NETWORK ATTACHED STORAGE (NAS), old thread closed. please open a new one

Kelv
post Feb 28 2010, 05:48 PM

Be kind to animals
3,988 posts

QUOTE(limhongwoon @ Feb 28 2010, 02:33 PM)
How much u bought it ? why dun buy the DS110j
Bought a spoilt unit. End up upgrade to D110j instead.
Need time to venture and fully utilize.
Yay, finally got myself a NAS rclxms.gif
Kelv
post Mar 1 2010, 10:42 AM

Be kind to animals
3,988 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Feb 28 2010, 10:08 PM)
Just follow the crowd. Like what pws and kelv brought.

Added on February 28, 2010, 10:13 pm
Why brought a spoil and old model unit. Cause cheaper? hmm.gif
Didn't know is spoil till went home tested and fail.
DS109j is cheaper, but rarely available.
Nvm, upgraded to DS110j and using it happily smile.gif

Kelv
post Mar 1 2010, 01:00 PM

Be kind to animals
3,988 posts

QUOTE(bboyspirit @ Mar 1 2010, 12:17 PM)
who selling in LYN?
If you want Qnap & Synology product, perhaps you can refer to this seller:
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/959863
Kelv
post Mar 14 2010, 07:56 AM

Be kind to animals
3,988 posts

QUOTE(limhongwoon @ Mar 13 2010, 06:49 PM)
So fast released 2.3
My ds110j was patched with 2.3 on the first day I bought, which is around last month.
Rapidshare & Megaupload download is useful if got premium account.
Kelv
post Mar 16 2010, 11:32 PM

Be kind to animals
3,988 posts

QUOTE(DarkNite @ Mar 16 2010, 05:28 PM)
Synology in Malaysia? Try this guy >> denhock
Bought my NAS from him also.
Quite nice guy. Willing to help and explain a lot to me.
Kelv
post May 24 2010, 10:35 AM

Be kind to animals
3,988 posts

^^Very subjective. But the Synology I using now got a really awesome interface.
http://www.synology.com/enu/products/featu...r_interface.php
Kelv
post Jun 21 2010, 11:13 PM

Be kind to animals
3,988 posts

Anyone using their NAS stream .avi movie to play by PS3?
I only able to play .wmv or .mp4 movie files, but not .avi.
Kelv
post Aug 3 2010, 03:39 PM

Be kind to animals
3,988 posts

^^Perhaps you can try it at the Garage Sales here. http://forum.lowyat.net/GarageSales
Kelv
post Aug 20 2010, 02:27 PM

Be kind to animals
3,988 posts

DSM 3.0 can run on ds110j already? Can it revert to previous 2.3 if I install this new beta version?
Kelv
post Oct 11 2010, 09:55 AM

Be kind to animals
3,988 posts

ds110j user here. I can just update to Synology DSM 3.0, no need backup my data first right? I am aware this firmware upgrade is not downgradeable.
Kelv
post Oct 11 2010, 03:21 PM

Be kind to animals
3,988 posts

QUOTE(denhock @ Oct 11 2010, 10:45 AM)
if you worry about this, u can use the SMART test to test your HDD. ( this will also check the bad sector on your disk).

and if you have UPS, than u better to connect to this DS110j.

others than that , there is no problem for your to upgrade to DSM 3.0
Oh, thanks! So I guess, basically the firmware upgrade will only changes the system files, and hopefully all my files will not be affected.
Kelv
post Oct 12 2010, 10:49 PM

Be kind to animals
3,988 posts

Attempting to update Synology firmware to DM3.0 but no luck.
Error message: Data can not be applied.

Tried twice, downloaded from http://download.synology.com/download/firm...1_110j_1342.pat for my ds110j.

sad.gif
Kelv
post Feb 22 2012, 10:08 AM

Be kind to animals
3,988 posts

QUOTE(chipun @ Feb 16 2012, 10:44 AM)
thanks guys.

anybody use NAS to stream to ps3? how the performance?
Hi, I did that before. I am using Synology ds110j.
The limitation is actually on the ps3 side due to limited file format ps3 can read.
PS3 not capable to read .avi, .mkv, etc...
Kelv
post Mar 6 2012, 10:19 PM

Be kind to animals
3,988 posts

I been using Synology ds110j.
When I upgrade to unifi, i reconfigured the settings.
Now the ez-internet didn't really works.
When I type the my hostname e.g: abc.blogdns.com. it goes to my router configuration page, not my Synology DiskStation.

Any guidance? I wonder what I missed.

Added on March 6, 2012, 10:35 pmRouter: Tm unifi DIR-615

Added on March 6, 2012, 10:46 pmMost of the settings seems correct, except connection fail when try to create port forwarding in Synology Control Panel>Router Configuration

Added on March 10, 2012, 10:56 am

Btw, DSM 4.0 if official now

This post has been edited by Kelv: Mar 10 2012, 11:05 AM

0.0396sec    0.46    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 03:17 PM