Travel Club LYN Japan V1, 日本へようこそ!

fx_53_xt
post Mar 16 2009, 11:02 PM

2,048 posts

Hi all,
i'm travelling to tokyo on 27 to 30th March.

This is the first time i'm traveling abroad and i checked tokyo's weather during the few days i'm there will be about plus minus 10 celcius.

i'm wondering if i need gloves and the winter hat (dunno what it is called.LOL) to survive the weather?

cause i've been told with mixed answer. some say at that temperature, plenty of winter jacket will be enough, while other say i will probably wont be able to step outside without gloves and the hat.

i'm on a real tight budget and that's why i wanna save as much as i could, hopefully i do not have to buy those stuff.

and finally, i see that you guys are setting up a gathering on 29th, which is a coincident with my visiting period !
fx_53_xt
post Mar 16 2009, 11:38 PM

2,048 posts

QUOTE(jayhan @ Mar 16 2009, 11:10 PM)
hope to see you there!

Actually I also afraid of the coldness uncertainty in Japan. I just bought a jacket + long john... hope is enough to keep me warm XD. Maybe i will wear 2 jackets + 1 shirt + long john = 4 layers XD
QUOTE(keii-kun @ Mar 16 2009, 11:17 PM)
glad to hear another fellow LYN to join the gathering. welcome to the gath!

are you going for holiday or business? seemed it is a short visit . staying where? if you don't mind telling.

anyway, long john and jacket would be fine, but you have have extra shirts if you are the type 'tak tahan sejuk'.
gloves would be useless since it would troublesome for you if u need to use coins. just keep your hands in the jacket's pocket. snowcap? a bit hassle if you're not a capwearing person. (i'm not and threw away after wearing it a day).
i'm staying at Asakusa Smile for the first night and Khaosan Tokyo Original for the 2nd and 3rd night.
both are located at sumida-ku.

this is the cheapest accommodation i can find. tongue.gif

i'm going there for a short backpack holiday after attending my sister's wedding at taiwan. and my gf who is a forumer here (Missy Joc3) will be coming along too ! thumbup.gif .

up till now i haven't plan anything for the 4 days in tokyo yet i'm departing on this friday doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif

Thanks for the answer, i can save more money for some ramen without buying the snow cap and gloves then laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif

This post has been edited by fx_53_xt: Mar 16 2009, 11:41 PM
fx_53_xt
post Mar 17 2009, 12:12 AM

2,048 posts

QUOTE(keii-kun @ Mar 16 2009, 11:47 PM)
bah, ramen is not that expensive lah.
bro i'm on tight budget ma, every single penny counts. blush.gif

QUOTE(bonzaimy @ Mar 16 2009, 11:55 PM)
Hey,im also departing on 27th March but ur journey start from Taiwan or Malaysia? I've been to Asakusa Smile before. That  place is quite hype for a young people. But this time around, I will be staying at Asakusa Taikosou. Just to remind you that Asakusa Smile is a bit hard to find that place at first. I went there and have to find that place for 1 hour. They give you a free coupon that you can trade it with beer..Nice place
27 i'll be departing from taipei to tokyo.
i'm departing to taiwan this friday, and now i still do not have a proper plan for my 4 days stay at tokyo sweat.gif sweat.gif
getting more and more worried bout my 4 days at tokyo. lol.

QUOTE(tanoshi @ Mar 17 2009, 12:02 AM)
Guys,
just update the list..anyone that I miss?

1st LYN Gath @ Japan for Sakura Blossom Party!
Date : 29th March 09
Time : 9:00 am or earlier
Place : Ueno Koen, Ueno, Tokyo, Japan

(on the 1st page)
may i ask how much is the cost incurs for the gathering?
if the price is not too high me and my gf will confirm to be there nod.gif
fx_53_xt
post Mar 20 2009, 02:37 AM

2,048 posts

27/03/09

1. Check-in Asakusa Smile (7pm+-)
2. Explore Asakusa Area (night)
  - Nakamise-Dori (sweets,kimono,toys,craft)
  - Sensoji (Temple Shrine)
  - Hanayashiki Amusement Park (24kinds of attraction)

28/03/09

1. Check-in Khaosan Tokyo Original
2. Shibuya (day)
  - Takeshitadori (clothes,goods)
  - Koen-Dori (famous street)
  - Dogen-zaka (nightclubs,love hotel)
  - Hachiko (shibuya crossing)
3. Yoyogi Park (9am-4pm)
  - Shibuya Koendori Fes (Flea Market) (2 Jinnan Yoyogi-Kamizonocho Shibuya-ku Tokyo)
4. Harajuku (day)
  - Ura-Harajuku (unique apparels)
5. Shinjuku (night)
  - Denki-Gai (electronics store)
  - Shinjuku Gyoen (cherry blossom)
  - Kobukicho (redlight district)
  - Shomben Yokocho "Piss Alley" (small ramshackle yaki-tori and noodle shops)
6. Roppongi (night)
  - nightlife city (3pm-10am)

29/03/09

1. Ueno (day)
  - Cherry Blossom
  - Aneya Yoko-cho (cheap market) *ueno okachimachi station/ueno hirokoji station
2. Akihabara (day)
  - Electronics, Games, Manga, Animation
3. Ginza (day)
  - Sony building (11am-7pm)
  - Printemps (fashion)
  - Seibu (fashion)
4. Waterfront City (night)
  - Observation Platform of Telecom Center (sight seeing)
  - National Museum of Emerging Science & Innovation (science engineering)
  - O-Edo Onsen Monogatari (onsen spa themed park)
  - Wedding Village
  - Fashion Town (shopping)

30/03/09

empty for now
here's my 4 days itinerary planned by my gf, all planned with minimal travel time and minimal expenditure at the first place.

bout the 29/3 gathering at ueno park, i currently have some biscuit and mee in cup (LOL) brought over from malaysia. I'll try my best to see anything else i can grab for you guys from taipei. cool.gif cool.gif cool.gif

btw, how am i going to identify u guys?
fx_53_xt
post Mar 27 2009, 11:18 PM

2,048 posts

posting live from the asakusa smile hostel.
the weather is freezing.

just now after check in i went to check out the nearby streets and it is all almost empty. everything is closed here except food shops.

tomorrow will be heading towards shibuya, yoyogi park and harajuku during day time and shinjuku, roppongi during night time.

any must go places in the area i mentioned above?
fx_53_xt
post Mar 28 2009, 11:33 PM

2,048 posts

my gf fell asick. hope everything will be alright and i can join you guys tomorrow.
just now went to dinner at shinjuku, some miscommunication happens at the place. The shop keeper keep talking japanese to me and i have no idea what he is talking about -.-

0.0548sec    1.48    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 08:01 PM