Credit Card Thread V4, Plastic Money @ World Access
tinkerbel
Jul 24 2008, 09:56 PM
Fanaddict!
@vin_ann, If ur gonna be sending the card back to UOB, just make sure U destroy the chip first - U wouldn't know how long it'll take the bank to de-activate the card. These are chances U don't want to take.
SUSDavid83
Jul 24 2008, 09:58 PM
For safety purpose, just cut through the chip. That's what the banker did when I cancelled my HSBC CC at the branch.
TSvin_ann
Jul 24 2008, 11:22 PM
 @Tinkerbel something for you to excite with. haha. im bet you have sms to register to join the contest right? btw, since the bank is sending another new VOX master card, i thinks i will just keep the card. see how later.
tinkerbel
Jul 24 2008, 11:25 PM
Fanaddict!
@vin_ann, I doubt I'm gonna be LUCKY enough to win that *frowns* I did however send in the SMS today [was writing my cheques to make payment ma] just for the 2x reward points.
The catch however is the need to swipe min 8x p/month; the min RM50 isn't an issue *grins*
zenquix
Jul 24 2008, 11:26 PM
Might want to use your DA Mastercard more. Since CIMB took over their focus is Mastercard.
tinkerbel
Jul 25 2008, 12:17 AM
Fanaddict!
@zenquix, Yes I'm beginning to utilise my DA MasterCard; but for petrol purchases onli *grins*
carbon14
Jul 25 2008, 05:19 AM

Hi all, Since this thread's title is credit cards will questions asked about debit cards will be answered? If so » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « Anyone used the Standard Chartered's Debit Mastercard before? 7% Rebate on petrol purchases up to RM100 rebate per month. Just asking for any comments from users. Thanks!
TeraPox
Jul 25 2008, 05:42 AM
QUOTE(vin_ann @ Jul 24 2008, 09:43 PM) my Master card which is come with my One Plat is not VOX... but it's the plain ugly colour card.  @David after swipe 6 times, i din use the card anymore. so want to cancel lol... anyways, im going to try with DA visa, and OCBC master card. see how...  jesus!!!... that card design...really........................plain.... *nvr see an UOB classic card b4.. thx for sharing... @tinkerbel this Dantehill is serving some fusion jap+korean+chinese food... taste not superb...but for 50% off...nutting much to complain... U fix the date ma... i will be there..................................................................
whoopa
Jul 25 2008, 06:43 AM
QUOTE(vin_ann @ Jul 24 2008, 04:54 PM) helo all, yesterday i faxed my UOB cancellation form for my UOB ugly Master card and just now i received call from UOB CC. he saying that, UOB ONE Platinum card Visa and Mastercard together only can enjoy so call "FREE FOR LIFE" (FLF) by swipe 6 times each year. if i cancel Master Card, meaning i can not enjoy FLF for my One Platinium Visa... Sigh... i feel like so pity on myself... suddenly pop up this kind of hidden rules... now he going to resend me a new Vox Master Card. Sigh.... i thinks i will start use DA, and stop using One Plat. coming soon will cancel both of my cards together... then they cant said anything more... now only u know ah ? lulz u kena con ka .. anyways me mau upgrade to gold also veli susah hahahaha . kesian me
SUSDavid83
Jul 25 2008, 07:37 AM
QUOTE(carbon14 @ Jul 25 2008, 05:19 AM) Hi all, Since this thread's title is credit cards will questions asked about debit cards will be answered? If so » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « Anyone used the Standard Chartered's Debit Mastercard before? 7% Rebate on petrol purchases up to RM100 rebate per month. Just asking for any comments from users. Thanks! It's better for you to ask in this thread: http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/457588
TSvin_ann
Jul 25 2008, 09:38 AM
QUOTE(whoopa @ Jul 25 2008, 06:43 AM) now only u know ah ? lulz u kena con ka .. anyways me mau upgrade to gold also veli susah hahahaha . kesian me  yes. i thought i can cancel one of the card. anyways, will be focus on DA. haha.
tinkerbel
Jul 25 2008, 10:28 AM
Fanaddict!
@whoopa, Y do U want a Gold card?! It really makes no difference lah; a card is a card is a card. Anyhow, just stick with ur existing bank; they'll definitely be sending u upgrades. @TeraPox, Not U come pick me, then send me home ah?!  If not good then don't want to go lah - can still go to Oriental mah.. if it's just the both of us, still considered 50% discount. Alternatively, we can go to Shangri-la - haven't U received ur Amex Plat yet?
cute_boboi
Jul 25 2008, 10:43 AM
QUOTE(vin_ann @ Jul 24 2008, 09:43 PM) my Master card which is come with my One Plat is not VOX... but it's the plain ugly colour card. » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « @David after swipe 6 times, i din use the card anymore. so want to cancel lol... anyways, im going to try with DA visa, and OCBC master card. see how...  vin_ann,  Please cut the EMV chip into half or more before sending back. Else if the card is not terminated, the chip is still usable for transaction.
TSvin_ann
Jul 25 2008, 12:50 PM
QUOTE(cute_boboi @ Jul 25 2008, 10:43 AM) vin_ann,  Please cut the EMV chip into half or more before sending back. Else if the card is not terminated, the chip is still usable for transaction.  i din not send back the card. i stick back and put into my collection book. haha.
cute_boboi
Jul 25 2008, 02:33 PM
Then why you cut it ?  Like stamps, once damaged, no more collector's value
tinkerbel
Jul 25 2008, 02:44 PM
Fanaddict!
@vin_ann, I thought U mentioned UOB wanted the card re-sent back to them otherwise a surcharge of RM15?!
TSvin_ann
Jul 25 2008, 04:50 PM
@Tinkerbel
they are sending new card. Master VOX.
@Cute it's ok. plain colour card, wont have any value also.
tinkerbel
Jul 25 2008, 05:00 PM
Fanaddict!
@vin_ann, Oohh.. so it's like an upgrade?! *sorrEee I wasn't paying too much attention* Anyhow, just becareful cause sometimes it doesn't get de-activated immediately.
Just to share with U - when Citibank 'cancelled' my old Visa and issued me with another, the old Visa was still usable [and thankfully it was - if the merchant had rejected the card, I would have been super pissed with Citibank - they cancelled the card without even letting me know about it; imagine how confused I was until I figured out what happened - their CS was more confused than me!]
Apparently the old Visa would still be usable for the next 3 months - or so they say!
This post has been edited by tinkerbel: Jul 25 2008, 05:01 PM
SUSDavid83
Jul 25 2008, 11:59 PM
Maybank Treats Fair 2008 URL: http://www.maybank2u.com.my/promotions/may...008/index.shtmlAnybody is heading there next weekend?
tinkerbel
Jul 26 2008, 12:50 AM
Fanaddict!
@David83, HmMm.... it's like 20+ pages *faints* Looks like quite a lot of stuff and I'm onli loading Page 2 !! *grins*
Too bad it's not happening this week - am @ Garden's tomorrow for tea *siGh*