Samsung Samsung INNOV8 i8510 - Symbian Slider, The killer monster phone

davidmak
post Nov 30 2008, 05:50 PM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

QUOTE(Seaedge @ Nov 30 2008, 12:54 AM)
if it is a touch screen, it will kill its own brother Omnia. now why samsung want that? biggrin.gif
The problem is more like it is Symbian S60 based and Samsung do not have its own S60-baded touch interface unlike Nokia who recently developed one for its own products. The FP2 variant on INNOV8 is too cramped to be used as a touch phone.
davidmak
post Jan 4 2009, 11:35 PM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

QUOTE(Shinichi @ Jan 4 2009, 11:33 PM)
Mine leave it there half day untouched will drop 2 bars sweat.gif
Do you have Garmin Mobile XT installed?
davidmak
post Jan 5 2009, 10:38 PM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

QUOTE(Shinichi @ Jan 5 2009, 09:32 PM)
Yes.
Not sure if you have implemented the 'Battery tips' by deleting cardrunner.dll from the memory card file system. It is a well known issue that when you install Garmin Mobile XT v5.0 it will add a feature call presence awareness. This feature will be run at the background and occasionally update its coordinates. This feature uses battery power. Deleting the file to disable this feature will give you back approximately 20% of battery efficiency.
davidmak
post Feb 17 2009, 10:54 AM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

QUOTE(farizuan @ Jan 28 2009, 10:26 PM)

Conclusion: U need to delete Garmin v5.0020 due to poor battery life. and update your firmware by using Apollo software.my version is I8510XEHJ4 and is actually from Russia region. When you update to this firmware, u will not able to change the phone language to Malay and Chinese,but still u can use english. so u choose which one you prefer.  notworthy.gif

BTW, any recommendation for new GPS software. Mapking got ehem ehem version arrr?
Hi, just want to point you to a possible solution to the Garmin v5 causing battery longevity problems. It is widely known in the forums that Garmin v5 has additional services running in the background even though the program is not started. The service in question is CardRunner.dll which resides in the RAM. Its function is a location aware service. It attempts to give your contacts location awareness if they are also using Garmin v5. Deleting this file will solve your problem.

To further improve battery longevity, you will have to shut down a service every time Garmin v5 is closed after usage. I suggest you go to Nokia 5800 owner's thread 1st sticky page for more information. Here's a snip of the discussion:

This post has been edited by davidmak: Feb 17 2009, 10:58 AM
davidmak
post Feb 18 2009, 11:03 AM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

There's still choices like Mapking. Maybe you can try a ripped-version of the Nokia Map Loader. I believe we have many GPS navigational applications written on S60. You last resort is the J2ME version of GPS applications like TrekBuddy. But only last resort.
davidmak
post Feb 23 2009, 10:55 AM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

Not so fast lor... maybe when Omnia HD is released. RM2500 is quite low already considering Samsung don't move their price much. Don't forget the INNOV8 8GB first sold for RM2899.

0.8300sec    0.69    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 09:11 PM