QUOTE(bidfordun @ Jul 18 2008, 06:39 PM)
yeah!long live stringfellow
My Journey for iPhone 3G/Aifontriji, Unboxing & GPS video clip Post #1!
Jul 18 2008, 06:54 PM
1,273 posts Joined: Apr 2008 From: cheras,kl |
Jul 18 2008, 06:58 PM
11,305 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Nope. Everyone thinks for themselves, hence what we call the "Me First" attitude Malaysians always hold to. As long as I got myself out of trouble first, why should I care about you?
A simple example is when I ate at the food court in KLCC just now. Lunch hour, so very crowded. What do you see? Lots of tables occupied by singles or couples, where they can fit up to 4. Some ask if they can share table, because crowded, but one nasty look from some of them, gave them the answer. Why not just sit and have your lunch in table counters where you can still eat and not waste table space? Let those with parties of 4 use them tables. You can still stare and hold your GF/fiancee/wife hand if you want, but you also give other people a chance to have their meal. What happens after that? After eat, simply toss dirty napkins on table, and leave trays and dirty plates. If you could just try and clean up after yourself and pick up your lunch plantes and trays and leave them at the cleaner's stations, you can easily leave the table ready for use for the next people who are already waiting standing around waiting to sit to have their meal. Dont get me start talking about that last fuel price hike. Only the very idiotic and stupid would line up at petrol stations to pump their tank full, that could merely last a day or so of daily travels. After that , you pay the hiked price also, right? So what is the bloody fcuking difference!? Be considerate lah, not this "Me First" attitude. "Me first" get this table, you dont sit here. "Me first" eat already, you want this table, you clean up lah. This is just the tip of the iceberg on why I feel that no matter how tall the buildings Malaysian builds, but if their attitude remains the same, you will forever be considered third-world. And also why I'm most confortable with my time while I'm in the States, there will be times where there would be arseholes and all, but the majority of the general public have the public decency and fortitude to think about their other fellow citizens. Not this "Me first" crap. This post has been edited by stringfellow: Jul 18 2008, 07:00 PM |
Jul 18 2008, 07:08 PM
33 posts Joined: Apr 2006 |
how string afford the iPhone? use public transport and safe fuel.....
Jul 18 2008, 07:21 PM
You should see my car odometer. Work + not driving into KL = almost brand new car!
We think realistically and common sense lah. Sometime the most effective and ideal solution requires you opening up your mind to other options. Most Malaysians I see only wants comfort and things easy for themselves, not caring about the troubles of others. Again , that "as long as it makes things easy for me, I don't care about others" attitude. If I think this way, you'll never ever see a Tumpang thread, why should I trouble myself for complete strangers? I see this Tumpang thing as my way of widening my acquaintances. You need my help now, who knows if I need your help later? |
Jul 18 2008, 07:35 PM
221 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
QUOTE(stringfellow @ Jul 18 2008, 07:21 PM) You should see my car odometer. Work + not driving into KL = almost brand new car! BRAVO.... We think realistically and common sense lah. Sometime the most effective and ideal solution requires you opening up your mind to other options. Most Malaysians I see only wants comfort and things easy for themselves, not caring about the troubles of others. Again , that "as long as it makes things easy for me, I don't care about others" attitude. If I think this way, you'll never ever see a Tumpang thread, why should I trouble myself for complete strangers? I see this Tumpang thing as my way of widening my acquaintances. You need my help now, who knows if I need your help later? I totally agree to this... Get to know ppl around you and help the environment... The company I worked for is also going into "Save the environment" plan... I guess that's what they call corporate responsibility... Getting acquaintance is good... coz (personal thoughts) the older you get, the harder it is for you to get to know more ppl... |
Jul 18 2008, 08:37 PM
1,040 posts Joined: Oct 2004 From: the other side |
Jul 18 2008, 09:18 PM
87 posts Joined: Oct 2007 |
Hi String,
Would like to ask you some questions.. 1. In your humble opinion is it worth upgrading to 3G if the firmware is the same with the 1st gen iPhone? 2. Whats the best feature so far for the 3G? Thanks |
Jul 18 2008, 09:35 PM
419 posts Joined: Jul 2006 From: PJ, Selangor |
QUOTE(stringfellow @ Jul 18 2008, 07:21 PM) If I think this way, you'll never ever see a Tumpang thread, why should I trouble myself for complete strangers? I see this Tumpang thing as my way of widening my acquaintances. You need my help now, who knows if I need your help later? although i never tumpang anything & i don't know you all that much, from what i know of you, i can gather that you're indeed a very nice guy. i applaud your attitude & generosity. it's a lot of work & hassle to do any 'tumpang threads' & anyone that can pull it off with such grace & expecting not much in return, deserves my respect. you're a ROCK STAR, stringfellow. keep on being rad haha a little OT, go on with iphone 3g talk. |
Jul 18 2008, 10:42 PM
125 posts Joined: Jan 2006 |
Good stuff you shared here, string... couple of questions.
a) Can the 1st gen Iphone earphone (with mic) use with 3G? I'd invested into Griffin earphone, hope to use on 3G in time to come b) What about the case? I knew 3G is thicker than 1st gen, ever tried that? c) Battery life! I knew you'd answered before, but here's the extension of my question. 20% of battery remaining consist of texting, gps on, wifi on, low brightness, audio + surfing... that's like 12 hours of usage measured? Finally... yet to hear other countries with 3G iphone unlock like NZ, hope more to come. |
Jul 18 2008, 11:10 PM
QUOTE(irwan6179 @ Jul 18 2008, 08:37 PM) LOL... the first 2 beeps in the first 6 sec is really like cloverfield sound effect. plus with the shake of course No aliens, be it humanoid-size, or those the size of buildings were harmed in the making of this Youtube movie. Added on July 18, 2008, 11:17 pm QUOTE(nonama @ Jul 18 2008, 09:18 PM) Hi String, 1. I'm the wrong person to answer this, I'll definitely be biased towards 3G. Would like to ask you some questions.. 1. In your humble opinion is it worth upgrading to 3G if the firmware is the same with the 1st gen iPhone? 2. Whats the best feature so far for the 3G? Thanks 2. GPS and MobileMe. The location-aware based Apps will definitely change the way we communicate and social-network with our friends. MobileMe and Push contents for that immediate feel connectedness among work colleagues. The GPS is crucial update to the new model IMO. This post has been edited by stringfellow: Jul 18 2008, 11:17 PM |
Jul 18 2008, 11:24 PM
976 posts Joined: May 2008 From: My Chair |
I still would like to see the plastic back's durability .. does it stand scratches or smudges?
Software wise i am not concern, cause i already know it will be supreme .. I am just interested on the outlook feel and the durability .. I've drop my 1st gen twice (*ouch*) and it rolls like crap and still only minor scratches .. cause it's alluminium .. And comment on the overrall feel string? |
Jul 18 2008, 11:43 PM
QUOTE(sub7 @ Jul 18 2008, 10:42 PM) Good stuff you shared here, string... couple of questions. a) My V-Moda Vibe Duo works, so I'd imagine yours would work as well. a) Can the 1st gen Iphone earphone (with mic) use with 3G? I'd invested into Griffin earphone, hope to use on 3G in time to come b) What about the case? I knew 3G is thicker than 1st gen, ever tried that? c) Battery life! I knew you'd answered before, but here's the extension of my question. 20% of battery remaining consist of texting, gps on, wifi on, low brightness, audio + surfing... that's like 12 hours of usage measured? Finally... yet to hear other countries with 3G iphone unlock like NZ, hope more to come. b) I have an old clear case, doesn't fit. So does the inCase leather holster. I'm not gonna risk scratching it shoving it into tight spaces. I'm waiting to see if u should invest in another Countour iSee clear case, I'm a big fan of clear cases. c) I obviously couldn't be using it 24/7 but it ran it pretty much to the ground with listening to songs, while surfing. Wifi always on, and with Scrabble and Enigmo onboard, I play them when I'm free. Typical phone call patterns and text , although things do get heavy when in the wee hours ofvthe morning when I call Swindon(UK) and Newport(US), for better rates. I also am heavily promoting Disney vacationing to my buddies, so I always have it handy to keep "Season of Disney" TV series specials videos to make my case. GPS occasionally for the fun of it. Games, especially Scrabble, when I'm bored. And still have that 20% left when I reach home at the end of the day. Added on July 18, 2008, 11:49 pm QUOTE(Fighteden @ Jul 18 2008, 11:24 PM) I still would like to see the plastic back's durability .. does it stand scratches or smudges? Overall feel? One word: Classy. Software wise i am not concern, cause i already know it will be supreme .. I am just interested on the outlook feel and the durability .. I've drop my 1st gen twice (*ouch*) and it rolls like crap and still only minor scratches .. cause it's alluminium .. And comment on the overrall feel string? It's not plastic, it's more like layered polycarbonate with extra shine. Pictures does not do justice. I don't like black to the very fact that shiny surface now shows clear fingerprints now. If you've handled the new PSP Slim, the black looks like that. The material is like that shiny gloss coat you see on PS3. This post has been edited by stringfellow: Jul 18 2008, 11:49 PM |
Jul 19 2008, 01:58 AM
4,465 posts Joined: Dec 2006 From: Theatre of Dreams |
QUOTE(stringfellow @ Jul 18 2008, 06:58 PM) Nope. Everyone thinks for themselves, hence what we call the "Me First" attitude Malaysians always hold to. As long as I got myself out of trouble first, why should I care about you? hm... i am starting to envy mr string.. u r nice man.. A simple example is when I ate at the food court in KLCC just now. Lunch hour, so very crowded. What do you see? Lots of tables occupied by singles or couples, where they can fit up to 4. Some ask if they can share table, because crowded, but one nasty look from some of them, gave them the answer. Why not just sit and have your lunch in table counters where you can still eat and not waste table space? Let those with parties of 4 use them tables. You can still stare and hold your GF/fiancee/wife hand if you want, but you also give other people a chance to have their meal. What happens after that? After eat, simply toss dirty napkins on table, and leave trays and dirty plates. If you could just try and clean up after yourself and pick up your lunch plantes and trays and leave them at the cleaner's stations, you can easily leave the table ready for use for the next people who are already waiting standing around waiting to sit to have their meal. Dont get me start talking about that last fuel price hike. Only the very idiotic and stupid would line up at petrol stations to pump their tank full, that could merely last a day or so of daily travels. After that , you pay the hiked price also, right? So what is the bloody fcuking difference!? Be considerate lah, not this "Me First" attitude. "Me first" get this table, you dont sit here. "Me first" eat already, you want this table, you clean up lah. This is just the tip of the iceberg on why I feel that no matter how tall the buildings Malaysian builds, but if their attitude remains the same, you will forever be considered third-world. And also why I'm most confortable with my time while I'm in the States, there will be times where there would be arseholes and all, but the majority of the general public have the public decency and fortitude to think about their other fellow citizens. Not this "Me first" crap. |
Jul 19 2008, 03:44 AM
140 posts Joined: May 2008 From: KeY EL |
.cant wait to buy that.... so string ur iphone got a full mark 100% p/s:u just pass my hometown in ur video...huhuhu...... This post has been edited by Esqandare: Jul 19 2008, 03:49 AM |
Jul 19 2008, 08:24 AM
75 posts Joined: Oct 2006 From: Kuala Lumpur |
QUOTE Oiiii, apa bikin skarang? LOL the pic-snapping and MBA-whoring did brings back memories, you laaa ask me to model the damn thing. Buat malu only! HAHAHA i am at taylors lar..ADP.. but i will be passinng by klcc most of them heading back haha finnaly i got my ipod touch jailbroken lol.. damm long rite. oh haha i remembers about MBA ha .. hahaha it was sooo funny man wit all the picture talkin... i just watched Dark Knight yesterday.. man i felt darn good it really deserves a nomination.. |
Jul 19 2008, 10:40 AM
There is a glimmer of hope now for those who waited for a local Malaysian iPhones. Read my post here about the info I gathered from a Maxis midlevel. It may come true, it may not, so if you have to celebrate now, celebrate with those thoughts in mind, be cautiously optimistic. I am not responsible for destroyed hopes and pinings should this not happening.
Jul 19 2008, 01:22 PM
Okay, I've got a closer look at the workings of GPS while I was on the way here. Here are my observations.
Your position is fairly accurate if you leave the map at default . Once you start zooming in, the GPS lock now requires further accuracy readout, which in the end results in your blue blip skewing out of the marked road you're travelling. Perhaps the updating was not fast enough, resulting and a more rougher calculations, which in turn made the blue blip travel on the sidewalk, instead of on the road, but it was not detrimental enough to warrant any worries. That level of accuracy, which in this means, how much you zoomed in, at that level is meant for pedestrian mode, when you're walking. And since when you're walking, you wont be walking at the rate you're driving, the positional acquisition and triangulation should be more accurate. This was tested and proven yesterday when I walked around the KLCC park. Also, dont zoom too much. If you take a look at the video I made on the GPS, at one point the map loses alldata, and goes blank. This is because I double-tapped it too many times, resulting in zooming too much, and GoogleMap on the iPhone does not have the data at that level of accuracy. Street-level accuracy, such as the ones in GoogleEarth, is not present in GoogleMap on iPhone. Dont be mistaken, the Hybrid mode is more tha able to provide you with the required navigation you need, just dont expect GoogleEarth fancy workings here. And Malaysia's map, specifically around KL is decent at best. I tried routing from the current position I was and route to KLCC, GoogleMap simply blurts out that there are no roads to where I want to go. Guess the KLCC drop pin was located at the fountain in the park, and nobody can drive to that exact position. You can easily alleviate this by dropping a pin at the road infront of KLCC and route there, but that involves further zooming and swiping to get to the wanted position. |
Jul 19 2008, 10:28 PM
1,228 posts Joined: Nov 2006 From: Moscow,Russia and Klang,Selangor |
LoL...today i went into a CSL shop and saw this DS 100...
A total iphone copy...with all same icons etc... Look exactly like an iphone....but no 3G and WiFi..haha The only thing i like about the phone is the dual sim function.. |
Jul 20 2008, 11:24 AM
380 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Hi stringFellow,
Just wonder Is it ok if we have iTunes Account US (without valid address) and buy applications/music/etc using credit card? This post has been edited by maks_pain: Jul 20 2008, 11:25 AM |
Jul 20 2008, 11:32 AM
Malaysian credit cards are not accepted on US iTunes, it will fail the credit card check process. You need to use iTunes Gift cards to top up your credir.
| Change to: | 0.0296sec
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 11:38 AM |