Food Fine Dining Recommendations, Romantic, Birthday & special occassions

vey99
post Mar 20 2010, 06:49 PM

Manyzer
2,851 posts

QUOTE(Putraskyline @ Mar 20 2010, 04:29 PM)
@vey99

Overall satisfaction?
service was good

decor ok la fairly bright

food , i would say tasty but not wow.

but as i was about to leave this chick came in, fulau i tell u she dint wear the br-

so overall experience, thumbup.gif thumbup.gif

vey99
post Mar 29 2010, 03:22 PM

Manyzer
2,851 posts

QUOTE(endlessraine @ Mar 29 2010, 01:08 PM)
* Good food. She lived in Italy before for a while, thus higher expectation.
Italian food is not one of Malaysia strong point.
Whats wrong with a nice eastern cuisine meal?
vey99
post Mar 29 2010, 05:20 PM

Manyzer
2,851 posts

QUOTE(endlessraine @ Mar 29 2010, 04:33 PM)
She's been hinting me to belanja Italian  unsure.gif
get ready for disappoint
vey99
post Apr 2 2010, 04:28 PM

Manyzer
2,851 posts

QUOTE(barney @ Apr 2 2010, 04:13 PM)
planning to celebrate my bf's bday in a western restaurant. any good mid range prices with nice verb you could recommend me around kl/pj?
sorry wat is "nice verb"?
vey99
post Apr 2 2010, 05:54 PM

Manyzer
2,851 posts

QUOTE(Putraskyline @ Apr 2 2010, 05:10 PM)
LOL....what kind of question rclxub.gif
i wanted to ask as well,

so i can recommend ghey friendly joints

during fine dining its still not so open in our culture to see two grown men french kissing at the next table.
vey99
post Apr 3 2010, 01:32 PM

Manyzer
2,851 posts

wah 3 lauk 1 sup RM140

vey99
post Dec 7 2011, 10:39 PM

Manyzer
2,851 posts

QUOTE(Food2Buzz @ Dec 7 2011, 09:00 AM)
Anyone tried Four Seas..???
try liao

seafood chowder

soft shell crab (taste like expensive cucur)

mulloway

cod

http://eatedliao.blogspot.com/2010/10/four...nt-bangsar.html

i think opus next door is better lor. or maybe i order the wrong dish.
vey99
post Dec 13 2011, 07:36 PM

Manyzer
2,851 posts

ma maison is more casual and like, cheaper and simpler
vey99
post May 9 2012, 07:58 PM

Manyzer
2,851 posts

QUOTE(Calvin Seak @ May 5 2012, 05:25 PM)
Ahh time to revive this thread!

Let me tickle everyone's taste bud with this mouth watering desert I've tried at Quay!

This is one of the best desserts I had in my life..

It's called Snow Egg by Peter Gilmore!
where is this Quay? KL?
vey99
post Jul 27 2012, 09:39 PM

Manyzer
2,851 posts

go putrajaya pullman lor

lake view
quiet garden

vey99
post Aug 6 2012, 09:30 AM

Manyzer
2,851 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Aug 6 2012, 08:17 AM)
I'm going UK for holiday/brother's wedding in Sept so I was just checking out some of the celebrity restaurants over there, and was amazed at just how cheap some of them are.

Example Gordon Ramsay's 3-star restaurant has a gbp45 3-course set lunch; his 2-star place has a gbp30 3-course set lunch. if you don't convert (earn gbp spend gbp kind of thing), this is so damn cheap! Over here you want anything comparable, it'll be like 2-3 times the price rclxub.gif
last time i wented
i try to book and its booked out for several months, i tried a few of his restoran
so end up eated indian food

having said that, my uk keliq said that a 20 pound meal is alredi massively expensive by their standard deswai so many prefer to cook.

This post has been edited by vey99: Aug 6 2012, 09:32 AM
vey99
post Aug 6 2012, 10:43 AM

Manyzer
2,851 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Aug 6 2012, 10:03 AM)
where?

[edit] don't get me wrong, I'm not trying to argue or be hostile or whatever. neither am i saying omg malaysia no michelin stars so food is lousy; on the contrary there's tons of food that's awesome but which the gwailos would be all like "dafuq, this table is so dirty and i'm sitting next to a drain." But with respect to "fine dining" ... rm 30-rm50? is that really possible?
by malaysian standards, i would say we do have joints like Songket, Ibunda, Subak, Bunga Emas that dont break ur bank at prices below RM100/head. maybe even rm50/head also ok.

but yes, other country standard of living is better, that cannot be deny and once compare liddat there will be no end to it.

it would be better to stick to local context in this area.

This post has been edited by vey99: Aug 6 2012, 10:47 AM
vey99
post Aug 11 2012, 02:08 PM

Manyzer
2,851 posts

QUOTE(clivengu @ Aug 10 2012, 06:54 PM)
Le Midi Bangsar? seems like they have a very nice view.
i eated before there

evening time view is nice once the sun sets. not impressive but can see the KL

the service was attentive

setting is good

food is so-so only for me.

vey99
post Sep 6 2012, 03:08 PM

Manyzer
2,851 posts

QUOTE(ZenzVx @ Sep 6 2012, 02:39 PM)
On 28th of September at Sunway Pyramid Convention Centre, you'll have the chance to taste most of the 5-6 stars restaurants foods in KL.

RM50 for 10 taste tokens.

Then you'll know which restaurant you can visit next time! Hohoho
wat event?
vey99
post Sep 8 2012, 07:57 AM

Manyzer
2,851 posts

QUOTE(icemanfx @ Sep 7 2012, 05:07 PM)
If you can't book The Fat Duck, 'Dinner by Heston Blumenthal' at Mandarin Oriental is an alternative else there is always 'Hinds Head'. Several of Gordon Ramsay restaurants lunch menu is value for money.

Added on September 7, 2012, 5:10 pm

The Quay is one of the top 50 restaurants in the world and their menu especially lunch is value for money if compare with MIGF.

http://www.theworlds50best.com/awards/1-50-winners/
yes that may be top restoran in the world but its not really vlaue for money for me to take a flight there from malaysia to have a meal. u may afford it, most cant. why are u even comparing this to migf?
vey99
post Sep 8 2012, 04:40 PM

Manyzer
2,851 posts

QUOTE(icemanfx @ Sep 8 2012, 01:11 PM)
If one purchases LV, Dior or Hermes handbag in Paris, should s/he include air ticket and hotel price to the handbag price?

Find most restaurants charge exorbitant price for MIGF menu, better to save for Michelin star eatery or Top 50 restaurants of the world.
Oh, as i said, as are most ppl in my country of malaysia, we cant just fly off to paris for a meal.
vey99
post Oct 1 2012, 08:12 PM

Manyzer
2,851 posts

QUOTE(suuzl @ Oct 1 2012, 06:02 PM)
Can actually try doing something unique with her instead? Like take her to theatre or I find attending workshop/classes is quite fun as it's casual yet interactive.

You can try CultureRun they have all sorts of unique, interesting things to do. Try the ROYCE Chocolate and Wine Pairing night they have coming up looks intersting/classy for a date: http://culturerun.com/class_view_full.php?id=253
then i suggest pottery like this

vey99
post Jan 16 2013, 04:12 PM

Manyzer
2,851 posts

QUOTE(eligible @ Jan 16 2013, 03:54 PM)
as in for romantic dinner
dining hall full of groupon users coming for a buffet food binge
the smell of kimchi

is that romantic for u?

3 Pages < 1 2 3Top