Household [Home Appliances] Air-con

weikee
post Dec 13 2011, 12:13 PM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(lowlowc @ Dec 13 2011, 11:49 AM)
May I know what is the meaning back to back installation? I understand it's aircon installed with the outdoor unit right behind it after the wall. How about install aircon on the wall, the pipe going straight out from the wall to outside then a few feet away to the outdoor unit? Is that considered back to back?

Also, does back-to-back installation requires hacking and cementing back? At first I want to let my contractor settle the aircon cause we want concealed piping (not back-to-back). But he’s slow… so I’m thinking to deduct that work out and only buy air con after we move in and go for back to back. Now my concern is whether there’s hacking and I would need contractor to help me cement/plastering back that area.

Hope my explanation of my scenario is clear. I’m so kucar-kacir now because of the renovation thing! Stress...
Do the back to back have enough opening for compressor / blower unit?

Added on December 13, 2011, 12:17 pmAnd is that the best location? Compressor is not light so got to mount on proper structure and also is it in nice efficient area with lots of breathing for compressor.

This post has been edited by weikee: Dec 13 2011, 12:17 PM
lowlowc
post Dec 13 2011, 02:50 PM

918 posts

QUOTE(weikee @ Dec 13 2011, 12:13 PM)
Do the back to back have enough opening for compressor / blower unit?

Added on December 13, 2011, 12:17 pmAnd is that the best location? Compressor is not light so got to mount on proper structure and also is it in nice efficient area with lots of breathing for compressor.
You mean does the outdoor unit have enough place to be mounted there?

It’s a double storey so I have an area like balcony (but not accessible unless climb out of window) outside the window. One at the outside area of my master bedroom (let’s call it A) and another at outside of bedroom 3 (let’s call it B). I guess the air cons can sit at the balconies. I wanted to install 3 air con.

1. Master bedroom and lead the pipe to outdoor unit at balcony A.
2. Living room at ground floor but let the outdoor unit at balcony A too.
3. Bedroom 2 and let the outdoor unit at balcony B (balcony B is outside of bedroom 3, next to bedroom 2)

I’ve seen my neighbor putting the air con at (1) & (2) so I guess should be ok. Not sure about (3)

But is this consider as back to back and standard installation? But I know over 10 feet will charge by feet la.

Do I need people to help me cement/plaster back the holes or the air con installer capable to open holes just nice for the piping that I don’t need to do cementing back?

weikee
post Dec 13 2011, 03:01 PM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(lowlowc @ Dec 13 2011, 02:50 PM)
You mean does the outdoor unit have enough place to be mounted there?

It’s a double storey so I have an area like balcony (but not accessible unless climb out of window) outside the window. One at the outside area of my master bedroom (let’s call it A) and another at outside of bedroom 3 (let’s call it B). I guess the air cons can sit at the balconies. I wanted to install 3 air con.

1. Master bedroom and lead the pipe to outdoor unit at balcony A.
2. Living room at ground floor but let the outdoor unit at balcony A too.
3. Bedroom 2 and let the outdoor unit at balcony B (balcony B is outside of bedroom 3, next to bedroom 2)

I’ve seen my neighbor putting the air con at (1) & (2) so I guess should be ok. Not sure about (3)

But is this consider as back to back and standard installation? But I know over 10 feet will charge by feet la.

Do I need people to help me cement/plaster back the holes or the air con installer capable to open holes just nice for the piping that I don’t need to do cementing back?
If you plan to conceal the piping, is better to do during renovation before your contractor do wall plastering. Normal A/C installation will not hack and conceal, unless you pay them extra. Is a lump sum charges per a/c. And I can tell you their plastering skill is no where near wet work contractor.

If you are ok to have the black hose expose on the outdoor unit than can be done after renovation. The only think you need to take note if the indoor blower unit is not mount on the wall facing outside, you will have some hose expose. If that is fine.

Normal small opening holes the a/c install will be able to seal it, but usually not cement, just the normal white wall putty.
enviro
post Dec 14 2011, 06:40 PM

511 posts

Hi everyone,

Need some advise. I stay on the top floor so quite warm during daytime . I plan to
install a 1hp aircon to cool the hall,dining and kitchen about 500sqft. I know it is under sized
but I plan to set the temp to 28 degree only. not cold just cool enough. Normal temp
about 32 degree.

1)If i run the ac 12 hrs a day everyday will the electricity cost
for this 1hp ac cost more than rm50.00/month?
2)Is mitsubishi non inverter ok or better to get inverter model.

slackinux
post Dec 14 2011, 11:26 PM

407 posts

QUOTE(kucingfight @ Dec 9 2011, 10:12 AM)
i installed Midea 2x 1hp basic and 1x1.5hp inverter. Looks n feel ok. let me comeback with feedback after few months.
I asked my friends from china. They said Gree Air Conditioner is the Top Brand among all the air conditioner in China. Anyone installed Gree Air Conditioner at home?
Why not you consider Gree ?
Beside price, what make you choose Midea Air Conditioner?

Added on December 14, 2011, 11:32 pm
QUOTE(iamsobloodysick @ Dec 10 2011, 05:28 PM)
Carrier and Electrolux are using Midea's aircond compressor.
How about GREE ? Are they using Midea's compressor too?

This post has been edited by slackinux: Dec 14 2011, 11:32 PM
sue.chan
post Dec 15 2011, 10:49 PM

65 posts

Need some advice here.

I hv been told by a shop at SS2 just now that Panasonic air cond is out of stock due to flood in Thailand. Then he highly recommended me York.

Went to another shop a few doors away and I was told Panasonic air cond is assembled in msia. But It's not recommended due to high consumption of electricity, noisy and it vibrates. Then he highly recommended me Mitsubishi.

Any feedback from current Panasonic user ?
ozak
post Dec 15 2011, 11:07 PM

17,018 posts

Macam macam story ada. rclxub.gif how to buy?
weikee
post Dec 15 2011, 11:40 PM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(sue.chan @ Dec 15 2011, 10:49 PM)
Need some advice here.

I hv been told by a shop at SS2 just now that Panasonic air cond is out of stock due to flood in Thailand. Then he highly recommended me York.

Went to another shop a few doors away and I was told Panasonic air cond is assembled in msia. But It's not recommended due to high consumption of electricity, noisy and it vibrates. Then he highly recommended me Mitsubishi.

York will be powerful, but is bit noisy.
skng03
post Dec 16 2011, 01:33 AM

1,450 posts

QUOTE(weikee @ Dec 15 2011, 11:40 PM)
York will be powerful, but is bit noisy.
since is powerful, can lower the indoor fan speed to reduce noise lor wink.gif

my york a/c delivered,

3.0hp,2.5hp, 2.0hp,1.5hp - 1 unit each total cost rm10300 sweat.gif sweat.gif

mell_amir
post Dec 16 2011, 03:12 AM

17 posts

my house using daikin inverter 1.0hp since february 2010
i've service once last june..
then early this month the aircond malfunction..
i've call daikin dealer and they checked my outdoor unit was spoilt..
how many years warranty for the daikin outdoor unit?
and 1 more thing they said it spoilt coz 'kena kilat'
i felt weird because before it spoilt, no raining or thunder etc..
how come it spoilt?
and they wanna charge me araound rm900++ including labour
is it reasonable?

iamsobloodysick
post Dec 16 2011, 08:20 AM

2,006 posts

QUOTE(slackinux @ Dec 14 2011, 11:26 PM)
I asked my friends from china. They said Gree Air Conditioner is the Top Brand among all the air conditioner in China. Anyone installed Gree Air Conditioner at home?

Gree and Midea a/cond are commonly seen in china.
ozak
post Dec 16 2011, 08:43 AM

17,018 posts

QUOTE(mell_amir @ Dec 16 2011, 03:12 AM)
how come it spoilt?
is it reasonable?
Probably avoid the claim kua.

Normally spare parts is abit expensive than the whole unit. In this case better get a new 1.
weikee
post Dec 16 2011, 09:56 AM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(mell_amir @ Dec 16 2011, 03:12 AM)
how come it spoilt?
is it reasonable?
Did the technician show you what was fried? usually when fried by lightning you see some burn marked.
karl7077
post Dec 16 2011, 10:03 AM

92 posts

york is good...spare part easy...most office use york

johan196600
post Dec 16 2011, 10:05 AM

QUOTE(skng03 @ Dec 16 2011, 01:33 AM)
since is powerful, can lower the indoor fan speed to reduce noise lor wink.gif

my york a/c delivered,

3.0hp,2.5hp, 2.0hp,1.5hp - 1 unit each total cost rm10300 sweat.gif  sweat.gif
Hi may I know which York model you got and the price breakdown individually please? Thks. smile.gif
albhong
post Dec 16 2011, 10:07 AM

314 posts

Is hitachi plasma series (non-inverter) good ?
ozak
post Dec 16 2011, 10:21 AM

17,018 posts

QUOTE(weikee @ Dec 16 2011, 09:56 AM)
Did the technician show you what was fried? usually when fried by lightning you see some burn marked.
If they want to avoid, many reason will comeout if you don't no about technical. Unless get a another technician to verify.
cam40729
post Dec 16 2011, 11:15 AM

97 posts

QUOTE(slackinux @ Dec 14 2011, 11:26 PM)

Midea's compressor is actually Toshiba Carrier's compressor
Toshiba Acquires Midea Air Conditioning.
weikee
post Dec 16 2011, 11:28 AM

12,019 posts

I thought they JV, not acquired?
kelvyn
post Dec 16 2011, 12:07 PM

3,173 posts

QUOTE(sue.chan @ Dec 15 2011, 11:49 PM)
Need some advice here.

The previous pana model that I had for a few years is OK.
For the newer model, still having noise problem from the blower unit on 2 of the 4 units.
Even the Pana's technician have yet to resolve the problem sad.gif

176 Pages « < 68 69 70 71 72 > » Top

0.0258sec    0.09    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 01:43 AM