Financial Is property going to drop?, General property price discussion

cybermaster98
post Dec 1 2010, 11:36 AM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(kochin @ Dec 1 2010, 11:30 AM)
vmad.gif but true to the very last bit!
last time my classmate who graduated in USA and worked there after his graduation, he owns a brand new honda accord in his 3rd month. it only cost him USD20k and he was offered a salary of USD5k per month. he was in new york then.
here? guess how long can the fresh graduate finally be able to afford to purchase honda accord?? shocking.gif
Agreed. Thats another reason why ppl in US dont care about resale value unlike in Malaysia. If im buying a brand new Honda Accord for only USD20K, ill change cars every 3 years.
cybermaster98
post Dec 1 2010, 02:31 PM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(gregy @ Dec 1 2010, 02:18 PM)
If you live in a rented HDB flat, don't own a car, don't have a retirement policy and don't plan to start a family, then yes, SGD 3k can get you by. But I'd hardly call that living comfortably by any standards smile.gif  SG is a stone cold place to be in if you're old, broke and unable to contribute to society.
U cannot be broke earning SGD 3,000. Besides, when it comes to family living you also have a spouse earning. If your spouse doesnt earn then it will be hard to start and maintain a family on that income and still live a comfortable life in any developed country and city.

Isnt it the same in Malaysia? Can u survive in KL with a RM3K salary and still need to buy a car, pay for rental and bring up a family? Most of those singe income earners getting RM3K also do not have any form of retirement policy in place yet. In Singapore, u dont need a car which is a major expense for loan repayment and maintenence.
cybermaster98
post Dec 1 2010, 04:01 PM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(Bobby C @ Dec 1 2010, 02:34 PM)
In Malaysia, you get maximum tax of 27% once your salary hit mere RM150,000.
what u mean by this? Annual salary?

cybermaster98
post Dec 2 2010, 10:00 AM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Dec 1 2010, 04:41 PM)
Taxable income.
The maximum bracket for the 27% tax is applied after 100K i think not 150K. Meaning if your salary is about RM 10,000 a month, most probably you are already in the maximum tax bracket. The same as those who are earning about RM100,000 a month. Does that sound fair to you? vmad.gif
cybermaster98
post Dec 2 2010, 10:36 AM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(zuiko407 @ Dec 2 2010, 10:26 AM)
Mr. cybermaster98, please read my post properly above. listen to person who paying maximum tax bracket for many years.
For your info, i have also been paying the MAXIMUM tax bracket since 2006. Ive also managed to get back an average between 2200-2700 every year from LHDN. For assessment year 2009, i managed to get back RM 4120 from LHDN.

You need to know the tactics in doing tax assessments in order to get back maximum from LHDN (without breaking the law).

This post has been edited by cybermaster98: Dec 2 2010, 10:39 AM
cybermaster98
post Dec 2 2010, 11:28 AM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(lauyonghow @ Dec 2 2010, 11:27 AM)
kindly share?
Difficult to put into words here. Easier to show on paper with figures. But this is case by case basis. What works for me might not work for you.
cybermaster98
post Dec 2 2010, 02:20 PM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(value_investor @ Dec 2 2010, 12:22 PM)
Wow! This is wrong ... the RM100k is taxable income not your income. You most probably paying around 10% tax if you earn RM100k / year.
I think you need to be earning > RM250k to be in the max bracket in Malaysia.
Aiyoo! What are you saying la? Earn RM 10K a month and pay only 10% tax???? Go and check with the tax booklet that is provided to companies for PCB deductions la. If your salary is around RM10K u are already in the highest taxable income bracket.

I know because i am in that bracket.

cybermaster98
post Dec 2 2010, 02:23 PM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(kochin @ Dec 2 2010, 02:17 PM)
it's just absolutely ridiculous to be paying 26% tax for taxable income above RM100k.
next time a guy say he earn rm10k/month, u should feel bad for him. why?
Gross = RM10k
Deduct tax 26% = RM2.6k
Deduct EPF 11% = RM1.1k
Deduct Socso or other staff welfare thingy = RM50
His/her take home is only RM6350.

Wherelse if a guy's pay is say RM7,500, his take home pay would not be too far from him/her.
don't believe, do the math yourself.
Do u understand the meaning of taxable income ah? It also includes bonuses and other non tax free privaleges that the company gives you. Plus its also based on a table. Thats why i said salary around RM 10K. It doesnt mean you get taxed 26% for monthly salary la. If ure earning around 10K a month, your monthly tax deduction is about 14%.

If ure earning RM 10K a month, your taxable income for the year is RM 120,000 (assuming u dont have bonuses or anything else). So after the first 100,000 the next 20K of taxable income ure already in the maximum tax bracket of 26%.

This post has been edited by cybermaster98: Dec 2 2010, 02:29 PM
cybermaster98
post Dec 2 2010, 02:36 PM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(wodenus @ Dec 2 2010, 02:31 PM)
So where do you suggest we work that has lower tax and higher salaries?
Its not about working in countries with lower taxes. Its about seeing your tax money well spent. Taxes in Europe, US, Australia and Singapore are higher than in Malaysia for sure. But the taxes collected are well spent in providing world class transportation networks, education systems and health facilities. Their quality of life is so much better than us. I dont mind paying extra taxes if it means getting these in return.

What do we get in Malaysia? Our hard earned tax money is used to pay higher costs for vehicle purchases and to support a bunch of corrupt politicians who are only interested in lining their pockets with OUR money and building white elephants all over the country to put money into the pockets of their cronies. vmad.gif
cybermaster98
post Dec 2 2010, 03:09 PM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(teoanne @ Dec 2 2010, 02:40 PM)
work for a diplomatic mission or the united nations, u do not need to pay any taxes.
Not just that. Ive worked overseas under tax free packages as well. Not just for UN or Diplomatic.
cybermaster98
post Dec 9 2010, 10:50 AM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(ericyong @ Dec 9 2010, 01:52 AM)
i gave a Talk today on the Residential Outlook for 2011. I dont think prices will drop in 2011.
What is your profession?

cybermaster98
post Dec 9 2010, 04:35 PM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(teoanne @ Dec 9 2010, 01:48 PM)
Eric is the big boss of Crest Builder.

but of course a developer's view will be.... tehehehehe
Exactly my point. Its important to know who are giving those opinions. Most of the property blogs and seminars are monopolised by those who are involved in the propoerty line. Thus their views are seldom a reflection of the real scenario. I have stopped attending such seminars as they are always misleading with the sole aim of giving investors a rosy picture of something which may not be true at all. They are merely taking care of their rice bowl.
cybermaster98
post Dec 17 2010, 10:16 AM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(yeowa @ Dec 17 2010, 09:46 AM)
Sigh... I think I will conside my options of migrating out of Malaysia so you will have more bangla to rent from you. tongue.gif
No no. Migrating is not the solution. We must stay and fight to make Malaysia a better place.
cybermaster98
post Jan 3 2011, 10:05 AM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(value_investor @ Dec 29 2010, 11:55 AM)
When i started off as a fresh graduate in Penang 8 years ago, it was RM3,500 / month for my first company. Well, it is still RM3,500 / month the last i check with my old company.
When i started out i was paid RM 1700
cybermaster98
post Jan 17 2011, 11:07 AM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(zuiko407 @ Jan 17 2011, 10:59 AM)
All these views are given by ppl in the property industry. Should never be believed. All of them are taking care of their own rice bowl by striking fear into ppl by speculating on property prices. Just ignore them and stop puchasing property till end of 2012.
cybermaster98
post Jan 17 2011, 01:18 PM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(marcusart @ Jan 17 2011, 11:24 AM)
why wait till end of 2012?
Thats when we'll probably have a reliable feel of the property outlook.
cybermaster98
post Feb 7 2011, 09:28 AM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(adrian0229 @ Feb 6 2011, 11:13 PM)
wait till recession...sure drop smile.gif
i m looking forward to a double storey house that cost around 400k...with my current salary 3500+/-..quite difficult to get approve even though drag to 40yrs sad.gif
Even if the loan is approved, why are u even considering such an expensive buy with such a salary? Don't you know the golden rule bout not having loan debts of more than 40% of your income?

I bought my first property costing 470K in 2009 and i have been on a 5 figure salary since 2006 and ure targetting a 400K investment with 3500++? shocking.gif
cybermaster98
post Feb 17 2011, 09:42 AM

4,440 posts

Properties too close to MRT will face drop in prices
BY THEAN LEE CHENG

17 February 2011

PETALING JAYA: Property consultants, together with sources familiar with the project say that not all properties affected by the Sg Buloh-Kajang line will have a positive impact. In fact, there will be properties that will have an adverse impact. A property developer who has several projects in Kota Damansara said the visual impact, noise and vibration would affect values negatively.

A source who declined to be named said: “If you can hear it, see it and feel the vibration your property will be negatively impacted. You want it (MRT) close, but not too close.”

The 50km line that begins from Sg Buloh will splice through the monorail and light rail transit (LRT) in the city and head south towards Kajang, affecting a total 91,900 properties along the way. Of these, 82,700 units, or 90%, will be residential units with a total population of about 341,000. About 40% of these are located in the Sg Buloh-Semantan area, and 46% in the Cheras-Kajang area.

It will be the country's largest infrastructure project, reportedly costing RM36.6bil.

A source said: “Logically speaking, people should not oppose the MRT or any form of public transport. But, if it is going to affect your standard of living, either by the noise, vibration or visual impact, then it is logical for them to oppose it.

“Imagine this: you live in a quiet, serene area for years, and all of a sudden you have the MRT line running in front or behind your property. Your serenity is broken, your standard of living is negatively impacted, and so will the value of your property.”

The noise level will be tremendous. The MRT begins from 6am to midnight. In time to come, the MRT will run every 1.8 minutes.

The main affected areas are Section 4 and 6 of Kota Damansara; Pelangi Damansara condominium; Taman Tun Dr Ismail; Damansara Utama; Section 17/52 Petaling Jaya; Bukit Bandaraya; Jalan Bukit Ledang; Bukit Damansara; Taman Desa Aman; Taman Connaught; and Taman Koperasi.

According to the executive summary posted on the Department of Environment website, as the line enters Kota Damansara, which is predominantly residential and remains so until TTDI, the line visual, vibration and noise level will be significant to properties in that area. And as the line enters the residential area of Cheras, the visual impact, noise and vibration level will also impact negatively on the property values there.

“Most of the measured noise levels exceeded the recommended limit for suburban residential area and urban residential area,” the executive summary said.

Last week, the Land Public Transport Commission (LPTC) and Prasarana exhibited the alignment at Mid-Valley Megamall. They are seeking a location in Petaling Jaya to exhibit the alignment.

The MRT route will be displayed for three months at local authority offices in the Klang Valley, in Bangsar LRT station and at LPTC in KL Sentral. The environmental impact assessment will be displayed for one month from Feb 14 to March 14

cybermaster98
post Feb 17 2011, 10:48 AM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(UFO-ET @ Feb 17 2011, 10:16 AM)
It will rise in general, say +-20% across the board fr now on till completion, however when train starts to operate, then those houses which are 100m+- in radius may hv price drop, 10%-20%

So in short, houses too near to track will increase a bit or no change, the rest sure rise in significant degree
It is common sense actually. Any property which is made to experience loud noise, vibrations or traffic congestion as a result of this MRT will face a drop in value. Its not rocket science. But houses within a 1km radius will appreciate for sure. It has happened in PJ.
cybermaster98
post Feb 17 2011, 01:56 PM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(prody @ Feb 17 2011, 01:24 PM)
MRT impact on price will depend on if the people in the area around the MRT line intend to use it.

If they do, price will increase.
If they don't, price will decrease.
Price of property depends on usability of public utilities nearby?? First time i ever heard of such a hypothesis. Common la! If ppl dont use it then its for a good reason which would mean either a flawed access design or poor locality.

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0531sec    0.27    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 06:27 PM