11 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Bottom

Movies Toy Story 1, 2 & 3 (3D), Toy Story short film - June 24th 2011

TSCalvin871989
post Jun 18 2010, 11:56 PM

Im Batman
1,256 posts

time to say one last goodbye to toy story 1,2 & 3 as this will be our last time watching them on the big screen.

wait, hold on. toy story 4 ? nah, but who knows. see you guys again on June 24th 2011.

http://pixarblog.blogspot.com/2010/06/toy-...ith-cars-2.html

Toy Story Toon coming with Cars 2

Toy Story 3 director Lee Unkrich revealed in a just-published interview (and on Twitter) that there will be a new short film with the characters of Toy Story attached to Cars 2, in theatres June 24 next summer.

“Well, I really tried my best to end the story of Andy and his toys and bring that story to a close in a really nice way at the end of this film. That being said, we know that people love the characters, love Woody and Buzz, and would hate to say good-bye to them completely. I don’t know that there would ever be a ‘[Toy Story] 4.’ We don’t have any plans for one — but we are trying to find ways to keep the characters alive. We have announced we’re going to do a short film in front of ‘Cars 2′ that uses the ‘Toy Story’ characters. We’re going to keep them alive; they’re not going away forever.”

This will undoubtedly be one of the new Toy Story Toons produced at Pixar Canada in Vancouver and will probably play in addition to the regular theatrical short we've come to expect.

Very exciting news for those of us who were sad at the thought of never seeing the toys on the big screen again after Toy Story 3.

munak991
post Jun 19 2010, 12:00 AM

ZONIC!
2,746 posts

Toy Story is just great!
watch today it was fantastic is a must to watch!
hakimix
post Jun 19 2010, 01:22 AM

66 posts

I grew up in the 90's so this movie is a must watch for me. The previous two movies are my favourite back when I was a kid. The plot though is what you expect from the movie. The old cast is back with some new characters (Totoro! Well, albeit just a cameo..). The ending though really brought me to tears
BelowAverage
post Jun 19 2010, 02:08 AM

1,274 posts

the part where

And totoro cameo so funny, i keep on telling my fren, omg its totoro!
TSCalvin871989
post Jun 19 2010, 07:22 AM

Im Batman
1,256 posts

http://www.slashfilm.com/2010/06/18/armond...ie-of-all-time/

Toy Story 3 Finally Gets Negative Review, Becomes The Second Best Reviewed Movie Of All Time

When the Rotten Tomatoes twitter account announced that Toy Story 3 still had a 100% fresh rating with over 130 reviews and counting, I got excited. I’ve seen the movie twice now, and it deserves all the praise it has and will recieve. The reason I got excited is that it had the chance to become the best reviewed movie in the history of cinema (this according to Rotten Tomatoes of course, albeit still a milestone achievement).

I’m not going to debate the merits of the achievement — best reviewed film of all time doesn’t mean best movie of all time. Also, as we know Rotten Tomatoes is not based on a scale of enjoyment, just thumbs up or down. Meaning, the best reviewed film of all time on Rotten Tomatoes means the largest percentage of possitive reviews.

With 147 100% positive reviews, Toy Story 2 has held the coveted top slot for eleven years and counting. The film to come closest was the 2008 documentary Man On Wire — 100% fresh with 142 reviews, six short of the #1 slot. And how fitting would it have been to have the Pixar’s latest film, the third film in the trilogy, knock Toy Story 2 from the top of the mountain.

What happened? You guessed it. Armond White — the notorious contrarian movie reviewer for the alt-weekly New York Press. You might recall that White was the first critic to give Pixar’s last film Up a negative review. Whats worse, he gave Jonah Hex a positive review, a film which has been panned by critics and moviegoers (12% on Rotten Tomatoes with almost 90 reviews).

Here is an excerpt from White’s review of Toy Story 3 titled “BORED GAMES”:

Toy Story 3 is so besotted with brand names and product-placement that it stops being about the innocent pleasures of imagination—the usefulness of toys—and strictly celebrates consumerism.  … But none of these digital-cartoon characters reflect human experience; it’s essentially a bored game that only the brainwashed will buy into. Besides, Transformers 2 already explored the same plot to greater thrill and opulence. … When Toy Story 3 emulates the suspense of prison break and horror films, it becomes fitfully amusing (more than can be said for Wall-E or Up) but this humor depends on the recognition of worn-out toys which is no different from those lousy Shrek gags. … The Toy Story franchise isn’t for children and adults, it’s for non-thinking children and adults. When a movie is this formulaic, it’s no longer a toy because it does all the work for you. It’s a sap’s story.

Here is an excerpt from White’s review of Jonah Hex:

“Jonah Hex does for the western what the Crank movies do for the urban action film; simultaneously commenting on genre practice. … Hayward’s action scenes depict a terrorist environment way past Pixar-kiddieland. Bombs, flames, explosions carry 9/11 force, replete with hellhound and ravens—creatures whose myths help vanquish anxiety—all to a pounding score that re-routes death metal back to cathartic affirmation. … Without a $50 million ad budget to make Jonah Hex seem important, the media feels free to trash it—doing so exposes their collusion with marketing and refusal to read film for personal reflection. True art is watching hot-chick Megan Fox (as Lilah the hooker) fearlessly staring at the most grotesque side of Jonah’s face as if coming to grips with her own exploitation. Beautiful and brilliant. I previously remarked how “Neveldine-Taylor stand so lonely on the culture’s edge that their au courant ingenuity seems absolutely avant-garde when compared to standard box-office formula.” Greed is a cultural hex.”

I have no problem with a differing opinion at all — actually I welcome it. Especially an opinion that makes me reevaluate my experience, and the art. But White’s reviews don’t seem to serve that function. Instead, White gets off on being a contrarian, and nothing more. His list also includes unfavorable thumbs downs for Inglourious Basterds, District 9, The Wrestler, In The Loop, Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince , 500 Days of Summer, Avatar, Up in the Air, The Princess and the Frog, An Education, Star Trek, Milk, Slumdog Millionaire, The Hangover, The Dark Knight, Gone Baby Gone, Iron Man, There Will Be Blood, and Zodiac. Did I mention that he gave Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen a positive review? Even Roger Ebert calls White “a troll.”

Oh well, the second best reviewed film of all time is still quite an achievement.

Post note: After writing this story, another critic named Cole Smithey filed the second negative review for the film.

Update: Toy Story 3 director Lee Unkrich has sent out a tweet which appears to be a vague response to the two negative reviews:

ashburn98
post Jun 19 2010, 03:38 PM

Runaway train
1,570 posts

[quote=Calvin871989,Jun 19 2010, 07:22 AM]

[/quote]
kuat jelesnya
ulwan25
post Jun 19 2010, 06:46 PM

2,054 posts

dah agak dah. ada org dengki, napa? mara ke transformers 2 kene tapau hah? mangkuk tengkat pnye org..
sharksuke
post Jun 19 2010, 06:54 PM

250 posts

nampak ramai yg suka citer nie
mmg kene pergi tgk besok..
kalu rabun jauh cmner nk tgk 3D yer
pakai glases 3D x nampk pula subt

Gravity
post Jun 19 2010, 07:30 PM

998 posts

definitely a great story with a great ending...
and TOTORO IS REALLY CUTEEEEE
defaultname365
post Jun 19 2010, 11:16 PM

Windows® 8.1 | Xbox 360™ | PlayStation® 4
1,098 posts

[quote=Calvin871989,Jun 19 2010, 07:22 AM]
Here is an excerpt from White’s review of Jonah Hex:
I have no problem with a differing opinion at all — actually I welcome it. Especially an opinion that makes me reevaluate my experience, and the art. But White’s reviews don’t seem to serve that function. Instead, White gets off on being a contrarian, and nothing more. His list also includes unfavorable thumbs downs for Inglourious Basterds, District 9, The Wrestler, In The Loop, Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince , 500 Days of Summer, Avatar, Up in the Air, The Princess and the Frog, An Education, Star Trek, Milk, Slumdog Millionaire, The Hangover, The Dark Knight, Gone Baby Gone, Iron Man, There Will Be Blood, and Zodiac. Did I mention that he gave Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen a positive review? Even Roger Ebert calls White “a troll.”

Oh well, the second best reviewed film of all time is still quite an achievement.

Post note: After writing this story, another critic named Cole Smithey filed the second negative review for the film.

Update: Toy Story 3 director Lee Unkrich has sent out a tweet which appears to be a vague response to the two negative reviews:

user posted image[/quote]

[/quote]

WTH... he is a 'contrarian'. Others like, he dislike. Others dislike, he likes. "Toy Story 3" is the best movie of 2010 thus far for me, not too sure if "Inception" or "Tron Legacy" will get such near perfect score!

This post has been edited by defaultname365: Jun 19 2010, 11:17 PM
kding2
post Jun 20 2010, 01:19 AM

1,007 posts

Is it just me or you guys just mad because your favorite movie didn't get 100%?
ashburn98
post Jun 20 2010, 08:43 AM

Runaway train
1,570 posts

QUOTE(kding2 @ Jun 20 2010, 01:19 AM)
I didn't watch Toy Story 1 or 2 at all. Jumped straight into it and it's a fantastic movie.

Is it my favorite? No. It is worthy of a positive review? Hell yeah.
adix4
post Jun 20 2010, 11:22 AM

ich bin eine Katze :3
1,254 posts

the prison break escape is lol

that time i said

"betul ke aku tengok toy story ni?"
Goblinsk8er
post Jun 20 2010, 11:34 AM

306 posts

That reviewer purposely did that coz he is lacking of attention. Duh.
Damn nigger
shinjite
post Jun 20 2010, 02:17 PM

�ŞħĬΩĵΐŦ��
19,321 posts

Not 1 but 2 rotten reviews....uuhhhh...
Mgsrulz
post Jun 20 2010, 02:23 PM

30 years of Metal Gear
14,258 posts

QUOTE(kding2 @ Jun 20 2010, 01:19 AM)
it's not just you tongue.gif
cyew86
post Jun 20 2010, 03:16 PM

oh my ...
4,251 posts

Totoro in Toy Story 3 = WIN!
pixar never fails to deliver =D
Goblinsk8er
post Jun 20 2010, 09:06 PM

306 posts

Sigh the cinema in my area cut off the credits. (which is the best part) FFFFUUUUUU

God i hate staying in Sandakan. Stupid hosp posting.
Kyoyagami
post Jun 20 2010, 10:49 PM

KyoYagami-myed
1,838 posts

I cried at the ending. DAMMIT.
Lynixx
post Jun 20 2010, 11:23 PM

Gooner
1,916 posts

me neither sad.gif cry.gif