AMD/ATi HD 4000 Series Discussion V3, Thread stays on V3 till October.Read 1st

ben_panced
post Jul 23 2008, 02:15 AM

PC and MotorBicycle Enthusiast
962 posts

QUOTE(danieljoey @ Jul 23 2008, 02:02 AM)
I will wait for PowerColor ZeroTherm
better buy now, there's no point in waiting tongue.gif
btw i just ordered another 4850, cant wait to test 4850 cf performance laugh.gif
ben_panced
post Jul 23 2008, 10:59 AM

962 posts

QUOTE(Archaven @ Jul 23 2008, 10:53 AM)
DirectX 11? Geez.. Micro$oft sure knows how to squeeze $$ only. I guess the DirectX 10 has not been maturize yet as not many PC games on DX10 yet.
no la, m$ doesnt get any muney when developer make dx11 games on their windows OS
ben_panced
post Jul 27 2008, 05:50 PM

962 posts

just want to share the temps of both my 4850 on this hot sunday evening sweat.gif

this is my gigabyte 4850 with stock hsf temp sweat.gif

while this is my gecube 4850 with s1 + 12cm 1800 rpm fan thumbup.gif

btw im waiting for my gigabyte v-power gpu hsf to arrive brows.gif icon_idea.gif

This post has been edited by ben_panced: Jul 27 2008, 05:50 PM
ben_panced
post Jul 30 2008, 12:32 PM

962 posts

QUOTE(D-Zire @ Jul 30 2008, 10:51 AM)
oh...sorry...didnt really know what u were saying...now i got it.... smile.gif
i wonder how do u use RBE? load in the bios and edit from there?
1st u got the dump the bios image by using gpu-z or ati winflash, then edit the bios using RBE and then flashback the modified bios using ATi winflash
ben_panced
post Aug 17 2008, 11:21 PM

962 posts

QUOTE(darude87 @ Aug 17 2008, 11:00 PM)
but 3870 is 256bit while 4670 is 128bit wor?
yup, but why bother with 4670 when 4850 is very cheap nowadays with performance on par with 98gtx+
ben_panced
post Aug 20 2008, 06:03 AM

962 posts

just wanna share the pics my 4850s with gigabyte v-power hsf, i bought it on a cheap for rm80 each only brows.gif icon_idea.gif ..

both of my cards idle at 40+ while never exceed 60c at load icon_idea.gif

This post has been edited by ben_panced: Aug 20 2008, 06:04 AM
ben_panced
post Aug 30 2008, 12:10 PM

962 posts

from the looks of it i think the card is faulty, the best thing to do is try to rma it or better yet try to get 1 to 1 exchange from the shop u bought the card from, and the 4850 gpu vrm mosfets arent that hot so running it naked is safe unlike 4870
ben_panced
post Aug 30 2008, 04:33 PM

962 posts

QUOTE(Lacus @ Aug 30 2008, 04:25 PM)
from the pictures..his card might b faulty...since it has those weird artifacts appearing...
yup usually artifact = faulty card, so the distro should let 1 to 1 exchange since the card is new AND FAULTY sweat.gif doh.gif
ben_panced
post Aug 31 2008, 12:15 AM

962 posts

QUOTE(Kytz @ Aug 31 2008, 12:04 AM)
not sure bout that, never had a sidepanel with fan
thought it might be up to the user, but i stand corrected
anyways if you try putting your hand near the 4850's fan you'll find it quite warm so even an out-take would help temps by sucking out the hot air
but then again, if u think about it carefully, the air that's supposed to go up to ur cpu hsf is sucked out via the sidepanel fan..
and other thing is that dust will accumulate near ur front intake fan becoz the air pressure inside ur case is much2x lower than outside
ben_panced
post Aug 31 2008, 02:49 AM

962 posts

QUOTE(desmond1310 @ Aug 31 2008, 02:42 AM)
An update regarding my Gainward 4850 GS, well not exactly about the card.

I switched from Gainward 4850 GS to a Geforce 8600GT 1GB DDR2. Installed the driver and ran 3DMark06. I did this to clarify the problems that maybe due to other hardware in my PC.

3DMark06 ran smoothly with ZERO problemsrclxm9.gif This means that my hardware is still working good.

Crysis and DMC4 also ran fine.

Will have an update on my Gainward 4850 GS later today on a different PC.
yup test ur 4850 on a different pc to confirm ur prob, but i still think that card is faulty
ben_panced
post Sep 1 2008, 01:09 AM

962 posts

QUOTE(desmond1310 @ Sep 1 2008, 01:01 AM)
Thanks Lacus. biggrin.gif I know.
confirm faulty card, btw u're very unlucky sweat.gif , i had a friend of mine who bought a brand new gigabyte odin pro psu only to find that it was faulty doh.gif
ben_panced
post Sep 1 2008, 03:00 PM

962 posts

QUOTE(ivanchin99 @ Sep 1 2008, 02:02 PM)
Is powerplay working for anyone with an overclocked beyond 700core 4850?
just modify ur bios and set the idle vgpu to 1v and gpu/mem clock to 150/500 using rbe
ben_panced
post Sep 1 2008, 03:19 PM

962 posts

QUOTE(ivanchin99 @ Sep 1 2008, 03:03 PM)
modifying bios - always a chance of bricking your card beyond reflashing back to ori bios = warranty void

plus withmodded bios, wont work with catalyst 8.8 and potentially future version of catalyst as well
eh modded bios dun work with new catalyst 8.8?
weird la shocking.gif
ben_panced
post Sep 1 2008, 03:27 PM

962 posts

QUOTE(kernah @ Sep 1 2008, 03:23 PM)
wat software to use to overclock ati card better?
use ccc or u can try the gainward expertool, but according to my experience, with the stock vgpu, u cant oc ur core to 700mhz stable
ben_panced
post Sep 1 2008, 03:57 PM

962 posts

QUOTE(raymones89 @ Sep 1 2008, 03:50 PM)
It seems like i dont have to 6-pin psu for the hd4850, currently im using a 450W psu. How can i solve this problem? Is there any cable for me to fix to the 4 pin or what?

i found out that hd4850 needs a 450W psu.. oh crap..
usually the molex to 6pin pice power converter is given when u buy 4850
ben_panced
post Sep 1 2008, 06:36 PM

962 posts

QUOTE(ben3003 @ Sep 1 2008, 06:27 PM)
hey hey, 4870 died becos of the VRM overheat, 4850 use different type of VRM or we called analog one which generate far less heat than 4870  digital VRM. So they didnt put any shit and u can check the VRM area on the thermal camera is so high in temp.
yup 100% agreed furthermore the default vgpu for 4870 is 1.36v while 4850 is around 1.1v <- ive checked both bios so further stress is given upon the 4870 gpu vrm compared to 4850
ben_panced
post Sep 4 2008, 03:54 AM

962 posts

QUOTE(Gamer @ Sep 4 2008, 03:20 AM)
since you said "due to that the card does not come with ram sinks" why don't you stick the heatsink and test it up. so that you can share to others users too.
no la that's not the case, look even the asus 4850 top with the glaciator also dun have ramsinks installed
ben_panced
post Sep 7 2008, 11:05 PM

962 posts

QUOTE(X.E.D @ Sep 7 2008, 07:49 PM)
For ~RM300, the HD 4670 sure "Saiful"s the 9500GT, and then some.

2 4670s, at RM600, are a force to be reckoned with.
4850 better brows.gif
ben_panced
post Sep 8 2008, 06:16 PM

962 posts

QUOTE(SlayerXT @ Sep 8 2008, 12:52 PM)
Has anyone try mixing 4870 for graphics and nvidia graphics for Physx? Only read from Hardspell but dunno real experiences yet from forum members.
u try first la, then report to us, if successfull ull be the first one in lyn to do so brows.gif mixing radeon and geforce for physix

ben_panced
post Sep 8 2008, 07:06 PM

962 posts

is ur 4850 reference or non reference?

0.0512sec    0.77    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 11:17 PM