@muscaa,
You're right - most of the time the banks don't reveal the reason for rejecting your application.
Credit Card Thread V4, Plastic Money @ World Access
Aug 13 2008, 09:28 PM
13,495 posts Joined: Dec 2006 From: KL, Malaysia |
@muscaa,
You're right - most of the time the banks don't reveal the reason for rejecting your application. |
Aug 13 2008, 09:43 PM
@amerz,
Er... its best U checked with the petrol station? *shrugs* Did U use a different card or cash in the end? |
Aug 13 2008, 11:46 PM
@TeraPox,
Did U do a RTW trip?! *grins* RTW: Round The World |
Aug 14 2008, 12:22 AM
@kianwee,
Did that incident just happen?! |
Aug 14 2008, 09:26 AM
@kianwee,
I can understand ur frustrations; I'm new with MBB thus have no feedback on their CS for now |
Aug 14 2008, 01:27 PM
@muscaa,
It's on a case-by-case basis lah. It's easier to resolved things that usually happens but for situations which are rare/infrequent, the CS hasn't been briefed/taught how to handle it. Just like hye, I too have had my bad days with Citibank. |
Aug 14 2008, 02:48 PM
Just a short report.. I just made an online purchase through my Amex Credit Card. It was USD19.97. Amex called to reconfirm the purchase [perhaps because it was an online transaction *shrugs*]. Apparently after all the conversion, the purchase cost me RM66.
I did a quick conversion through xe.com and this is what I got:- Live rates at 2008.08.14 06:41:14 UTC 19.96 USD = 66.5537 MYR United States Dollars Malaysia Ringgits 1 USD = 3.33435 MYR 1 MYR = 0.299908 USD From the above calculation, it doesn't look as if I'd been charged additional admin fee! |
Aug 15 2008, 11:31 AM
@hye,
You could check with TeraPox - I think he mentioned he was going to put in an application for that card. |
Aug 15 2008, 11:53 AM
@muscaa,
SCB is promoting their newly introduced Infinite Card - for the market they're targeting, I don't think they'll be concentrating on retail promotions |
Aug 15 2008, 02:53 PM
@Reventon,
I am |
Aug 15 2008, 05:00 PM
@Reventon,
Yes I believe the Amex Platinum Credit Card has the same T&C with Visa & MasterCard when it comes to late payment and interest free period. In fact, if I'm not mistaken, I think Amex gives U more time to settle ur bill; I received my statement about 2 weeks ago and I have till 23rd before I need to make the payment. As this is my 1st bill, I'm unable to track if this is a norm. I haven't used the Prestige Platinum Card but am quite sure it's as good as it seems to be. I've oredi received my Prestige Platinum Card - it also comes with some exclusive 'discount' vouchers. I don't think there'll be any problems using the dining privileges and it's definitely well worth the $ if u frequent Shangri-La's F&B outlets! I don't exactly know if my annual fee's been waived as I originally applied for the Amex Gold (with 2 years waiver) since CS told me I didn't qualify for the Platinum - but that's what came in the mail @muscaa, Like I said, the SCB Infinite is NOT meant for those who're after retail promotions; it's got a different target all together. As such, it has other benefits; Priority Pass is probably one of them for those who travel frequently. Perhaps U don't understand the behaviour of those in their target market hence think it's stupid? @TeraPox, Which 3?! This post has been edited by tinkerbel: Aug 15 2008, 05:01 PM |
Aug 15 2008, 11:08 PM
@TeraPox,
You mean the Longines watch is RM2.3k?!!!! I haven't been able to make use of me Amex too much; I swiped ~RM6k on my Visa this month and not Amex just cause it wasn't available @hye, You're so absolutely right about the dilution of Platinum cards these days; I no longer feel special... then again, perhaps I don't deserve it ! *gulp* This post has been edited by tinkerbel: Aug 15 2008, 11:12 PM |
Aug 16 2008, 09:03 AM
@TeraPox,
Am sure U'll be able to obtain that free gift *smiles* @he-sham, What other CC gives access to that Premium Lounge @ LCCT?! *grins* Can check for me and see ah?! Or, where can I check? |
Aug 16 2008, 09:21 AM
@andrekua,
It's the current promotion Amex is having for their Platinum Credit Card category. |
Aug 17 2008, 10:08 AM
@Reventon,
And what is considered acceptable CL to U?! The CL given to me is definitely sufficient. I didn't show any pay slip or documents when I applied for the card; instead I used existing CC. The "bad" thing about this card is that it's not as widely accepted as Visa/MasterCard and to pay utility bills, it needs to be direct-debit hence I'm still using Citibank for those *siGh* As such, I don't know if I'm gonna be able to meet the RM20k spending on Amex as stipulated by Amex *siGh* @TeraPox, Be good if U can update us here after U've checked with Amex. |
Aug 18 2008, 09:38 AM
@TeraPox,
I think U wanted to check with Amex re the Longines promotion. @David83, The Amex Charge Cards do NOT have a CL. @Reventon, Unfortunately, the CL given to me on my Amex CC is considerably less than the RM50k U need. Since you're an existing customer (thru their Charge Card) they might just give U more since they would oredi have record of your existing spend pattern + payment records. And Yes, I applied and got the card approved without having to give them documentations; just my existing CC [it needs to be >1 year old] |
Aug 18 2008, 12:35 PM
@Fatz_Cat,
You should consider NOT to use a CC; U wouldn't want to be incurring additional debts whilst paying up this RM8k debt. The only real FFL card I know of is Direct Access. |
Aug 19 2008, 10:41 AM
@khenhh,
Y don't U apply for a CC with the bank you're working with? You should get ur annual fees waived, right?! And Y the need for a Gold card?! |
Aug 19 2008, 03:51 PM
@TeraPox,
I thought Amex Plat has that privilege too; at least @ KLIA - not sure if it's applicable other countries or not *grins* @bysquashy, U need to check the respective links of the respective card category; sometimes it's not stated but most of the time it is *smiles* @andrekua, Not me! I onli got RM12.5k on my HSBC CC but that's on a Gold. I do however know of people who gets about RM20k CL on their Citibank Clear Card [and Citibank CS tells me the Clear Card category has a max RM15k CL - what bullshit!] |
Aug 19 2008, 04:34 PM
@andrekua,
I definitely agree with U on ur last statement made @bysquashy, In that case perhaps U need to call them up one by one? *grins* |
| Change to: | 0.0370sec
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 02:59 PM |