entry level.. don;t have this feature

ozak
post Sep 16 2010, 01:23 AM

17,018 posts

QUOTE(fenture @ Sep 15 2010, 12:48 PM)
Any nas that can also function as a media centre?  Which I can connect to tv to view directly instead of adding another device to it.

Has anyone tried to hack a notebook to hook 2 hdd to it?  remove optical drive, and connect it w/ another hdd.  Possible?

My need is just simple.  A nas to do raid 1 mirroring, and able to watch movie.
Please read back. They is one brand NAS with player together and can brought from local.

My Dell laptop have this feature which I can swap between optical drive and another HDD. The bay is same.
khyron
post Sep 16 2010, 01:40 AM

410 posts

I'm having a problem on the DS410j. I set it up with 2 x2TB hdd on it. Insert the disk and install the Synology assistance. Change the ip address, region settings, etc. When the installation starts, it will start applying the network settings and i saw a tick beside it on the progress screen. After this i'm not sure what is the unit doing? rclxub.gif As there is no indication or progress bar whether the unit is it formatting the hard drive or doing something else. doh.gif

At the same time on the progress screen i got this message "Failed to create connection"

The status light of the DS410j keeps on blinking in amber light.

What does it mean?

I need help here?
Normally how long does it takes to format the 2 x 2TB hdd?
ozak
post Sep 16 2010, 10:27 AM

17,018 posts

Can you go into the NAS management and check the status?

You can check the synology forum.
denhock
post Sep 16 2010, 11:52 AM

469 posts

QUOTE(khyron @ Sep 16 2010, 01:40 AM)
I'm having a problem on the DS410j. I set it up with 2 x2TB hdd on it. Insert the disk and install the Synology assistance. Change the ip address, region settings, etc. When the installation starts, it will start applying the network settings and i saw a tick beside it on the progress screen. After this i'm not sure what is the unit doing?  rclxub.gif As there is no indication or progress bar whether the unit is it formatting the hard drive or doing something else.  doh.gif

At the same time on the progress screen i got this message "Failed to create connection" 

The status light of the DS410j keeps on blinking in amber light.

What does it mean?

I need help here?
Normally how long does it takes to format the 2 x 2TB hdd?
u can get more info:

http://forum.synology.com/wiki/index.php/P...gy_DiskStations

http://forum.synology.com/wiki/index.php/Q...Synology_Server

few Q:
1) are you using new HDD or old HDD?
2) are you using lan cable or wireless?
3) can you log into the admin page?
khyron
post Sep 16 2010, 12:52 PM

410 posts

QUOTE(denhock @ Sep 16 2010, 11:52 AM)
u can get more info:

http://forum.synology.com/wiki/index.php/P...gy_DiskStations

http://forum.synology.com/wiki/index.php/Q...Synology_Server
few Q:
1) are you using new HDD or old HDD?
2) are you using lan cable or wireless?
3) can you log into the admin page?
Problem solved already by changin to another ip address. doh.gif
Now its working. laugh.gif

Added on September 16, 2010, 3:35 pmBtw what wireless dongle are compatible with the DS410j? Looking for compatible N network adapter for it. Any recommendation?

This post has been edited by khyron: Sep 16 2010, 03:35 PM
denhock
post Sep 16 2010, 06:02 PM

469 posts

QUOTE(khyron @ Sep 16 2010, 12:52 PM)
Problem solved already by changin to another ip address.  doh.gif
Now its working.  laugh.gif

Added on September 16, 2010, 3:35 pmBtw what wireless dongle are compatible with the DS410j? Looking for compatible N network adapter for it. Any recommendation?
so far , synology had tested below model ( apply to DS1010+, DS109, DS109+, DS110+, DS110j, DS209, DS209+, DS209+II, DS209j, DS210+, DS210j, DS409, DS409+, DS409slim, DS410, DS410j, DS411+, DS509+, DS710+, RS409, RS409+, RS409RP+, RS810+, RS810RP+ )

AboCom WU-5204
AirLink101 AWLL6090
Asus USB-N13
Belkin F5D8053 v3
ConnectGear WU260N
D-Link DWA-140
DrayTek Vigor N61
EDIMAX EW-7711UAn
EDIMAX EW-7711UMn v3.0
EDIMAX EW-7711USn
EDIMAX EW-7717Un
SMC WUSBS-N3
Sparklan WUBR-501
TRENDNET TEW 664UB
g-string
post Sep 17 2010, 02:50 PM

180 posts

QUOTE(denhock @ Sep 16 2010, 12:49 AM)
No. this is entry level.. don;t have this feature
thanks...then which one is able to daisy chain for future expansion? which model can allow future expansion to other NAS units???
denhock
post Sep 20 2010, 12:33 AM

469 posts

QUOTE(g-string @ Sep 17 2010, 02:50 PM)
thanks...then which one is able to daisy chain for future expansion? which model can allow future expansion to other NAS units???
for synology all the model which have eSATA can be link to another Synology DX510 to have another 5 HDD to add to the exiting HDD space, like

DS1010+ with DX510, total can handle up to 10 HDD (20 TB)
guestx
post Oct 3 2010, 02:44 AM

526 posts

can other than rapidshare can be download by synology ds110j ?

This post has been edited by guestx: Oct 3 2010, 02:45 AM
zsnipes
post Oct 3 2010, 10:16 AM

878 posts

QUOTE(yushin @ Sep 12 2010, 04:27 PM)
approximate how long do you take ? i've planned to get these model too, but not yet ?

QUOTE(denhock @ Sep 13 2010, 08:50 AM)
I believe you are using complete mode. this mean Synology DSM will check all the HDD first before it start to build the RAID.

This is slower but will be more safer as this will make sure you HDD is ok and don;t have bad sector.

after this process finish, you can check the system log to see is there all bad sector or not.

if have than u better to change to another HDD.

anyway synology will auto remap the bad sector to another location. so u still can use your HDD but normally we will more prefer to change new HDD.

Form time to time, you also can use the SMART test in this Synology DSM to test your HDD.
U using this model now ? This model has no hot swap. can u live with it ?
Can these model connect to another NAS to expand the storage space ?

THe NAS will be in the office server,
Is there a device to Backup / Image the whole NAS every months by simply connects a cable to the rear of the NAS, then it run the backup/Image, after an hour or two, I can bring back the Backup NAS Device to another location for safe keeping ?
Is there such device ? or other device can act this purposes ?

85 Pages « < 18 19 20 21 22 > » Top

0.0318sec    0.52    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 07:04 AM