Household [Home Appliances] Washing Machine

ozak
post Mar 17 2014, 12:29 PM

17,018 posts

QUOTE(halcyon27 @ Mar 17 2014, 12:11 PM)
Top load washing machines normally gravity fed pump. No built-in pump.

Front load washing machine and hybrid top load (top load chassis but front load drum with openable inner cage) have built-in pumps.

Reasons for that are mostly historical and prevalence of plumbing code practice in Europe.

So when moving in to new place always inspect washing machine drain outlet if it's in the wall or on the floor.

If embedded  the wall (min 40cm height) with no drain nearby means restricted to front load only. If using top load , lift the washing machine to 35cm. The manual of most top load should say that pipe should not be lifted 10cm higher than WM gravity pump. But that means the top loader would be too high.
In local WM either FL or TL, I don't see any brand using pump. All is valve control the gate and water gravity flow. The menu will always told you do not lift the drain pipe of how many cm from the ground.
halcyon27
post Mar 17 2014, 01:00 PM

2,140 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Mar 17 2014, 12:29 PM)
In local WM either FL or TL, I don't see any brand using pump. All is valve control the gate and water gravity flow. The menu will always told you do not lift the drain pipe of how many cm from the ground.
On the contrary, there is a built-in pump for front load. Here's from the manual of each FL and TL.
This is front load. Unusual requirement for its min height for this model (AQXXL109). Most common nowadays is min 40cm.

This one is for top loader (in this instance Toshiba AW-SD120SM/SS). Quite generous for a 6" clearance but that's because there's so much water to push it out up to 6" from the floor so long as it's not too long.

This post has been edited by halcyon27: Mar 17 2014, 01:05 PM
ozak
post Mar 17 2014, 01:29 PM

17,018 posts

QUOTE(halcyon27 @ Mar 17 2014, 01:00 PM)
On the contrary, there is a built-in pump for front load. Here's from the manual of each FL and TL.
This is front load. Unusual requirement for its min height for this model (AQXXL109). Most common nowadays is min 40cm.

This one is for top loader (in this instance Toshiba AW-SD120SM/SS). Quite generous for a 6" clearance but that's because there's so much water to push it out up to 6" from the floor so long as it's not too long.
I check back my manual. I know about this height. But for local WM, not sure the drain pipe can goes that height.

I remember when open up my Panasonic TL, I don't see and pump for drainage. Only drainage valve. Cause the drainage valve spoil and won't let the water flow out.

While the LG FL now don't hear any pump running when drain water.
halcyon27
post Mar 17 2014, 01:51 PM

2,140 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Mar 17 2014, 01:29 PM)
I check back my manual. I know about this height. But for local WM, not sure the drain pipe can goes that height.

I remember when open up my Panasonic TL, I don't see and pump for drainage. Only drainage valve. Cause the drainage valve spoil and won't let the water flow out.

For TL, yes there's no pump but most likely a solenoid valve that activates and let waster discharge by gravity. Over 100 litres are pushing out over a 1.5" outlet pipe. Force should be quite strong but the head (vertical height) is most likely not more than 4-6" depending on model.

Front load, I don't know perhaps the LG pumps are silent but I do know Europa (local brand but European parts) Ariston, Elba, Hitachi and Bosch and if not mistaken all front loads should be using pump.

cdspins
post Mar 18 2014, 08:48 AM

2,714 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Mar 17 2014, 01:29 PM)

Front load will have pump, it is the same case for panasonic Front load. The pump is very silent as a matter of fact never notice it is running when operating washing machine.
halcyon27
post Mar 18 2014, 12:09 PM

2,140 posts

QUOTE(cdspins @ Mar 18 2014, 08:48 AM)
Front load will have pump, it is the same case for panasonic Front load. The pump is very silent as a matter of fact never notice it is running when operating washing machine.
Yes, here's a lengthy read if interested but actually showing how the author himself cleaned his 10 year old washing machine for mould prevention (with dishwasher powder, bleach, borax and Oxybooster). Also a revelation that the pump of a front load is actually an impeller with motor similar to those use in aquariums.

This post has been edited by halcyon27: Feb 14 2019, 02:14 PM
edwardy2k
post Mar 19 2014, 12:08 PM

Dear all sifus/dealers,

I live with my parent + sister + kids and we will be moving to a bigger home very soon. Currently I'm thinking to get a new FL WM. All in there are 4 babies and 5 adults in the house.
We wash quite a lot of napkins, clothes and etc on a daily basis especially for the kids.

Hope could get some valuable advice/input for the following:
a) Does a 8kg WM suitable to cater the laundry for 4 babies + 5 adults? Was thinking of getting a 9kg/10kg version. (currently using a 7kg WM but most of the times, we have to take out some clothes as WM oredy fully loaded)

b) Should I get the Samsung/LG FL WM since they are the only one with 'Child Lock' function? (Assuming Pana/Electrolux FL WM doesn't have the Child Lock function)

c) Hope to get some feedback for the best price regarding the following FL WM:
c1) LG WD-PD8010WM
c2) Samsung WF806U4SAWQ / WF906U4SAGD
c3) Electrolux EWF14012
c4) Pana NA-140VG3/VX3
Which one is the best?

Looking forward to receiving your favourable advice soon.
Many thanks in advance.

Cheers....
halcyon27
post Mar 19 2014, 02:44 PM

2,140 posts

QUOTE(edwardy2k @ Mar 19 2014, 12:08 PM)
Dear all sifus/dealers,

I live with my parent + sister + kids and we will be moving to a bigger home very soon. Currently I'm thinking to get a new FL WM. All in there are 4 babies and 5 adults in the house.
We wash quite a lot of napkins, clothes and etc on a daily basis especially for the kids.

a) Does a 8kg WM suitable to cater the laundry for 4 babies + 5 adults? Was thinking of getting a 9kg/10kg version. (currently using a 7kg WM but most of the times, we have to take out some clothes as WM oredy fully loaded)

b) Should I get the Samsung/LG FL WM since they are the only one with 'Child Lock' function? (Assuming Pana/Electrolux FL WM doesn't have the Child Lock function)

c1) LG WD-PD8010WM
c3) Electrolux EWF14012
c4) Pana NA-140VG3/VX3
Which one is the best?

Many thanks in advance.

Cheers....
Hitachi BD-W80MV or BD-W85SV or BD-S5500 (10.5kg/7kg) all have child lock. The last one is front loader like any but pumps out water like top loader meaning by gravity so no impeller motor pump usually found in top loader. They shrunk it down from 73cm wide of the previous generation BD-S1100 and BD-S3300 to 60cm. Best Denki sells it BD-S5500 for RM7888.

Or you can also consider Samsung's Ecobubble
WF1124XAC 12kg washer or
12kg/8kg washer/dryer - no link available but seen in Best Denki 1U and Tropicana City Mall. Clearly stated 12/8

Panasonic 10kg is 2011-2012 model so if can wait see if 10kg VG4/VX4 released late last year with steam wash will arrive here.

Or the Electrolux EWF1114UW0 11kg

Also, some features to consider would be if the machine has rapid wash. Some has this feature. In Bosch it's called Super Quick 15' and Hitachi Rapid 15'. I own a Hitachi 8kg and back from a trip, washed all my family's laundry in 3 light loads of differing material types under 1 hour including drying.

This post has been edited by halcyon27: Mar 19 2014, 03:21 PM
cdspins
post Mar 19 2014, 08:19 PM

2,714 posts

Dear all sifus/dealers,

c1) LG WD-PD8010WM
c3) Electrolux EWF14012
c4) Pana NA-140VG3/VX3
Which one is the best?

Many thanks in advance.

Cheers....
QUOTE(enriquelee @ Mar 19 2014, 02:32 PM)
Haiz....my coca cola fridge place deposit since December last year till now still can not get.
Panasonic no child lock ohmy.gif I think got leh check their website http://www.panasonic.com/my/consumer/home-...ng-machine.html

Yup, I think for children items, use a rapid/quick wash will be enough. Better not to mix the laundry.
ozak
post Mar 19 2014, 08:42 PM

17,018 posts

Dear all sifus/dealers,

c1) LG WD-PD8010WM
c3) Electrolux EWF14012
c4) Pana NA-140VG3/VX3
Which one is the best?

Many thanks in advance.

Cheers....
Wau! You have a big family.

I suggest you to get 2 WM. With 8kg each. Or 1 that can wash comforter at least. It help you to speed up the laundry. Reduce the frequent laundry. If breakdown 1, you still have another to use. Since you have big family, 1 WM will stress the WM to the limit.

You probably need a dryer too.
SUSsupersound
post Mar 19 2014, 11:46 PM

11,554 posts

Dear all sifus/dealers,

c1) LG WD-PD8010WM
c3) Electrolux EWF14012
c4) Pana NA-140VG3/VX3
Which one is the best?

Many thanks in advance.

Cheers....
Top load will be better for your applications. 10KG should be enough for you.
Napkins or baby stuffs shall be washed separately as you may need to use mild detergent.
Front load are more suitable for small family.
OneMoreDay
post Mar 20 2014, 04:59 AM

580 posts

Baby clothes are delicate though so use the lightest setting available. I agree with Ozak's suggestion of two WM to share the burden. Rather than have a single one give up under pressure and have to wait for replacement parts/etc and be left with no backup. More importantly, not only do you need child lock, you need to take the costs of running into consideration.

Your pre-laundry sorting has to be detailed as well to make clothes last longer. Don't mix heavy fabrics like jeans with t-shirts, must divide into whites/lights/coloured/darks and subdivide into delicates/etc.

This is where the two WM will come in handy since you can run both at the same time (on different settings for different laundry needs like I just mentioned). I hope you have sufficient space to maximise your laundry efficiency.

Also, because you have so much laundry, remember to clean the WM. I just cleaned mine after so long (silly little me needs a reminder) and my god, the grime collected inside the filters.

If you end up with Front Loaders, raise them on a pedestal high enough for your family members to use comfortably. Something like this.

For small space, you can even store laundry items underneath like so.

Another option is pedestal drawers that the brand sells (they don't sell it in Malaysia, or indeed Asia I think). More expensive and you can only store laundry powders and softeners, etc.

Samsung has these, as does LG. I'm not sure of the other Asian brands.

Good luck. flex.gif
sovietmah
post Mar 21 2014, 09:57 AM

2,243 posts

I am using electrolux time machine 7KG front load now.
I want to ask is that possible if i buy a 7KG dryer and put on top of it? will it able to sustain the weight??
SUSsupersound
post Mar 21 2014, 10:23 AM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(sovietmah @ Mar 21 2014, 09:57 AM)
I want to ask is that possible if i buy a 7KG dryer and put on top of it? will it able to sustain the weight??
A dryer in a tropical country flex.gif flex.gif flex.gif
ozak
post Mar 21 2014, 11:25 AM

17,018 posts

Better to have a metal structure to support for dryer. WM spinning time will have strong vibrate. Maybe your dryer later on drop down. While check your dryer got high spin mode. Also cause vibration.
halcyon27
post Mar 21 2014, 11:28 AM

2,140 posts

Use a stacking kit but make sure the washing machine is not prone to walking during spin cycles.
Xavax.eu has lots of useful accessories for laundry (esp their aquastop washing machine pipes).
http://www.xavax.eu/00111093/xavax-stackin...g-machine-dryer
ozak
post Mar 21 2014, 11:31 AM

17,018 posts

QUOTE(supersound @ Mar 21 2014, 10:23 AM)
A dryer in a tropical country flex.gif  flex.gif  flex.gif
It getting common at here. And it is a must for a laundry shop to have a dryer in a tropical country.

Even I have using dryer for over 5yrs.
halcyon27
post Mar 21 2014, 11:40 AM

2,140 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Mar 21 2014, 11:31 AM)
It getting common at here. And it is a must for a laundry shop to have a dryer in a tropical country.

Yes, there are certain circumstances where a dryer is the only viable choice esp when space is cramp or raining.

Now dryers are no longer as expensive to operate esp when Electrolux (8 or 9kg with shoe drying rack) and Panasonic (8kg) released heat pump type condensing dryers that uses only 900W compared to the current 2700-2800W of condensing dryers. The Panasonic ones is coupled with an inverter.

cdspins
post Mar 21 2014, 12:44 PM

2,714 posts

If possible, I think it is best to buy washing machine and dryer seperately unless your space is too tight to even fit it. Things that have multi function usually break down easily
SUSsupersound
post Mar 21 2014, 01:21 PM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Mar 21 2014, 11:31 AM)

Getting common on flats I understand, but for landed properties, I doubt so.

337 Pages « < 58 59 60 61 62 > » Top

0.0196sec    0.87    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 11:35 AM