Why you shouldn't buy cheap HDMI cable

aiman04
post Jul 9 2008, 11:50 AM

THX-Certified Geek
2,314 posts

QUOTE(stringfellow @ Jul 9 2008, 11:19 AM)
Line attenuation is notorious for lengthy cables, but for lengths of 1M and shorter, there are virtually no difference between Monster Cables and ultra-cheapos from Monoprice.
Agreed. thumbup.gif

But it's a whole different story for analogue cables. When I upgraded my speaker cables, the difference is very big, even my wife is saying that it sounds much better now.

This post has been edited by aiman04: Jul 9 2008, 11:54 AM
aiman04
post Aug 6 2008, 06:40 PM

THX-Certified Geek
2,314 posts

How can digital signal gets deteriorated? My believe is when you send 101010, you'll receive 101010. If not, picture-wise, it's like you'll see dead pixels on screen when 101010 becomes 10101.

I can agree about bandwidth issues with longer cable, but the effect should not be picture quality, instead maybe just distortion like Astro while raining (I made that up, tongue.gif ).

How quality cable affects signal quality is true for analogues, but not digital (though there are some strange cases with digital coaxial, when sometimes cheaper cables not sounding as good).

QUOTE(htkaki @ Aug 6 2008, 01:50 PM)
Unless your old dvdp able to output 720p or 1080p via component, else it is still std def PQ.
Correct correct correct...
aiman04
post Aug 7 2008, 08:12 AM

THX-Certified Geek
2,314 posts

QUOTE(mpyw @ Aug 7 2008, 08:04 AM)
I've ordered a MONSTER S-video cable for my Astro brows.gif

RM55 shipped for a 2M Ultra THX certified cable...OK boh?? tongue.gif
Wow. That's cheap bro. rclxms.gif

I use s-video to connect my Astro to my AVR and upscale to 1080i. If not using that, I only use the normal RCA direct to my TV.

Added on August 7, 2008, 8:14 am
QUOTE(fevercrash @ Aug 6 2008, 09:49 PM)
hmm..i don't know about HDMI, my first HDMi cable is alrd Monster cable..dun have the "cap ayam" one before, but for coaxial cable I really can notice big improvement from my Monster cable over my rm30 coaxial...even my friends and my brother can notice that the sound quality r actually better with Monster coaxial..
That's what I meant. I've read few times that digital coaxial giving different results with different cables. Strange. hmm.gif

But not with HDMI though, should be just the same.

This post has been edited by aiman04: Aug 7 2008, 08:14 AM

0.0177sec    0.35    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th March 2024 - 01:47 PM