Iphone 2.0 Jailbreak & Unlock is OUT !
stringfellow
Jul 20 2008, 10:13 AM
QUOTE No installer.app support ... I'm really confused. Cydia is installed, but there are only about 4 programs available for download. If you're really happy with installer.app, don't download!!!!!! Otherwise, everything seems to be running smoothly. From a comment at TUAW. I guess Installer 4.0 isnt there yet. Pwning in this case would only be for unlocking and whatever's new on Firmware 2.0. 4 apps on Cydia isnt that exciting.  EDIT:Or did I get it wrong? There are reports on Engadget comments that you at least install themes and Customize. Anyone? This post has been edited by stringfellow: Jul 20 2008, 10:27 AM
stringfellow
Jul 20 2008, 10:58 AM
The backup system works fine, it is how it is implemented that is flawed. You only want to back up your iPhone at certain times, for example, when you've done installing lots of apps from AppStore. The backup in iTunes 7.7 however, backs it up ALL THE TIME, even when all you want to do is syncing it.
This post has been edited by stringfellow: Jul 20 2008, 10:59 AM
stringfellow
Jul 20 2008, 11:45 AM
"Not button to switch off EDGE"?
Does this mean you cannot turn off EDGE, or the button to do so isn't available? If this statement is talking about BossPref's EDGE flipswitch button, you can simply turn off EDGE by entering incorrent details in the "Network" section, that should stop it from using any EDGE network you've subscribed to.
If this means that I cannot turn off EDGE, then screw that, I'm holding it off. I dont want another episode of crazy phone bills to happen again.
stringfellow
Jul 20 2008, 04:47 PM
QUOTE(psyeo @ Jul 20 2008, 04:38 PM) Woot, just jailbroke my iPhone 3g, yeah  gonna try upgrading/jailbreak my ipodtouch to 2.0 firmware later  WOW! Respect!  Even I dont have the courage to do. Everything works? Call in , call out, text, 3G, Wifi? Feed us some impressions, bro. This post has been edited by stringfellow: Jul 20 2008, 04:51 PM
stringfellow
Jul 20 2008, 05:01 PM
QUOTE(frozzbyte @ Jul 20 2008, 04:52 PM) @stringfellow Aik ... u have the latest pwnage tool with u and don't dare to take the plunge?  BTW ... thinking about it again, why do u need to jailbreak now since its already activated and unlocked. Not that there's lots of app in cydia to begin with. The pwnage tool is for Sevn, I'm just here as a spectator in a surgical theater. Too bad the surgery cancelled, kena beli the Firmware 2.0, since his is an iPod Touch. I'm keeping the 3G pristine and untouched. The EDGE however, is trembling under her skirt, to see if I'm gonna update her to her 2.0 outfit, or let her keep her 1.1.4 dress.
stringfellow
Jul 20 2008, 05:15 PM
QUOTE(frozzbyte @ Jul 20 2008, 05:08 PM) Better keep the lady in her 1.1.4 outfit for now if u have apps in there that are useful. Upgrading to 2.0 now would be a waste since u already have a FW2.0 (3G sumore) iPhone. Betul tak? Young Spock says your logic is sound. This post has been edited by stringfellow: Jul 20 2008, 05:22 PM
stringfellow
Jul 20 2008, 11:47 PM
For those having difficulty accessing AppStore, this may be the reason. Everytime you get something from AppStore on your iPhone, it will ask you to log into your iTunes account. All apps, free or purchased, are tied to your iTunes account. Having jailbroken and activating it not through iTunes, means that you either have not created an iTunes account to tie up with the AppStore on your iPhone, and/or not used your already made iTunes account to unlock it. Remember, unlocking on Pwnage does not register as an official unlock, thus not tying it up with iTunes account, and therefore by extension of that ,the Appstore on your iPhone.
Once you've created an iTunes account and tie it to your iPhone, the Wifi iTunes store and Appstore on your iPhone will be able to access them.
stringfellow
Jul 21 2008, 12:06 AM
My MBA was sitting there idling while uploading stuff to MobileMe just now, but I'm not in KLCC anymore, so........
stringfellow
Jul 21 2008, 12:16 AM
Which will be never.  As how PJ folks cringe at the thought of coming down to KL, I dread going to PJ for the very same reason: Traffic Jam.
stringfellow
Jul 21 2008, 09:11 AM
Looking at Hackint0sh forum and the slew of threads reporting problems on the front page alone, makes me cringe of trying the unlock. Like the Joker said ."my balls have dropped off" yes, but at least my first wife is okay. » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « OT: The Dark Knight broke several records after its opening weekend. Biggest Opening Day Gross of USD67.8mil(beating Star Wars Episode III), Biggest Opening Weekend of USD155.3mil)beating Spider-Man 3), Widest Theater Release of 4,336 theaters(beating POTC:AWE). It is obliterating records left and right right now. To put this in perspective, TDK's opening day alone is MORE than opening weekend of some of the biggest summer blockbuster movies!  Congratulations Christopher Nolan, and the stellar casts, especially Heath Ledger's maniacal performance as The Joker! The best crime drama superhero movie I have ever seen! 
stringfellow
Jul 22 2008, 12:14 PM
If you like a game, buy it. If you feel that it is not rightfully priced, then maybe load it up and try it, and HAVE THE DECENCY of deleting it ,when after trying it, you dont like it. If you feel that after you have tried it and it gives you hours of enjoyment, why not give back what you get out of the game, back to the game developers? Give-and-take lah, dont just take only and dont give back.
stringfellow
Jul 22 2008, 04:15 PM
Which is why it is wise to wait. Do you see the regulars rush into these? Those custom firmwares are cooked based on the dependancies of the iPhone in which it was cooked from, what happen if it is severely different than yours? Why are risking the life of your iPhone just for a handful of Cydia apps and free AppStore apps?
And then later come in here and say the iPhone with 2.0 lags, and starts b****ing. Because of the nature of your upgrade using someone else's firmware, this may well be the reason it is running buggily. Patience, sabar. What is there in 2.0 that is gets you so excited so much, that you are willing to risk the life of your iPhone?
stringfellow
Jul 22 2008, 04:36 PM
Yes, patience. I say all this because I care about you, and what you do to your iPhone. If i dont give a damn, I'd just leave you to do it all and watch you mess it up till point of bricking. Sabar.
If you must do it, borrow a friend's Mac. Do it properly or dont do it at all.