When is Singapore released date for Iphone?, and price?

stringfellow
post Aug 6 2008, 08:37 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(mONSTers @ Aug 6 2008, 08:19 PM)
well guys, Philippines Iphone is launched officially on 22 Aug and price plan is out. Offer both postpaid and prepaid. Maybe can serve as a references.

http://www.iphone3g.globe.com.ph/i/i?id=2256650
Holy crap! RM3650 for 16GB!? And no certainties of an unlock. If I'm still in 737, I could get it in Manila, but alas. Will Singaporean units mirror this price, or will there be any non-plan units at all? That is the question.
stringfellow
post Aug 6 2008, 10:12 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(zc_squash @ Aug 6 2008, 10:07 PM)
Is the ajul guy that created a havoc a few weeks ago that ruined the tumpang thread? Or was it another scumbag?
The very same. His modus operandi is, if he cant match the price, destroy that seller's thread. Just look into his post history and see how many sales thread he had poked his brown nose in and destroyed, not to mention disputes as well. Funny thing is, the mods seems to tolerate characters like this. Well done, Malaysia boleh! rolleyes.gif
stringfellow
post Aug 7 2008, 12:06 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Guys, I suggest we be the better person and don't do that to his thread. Let's not stoop down to his level and act like him.

Never argue with an idiot, they will just bring you down to their level, and beat you with experience.
stringfellow
post Aug 12 2008, 06:59 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

'IDA has prohibited the SIM-locking of handsets to remove a barrier for end users to switch operators, and to allow end users the freedom to choose among the operators offering various innovative and competitive mobile services. This policy has been in place since the start of mobile competition in 1997,' an IDA spokesperson said.
That statement may be moot since all three of SG carriers are getting them, it is just that Singtel is getting it first. Time-exclusive locks are not considered locked in this case.

And as that ad are meant to be viewed by those interested locally, one could also surmise that "unlocked" here means unlocked to Singtel, M1 and Starhub only, as these are the carriers we are talking about. No Malaysian carriers hold any equity, shares or market presence in Singapore, for them to even consider an unlock for any of the local carriers here.

If I am wrong, this will be the first time I am glad to be proven wrong. I can always do KUL-SIN and drop by Terminal 3 to grab all the SG Aifontriji I can get my hands on.

stringfellow
post Aug 12 2008, 07:03 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

@Tink,

Not kuli, but equal partners, okay? Nobody's above anyone around here. smile.gif
stringfellow
post Aug 12 2008, 09:55 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

We wait and see how the SG iPhone scene looks like. icon_rolleyes.gif No point bringing in when it is locked.
stringfellow
post Aug 18 2008, 02:05 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

That is a good idea, neekun. But you already have my number. tongue.gif

I agree on the possible reason why Singtel is delaying on revealing the price of the plans, it is going to be expensive. Singtel also probably want to delay the reveal of the price to stop the other two carriers, M1 and Starhub from devising a better plan/price tag than theirs and gather as much sheep to their flock as they can.
stringfellow
post Aug 19 2008, 02:34 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

http://singaporecritic.blogspot.com/2008/0...-leak-from.html

Take that info with grains of salt, but if it is true, then tough luck for those looking for no-contract Singaporean iPhone 3G.
stringfellow
post Aug 19 2008, 03:23 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

You cannot get HK iPhones without contract. That fact alone negates any needs to look for the info. Any phones tied to a contract will incur prices beyond any non-contracted ones.
stringfellow
post Aug 19 2008, 05:06 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

They probably want to ease you into it.

At the very extreme, you may even only know the price once you are at the counter , ready to pay. That way, they put you on the spot, and very little time to consider or think.

Would probably backfire if that is the case, there will be rioting on the streets and city painted red with blood. tongue.gif
stringfellow
post Aug 19 2008, 05:11 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Taken from HWZ forum:-

http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/showthread.php?t=2063690

SOme good and not so good news .. depends on what ur looking for.

I called singtel (1626) and asked if the price plans are out, they wont be out on the web till tomorrow, but the agent gave me all the details.

Biggest disappointment there is no unlimited data plan as such. Anyways here are the details according to what i was given

Three new data plans (all prices with GST)

iFlexi Value - $56 - 300 MB Data - 200 Mins Outgoing Voice - 500 SMS
iFlexi Plus - $95 - 500 MB Data - 500 Mins Outgoing Voice - 500 SMS
iFlexi Premium - $205 - 1500 MB Data - 1500 Mins Outgoing Voice - 1500 SMS

Additional data usage charged at 1cent for each 2KB extra. These plans also come with 3 value added services free (Voicemail, roaming and Caller ID)

Handset price (varies depending on the price plan)

Plan 8GB 16GB
--------------------------------------------------
iFlexi Value 348 508
iFlexi Plus 49 208
iFlexi Premium Free Free

if you do not want to sign up for the above plans, and want to use your existing voice only plan and add the mobile on broadband plans, then the handset price will be more expensive and you will have to sign either a 24 month or 30 month contract

8GB - $568
16GB - $728

You cannot get the handset without any contract from singtel.

I may not have all the information you are looking for, but i gathered as much as i could think of. If you have more queries please call them to find out.

While i think the handset prices seem reasonable, the data plans seem really pricey.

Cant wait to get the iPhone although not very happy about the price plans

leinad's Advice
Quote:
My advice is, don't take the new plans and buy the phones at the old plans prices (568/728). Here's my rationale:
In case you people are thinking of signing up for the new plans, my advice is - don't. Buy under the old plans and subscribe to BBoM as a VAS.

Current Singtel promotions:
If you get iTwo Value, you get an additional $120 off the phone.
iTwo Plus/Three, you get $200 off the phone.
BBoM 12 month contract, another $100 off the phone price + 30% off monthly subs for the VAS.
CallerID - $5/mo

Doing the math:

iTwo Value + BBoM 1000 (12 month contract)
$48.15 + (22.42 - 30%) ~= $61/mo.
What you get?
- Additional $120 + $100 = $220 off the phone price. $348/508.
- 300 mins outgoing, Free Incoming, 500SMS, Campus Calls (if you're eligible) 50GB of data/month

iTwo Plus + BBoM 1000 (12 mth contract):
$82.93 + (22.42 - 30%) ~= $99/mo.
- Additional $200 + $100 = $300 off the phone price. $268/428
- 700 mins outgoing, Free Incoming, 500SMS, Campus Calls (if you're eligible) 50GB of data/month

CallerID is an additional $5 a month. You can get this free either by being a Singtel-UOB Visa card holder and charging your bills to the card monthly, or just sign up for MIO.

Credits
FULL CREDITS to leinad - http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/sh...&postcount=212

Blog
I blogged about it: http://lesterchan.net/blog/2008/08/1...e-price-plans/ to make it easier to read.

Credit goes to GamerZ and leinad.

No no-contract iPhones then. sad.gif

This post has been edited by stringfellow: Aug 19 2008, 05:12 PM
stringfellow
post Aug 19 2008, 05:14 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

And for those wanting to terminate the contract, word on the street is SGD800. shakehead.gif
stringfellow
post Aug 19 2008, 05:31 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Okay, the problem of getting one shouldnt be a problem anymore for you. What about its lock/unlocked status? I doubt Bharti Airtel and Vodafone would want their customers exchanging sims amongst each other, and taking advantage of each other's supposedly cheaper plans?

I hear 3G is almost nonexistant in India. True?
stringfellow
post Aug 19 2008, 07:22 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Maybe NZ Telecom's SIM card is like one of the Japanese SIM cards, which are not compatible with anything but their own phones? I find it hard that Vodafone NZ specifically block NZ Telecom sims only, and not the foreign sims.
stringfellow
post Aug 19 2008, 07:39 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

I'll leave it to that, since I have no further info to make any more informative guesses.
stringfellow
post Aug 19 2008, 11:45 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

So, from all these bullet points, we can summarize that you cannot get an iPhone unless you subscribe to a plan, and the iPhone may work on other carriers but not its full extent. There may be a chance that the iPhone comes as unlocked but that question can only be answered on 22nd. However, getting an iPhone through Singtel is impossible without a plan.
stringfellow
post Aug 20 2008, 12:22 AM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

This 22nd, all will be revealed.
stringfellow
post Aug 20 2008, 02:08 AM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Even the Universal Translator cannot decode your #@%$%#$^#%^ there, bro. tongue.gif
stringfellow
post Aug 20 2008, 02:15 AM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(louismhc @ Aug 20 2008, 02:12 AM)
Hahahha....rclxm9.gif
Ours code is Alien's code tongue.gif
Mostly need to wait until end of the only then can join string bro's club  flex.gif
It is not a club, bro. You make it sounds like it is exclusive or anything. Everybody's welcomed! biggrin.gif

stringfellow
post Aug 20 2008, 02:22 AM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(gildil @ Aug 20 2008, 02:19 AM)
mobile phones in SG are not allowed to be locked.

Singtel's 3g iphones are unlocked.

Sauce? The iPhone may not be locked among the three carriers, but there arent any guarantees with regards to foreign sims. It may be locked from Malaysian sim cards.

0.5333sec    0.46    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 02:32 PM