AMD/ATi HD 4000 Series Discussion V3, Thread stays on V3 till October.Read 1st

Kytz
post Jul 19 2008, 10:03 PM

572 posts

any news on when a 1gb version will be out?
Kytz
post Jul 20 2008, 03:40 PM

572 posts

has asus launched 1gb 4850 already?
pc zone lists them in their pricelist, pricing is unavailable though
anyone bother to check? laugh.gif
Kytz
post Jul 20 2008, 04:06 PM

572 posts

QUOTE(Archaven @ Jul 20 2008, 03:42 PM)
Are you sure? I thought requirement for HD4850 only 450W? Em actually what happen if i don't change the PSU? I'll get artifacts or something? Also, anyway to check my PCIe is v1.0 or v2.0? I check my mobo website on the specific model but it didn't mention PCIe 2.0 or 1.0 just PCI Express X16 slot.
most probably your com will reboot when your psu cant handle the load
imo your psu might only be able to support 4850, maybe a 4870 but i doubt 4850x2 can be supported
----------Edit------------
just checked on the ati certified list
if your psu model is FMA II DXX (EG465P-VE)
its able to support 4870 and 4850

This post has been edited by Kytz: Jul 20 2008, 04:13 PM
Kytz
post Jul 27 2008, 05:23 PM

572 posts

QUOTE(rlhc17 @ Jul 27 2008, 05:13 PM)
ATI HD4850 fitted with Xigmatek H.D.T.Battle-Axe VD964

looks nice... drool.gif
what temperatures are you getting?
Kytz
post Aug 4 2008, 08:04 PM

572 posts

finally some updates on non ref cooler for ati 4800 drool.gif
been waiting so long for them, hope they come out soon
Kytz
post Aug 7 2008, 06:12 PM

572 posts

anyone knows specs of the IceQ 4 HD4850?
whether it uses reference PCB with 2 power phase design,
full copper cooler or just copper heatpipes with aluminium cooler?

This post has been edited by Kytz: Aug 7 2008, 06:12 PM
Kytz
post Aug 8 2008, 11:18 AM

572 posts

from what i've read
heat dissipation doesnt depend on the material
heat transfer from the chip to the heatsink is different though,copper definitely wins there
but aluminium is definitely lighter,cheaper and easier to make
Kytz
post Aug 9 2008, 04:12 PM

572 posts

waiting for someone to compare the HIS and Gainward cards
especially about the PCB power design of the cards, Gainward is 3 phase compared to the reference 2 phase
but i cant seem to find any info about the HIS card
and would be interesting to see which can cool better and clock higher since both same price point
Kytz
post Aug 19 2008, 05:31 PM

572 posts

QUOTE(Kaellis @ Aug 19 2008, 04:48 PM)
Got my Gainward 4850GS today flex.gif

not yet gaming or oc coz windows got problem now sweat.gif

cooling has no contact with the ram  sweat.gif
got mine as well,just installed it biggrin.gif
Kytz
post Aug 23 2008, 12:59 PM

572 posts

QUOTE(NetRaid @ Aug 23 2008, 03:28 AM)
BTW, to all Gainward 4850 Golden Sample owners, we will have something special for you soon, to further improve the performance & durability of your card. Please wait for the announcement here.  icon_idea.gif
special oc-ing software? laugh.gif
Kytz
post Aug 24 2008, 12:04 AM

572 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Aug 23 2008, 11:11 PM)
Finally started installing some real games and guess what, my system cannot play GRID nor Crysis! Both got artifacts all over T_T. Using Gainward 4850 GS, now I'm in the same boat as Kaellis.

Any other Gainward 4850 Golden Sample users here?
too bad i don't have GRID or Crysis, need to get them before i can test
but i can play PES2008 alright
Kytz
post Aug 29 2008, 08:39 PM

572 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Aug 29 2008, 08:10 PM)
Hmm, your 4850 GS idles at 55c with 55% fan speed? It does seems a bit high though. Mine's 42c now (no aircond) running at 55% fan speed.

Might be your case's airflow or something.

ps. why don't just leave at 55% instead of going dynamic? 55% is pretty much considered silent... the stock intel CPU fan makes much more noise during gaming =/
mine does 53C idle at 55%....but i do have a cpu cooler just 2 slots away on top and a pci card 2 slots below..
maybe the pci card is blocking the hot air
Kytz
post Aug 29 2008, 08:43 PM

572 posts

my sidepanel has no fan to blow at it, so probably that's why
using the older centurion case
Kytz
post Aug 29 2008, 10:54 PM

572 posts

QUOTE(zhen^wei @ Aug 29 2008, 10:03 PM)
then alot of dust lor..
as long as the heat is not over 80C then safe lor..
yea im not too worried about the heat..in fact i'm trying to cut down on the noise my system makes
although i will switch the pci card to a lower slot just to see if the temp drops laugh.gif
Kytz
post Aug 31 2008, 12:04 AM

572 posts

QUOTE(TomatomanzSeedlezz @ Aug 30 2008, 11:43 PM)
Err.. isnt sidepanel's fan its air-outtake.. not intake...?... sweat.gif

Cheers  whistling.gif
not sure bout that, never had a sidepanel with fan
thought it might be up to the user, but i stand corrected
anyways if you try putting your hand near the 4850's fan you'll find it quite warm so even an out-take would help temps by sucking out the hot air
Kytz
post Aug 31 2008, 04:14 PM

572 posts

QUOTE(TomatomanzSeedlezz @ Aug 31 2008, 03:58 PM)
Yea, it depends on the user's preference at times..

But if not mistaken, by default its "air-intake", but weirdly theres a shop dude selling casings saying that it supposed to bring hot air out...  rclxub.gif

Oops.. off topic pulak..  whistling.gif

Earlier on someone posted that it lower the 2nd temperature rite?...

Anyways, my friend tested temps on his Gainward 4870 with the 8cm fan on top of it (behind the core)..

And guess what... "NO DIFFERENCE!", it didn't lower the 2nd temperature... lmao...  doh.gif

Anyone else tried the casefan-placed-on-top-of-4xxx series method?..  unsure.gif

Cheers rclxub.gif
i think intake will be better if there is an outlet at the top as well, but really off-topic already tongue.gif
bout the fan on the 4800 series, did he put on top of cooler or on top of the pcb?
Kytz
post Aug 31 2008, 05:57 PM

572 posts

QUOTE(TomatomanzSeedlezz @ Aug 31 2008, 04:36 PM)
On top of the pcb, where the retention frame for the cooler placed on.

Errmm.. btw, can anyone repost the url abt a forum showing this guy does a simple mod whereby he just placed his 8cm fan on top of his card?.. i forgotten which post in here liaoz.. lol

Cheers tongue.gif
yea that won't help the cooling
in fact my cpu cooler is right on top with a very high cfm(and noise) fan blowing, but my 4850 temps are still not great
but if its on the cooler side it might help because it sucks/blows the hot air away

Kytz
post Sep 2 2008, 12:26 AM

572 posts

QUOTE(raymones89 @ Sep 1 2008, 11:45 PM)
anyone bought gainward 4850 GS? is it fine overall? any problems when playing new high performance game?
yup bought it
so far no problem running games like PES2008 and DMC4 thumbup.gif

0.0460sec    0.27    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 04:00 AM