Yeahz's Journal @ Strength Training & Swimming, BADASS!

pizzaboy
post Jul 15 2008, 10:00 AM

9,495 posts

QUOTE(Sp00kY @ Jul 15 2008, 09:12 AM)
I would recommend a split body workout.
why?
pizzaboy
post Jul 15 2008, 10:18 AM

9,495 posts

yeah_guyz, you're a beginner I assume?

Go and train hard like hell. Just train like mad, and keep training past the muscular pain. Stop believing in overtraining and god knows what when you're a beginner. It doesn't happen so easily. If you swim, I assume your GPP is already reasonably good.

Don't worry so much about overtraining, and all the rest. Just makan, tidur, train, swim. It's not that easy to overtrain.
pizzaboy
post Jul 15 2008, 12:03 PM

9,495 posts

General physical preparedness. It refers to your ability to do physical tasks. Some people will low GPP find themselves tired and unable to perform their exercises explosively as they reach the later part of their training. It sort of like, stamina, endurance strength.

Many powerlifters and weightlifters will recommend that you do something to increase your GPP. Such as car push/pull, flipping a tire round and round and drag it about, doing Crossfit workouts (google if you don't understand what it means).

All these activities increase your cardiac strength and endurance abilities which will then translate to increase work capacity, which helps you involve more exercises in one session without getting tired too quickly. Yes ultimately you'll get tired, but the question is when? Within 15 minutes? Within 1 hour? 2 hours?

Ppl with higher GPP capacities are able to perform more tasks in a given amount of time. A beginner would struggle past a 45 minute heavy compound workout, but a higher level trainee would have no issues going past 1 hour of heavy training, then doing a little explosive finishing work. Eventually your GPP will increase and you'll be able to squeeze more explosive movements in a session.

And hey presto, a more powerful, strong, explosive athlete. Mind you though, this doesn't happen overnight, requires some real sweat and mental strength to push the limits.
pizzaboy
post Jul 23 2008, 09:51 AM

9,495 posts

QUOTE(Sp00kY @ Jul 23 2008, 09:18 AM)
Thanks Jib,

btw, can you elaborate more on "periodize"?
Besides, what are the difference between strength and muscle training?
Yeah I am new....
There was a course offered in Tennessee Tech University that had a whole semester touching on the concepts of periodization. It explained about the benefits of periodization compared to congjugate training, how it works and why it works, is it better in comparison to work on two things or just one at a time, how muscle fibers are connected and god knows what other schmalongey

Here I shall simplify the entire semester of reading that I still sometimes can't understand a thing of two.

Periodization - Simply doing one thing at a time.

Period 1:To increase your work capacity so you can endure the harsh trainings of weightlifting or strongman.
Period 2:To increase your muscle/hypertrophy via the participation of compound bodybuilding routines to hit a particular weight
Period 3:To increase strength via compound movements but in a differing rep range, % calculation
Period 4:To increase speed and explosiveness via more plyometric based training
Period 5:To peak, maximizing 1RM training if in weightlifting. Or peak in endurance/strength based training for strongman

Extra elaboration, PAY ME! Nah, you don't need to know anymore, other than that it's more for trainers and coaches to understand. After this things can get REALLY complex.

How the fcuk do I know all this!???? ArghH! I need to get a life.......
pizzaboy
post Jul 23 2008, 10:16 AM

9,495 posts

basically it means like, during one period, you train for strength, one period train for speed, then one period train for some mass...

one period lasts maybe 3-6 months like that.....train one thing at a time.
pizzaboy
post Jul 24 2008, 03:34 PM

9,495 posts

Have you ever thought of putting more variety in your training, since you're training at home? Perhaps a gas tank to do overhead squats, carrying the tank from A-B, pushing and pulling cars or hanging off the balcony and trying to pull yourself back up?

I used to do a few of those nonsense to push my training when I got bored and guess what, it worked miles better than all those dumbbells (i still have them 10KG dumbbells)
pizzaboy
post Aug 8 2008, 02:51 PM

9,495 posts

Let me put this in perspective.
Your car usually uses Esso. Today you don't have Esso, your next best choice, Shell.

Do you wait till you find an Esso while your car goes out of fuel and bust?

Same thing, your body needs protein to recover. Do you wait till you find a scoop of whey and then drink it down? Or do you take your next best thing, which in names of convenience, would most likely be, MILK.

Understand?
pizzaboy
post Aug 8 2008, 03:36 PM

9,495 posts

GARGHHHh!!!

1. Your body doesn't actually know when the hell you're done with your workout.

2. Optimally, you'll want to eat something the moment your muscles starts to break down and doesn't have enough oxygen and glucose anymore.

3. Some people will drink half-way through their workouts. What happens here? Your body starts to breakdown the proteins to be absorbed by the body. This consumes energy and plop! Halfway across the workout, you find yourself suddenly extremely sleepy.

Yes yes, tell me about the insulin spike and perfect timing for protein konek nonsense. Some people LOVE to overcomplicate things, but why? Eh they training for what? World bodybuilding championship ah?

4. Even Arnold doesn't have perfect nutrients. Good lord, rumors of him drinking beer and eating chicken, that's real! How'd I know? I don't....but I sure as hell do that sometimes when I'm out with my friends. Nothing also..

Optimally, you'd want, right after training, something high sugar, spike, drink some fast digesting protein, rest, eat your post workout meal, rest, drink casein protein, sleep.

How many of us can do that? We've a life, work, people around us. Aiyoyo, just drink something with protein and carbs and fats after you train, sudahlar.....milk is fine.

You want to start talking about glucose and protein combo, to ensure your body doesn't suddenly secrete hormones to keep fats? You're in for another 2 months of studying. Forget it...........don't overcomplicate things....especially people that are starting, you'll eventually lose motivation.

Learn, but if it's not plausible to practice, do the next best thing.

DwoinK!! *Okay, need 4rings to explain further*
pizzaboy
post Sep 4 2008, 10:24 AM

9,495 posts

Barbell Squat
1x5xOlympic bar
1x5x40kg
1x3x50kg
3x5x55kg

Barbell Benchpress
1x5xOlympic bar
3x5x32.5kg

Barbell Deadlift
1x5x40kg
3x5x60kg
As I would assume you're FAR from hitting a plateau yet, I think you should increase the weights on your deadlifts after each set. And I would reduce the reps to about 3 reps instead.
The purpose people use a 3x5 (usually for squats) with a standard weight is because they want to get the body conditioned and used to that weight so they can put small increments the next time.

You don't need to, you can just add 60,65,70KG's or so.
pizzaboy
post Mar 2 2009, 09:30 AM

9,495 posts

God how do you stomach chicken breast like that???
I've not taken chicken breast like that since forever

Pork's the new chicken baby!
pizzaboy
post Mar 30 2009, 01:26 PM

9,495 posts

Why do you have so many things about diet but ...it's like the training is "If you're lucky, we'll pop up" kinda thing?
pizzaboy
post Mar 30 2009, 01:31 PM

9,495 posts

OH IT POPPED OUT!
YAY!
pizzaboy
post Jul 4 2009, 07:07 PM