Credit Card Thread V4, Plastic Money @ World Access

MilesAndMore
post Oct 22 2008, 11:08 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Oct 22 2008, 09:20 PM)
That's the idea. I have applied for MBB conventional Amex. They don't want to waive my annual fee for first year. I told them to cancel my application.
Oh, when did you apply for it ? I applied mine in March this year and annual fee for the first two years is waived.

QUOTE(hye @ Oct 22 2008, 09:28 PM)
An interesting information. I checked the Mastercard website and you are right ... only Singapore and Indonesia are issuers of the World Mastercard in the AsiaPacific region. According to your feedback,

If i'm not mistaken, the Premier Mastercard issued by HSBC Singapore is also not yet officially a World Mastercard.

1. Does that means that eventually HSBC (Malaysia) Premier cc will eventually upgrade itself to be the equivalent of VISA Infinite ? (HSBC Premier World Mastercard)

Not just HSBC Malaysia alone but all HSBC worldwide will issue HSBC Premier World Mastercard eventually. Anyway, all the HSBC Premier Mastercard already bears the "world" word regardless of the issuing country and it is ranked higher than Platinum VISA within the HSBC Group.

2. Any indication to that timeline ?

Nope.

I'm sure this info will upset some of the people I know. All these while they have been led to think that their Premier card is the equivalent of VISA Infinite. I have seen the Premier card and there's the "World" word printed on it. And if it is not a "World Mastercard yet" then it's very misleading.
It is not equivalent to VISA Infinite. But it is not 100% just like a regular Platinum credit card either. HSBC Premier Mastercard, regardless of the issuing country, is viewed to be the VVIP card issue by HSBC. It is only in Malaysia that the special privileges and discounts that are available to the Premier Mastercard also extend to Platinum VISA.

This post has been edited by MilesAndMore: Oct 22 2008, 11:10 PM
MilesAndMore
post Oct 23 2008, 02:28 AM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(tishaban @ Oct 23 2008, 12:28 AM)
Malaysia Airlines will happily accept Amex at their ticket counters. I get 5x points so I make sure I use the card. biggrin.gif
I often buy MAS tickets online and their online booking engine does not accept AMEX.
MilesAndMore
post Oct 23 2008, 04:22 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(zenwell @ Oct 23 2008, 03:39 PM)
Among CIMB, Ambank, RHB, Affin, EON, Public Bank, HSBC, and Std Chart, Which bank's credit card is the best in terms of promotions, cash rebates and point redemption and etc? Thanks!
CIMB and MBB are the best. Lots of promotion year round. Treatpoints needed to redeem things from MBB generally are lower than most banks. CIMB on the other hand, got many selections. You should see the CIMB "Rewards Catalogue" they sent to me early this year.

Anyways, HSBC and Citibank aren't too shabby either but neither can beat CIMB and MBB.
MilesAndMore
post Oct 23 2008, 11:06 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(Lawyer1 @ Jul 21 2008, 11:46 AM)
For anybody monitoring that Standard Chartered's 7% Petrol Rebate when using their Debit Card to pump petrol, I have known about this earlier, and would like to provide an input : The 7% rebate is only for RM 100 petrol pumped per month, and if you use more than RM 100 of petrol, the excess petrol pumped does not carry any rebate.

Thus, in other words, one can only claim RM 7 per month. sad.gif

I think no point-lah,...........
This was posted three months ago but i would like to clarify something. What said above is not true. I have used my StanChart Debit Mastercard to pay for petrol since i opened the account early this year and i'm given about RM20 - RM30 rebate each month.

This post has been edited by MilesAndMore: Oct 23 2008, 11:24 PM
MilesAndMore
post Oct 25 2008, 10:54 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(cute_boboi @ Oct 23 2008, 11:02 AM)
Use travel agent to issue ticket/e-ticket. They accept Amex. But fare maybe a bit higher due to commission. 2x TP also.
They will not reverse the bank's commission to you should you choose to pay with credit card but buying a ticket at travel agency attracts a service charge between RM30 - RM150. I pay more than RM2000 every month for 2 return Economy Class tickets on MAS between Kota Kinabalu and Kuala Lumpur. The most expensive fare bucket for the same route in Economy Class on MAS is RM1400+ per person but lucky me, the cheaper fare bucket is still available every time i book the tickets. Would have been even better if the cheapest fare bucket is still available (only RM860/pax) but that is not the case every time i make the purchase of my tickets. Since the tickets already are so expensive, i don't think it is worth it to pay the travel agency another extra RM30 - RM150 per ticket just so i can swipe my AMEX there.

QUOTE(he-sham @ Oct 24 2008, 09:59 AM)
from what i know, for their current promotion of "* 7% petrol rebate is valid at all petrol kiosk island pumps from 7 July to 31 December 2008." is for eSaver account opened during the promotion period  (7julyto31Dec) only...so i stop filling petrol using my standard chartered debit mastercard (i opened the account in the year 2007)....

when u opened ur account ? now still got rebate if opened account outside the promotion date ?? if like that wanna swicth back from maybank petronas to std chtd debit mastercard....
Opened February this year. Initially the customer service agent told me the 7% petrol rebate is valid till late April. I switched to AMEX after the promotion period but later i realized they have extended the promotion period and is available to all E$AVER account holder regardless when did you open the account. So i am still using my E$AVER Debit Mastercard to pay for fuel now.

QUOTE(JamesPond @ Oct 24 2008, 10:23 AM)
i dont think the is real
i applied the card and scb give me a visa electron and i use it for petrol pump..then no rebate.
i call them up, they said it must be a master debit and said soon i will get that card in order to get the discount.
5 months already no discount. the account remain not activite.
stupid strategy
It is real. I have been enjoying the rebates since early this year.

QUOTE(ruztynail @ Oct 25 2008, 10:27 AM)
haha sure or not?? lol.. i still think hsbc and citi has the most privileges thumbup.gif
Of course. CIMB even got discount now at Guardian and all the chocolate shops at KLIA. I buy many Neuhaus Chocolates every month. So CIMB really is a good card for me.

QUOTE(metsatsu @ Oct 25 2008, 10:14 PM)
sorry to ask, but is there any discussion thread regarding credit card cancellation? or is this the only place? thanks in advance smile.gif
Are you thinking of canceling one of your credit cards ? There is a draft of cancelation letter at the main page of this thread.

MilesAndMore
post Oct 28 2008, 11:36 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(tgeoklin @ Oct 28 2008, 03:34 PM)
World Master card just launched 1 and 1/2 weeks ago in M'sia. Stay tuned  tongue.gif
Any idea which bank might offer this ? May be HSBC Malaysia issued Premier Mastercard will officially become Premier World Mastercard soon ?

QUOTE(Chester @ Oct 28 2008, 11:29 PM)
CIMB probably launching World Card tomorrow. RM1 million credit limit  drool.gif
Is that true ? CIMB has been advertising the originally launched Platinum Enrich Mastercard as Enrich World Mastercard for quite a while already. I wonder if it could be that one ?

MilesAndMore
post Oct 29 2008, 12:33 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(arsenal @ Oct 29 2008, 12:10 PM)
maybank rebate how leh???
I did get the rebate last month.

MilesAndMore
post Oct 29 2008, 02:32 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(boonsin23 @ Oct 29 2008, 01:41 PM)
is it you will get this month's rebate in next month's statement?
Depends on when is your statement date i guess. Not necessary next month.
MilesAndMore
post Nov 1 2008, 09:56 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(Syd G @ Oct 31 2008, 10:05 AM)
alcohol on the other hand is different. cant buy, consume, serve, sell etc.
However, muslim flight attendants of Malaysia Airlines, Singapore Airlines, Garuda Indonesia, Emirates, Etihad Airways and Qatar Airways don't seem to have a problem serving passengers alcoholic drinks at all. Have experienced myself while flying with them all the time.

MilesAndMore
post Nov 1 2008, 10:08 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Nov 1 2008, 10:01 PM)
I called Maybank CS yesterday to inquire for my MBB Ikhwan AMEX application. Apparently, my application couldn't proceed since I didn't sign the declaration section. There're two declaration sections in the form and I signed only on the Akad declaration. Faxed them a signed form and hope they could process fast enough. Not sure why they didn't call me about this.
What ? Got two sections need to sign ? Have to check with them then 'cause i too might have skipped that accidentally.

MilesAndMore
post Nov 2 2008, 05:26 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(mustang @ Nov 2 2008, 05:22 PM)
Ps: How do they know we swiped at non-halal places?  unsure.gif
I think it'd be extremely hard. I really don't think they will request a receipt from the hypermarket we swiped the Ikhwan credit card just to see if we have purchased anything non-halal using the Ikhwan credit card.
MilesAndMore
post Nov 3 2008, 09:12 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(hye @ Nov 3 2008, 07:16 PM)
I asked a HSBC's RM today on the local MC Premier status as a World Mastercard but received a "Huh?" and "Where did you get that info ?" reply.
That's because HSBC Malaysia issued Premier Mastercard is not a World Mastercard, not yet anyway.

This post has been edited by MilesAndMore: Nov 3 2008, 09:12 PM
MilesAndMore
post Nov 4 2008, 07:41 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(b00n @ Nov 4 2008, 05:19 PM)
Most probably they would ask them to retain Malaysia banking account i.e. saving or current with internet facility for transferring of money from those banks to pay off citibank outstanding.
Certain banks do not allow you to login to your online banking from overseas. Not sure if this is the case with Citibank.

MilesAndMore
post Nov 4 2008, 10:11 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(kenneth87 @ Nov 4 2008, 08:51 PM)
As in the US, we as students are entitled 2 get a credit card as well but credit limit as i know is just 300usd.  sweat.gif
AMEX is one of the companies that offer credit card to student, even if they have no stable salary (just part-time). Citibank Singapore has one such credit card as well.

QUOTE(David83 @ Nov 4 2008, 07:45 PM)
I don't see why you can't login from overseas. It defeats the purpose of Internet banking right? Just my two cents.
I tried to access my PBeBanking from my hotel room at Meritus Mandarin Hotel Singapore in Orchard Road many times but failed. Then a few days later i tried again at Changi Terminal 2 while waiting for my flight back to Kuala Lumpur and again wasn't successful.

This post has been edited by MilesAndMore: Nov 4 2008, 10:14 PM
MilesAndMore
post Nov 5 2008, 09:42 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(vin_ann @ Nov 4 2008, 10:24 PM)
Every1,

im just loving it. Carrefour Wangsa Maju have changed their terminal merchant to Maybank... and use their visa-wave, it's more faster than the previous bank and surprisingly, today so many people is lining up for payment than previous weekdays.

i thinks Maybank Super Rebates of 10% on Tuesday is very sucessful, while other days 5%.
Too bad it won't be here for long since it is already November now sad.gif

QUOTE(David83 @ Nov 4 2008, 10:29 PM)
When is the Maybank Carrefour rebate programme ends?
Last day is 31/12/08.

QUOTE(kindaichi @ Nov 4 2008, 11:06 PM)
nah, there is no such thing as in activation for credit card.... every credit card, when u receive, it was already activated, the account for ur credit card at the bank is also active, there is no options for u where to activate or not.....
So NOT TRUE. CIMB doesn't need you to activate the card if you choose to receive your newly approved credit card at one of their branches. But if they courier it to you, you will need to call their CS to activate it and they will ask you a few security questions or else the card will be rejected at any terminal slot the cashier swipe the card.

QUOTE(ClessRV @ Nov 5 2008, 10:11 AM)
Guys, need some guide here,

I have a supplementary card from my mother and I want to know how to maximise its benefits (not usage  tongue.gif)

The card is: CIMB Petronas MasterCard

and can I use any online banking for the card? even if I don't have a bank account with CIMB.
e.g: I can use the Citibank online banking to monitor my card even if I don't have an account with them, only the supplementary card.
Thank You. notworthy.gif
Yes. You can. All you need to do is ask your mom to request a pin number for the credit card as well as online banking service so you can keep track of your spending. You can get this even if you do not maintain any account with CIMB.

QUOTE(aeronlim @ Nov 5 2008, 06:51 PM)
I've applied for Maybank Petronas VISA but didn't receive any phone call for 3 weeks, today i check my M2U.com account found that there is a Petronas VISA Credit Card account inside it, so strange, no one calling me for verification but the card approved already? Or it will be disapear from my M2U account if they fail to make the verification? Anyone has the same experience before?
QUOTE(amerz @ Nov 5 2008, 07:43 PM)
last time I apply for MBB Petronas also the same, no one call me. Then I realize that in my maybank2u has the CC portion. I just go pick up the card at the branch that I told them to send.
Mine too. Maybank never call my mom for verification but still approved our application.

0.0484sec    0.56    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 10:20 AM