7 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 >Bottom

WORLD OF CG ver 1, cg & concept art

onscreen
post Sep 10 2008, 08:09 PM

Nomby
675 posts

I suggested that sometime ago. But most of the articles were republication friendly so nothing to worry about be "sued" or something else.
Diazepam
post Sep 11 2008, 12:05 AM

289 posts

Its just giving credit where its due.
Benny-T
post Sep 13 2008, 03:36 PM

450 posts

Spielberg Nears a Deal with Reliance
The director appears close to signing a lucrative package that would make India's Reliance Communications a 50% owner of his DreamWorks studio

by Ronald Grover

What does a superstar director want after a long summer in the Hamptons? A new studio to call his own.

That's what Steven Spielberg may get this week, according to well-placed industry sources. They say that Hollywood's most powerful director is meeting in New York with, and will likely announce a deal with, India's Reliance Communications to restart the DreamWorks studio that he is relocating from Paramount Pictures (VIAB) in an acrimonious split. Spielberg, who traditionally spends his summers in the Hamptons, is meeting with Anil Ambani, the billionaire chairman of Reliance Communications, to finalize what's expected to be up to a $1.2 billion transaction that would make the Indian conglomerate a 50% owner of Spielberg's new studio.

A DreamWorks spokesman did not immediately return phone calls. BusinessWeek first reported the Paramount and DreamWorks split (BusinessWeek.com, 07/19/07) in July 2007.
Reliance's Star Power

The Reliance-DreamWorks deal has been rumored for two months (BusinessWeek, 6/19/08) and is assumed to include a $500 million equity infusion from Reliance, which has been beefing up its interest in Hollywood production. In May, its Reliance Big Entertainment unit signed agreements to finance projects with the likes of George Clooney, Brad Pitt, and Will Smith. The Spielberg transaction is expected to also include financing of as much as $750 million for DreamWorks' film production with JPMorgan Chase (JPM).

The deal will almost certainly spell the end of Spielberg's three-year, often stormy relationship with Viacom's Paramount, where he is contractually committed through Oct. 31. Spielberg has agreed to discuss a possible new pact with Paramount, sources say, although he is unlikely to stay. The talks are more likely to involve ongoing Paramount-based projects on which Spielberg and his team have been working, and which Spielberg—even after his departure—will maintain a financial interest. (Under his contract with that studio, after he leaves he will get a hefty percentage of the profits for films in which he serves as producer, which include the megafranchise film Transformers.)

That's why Spielberg is likely to announce a second venture down the road with another Hollywood studio to distribute the films his new DreamWorks studio will make. The lead candidate is Universal Pictures (GE), where Spielberg still maintains his adobe-style headquarters, a gift from Universal after his 1982 blockbuster E.T.: The Extra Terrestrial.
A Tale of Two DreamWorks

Spielberg still considers Universal his second home, say those close to him. The Twentieth-Century Fox studio (NWS) is considered a long shot to house DreamWorks. Whoever wins the contest to house the producer will likely strike an agreement with him to distribute the new DreamWorks' films in theaters, on DVD, and on the Internet. Spielberg's company maintains a long-standing relationship with HBO, which would continue to distribute DreamWorks films on its premium TV channel.

The new DreamWorks will be a private company separate from the publicly traded DreamWorks Animation (DWA), which was separated from the live-action unit in 2004. The newly created company being funded by Reliance would likely be nearly 50% owned by Spielberg, with his top production executive, DreamWorks CEO and Co-Chairman Stacey Snider, owning a small equity piece as well. Snider, a former Universal Pictures chairman, is considered key to the transaction and was also allowed to leave her Paramount contract as part of a "key man" provision that permitted Spielberg to take top executives with him when he left.

Grover is Los Angeles bureau chief for BusinessWeek.
TScymon
post Sep 21 2008, 11:11 PM

digital artist regenerated
758 posts

no worry about the sue or copyright problem, most of the internet article is royalty free or free to republication.

it is funny if every article/image come with credit. even lowyat.net front page info/news did the same too.

enjoy the concept art news.
thank you.

Added on September 22, 2008, 12:25 amuser posted image

This post has been edited by cymon: Sep 22 2008, 12:25 AM
ohthelag
post Sep 24 2008, 12:38 AM

46 posts

hi there, i have a question, hope someone in this field can help..

if one is going to pursue a career in this field of CG and concept art, is it required that one is familiar with 3D modelling and its software?

because since concept art is usually meant to help 3D artists to produce the final outcome, would knowledge in modelling help the concept artist come up with something that's not only aesthetic but also realizable?
thx.
TScymon
post Sep 24 2008, 01:32 AM

758 posts

QUOTE(ohthelag @ Sep 24 2008, 12:38 AM)
hi there, i have a question, hope someone in this field can help..

if one is going to pursue a career in this field of CG and concept art, is it required that one is familiar with 3D modelling and its software?

because since concept art is usually meant to help 3D artists to produce the final outcome, would knowledge in modelling help the concept artist come up with something that's not only aesthetic but also realizable?
thx.
hi my friend,

having 3d modelling skill is great, coz most of the modern concept artist use 3d as reference.
even myself also use lot of 3d model as concept art.
but it also depend which position or company you into.

but having extra skill is no harm done my friend.

Added on September 25, 2008, 1:53 amuser posted image

Added on October 7, 2008, 6:24 pm'Kung Fu Panda' sequel set for 2011

Panda-ering to fans, DreamWorks Animation has officially confirmed that a sequel to its animated hit "Kung Fu Panda" is in the works and has set a release date of June 3, 2011.

The film, which will reunite Jack Black as kung fu fan Po, Angelina Jolie and other members of the original voice cast, will be released in 3-D -- the new standard for all DWA movies starting next year -- on regular and Imax screens worldwide.

Jennifer Yu Helson, who was head of story on "Panda," has been upped to director for the sequel. Melissa Cobb will repeat her duties as producer, and Jonathan Aibel and Glenn Berger, who were writers and co-producers on the first film, also are returning.

The 2011 date means that "Panda" will be sharing the summer with Disney/Pixar's "Cars 2," which Disney moved from a 2012 release to summer 2011 last week.

The original "Panda," which grossed more than $626 million worldwide, is DWA's most successful nonsequel. It will be released on two-disc DVD and Blu-ray, containing a new companion story "Secrets of the Furious Five," on Nov. 9.
'Kung Fu Panda' sequel set for 2011
Jack Black, Angelina Jolie among returning cast

Added on October 7, 2008, 6:29 pm

Orlando MGFest 2008 : Oct 13-17

user posted imageuser posted image

The Orlando Motion Graphics Festival occurs during the Create Chaos 2008 Conference on October 13-17, 2008, at the Marriott Orlando World Resort in Orlando, FL,. Create Chaos 2008 brings together more than 10 leading creative conferences and events under one roof, addressing the evolving needs of an industry on the eve of a new renaissance.

This post has been edited by cymon: Oct 7 2008, 06:30 PM
Benny-T
post Oct 8 2008, 06:42 PM

450 posts

Production I.G to Produce 3DCG Feature Film Oblivion Island: Haruka and the Magic Mirror slated in Japan for Summer 2009

Production I.G to Produce 3DCG Feature Film OBLIVION ISLAND: HARUKA AND THE MAGIC MIRROR (tentative English title) slated in Japan for Summer 2009

"Where do all your childhood's treasures go when you grow up?"

Production I.G in collaboration with Fuji Television Network announce the production of a new full length computer graphic animation feature film entitled "Hottarake no Shima - Haruka to Maho no Kagami" (tentative English title: "Oblivion Island: Haruka and the Magic Mirror")

Today, American-made 3DCG animation feature films have become a well established and recognized global reality in the entertainment industry. However, budget restrictions and lack of know-how prevented similar productions to become prevalent in Japan so far.

Tokyo-based Production I.G was one of the first animation studios in Japan to recognize the potentiality of the upcoming digital era, and has been dedicating time and resources to the establishment of a fully equipped production environment and a 200 hundred people creative and technical team that could support the realization of 3DCG feature-length animated films.

And now, after a 3-year preparation period, the highly anticipated first project presented by Production I.G's 3D team in collaboration with Fuji Television Network is going to be a fresh departure from 3DCG animation as we know it today. "Oblivion Island: Haruka and the Magic Mirror"(tentative English title) will inherit the unique expressive style that has made Japanese animation hugely popular around the globe, and at the same time it will pursue a completely different texture from Western style 3DCG animation. While making full use of the state-of-the-art in digital techniques, I.G aims to entertain you with heart-warming visuals and pioneer a new course of Japanese-made 3DCG animation appealing to the international audience.

The movie will be distributed in Japan by TOHO Co., Ltd. and the Japanese theatrical release is slated for summer 2009.

WORLD VIEW - Your favourite teddy bear. That model kit that took so long to complete. The picture book you used to read over and over again. The shining stone you found that day in the park. Where do all your childhood's treasures go when you grow up? In this story, we meet fantastic creatures that gather all these little objects that fall into oblivion as they are forgotten by their owners when they step into adulthood. These creatures sneak into our world from a different dimension, and unseen by humans, they take all the ditched and forgotten "treasures" into their world. Here, they use their booty to build their own city, a fairy-tale like place called...Oblivion Island!

STORY - Haruka is a teenager like many. Her mother left this world when she was a kid, and her father took after her ever since. The movie opens with Haruka visiting the Inari Shrine in Musashino, in the outskirts of Tokyo. With her greatest surprise, she sees a "fox" (or 'something' looking like one) carrying a toy plane. But as she goes after the funny animal, she finds herself on... Oblivion Island! Here, Haruka encounters the teddy bear she used to play with when she was a kid. And suddenly, other memories from her childhood come to her mind. But humans are not supposed to be on Oblivion Island, and the Baron, who rules that world, has put an eye on that unexpected intruder. From here, the story bends dramatically into an unpredictable direction at increasing and uncontrolled speed... Will Haruka find her memories, and a way to get out from the island?

SCREENPLAY: Hirotaka Adachi and Shinsuke Sato Probably better known by his alias Otsuichi, Hirotaka Ando is a hugely popular novelist whose works have often been transposed into comics and live action movies, for which he personally wrote the screenplays, such as "Goth" (2002, 3rd Mystery Grand Prize winner), "Waiting in the Darkness" (2002) and "Zoo" (2003). Born in Fukuoka in 1978, he made his professional debut when he was only 17. He's reportedly a big fan of Studio Ghibli's movies.

DIRECTOR: Shinsuke Sato Born in Hiroshima Prefecture in 1970, Sato is a film director, scriptwriter and video game creator. He graduated from the Musashino Art University, like Satoshi Kon and Ryu Murakami. His directorial debut "Ryonai Genshuku" (Dorm Austerity) was awarded with the Grand Prix at the Pia Film Festival 1994. Notably works include, "Princess Blade" (2001, director and scriptwriter), "Spring Snow" (2005, scriptwriter) and manga-based "Sand Chronicles" (2008, director and scriptwriter), all of them live-action movies. Oblivion Island is his highly anticipated debut in animation.

Naoyoshi Shiotani (director of SICAF 2008 Grand Prize winning "Tokyo Marble Chocolate") is joining the production team, too.

ABOUT PRODUCTION I.G Established by Mitsuhisa Ishikawa in 1987, Production I.G is one of the world's leading animation studios. With its cutting-edge works, such as "Ghost in the Shell" (1995), "Jin-Roh" (2000), "Blood: The Last Vampire" (2000), "Kill Bill: Vol. 1" (animation segment, 2003), "Innocence" (2004) and "The Sky Crawlers" (2008), I.G has gained high reputation around the globe, inspiring Hollywood creators such as James Cameron, Quentin Tarantino and the Wachowski brothers.

TScymon
post Oct 13 2008, 08:29 AM

758 posts

Maya 2009, Mudbox 2009, MotionBuilder 2009, Toxik 2009.

Autodesk has quietly released news of updates to their range of 3D and animation software packages.

Autodesk Maya 2009 is now shipping, giving you unprecedented control over polygon modeling and UV texturing through a wide range of new features and workflow enhancements. Maya 2009 also brings new scene management functionality, increased support for collaborative workflows, and new and improved toolsets that will enable you to create stunning effects and characters. Celebrating 10 years of development this year.

Mudbox 2009 is also now shipping. Designed by a bunch of well-respected industry professionals who understand how the industry works, Autodesk Mudbox 2009 software is a premier digital sculpting and texture painting solution. The intuitive, familiar user interface and high-performance, creative toolset empower modelers and texture artists to create highly realistic 3D assets for games, films, television, and design.

Toxik 2009 is the compositing and visual effects tool for artists working in film, television, and design. Combining Toxik 2009 with Autodesk Maya 2009 software results in a high-efficiency, iterative, collaborative environment, accelerating everyday workflow and facilitating an extra dimension in 2D imagery. The Toxik creative toolset includes keying, color correction, tracking, camera mapping, paint, spline-based warping, motion blur and depth of field capabilities.

Autodesk also introduces MotionBuilder 2009 software, available after October 14th, as one of the most significant releases of the software since its inception. Specific features include high-quality, interactive visualization capabilities within the 3D viewport through support for new hardware shaders, an intuitive new toolset for creating real-time rigid-body simulations, and improved pipeline integration support through expanded Python scripting language abilities.

Added on October 17, 2008, 8:28 pm
Nvidia's Quadro CX GPU optimized for people who don't suck at Photoshop

Nvidia just launched its Quadro CX accelerator card for Adobe's Creative Suite 4. The optimized GPU fits into your PC's PCIe slot to smooth image navigation and manipulation in Photoshop while accelerating effects in Adobe's After Effects and Premier Pro. Nvidia claims that the new GPU helps encode H.264 video at "lightning-fast speeds" when using Nvidia's Cuda-enabled CS4 plug-in while giving professionals accurate video previews with uncompressed 30-bit color or 10-/12-bit SDI (for professional video equipment) before final output. The Quadro CX features a 1.5GB (GDDR3) frame buffer and 76.8GBps memory bandwidth with dual-DisplayPort connectors (up to 2560 x 1600 pixels) and a single dual-link DVI with support for panels up to 3,840 x 2,400 @24Hz. Look, we know this sounds all stupid-hard advanced to those of you using Photoshop to hotten-up your Facebook pic, but the pros are going to love it. $1,999 and available today.

This post has been edited by cymon: Oct 17 2008, 08:28 PM
obefiend
post Oct 31 2008, 01:54 PM

Selamat Hari Raya Aidilluminati
863 posts

that quadro cx make me cum. lighthing fast h264 coding? AE aceleration? damn. i need one
LeechFever
post Oct 31 2008, 02:14 PM

DodoBird
2,841 posts

Well I do not know much about this thread but the way I summarize conceptual art is the art of putting idea into a sketch which pave way to more sophisticated ideas in order to create the desired result in the future. Am I right?

This post has been edited by LeechFever: Oct 31 2008, 02:15 PM
TScymon
post Oct 31 2008, 02:48 PM

758 posts

sweat.gif sweat.gif
QUOTE(obefiend @ Oct 31 2008, 01:54 PM)
that quadro cx make me cum. lighthing fast h264 coding? AE aceleration? damn. i need one
biggrin.gif yea, the price also very hot at the market... sweat.gif sweat.gif
usd $ 1999 for a card, unless corporate or hardcore fan sweat.gif

Added on October 31, 2008, 2:58 pm
QUOTE(LeechFever @ Oct 31 2008, 02:14 PM)
Well I do not know much about this thread but the way I summarize conceptual art is the art of putting idea into a sketch which pave way to more sophisticated ideas in order to create the desired result in the future. Am I right?
smile.gif a bit right here.
overall concept art is about inject your creativity + skill + knowledge into your works.
all the works either is home pratice or contract job scope ( mostly post production, games or movie company )
as the concept designer/artist, the work have to done at time frame, script follow and guide line order given.
it is not an artwork which we can do it at our own way or no guide line.

so far malaysia is very short of concept designer/artist.

This post has been edited by cymon: Oct 31 2008, 02:58 PM
Revliss
post Oct 31 2008, 04:02 PM

334 posts

any idea how much that Quadro CX will cost in Ringgit ..

hmm looks like some one is ready to go to Sigraph Asia 2008. wish i can go. are you goingto report on what you see there biggrin.gif
TScymon
post Oct 31 2008, 04:35 PM

758 posts

QUOTE(Revliss @ Oct 31 2008, 04:02 PM)
any idea how much that Quadro CX will cost in Ringgit ..

hmm looks like some one is ready to go to Sigraph Asia 2008. wish i can go. are you goingto report on what you see there biggrin.gif
around rm6k.. sweat.gif sweat.gif

i may have workshop talk organise by wacom.. now still waiting for the answer.
what i heard tat latest news about this siggraph is not that happening.
coz lot of event last minute pull out. the organise is not very good at pr and organise.
big sweat after all.. even the wacom may pull out last minute booth too.
then i only participant at german game booth after all which i m part of their concept team..
lot of big name company cancel their promote booth too...
the intro siggraph trailer is only release last week only..
not enough impact shakehead.gif the singapore's organiser is not very good at this
kind of big cg event.. everything only last minute prepare..

lot of my friends(cg fellow) from oversea also cancel their last minute plan due to this problem. sad.gif
Revliss
post Oct 31 2008, 04:42 PM

334 posts

german game booth???? CryTech ? wow that Sucks, and i wost trying to get some friens from USA to come do an interview there, good thing that did not happen,or i be wasting they time and money. oh and is cgsociety going to have a booth there ?

edit it may not stink that much sine

Breaking News: 2nd Featured Speaker Revealed
Rob Cook, Vice President for Advanced Technology from Pixar Animation Studios will be the 2nd featured speaker at SIGGRAPH Asia. His talk entitled "Behind the Scenes at Pixar" will take you behind the scenes at Pixar Animation Studios for a look at how its 3D computer graphics films are made.

This post has been edited by Revliss: Oct 31 2008, 04:45 PM
tanling26
post Nov 1 2008, 08:03 AM

474 posts

yukikaye.. the drawing look like transformers ohh tongue.gif cool
TScymon
post Nov 1 2008, 08:46 AM

758 posts

QUOTE(tanling26 @ Nov 1 2008, 08:03 AM)
yukikaye.. the drawing look like transformers ohh tongue.gif cool
which drawing?

Benny-T
post Nov 5 2008, 09:57 PM

450 posts

IT'S ART Vol 01-2008&02-2008 Softcover Edition Special Offer
IT'S ART offers IT'S ART Vol#01-2008 and VOL#02-2008 Softcover edition at a special Price : $55.00 for both Volumes

Vol01-2008 :

8"1/5 11 inches, (215.9 x 279.4 mm)
240g. Glossy Cover / 120 g inside Paper
128 pages

Content : Till Nowak, Kerem Beyit, Alon Chou, Juan Siquier, Marek Okon, Mathieu Leyssenne, Geoffroy Thorens, Studio Opus Artz, Gallery Selection

Vol02-208 :
8"1/5 11 inches, (215.9 x 279.4 mm)
240g. Glossy Cover / 120 g inside Paper
106 Pages + 128 pages

Content : Michael Kutsche, Phil MacDarby, Nikolay Aleksender, Marc Brunet, Diane Ozmar, Alain Brion, Gallery Selection

All Volumes can be browsed online here
Jas2davir
post Nov 6 2008, 09:38 PM

461 posts

hi guys i want to ask if i need to do colour studies in my concept art, what does it have to apply to or what is the aspect of doing a colour study? can any sifu please explain :3
Benny-T
post Nov 6 2008, 10:18 PM

450 posts

QUOTE(Jas2davir @ Nov 6 2008, 09:38 PM)
hi guys i want to ask if i need to do colour studies in my concept art, what does it have to apply to or what is the aspect of doing a colour study? can any sifu please explain :3
well
basically you need basic skills of an illustrator
color study is important same goes for anatomy, perspective,lighting and etc
well,you cant do black n white forever now do you?
what kind of light reflect on what kind of color produce what result
things and etc
Jas2davir
post Nov 7 2008, 12:12 AM

461 posts

oh ok ill try to study as you said.

7 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 >Top

0.0191sec    0.43    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 11:36 PM