Household [Home Appliances] Water Filter, for drinking water purpose

SUSsupersound
post Feb 15 2014, 01:36 PM

11,554 posts

If just want pure H2O, just boil the water and condense it back.
When water is too clean, it will create RP effect on our body and remove out all the mineral needs.
Then we have to take all sort of chemical supplements which is more damaging to our body.
SUSsupersound
post Feb 15 2014, 04:06 PM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(Optiplex330 @ Feb 15 2014, 02:58 PM)
Yes, World Health Organization has a circular saying "de-mineralized" water like those from distillation and Reverse Osmosis "is not the best choice for drinking".
Just make sure the water are properly filtered by normal charcoal and boil already enough.
SUSsupersound
post Feb 17 2014, 12:33 PM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(sovietmah @ Feb 17 2014, 10:01 AM)
PVC valve burst because hot weather for 3 weeks.
So i decide change the whole thg to stainless steel and copper.
A bit ugly but i hope can last longer.
RM350 change all these, do you guys think it is too expensive?
2.5 hours jobs.

Wow, metal piping, sure can last long. But you will die faster.
Just use poly pipe(black pipe) which is more durable than PVC and less reactive than metal pipe. As for your outdoor filter, you can paint it black or cover it.
Have to know that, water supplier will inject chlorine follow their stock. Over inject will cause the water to be lower pH and under inject will result to algae formation.
SUSsupersound
post Feb 17 2014, 01:27 PM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(sovietmah @ Feb 17 2014, 01:17 PM)
From underground till my syabas meter also stainless steel (done by syabas).
All the piping in Malaysia do use stainless steel as the cost are cheap and reliable. But not good for health. Also, most of the water are continuous moving on the main pipe, so the damage are way lesser compare to stagnant water in our house.
The chemical reaction need residence time to take place, reducing this is what we need to think of and not increasing it.
SUSsupersound
post Feb 17 2014, 01:56 PM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(petlu28 @ Feb 17 2014, 01:44 PM)
My house outdoor filter also using PVC grade 6.  cry.gif  cry.gif
Have money, change now. No money, change after it burst.
As long as you everyday use water, nothing will happen. Like my area, the developer using low quality PVC piping, about 75% of them already have pipe burst but mine still ok. I always let the water drip, this is reduce the pressure on the pipes.
SUSsupersound
post Feb 17 2014, 02:01 PM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(petlu28 @ Feb 17 2014, 01:58 PM)
I think so but not now. I just finish renovation before CNY.
Don't worry too much then, use it until it fails.
Want it to last long, don't shut any valves when not in use.
SUSsupersound
post Feb 17 2014, 03:45 PM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(petlu28 @ Feb 17 2014, 02:16 PM)
I didn't turning before until now. Just turn filter valve when backwash.
You got the bypass filter valve also that need to check.
SUSsupersound
post Feb 17 2014, 04:27 PM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(petlu28 @ Feb 17 2014, 03:57 PM)
How to check?
Just visual and open/close it once a while.
SUSsupersound
post Apr 1 2014, 01:06 PM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(dreyvii @ Apr 1 2014, 12:16 AM)
Any reviews on GE filters for drinking water?

Also, my contractor recommended to just use a normal filter for the mains (before the tank) to filter out particles, then just change the filter cartridge every few months when it's dirty. Is that a good idea?

I'm not keen on the filter where u need to do backwash. Feels like a waste of water to me. Please advice, sifus
Outdoor unit sure need to back flsuh, if you don't install that, your indoor unit how expensive also useless.
Indoor unit you can use carbon filter(rm150 Panasonic), but suggest to use better type filter as this carbon filter won't really remove all the "dirt". Your water supply matters on filter selections.
SUSsupersound
post Apr 1 2014, 01:57 PM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(wattsivy @ Apr 1 2014, 01:36 PM)
A good indoor water treatment system doesnt affect whether u put install an outdoor water filter system. As it is calculate how many litre of clean water hv filter out from system. It doesnt relate to how dirty or water need to filter. smile.gif
Well, you are right in some sense, if you are using those rm thousand filters.
My way are more on those cheapskates carbon filter.
SUSsupersound
post Apr 2 2014, 10:07 AM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(dreyvii @ Apr 2 2014, 09:27 AM)
I think generally still need an outdoor filter. I don't want to shower/cook with dirty water
Back flush is to clear up the sand and particles? Won't the normal cheapo filters do the same thing? If I change the cartridge every few months, it still won't cost as much as the sand filters, right? And no wasting water, although some may say recycle the water to wash car porch or gardening, etc
Well said. But was just wondering if it is a good choice to go for a simple filter vs something more expensive
Good to know that! Does the outdoor filter get very dirty when u change it? How does the water taste? Any rusty taste or funny smells?

I'm a bit particular about my drinking water. I actually like the taste of RO water, but it's not healthy, so will not use that. The Panasonic filters mentioned also taste fine. But surprisingly, despite the price and reviews, I don't like the e-spring water taste. It's a good filter, no doubt. But I actually don't like the taste of the minerals. It doesn't taste crystal clear and sweet. That's why was wondering if anyone has a good drinking filter to recommend. I saw the GE filter and quite like the looks. Never tasted the water though, that's why want to ask if anyone heard or used it before.
The outdoor unit won't be that expensive, about rm500-800 also you can get, provided you know the place. In shopping centers sure are more expensive, as they charge 2-5X extra.
As for back flush, you only need to back flush it for 5-10 minutes, so use it for gardening or car washing.
The cartridge for indoor unit I only change once a year, rm40, so in some sense, I save more than you.
SUSsupersound
post Apr 2 2014, 10:58 PM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(dreyvii @ Apr 2 2014, 10:53 PM)
Will it be more difficult to install the outdoor unit later? Budget constraints right now. Let me just test out the simple filter first, then choose to upgrade later if it's not too much if a hassle
Well, you are in my boat actually.
Last time I do install indoor unit first, then after few years only install the outdoor unit.
When you want to install outdoor unit later on, make sure it is installed under roof.
SUSsupersound
post Apr 9 2014, 11:10 AM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(gtfan @ Apr 9 2014, 11:01 AM)
I am not sure why many folks complain sand filter not good. I am using hydrogard outdoor unit (installed since 2003/2004) manual backwash. Under rain and shine.

I don't have issue with teh tarik color even during water rationing. I have only changed the inside media twice for the last 10 years.

I only do once a week backwash and i don't use indoor filter. My boiled water is still crystal clear and no sendiments if left overnight as compared to before installing this filtration.

I am moving to a new place soon and is currently looking at getting another outdoor unit. Although hydrogard is expensive (abt rm2.9k), i am still weighing the option whether to go for cheaper alternatives marketed by so many agents which may costs rm500 to rm1.5k for similiar unit or just get back hydrogard which have performed flawlessly and to my expectation.
Well, any sand filter will be good when we change the sands inside every now and then.
If you buy an expensive filter but never change, it will be the same : useless.
Getting certification means nothing, if someone says it does mean something, for me, that something will be a rm300 filter with a so called cert that makes it cost another rm1000 doh.gif
SUSsupersound
post Apr 9 2014, 01:53 PM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(NightFelix @ Apr 9 2014, 11:42 AM)
Well, as most of the user/trader share here before, every filter or system always have Pros and Cons. The Teh Tarik color maybe just happen on that/certain region but not all region in Malaysia. nod.gif

If you have any friends/families live near industry area, you try compare your filter with them, you know what I'm talking about. whistling.gif
Not really. Certification is important when come to NSF and WQA and both of them are NPO(non-profit organization). So don't tell me the <insert name here> company charge you premium just because of they system are certified by NSF/WQA.

Meanwhile, what do you want your Water Filtration System come with Awesome Godlike Design Awards or Datuk/Celebrity Recommendation Awards? shakehead.gif
Well, I bought my outdoor unit for rm1000 last time(4-5 years ago). It said to be using high grade fiberglass from US and comes with certs(which I don't bother at all).
Last week my uncle bought for my mother an outdoor unit without any certification and using fiberglass for rm350 only. Most of his clients are using the same filter since 3 years ago and nobody complaint before.
Already have a check on the internal sand, it is the same stuffs inside doh.gif
SUSsupersound
post Apr 15 2014, 01:15 PM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(NIckLJF @ Apr 15 2014, 01:11 PM)
Everytime I see some 'professional opinion' attached with a brand name, I have high doubts.

Perhaps can try to debunk this study by WHO. Who? World Health Organisation.

http://www.who.int/water_sanitation_health...ientschap12.pdf

Quote from the conclusion paragraph - "Demineralised water that has not been remineralized, or low-mineral content water – in the light of the absence or substantial lack of essential minerals in it – is not considered ideal drinking water, and therefore, its regular consumption may not be providing adequate levels of some beneficial nutrient"
Such water will create RO effect on our body and flush out the remaining essential minerals in our body.
That's why when drinking such water, our wee wee will be very yellow as it is flushing out minerals. Later it will be clear all the time as no more mineral. Most direct sales companies will use this method to mislead people.
SUSsupersound
post Apr 16 2014, 10:02 AM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(TieL @ Apr 16 2014, 04:27 AM)
hi, i am wondering anyone here using those lower class Panasonic filter, such as PJ-5RF, TK-CS10, TK-CS20?

http://www.panasonic.com/my/consumer/kitch...filtration.html

Do you still boil for drinking water? or you just drink after the filter?
I just drink directly but will soon changing it to better type.
Can feel the water quality are getting poorer nowadays doh.gif
SUSsupersound
post Apr 16 2014, 01:40 PM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(NightFelix @ Apr 16 2014, 10:54 AM)
I would only recommend you to wash your fruit and vegetables only. I can't even find that having NSF 42 certified? sweat.gif
Certifications in Malaysia are rubbish.
As long as you follow Najib's guideline : you help me, I help you whistling.gif
SUSsupersound
post May 17 2014, 09:58 AM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(OneMoreDay @ May 17 2014, 01:23 AM)
Commodification of water is unavoidable as water is a valuable resource and due to geographical/man-made factors, some areas have less water than others. Privatization of water as a commodity began when we first started bottling water. Water in its purest, form is groundwater that hasn't been polluted by toxic leachate from landfills, etc. However you chose to filter your water, you should also know your water source and water quality. Dirty coloured water you can see is one thing, pesticides or other chemical contaminants is a whole different ballgame.

THE NITTY GRITTY OF FILTER TYPES AND TECHNOLOGIES
Source: Environmental Working Group

Although there are hundreds of brands of home water filters, they all rely on a small number of technologies to remove contaminants. That does not mean that every filter that uses a given technology is as good as another, but it does mean that you can get a good idea of the general pros and cons of the different systems relatively easily.

A few tips to keep in mind:
1) Some filters use a combination of technologies, while others rely on just one.

2) To ensure that a filter removes a particular contaminant, verify that it is certified for that contaminant by a reputable, independent agency. For example, some carbon filters can remove chloramine but others cannot. Filters vary widely in quality.

3) Some filters are labeled “NSF certified.” NSF is a reputable product evaluation company, but its certifications are not all the same. It may certify that a filter will improve water’s taste and odor but not necessarily guarantee that it will remove any specific contaminants. Read the fine print.

4) EWG’s water filter guide only includes filters that have been certified by the California Department of Public Health and/or NSF to reduce one or more common drinking water contaminants.

The basics of common water filter technologies

Carbon/Activated Carbon: Activated carbon chemically bonds with and removes some contaminants in water filtered through it. Carbon filters vary greatly in effectiveness: Some just remove chlorine and improve taste and odor, while others remove a wide range of contaminants including asbestos, lead, mercury and volatile organic compounds (VOCs). However, activated carbon cannot effectively remove common “inorganic” pollutants such as arsenic, fluoride, hexavalent chromium, nitrate and perchlorate. Generally, carbon filters come in two forms, carbon block and granulated activated carbon.

- Carbon Block: Carbon block filters contain pulverized activated carbon that is shaped into blocks under high pressure. They are typically more effective than granulated activated carbon filters because they have more surface area. Their effectiveness depends in part on how quickly water flows through.

- Granulated Activated Carbon: These filters contain fine grains of activated carbon. They are typically less effective than carbon block filters because they have a smaller surface area of activated carbon. Their effectiveness also depends on how quickly water flows through.

Ceramic: Ceramic filters have very small holes throughout the material that block solid contaminants such as cysts and sediments. They do not remove chemical contaminants.

Deionization: These filters use an ion exchange process that removes mineral salts and other electrically charged molecules (ions) from water. The process cannot remove non-ionic contaminants (including trihalomethanes and other common volatile organic compounds) or microorganisms. EWG’s water filter guide does not include any filters based on this technology.

Distillation: This technology heats water enough to vaporize it and then condenses the steam back into water. The process removes minerals, many bacteria and viruses and chemicals that have a higher boiling point than water. It cannot remove chlorine, trihalomethanes or volatile organic chemicals (VOCs). EWG’s water filter guide does not include any filters based on this technology.

Fibredyne block: This is a proprietary type of carbon block filter that claims to have a higher sediment holding capacity than other carbon block filters.

Ion Exchange: This technology passes water over a resin that replaces undesirable ions with others that are more desirable. One common application is water softening, which replaces calcium and magnesium with sodium. The resin must be periodically “recharged” with replacement ions.

Mechanical Filters: Like ceramic filters, these filters are riddled with small holes that remove contaminants such as cysts and sediments. They are often used in conjunction with other kinds of technologies, but sometimes are used alone. They cannot remove chemical contaminants.

Ozone: Ozone kills bacteria and other microorganisms and is often used in conjunction with other filtering technologies. It is not effective in removing chemical contaminants. EWG’s water filter guide does not include any filters based on this technology.

Reverse Osmosis: This process pushes water through a semi-permeable membrane that blocks particles larger than water molecules. Reverse osmosis can remove many contaminants not removed by activated carbon, including arsenic, fluoride, hexavalent chromium, nitrates and perchlorate. However, reverse osmosis does not remove chlorine, trihalomethanes or volatile organic chemicals (VOCs). Many reverse osmosis systems include an activated carbon component than can remove these other contaminants. Quality can vary tremendously in both the membrane system and the carbon filter typically used with it. Consumers should also be aware that reverse osmosis filters use 3-to-20 times more water than they produce. Because they waste quite a bit of water, they are best used for drinking and cooking water only.

UV (ultraviolet): These systems use ultraviolet light to kill bacteria and other microorganisms. They cannot remove chemical contaminants. EWG’s water filter guide does not include any filters based on this technology.

Water Softeners: These devices typically use an ion exchange process to lower levels of calcium and magnesium (which can build up in plumbing and fixtures) as well barium and certain forms of radium. They do not remove most other contaminants. Since water softeners usually replace calcium and magnesium with sodium, treated water typically has high sodium content. Some people may be advised by their physicians to avoid softened water. For the same reason, it is also not recommended for watering plants and gardens.
Note: The article goes on to weigh pros and cons of types of water filters like pitcher/dispensers, over counter, under counter, etc. Click on the source underneath the article title above to continue reading.
Some of the tech mentioned are meant for industrial use. ion exchange, demin, RO are some of them.
The cleaner the water is, the more mineral it can remove which including good mineral.
I got a friend that is an Elken seller, keep on boasting how good their filter is and used his father as a selling point. When start drinking the water, the urine are yellow for few days and then turn to clear water. After 2 years, his father has kidney failure.
SUSsupersound
post May 17 2014, 12:31 PM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(stevie_G @ May 17 2014, 11:41 AM)
Hi guys ,
I'm told by sand filter seller that the FRP will leach chemical over time? Can someone help clarify ?
And anyone heard of this company CK Shoppe Marketing?
Sand filter is just to remove particle dirt.
Removing chemicals you need at least carbon filter hmm.gif
SUSsupersound
post May 17 2014, 08:31 PM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(NightFelix @ May 17 2014, 04:08 PM)
Is not the matter of brand. Is the matter of the RO tech system anyway.
But, since his father is kidney failure, his father only can drink RO water only. RO water is not bad, but it just not good in long-term drinking, and kidney problem person are require to drink RO water only.
CK Shoppe Marketing? No.
But FRP won't leech chemical over time, the FRP is on the vessel outer layer protecting it. It doesn't interact with the filter media inside of it.
Nope, is because he drink too much of pure water that kills his kidneys doh.gif

0.0552sec    0.58    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 05:24 PM