Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
RSS feedBump TopicReply to this topicStart new topicStart Poll

Outline · [ Standard ] · Linear+

> Webpage takes too long to load, Virus? (Virus/Malware)

sense_less143
post Jul 17 2008, 09:18 PM


Getting Started
**
Group: Junior Member
Posts: 283

Joined: Jun 2007


Like title says, my webpages takes way too long to load. Sometimes it take like an hour just to open Yahoo.

I have Kapersky AntiVirus, and I get constant updates and scans regularly, but it doesn't seem to work. Any idea what caused this and how to fix it?

Thanks in advance!
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
ckae76
post Jul 17 2008, 09:19 PM


Getting Started
**
Group: Junior Member
Posts: 110

Joined: Jul 2008
From: ♥B'worth♥Penang♥


looks like problem with streamyx...
wat about other website??
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
TristanX
post Jul 17 2008, 09:20 PM


Where is my stars?
Group Icon
Group: Elite
Posts: 11,223

Joined: Nov 2004
From: Setapak, Kuala Lumpur


Since when it is happening? Today? Streamyx is known for throttling certain IPs.
User is online!Profile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
sense_less143
post Jul 17 2008, 09:25 PM


Getting Started
**
Group: Junior Member
Posts: 283

Joined: Jun 2007


Happen maybe a week ago? Actually at home we use wireless, in total maybe got 4-5 seperate computer/laptops. All other computer working fine, just my laptop only.


User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
TristanX
post Jul 17 2008, 09:29 PM


Where is my stars?
Group Icon
Group: Elite
Posts: 11,223

Joined: Nov 2004
From: Setapak, Kuala Lumpur


If you are sharing a single internet connection, there is a possibility that one of the computers in your network is downloading things.
User is online!Profile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
beyond_99
post Jul 17 2008, 09:29 PM


Regular
******
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 1,034

Joined: Feb 2008
Can u change ur laptop from wireless to cable?

User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
howszat
post Jul 17 2008, 10:58 PM


Regular
******
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 1,570

Joined: Sep 2007
I had something similar recently. Some but not all pages take a long time to load.

After looking around, I found my DNS was set to obtain DNS server automatically. I changed it to use the DNS entered manually and that fixed my problem.

I'm pretty sure it was set to manual previously, I have no idea what caused it to become automatic.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
francischuahcw
post Jul 17 2008, 11:54 PM


Retired. Do Not Disturb
*******
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 2,152

Joined: Feb 2006
QUOTE(howszat @ Jul 17 2008, 10:58 PM)
I had something similar recently. Some but not all pages take a long time to load.

After looking around, I found my DNS was set to obtain DNS server automatically. I changed it to use the DNS entered manually and that fixed my problem.

I'm pretty sure it was set to manual previously, I have no idea what caused it to become automatic.
*
TS can try manually config ip and dns..see whether this problem still persist or not..
or else..it would be the browser problem..try install additional browser like firefox or opera..
compare the diffrence and you can know wat is the problem
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
abubin
post Jul 18 2008, 12:22 AM


Look at all my stars!!
*******
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 6,702

Joined: Jan 2003



i think your friends throttling your connection because you always downloading too much and spoils their gaming sessions.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
sense_less143
post Jul 19 2008, 07:36 PM


Getting Started
**
Group: Junior Member
Posts: 283

Joined: Jun 2007


Sorry for late update. Since now I cannot go online with laptop (takes too long), its hard to get updated to LYN.

howszat-> what's DNS?

francischuahcw-> I use firefox..
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
WebWalker
post Jul 19 2008, 09:03 PM


Computer Geek
*******
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 9,875

Joined: May 2005
From: Puchong, Selangor



Now streamyx is having problem now !!

Check here:-
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?act=ST&f...0#entry18677096
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
howszat
post Jul 19 2008, 09:30 PM


Regular
******
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 1,570

Joined: Sep 2007
To check your DNS:

Start / Settings / Control Panel / Network Connections / Local Area Connections.

Properties, highlight Internet Protocol / Properties / Click Use the following DNS and type in:

202.188.0.132
202.188.1.4

Note position of the dots.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

Bump TopicReply to this topicTopic OptionsStart new topic
 

Switch to:
| Lo-Fi Version
0.0471sec    2.98    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th April 2014 - 01:43 PM